Showing 8 reviews for Pioneer TS-A6885R

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer TS-A6885R
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 30 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
70%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
November 12, 2014 great speakers
Review by
Steve from Tuscaloosa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these as the last part of an install, they went into the front
doors of my Ford Ranger.
I have Pioneer 2ways in the back, and a Pioneer DD hu, 50wx2.
These have pizeo tweeters, what used to be called "supertweeters"
back in the day, you put them on top of your loudspeaker.
Was worried about having four in a small truck, seemed like overkill.
Shouldn't have worried.
These speakers sound great, supertweeters are basically about cymbals, tamboreens, whistles. I did not put them in the back, you don't
get much treble from behind you. But they present a great soundstage
in front.
And Mids and bass is great also, don't need the graphic eq at all.
Sonic had the best price, and they also have speaker connectors that
make for a professional install, not to mention prevent wiring
a speaker backwards, or out of phase, which destroys bass. If your
vehicle uses a speaker connector, you need these, makes for an easy time of it when installing. Took me about half an hour.
Sonic and Pioneer, a great combo, and don't forget the Metra speaker
connects, best money you will ever spend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2014 Not bad...better feed it more power than a H/U offers
Review by
Eric from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound great...once I added in a Alpine Power Pack. Just pure HeadUnit power starves these things and you get no low end. Post-Powerpack install, the full range speaker sounds full range.

Since they are 4-way, they still pack a ton of high end and you may want to tweak down that end since it can get a little sharp to the ears with high-hat reproduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2014 good range
Review by
gd from Someplace, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first encounter after install, music sounded like the upper frequencies dominated compared to the OEM speakers. I thought, these sound like cheap computer speakers! But I tweaked the EQ on the head unit to favor bass, and the range was once again balanced. Well, the upper range of the music was much clearer than OEM. Lows are pretty good, not muddy. I added a foam enclosure between the door sheet metal and the speaker (cut out the back) which may have damped the bass resonating through the door, which may have made the original speaker sound muddy in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Pioneer Review
Review by
Lance from Deepwater, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These pioneers are a great bang for the buck. They sound good. Only some small complaints. I don't think the power rating is right. They don't seem to be able handle the power of my amp and its only a 750 watt Kenwood 4 channel amp at about 60 watts RMS per channel. The amp is turned at half gain with all the settings on my head set down... Don't get the wrong idea they come in nice loud and clear...Just watch the power and get the settings right and they will last you a long time. Pioneer has always been a reliable brand that I have trusted for years. If you want it LOUD and ear blasting you may want to look some where else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 nice
Review by
Joseph from Cleveland, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 pairs of these for my van and they sound great. Had them 6 months so far and no complaints. Sounded so good I bought some for my brothers truck. He has nothing bad to say either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2013 Okay
Review by
Adolfo from Chino Valley, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers for my Crown Victoria back in February. They were easy to install and set up with the manual.

The pros: They look good and fit properly with the adapter that they come with. Decent sound, I got the 4-way speakers and the tweeters get annoying on some songs. They distort on high volumes, not too clear but not cheap sound either.

Cons: Would be that they don't last long. One of the speakers is distorted already and it's only been 6 months. They started acting up 2 months ago but now it sounds bad.

They're good speakers if you're on a budget, I would recommend them to anyone. At $40-$60 a pair, I don't mind switching them out every 6 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2013 Great replacement for factory speakers
Review by
Sergie from Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used these Pioneer speakers to upgrade the audio in my 2012 Mazda 3. The audio shop tech said I would NOT notice much difference compared to the factory speakers but he was wrong. I guess he just wanted me to buy some overpriced speakers from him! Right away I noticed a BIG improvement in how my stereo and CD player sounded. The bass is more pronounced and all sounds became crisper, with more detail. I'm very happy. The audio shop said they had to improvise with the install a little bit because the factory speakers on my Mazda were flat, while these Pioneers have some depth to them. So, they're not a direct replacement. I didn't experience any problems after the install though, everything (including my electric windows) works as it should. The cone is made of paper, not the magnet is much bigger than the one on my old factory speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2013 good upgrade
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Aj from Savage, Minnesota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very good radio, plenty of good tuner settings. The HD radio works good on it. Sound is clean and clear, powerful too. Still can't get the jvc Android app to work. But who cares.

I'd recommend this radio to anyone. Has all the features anyone would want!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz