Showing 7 reviews for JVC KD-R640

Customer Review Summary for JVC KD-R640
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 7 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
86%
4 star:
.
.
14%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
5.0
Features
5.0
Design
4.4
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 8, 2013 Amazing radio for the money!!!
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Carl from Paxton, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is great because all the different sound options, the iPod/Pandora integration and the HD radio. I got this radio and was instantly impressed by all the features, this radio is definitely a head turner. But not only that it can work with my steering wheel controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2014 Great buy for a cheap price
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kayle from Everett, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this stereo for my boyfriend for a christmas present for his ford truck and it works wonderful. Easy install. And sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great BUy
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christopher from PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Head unit worked great. I put this in a 2001 Passat and the features and controls were better than expected. I'm a huge JVC fan and this unit again shows why
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 18, 2013 Great for the price
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
strangecurrencies from cbus, oh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had all the brands over the years - this stereo is a very good unit. There are some quirks in the controls but you get used to them pretty quick. Menu is extensive, a little complicated, but necessary to have all the custom settings. I considered many stereos from 50 to 150 bucks, JVC has some really good features, and more adjustability than just about any other. Sound quality is very good thru the OEM speakers. FM and AM stations come in as good as any other stereo I've owned..

Good points:
-brightness and color settings for button and display, can be different colors for day and night mode.
-Each source saves its own custom EQ settings.
-Loudness has 2 levels off low hi, same for bass boost.
-EQ button on the face to select eq preset, hold the EQ button in for Bass-Mid-Treble.
-CD/USB MP3 files are sorted a-z, if you number the tracks they are in the numbered order, some brands cant handle this simple task.
-On CD/USB random mode, click > button, you get a random track. Some brands go to the next track, when in random mode I want a random track.

Not so good:
-Menu always comes up on DEMO then you have to scroll to get to where you want to go.
-Only way to set or access FM presets 7-18 on the stereo is thru the menu, or you can use the remote's up/down buttons. Buttons on the face would be much better, the old models had them.
-Main control knob is shiny and reflects sunlight with a bad glare.
-Display is very dim in the daytime, doesn't matter what color you select.

I don't use Ipod or external amps, so I cant comment on these features.

All in all the complaints are fairly minor. This is a great unit for the price, much better than the last JVC I had 10 years ago, that one cost $200 and had much less features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2013 Excellent value and quality
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Justin from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to power some lower-watt aftermarket speakers in my 2007 Toyota Corolla. The 20 watts rms allows much cleaner, louder sound than the stock head unit. I like that the display and buttons are variable color; besides being a fun extra, you can set a daytime and nighttime color that changes when your headlights turn on. The unit looks great, very classy, and the buttons are easy to find and use while driving. My only minor complaint is that the screen is a bit hard to see in direct sunlight, especially if you're wearing sunglasses. There are times when you might have to take them off to see what you're doing. Despite this, I still love my new JVC and would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2014 Great Radio
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ivan from North Bay Village, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound quality is good and is best bang for your buck, satellite radio is outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2013 Loving it
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
HB from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have only had my device put in a few days ago, the guys who installed it said I made an excellent choice so that made me feel great, after it was installed I drove around for awhile trying to get use to the buttons and features. Really cool, I like it a lot. I would recommend this to any one.I shopped around and the cheapest system I could get with installation, was $229 this device with installation only cost $154, so I saved $75 in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz