Showing 28 reviews for Pioneer GM-D9601

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer GM-D9601
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
86%
4 star:
.
.
14%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.9
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 6, 2012 OUTSTANDING
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
truthsayer from wichita, ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
WOW, this amp is unbelieveable. slams my two sa-12's. And by the way they have the fuse rateing on the description wrong. it has 3 (40amp) fuses. anyway ive spent a fortune on numerous amps always trying to find the best for value. this is by far the best, so clean, stays cool, and the price is unbelieveable. I would not own any other pioneer products, but when it comes to the gmd amps they realy know what their doing. By the the way mine tests out at 1268 rms @ 1 ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great price hits hard
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Frederick from Maryland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great price hits very hard I hooked it up to my 15 inch L7 and it shakes everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2013 Great price, true power, looks awesome!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Matthew T Anderson from Fredericksburg, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Never really followed pioneer for anything other then headunits till now. My system has been built up over two years of buying stuff and selling stuff from it. I blew an old Sony 800W Max amp running a 2011 Rockford Fosgate P2 and was looking for a new amp that wouldn't break the bank and didn't fake the ratings, which is hard to do especially for the common folk. I'm not new to systems, built mine with no planning and learned from trial and error.

I accidentally came across this amp while bored, searching for a new amp while I had a custom box built. What interested me the most was it was 1ohm stable and my current setup could be ran at 1ohm. Asked a few trusted audio friends and they said to go for it. Bought it the next day, shipping was quick, and the product looked great besides the cheesy looking packaging. Cracked it open, had some beefy components and even the fuses match up to the stated 1200rms rating they give you.

Installed it once the new box was built. At the time it was wired to 1ohm, on a P2 that had a 400rms power rating, with 10awg CCA wire. Everything ran awesome, amp never heated up, and the sub eventually gave up a few months later. Went ahead and bought my dream sub a Rockford Fosgate T1D412 . Installed that to 1ohm and the same previous setup. Sounded absolutely amazing untuned for 15 seconds. Amp did a great job of recognizing the resistance from my cheap CCA power wires and went into protect so it wouldn't over heat the amp. Eventually ordered Cadence 4G150MP-B wire, installed that. I was shaking the Glasses rack at my local 7-Eleven. Thanks to the bass boost knob, I'm able to listen to it comfortably and turn it up for demos and laughs.
Eventually though I started to smell burning plastic coming from the trunk after long periods of use. Come to find out, it wasn't my coils cooking, it was my wire terminal in the back of the sub box melting cause I had 16awg while from amp to the sub. Just ordered a new terminal and 8awg Cadence wires to fix that issue.

All in all guys, the sub has only gotten hot cause of my cheap wires and protected itself from disaster just like a good amp should. Looks awesome, stays cool, easy to use, and this amp has been tested to put out 1200+rms all for $169. Can't beat that decision. Feel free to look me up if you want info on the setup, will be tested, and tuned after new wires are ran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2013 Amazing Amp
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brandan from ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
amazing amp slamms my 2 10" jbl. can't use my rear view mirror with all the bass. has great sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2013 This Amp Hits Harder Than I Would have Believed
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cortez from Ga 2 Sc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
From me to you, hurry up and buy. You best believe you'll feel that raw bass so strong I thought I was having an outer body experience getting out of my car, I mean my whole body was just numb I have the Fosgate P3 2/12 & I feel so sorry 4 my subs cause this amp is beating them with all kinds of abuse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 Best value and performance combo
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
nismos14 from Edison, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is hard to beat at this price point. With it's combination of raw power, good looks, and running cool I can't think of a better amp then this one. I really am pleased with it's performance. I would definitely suggest this amp to anyone looking for an amp that is versatile and runs cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2014 It's Amazing
Review by
Edtotheward from Dallas, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
To begin with, I love Pioneer. It's great quality and bangs for the buck. It's a little pricey but very much worth the money. I like how the amp is warm and not burning hot while running, therefore the amp is efficient & so far I'm loving this amp. Thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2014 Solid performer
Review by
Liam from Hinesville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price level this amp is in, it works great. I currently have it hooked to two Dual 12" subs, it does not disappoint. Not a good amp for most DVC subs as you lose upper lows....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2014 pioneer gm d9601
Review by
Chris from new york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp to push 2 NVX NSW 12'S @ 4ohms I have to say I'm impressed. I have a pioneer head unit and have owned numerous pioneer products, they have never failed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 good amp
Review by
jack from phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a pretty good amp that does what it says, i would recommend running it no lower than 2ohms if you want power. Even at 2 ohms bumping it hard for 30min-1hr it barely gets warm and its underneath a seat. If you are having problems with your bass knob make sure you plug in the wire and the knob from pioneer, i thought i could get away with leaving my old bass knob from my previous amp in there and even the pioneer knob would not work with the old wire plugged into the amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 Good GM-D9601
Review by
james from fitzgerald, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp for the price. I was surprised at the size of the amp, but it put out a lot of power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2014 Good amp!
Review by
Tvong from Houston, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my second purchase of the same amp. Pushing 2 12's at 1 ohms good. Except sometimes it can get really hot and won't bass as hard.
It's a good size amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2014 Good but....
Review by
Audiophile 2.0 from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything seems great as far as the amp goes,it looks nice and seems to run my subs more efficintly than my alpine mrp-500 did. I use two jl 12w1-v3 good for 300rms a peice. The thing is...the bass control knob doesnt do ANYTHING, no decernable difference between max and minimum. That was one of the reasons i bought this amp. Maybe i got a defctive bass knob? Im sure they would want me to return the whole amp and that seems like a hassle when my head unit can still do the same function. Other than the bass knob its a great amp.As a side note, its MUCH cheaper here on sonix than anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2014 Great Amp For The Price
Review by
Plum from Albuquerque
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp powering 2 Rockford P2's at 2ohms. They slap pretty hard. This amp runs extremely cool. I bump the subs and amp all night and it barely gets warm. The only problem I have had so far is the bass knob doesn't really work. Not sure if I just got a bad bass knob or what. When I turn the knob itself it doesn't really do much at all. Although when I pull the knob out of the amp the bass REALLY goes down. So I just keep it plugged in and it sounds great. Overall great amp for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 EXCELLENT AMP...
Review by
Ben from Anaheim, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is my first Pioneer brand amp, I have owned Kenwood, Kicker Hifonics amps & this model amp is the same or better than them. I have it powering a 10" NVX VCW-104 in a ported enclosure & it's deep & loud. Love the size of it, fits perfect under the seats or on the back of rear fold down seats (That's were I have it in my car). The only bad thing I have to say about this amp is that the bass knob did not work when I did the install. I could have returned it but I did not want to go through a long wait time for a new replacement, so the good thing was that I had an extra PAC LC1 knob & connected that instead, so now I could adjust the bass when I need to. Overall its a great amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2013 Awesome amp!
Review by
Angel from La Villa, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp works great and the price is good too. I paired this amp with two 12" Pioneer 2 ohm subs model number Pioneer TS-W309D2. They work great together! I installed it in my 2011 Mustang GT with the factory radio. I used the line out feature of the amp and connected the remote wire to the factory antennae. It sounds and works awesome! The only negative is that the remote bass boost remote raises the bass when it is connected, but does not seem to lower it with the dial. Other than that, I am happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 24, 2013 Excellent purchase
Review by
Gordon from Mount uniacke, nova scotia, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp works perfect! Satisfied with the purchase.
Good clarity, heavy bass, if you want the extreme
Power of pioneer this is the way to go.
I took the amp out for the winter, needed the Alan key to
Remove the wires from the amp because of the solid connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 23, 2013 Pioneer GM-9601
Review by
wolfpup from ocala, fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is amazing! The amp gives more power then what it's rated at and I had my Pioneer GM-9601 bench tested at 14.4 v it was pushing out 1503 watts. I was really happy and then I installed it on 4 10's in my single cab f150 and it rocks out the bass is clear and very powerful. a must buy. I have been doing car audio for a long time for almost 19 year and pioneer has delivered the best work so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2013 great amp,and good value
Review by
Shawn from Rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would recommend this product to anyone. I bought this amp to go along with my 2 pioneer champion pro series subs and everything sounds sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2013 Pioneer GM-9601
Review by
wolfpup from Ocala,fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is very strong the 1,200 watts it says it does is wrong i just got mine and i have it running 4 10's and i had my amp checked and its pushing out 1,473 watts and this amp does not get hot pioneer really did a great job making this amp!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2013 Great Amplifier.
Review by
Adolfo from Chino Valley, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amplifier for my 2 12" Pioneer Champion Pro Series Subs. The amplifier pushes them the way I want them to. They dont shake other peoples windows in traffic but for the price, I'm a happy customer.

Pros - Small & powerful.

Negs - The gain and hrtz settings are hard to read because of the coloring on the letters. You also have to use the bass nob if you want the full potential of the amplifier.

I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2013 Nice amp
Review by
schambo from River Edge, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced a kicker 2 channel amp bridged. Hooked it up to a Kicker 10" Shallow truck box which is installed under the back seat of an F150 Crew.
This amp has a ton of power. At 4 ohms it produces a nice tight bass that plays across all genres. Also only has two settings to adjust. Gain and LP crossover. By far, the easiest amp install to date. Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2013 Pretty awesome amp!
Review by
Tou from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm using this amp for my 10" Pioneer Champion Pro Series at 4 ohms. Man, the sub and the amp makes it kick like a 12". Maybe even sounds better than my friends 2 12". It's unbelievably awesome. That's all I can say! Get one, and you won't be disappointed. Good price for its power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Budget power
Review by
Sterling from Ankeny, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp will do its rated power, but don't expect wonders.
This amp sounds fine, but it is a budget amplifier.
If you want to impress people, this amp pushes some power for its size.
Make sure that if you wire it at 1ohm that you give it good ventilation, as it will get hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great amp
Review by
gattiboy13 from Oxnard, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp, nothing more to say just a great performing amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great Little Amp
Review by
Chris from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amplifier. I have it on 2 Alpine SWR-1242Ds wired down to 1 ohm and it sounds great! It never heats up and never goes into protection mode. The only thing I don't like about it is the shiny finish on top. Absolutely wears my Alpine MRP-M1000 out. I would recommend this amp to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great value subwoofer amplifier
Review by
Toby from Napier, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this shipping all the way to New Zealand - no problems. Great service from Sonic Electronix and shipping companies.
Installed with 4 gauge power and ground wires. Speaker wire to sub is 8 guage.
Running from a Pioneer DEH-80PRS to a Blaupunkt subwoofer of uncertain specs.
Simple install under front car seat. Pretty compact size. No tricks to installation.
Sub sounds good.
Even though I thought it was a bit bogan to have a bass booster it is handy to have when you want to forego the best balance just to get some rear view mirror vibration.
Stock electrical system running this amp and another 4x100W 4 channel absolutely no headlight dimming even with the engine off.
Running it well within capability and it handles big bass hits easily.

Would ideally have a subsonic filter but that's not the end of the world. Music doesn't have much below 20 Hz anyway - more an issue for movies.

Looks are budget but who cares when it's hidden away. It's supposed to be about the sounds not the look!

Sound quality wise I have no complaints but no other reference other than some decent headphones.

Simple amp that is good watts to dollars ratio. Very happy. Would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2013 Pioneer Amp
Review by
Gustavo from mc.farland, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp and hooked it up with 2 12` Pioneer Premier Speaker & Indash and It bumps Clean especially bumping Corridos..Great price and Products!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz