Showing 16 reviews for Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 16 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
75%
4 star:
.
.
19%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
6%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
All you could ask for...

This is the most versatile, easy to use head unit I've ever used. It was easy to install and after getting used to it, it is easy to use. I love the rear view camera monitor function. I use the Bluetooth audio feed most often to listen to Pandora Radio. I also use the USB feed that I extended to the dash of my Nissan Titan truck. Another supplier told me this unit would not fit, they were wrong...I'm glad I didn't use that "crutch" and relied on better advice. I would strongly recommend this head unit.

VS
These other reviews must be fake.

Not happy at all with the unit. Mixtrax doesnt work right at all. You will never use this feature once you test it. I thought it would be nice to have it but its lame. Can barely see the screen during the day. Better have limo tint. App mode will not work out of the box. Fought with it all night long to find out i was wasting my time. You have to have a special cable that wasn't mentioned on the ad. Album art wont show on half my tracks. The screen quality is horrable. The album art that does show up looks very poor. Loading videos from a flash drive takes forever. I wanted to use pandora and waze. No you cant unless you order that special wire from ebay.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 17, 2013 All you could ask for...
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bill Mack from West Columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the most versatile, easy to use head unit I've ever used. It was easy to install and after getting used to it, it is easy to use. I love the rear view camera monitor function. I use the Bluetooth audio feed most often to listen to Pandora Radio. I also use the USB feed that I extended to the dash of my Nissan Titan truck. Another supplier told me this unit would not fit, they were wrong...I'm glad I didn't use that "crutch" and relied on better advice.
I would strongly recommend this head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 These other reviews must be fake.
Review by
Patrick zito from Fort myers florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not happy at all with the unit. Mixtrax doesnt work right at all. You will never use this feature once you test it. I thought it would be nice to have it but its lame. Can barely see the screen during the day. Better have limo tint. App mode will not work out of the box. Fought with it all night long to find out i was wasting my time. You have to have a special cable that wasn't mentioned on the ad. Album art wont show on half my tracks. The screen quality is horrable. The album art that does show up looks very poor. Loading videos from a flash drive takes forever. I wanted to use pandora and waze. No you cant unless you order that special wire from ebay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2013 Love it, when it works.
Review by
Dslayer121 from Gering, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm on my second unit now. The first one worked very well until it just wouldn't eject the disk form the cd/dvd slot. The App radio is nice, while still a little limited. The sound is good, but I am using a JL Audio amp to push my speakers, so the built in amplifier is not doing a thing. I live in a rural area, so the HD radio is limited, but what stations are available in HD sound decidedly better than the analog stations. And I am quite pleased with the satellite radio integration. It is seamless. Overall, this unit works very well and has an impressive feature set. I just hope this second one lasts longer than the 7 months the first one did. I've owned a number of different brands of Head Unit from Eclipse to Panasonic, and everything else always lasted. Hopefully Pioneer will do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Great buy!
Review by
carlos from farmington, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing deck it does whatever you need, yeah there are some out there with more eq options but this is worth the buy if your having a full loaded system, it's easy to work with and has lots of convenient auxiliary ports. Definitely would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Good value
Review by
Peter from Thompson, MB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very nice and easy to used head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Nice sound
Review by
Mark from Barrie, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You can't go wrong with Pioneer.
The Bluetooth could have a few more features like auto connect on incoming calls. USB sometimes doesn't recognize video files.
More Android support would be nice too.
Not everyone owns an I phone...
Has lots of audio settings to suit anyone's taste.
The GPS add on is way overpriced :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 I love my pioneer BHS X-5500
Review by
Sunny G from Jersey City , New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I couldn't have made a better choice in my selection of radios, the x-5500 does everything I need it to do and performs excellently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Awesome New 2013 Head Unit
Review by
Jeff from Murfreesboro, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has EXCELLENT stereo/sound separation. Listening to your regular music library will sound like a brand new experience. Guitars from the left and right sides are more emphasized and the lead singer is clearly in the middle along with the drums.
Only reason I took 2 points away is because the graphic equalizer in my opinion has a pretty large flaw/gap in it. I was hoping that Pioneer would fix this from last year. There are no eq adjustments above 10 khz. Really? Come on Pioneer! This is software now, you could easily make this a 30 band graphic eq if you wanted to! For sound adjustment you really need adjustments above 10khz because by just adjusting the 10 khz band for treble you increase the dreaded sibilance (when you get ear piercing high notes that are harsh and bad sounding). This unit needs a minimum of 2 more bands...16 khz and 20 khz and preferably an extra 3rd band at 12 khz. Like I said above though...it's all software now....very VERY easy to really make the graphic eq be a 30 band if they wanted to. They have one on their higher end single din PRS80 model. Let's see something be added to the firmware of the double din units.
The unit comes packed with a lot of features. Could it have more? Yes. But for the price point it is at, it comes well optioned. Bluetooth, HD Radio (that works very well I will add) and Sirius ready. I would love to see a little more from the time correction they have added to this model. The built in crossover/features is nice for the subwoofer but this should be across the board. The front and rear channels should have their own dedicated crossover/adjustments as well.
Pioneer really has stepped up the game with this unit as well as the others in the 2013 lineup. With some minors tweaks (as noted above), this could be a home run of a head unit.
Very well built...feels solid.
Very easy to use. I didn't even have to review the manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great Head Unit
Review by
Trailblazer SS from McKinney,Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great head unit. It cleans up your MP3's nicely. Great headroom. Better sound quality than the 4yr old Alpine it replaced. Very good screen that is easy to view in direct sunlight. I didn't think my Alpine door speakers and subs could sound any better until I installed this unit. I have this unit running to my Audio Control Matrix, then to my HiFonics Mid/High & Sub amps. Could not be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2013 A+
Review by
David from Milford, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this head unit to replace a kenwood excelen in-dash dvd player. i liked it so much i purchased another one for my truck. Very easy to use and has a great display. Works with xm tuner great and allows for dvd type recording for your 6 preset stations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2013 Scion tC
Review by
Mark from Nottingham, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely recommend this head unit. Easy to install, screen is fantastic and the sound quality and features are awesome. This is well worth the money and it looks like a $900 unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 27, 2013 4th Gen RAM 1500....
Review by
Jason from Great Falls, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got it wired up and turned it on and it is a great monitor. Sounds good, linked right up to blue tooth, looks great. I am totally happy with the purchase. I don't want to discourage anyone from buying this product, as I think it is great, but wither be prepared to give an audio shop permission to cut on your truck, or be prepared to break out some tin snips and a firm grip. Can't really speak on the durability, but I can bet it will be a 5, so that's what it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2013 worth it by far
Review by
kevin from grand island, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Okay this unit is by far better than its close rivals, easy to use also easy to understand, probly the best thing i have changed in my honda. If i didnt know the price and had to guess i would say 700 easy i would pay, it looks like a million bucks, very durable and easy to clean .... all the features is very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2013 Worth Every Penny
Review by
enrique from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is by far the best head unit i have ever owned it exceeded my expectations by far it is a radio unlike any other it has so many features that i would have totally payed $800 for it the quality and style of the radio is gorgeous fits flawlessly in my 2004 trailblazer and if your a true audio fanatic your amps will love the 4v pre outs as much as i do the resolution of the screen is amazing everything loads quick i got a flash drive with 9gigs of music and it has the music playing with in seconds the way it slides down to insert disc into it is very cool Bluetooth is down right perfect for calls and audio streaming i could go on for hours on this radio but overall this radio WILL exceed your expectations too some it may be a bit pricey but believe me it is more than worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2013 AWESOME
Review by
buzz11699 from Birmingham, Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had several of pioneer's radio options in my vehicle's and this one is the best by far. I also install car stereo equipment and must say I recommend this radio whenever I can. It links up perfectly with android phones and allows complete control with Pandora thru Bluetooth, even shows album artwork and title tracks. Great job for finally putting everything you need in one radio. Thanks pioneer. Also thanks Sonic Electronic for always having the cheapest prices in town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2013 Superb multimedia deck with a great price.
Review by
Donnie E. from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is one of the best additions I've made to my complete rebuild. Full Bluetooth for phone and streaming. A beautiful GUI which has been updated and simplified from previous models amd gorgeous display capable of full DVD quality playback. The tuning and expandibility features make for audiophile reproduction it's closet competition alpine can match its features but surely costs more. Trust me, don't be fooled by off brand multimedia receivers that cost less. Your deck is the heart of your system and will last you for countlless years if you make the right purchase. Get a 2013 model with 2009 pricing and 2015 features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz