Showing 25 reviews for JL Audio TR650-CSi

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio TR650-CSi
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
56%
4 star:
.
.
32%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
.
8%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.4
Design
4.4
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 14, 2006 In-store listen
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm a recording engineer with 30 years experience. I'm not picking speakers for "bling" or "boom" appeal. Checked out half a dozen different pairs in the $100/pr range, from 2-way to low-end components. 2-ways IMHO are terribly spongy in the bottom end, and tend to be overly bright (sometimes brittle) in the top end. But this JL TR650-CSi component was clear as a glass of spring water. The snare sounded like a snare (instead of a fish slapping a tin can) and the bass sounded round and full, without a sub-woofer. Harmon-mute trumpet was transparent without high-end artifacts. I'm getting two pair of these to replace the old factory gear in my Jeep Cherokee.
Can hardly wait to log some miles with Miles (Davis). :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2011 Excellent quality and great service!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Marty from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought the JL TR-650-CSI to replace the junk stock front 2 speakers in my 2011 Subaru Outback and couldn't be more pleased. I connected them direct to the stock powerhead without an amp and the sound is still clear as a bell at decent levels. I had an issue with the cross over when installing the speakers wires (my fault) so I called JL direct and the Customer Service rep was great. He sent me out a replacement wire with Crossover No Charge in just a few days. Install is not the easiest if you're using the recessed tweeter but sound is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2010 Just O.K.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cameron from Rapid City, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Let me start off by saying that these speakers don't sound bad by any means, but if you are looking for exciting sound these are not for you. I have had these speakers for about six months running 50 watts RMS via external amp. I have tweaked and tweaked but still cant get the sound I expected from JL. They have no depth to them at all, and when I can get them to sound good at low volumes they will distort terribly at mid to high volume. Yes they have more depth than my stock bose speakers, but an expensive speaker like this should sound better than a 12 year old stock speaker. Realistically these speakers are about the same thing as a coax speaker. The "crossover" is simply a resistor and a wire.... don't believe me just look at them! the only difference between them and your standard coax is a length of wire connected to the tweeter. The price here is much better than what I paid locally, but you can still get twice the speaker for the same money here at sonic. I will say the install went quite smooth with only a wire to hide. The speakers are well built and I expect they will last a while, but you are paying too much for the JL name. My next set will be either Focal or MB Quart since I have heard for myself that they sound much better than these. Then I can finally kick these to the back of the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2013 JL TR650 CSI Installation
Review by
Hokeinator from Mass
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I Installed these speakers in my Honda Ridgeline. I chose the component style just because I am a fanantic about sound but I think the coaxial would have been fine. The other reason I chose this model is because they don't need a lot of power or a seperate AMP to drive them. My Goal was to keep the original deck but upgrade the speakers for high quality sound. These speakers allowed just that. Crisp, clear and no distortion using a factory deck.
The only thing I wish I did differently, to have inspected the factory speaker and mounting system first before ordering. I had to fabricate a fancy mounting shim system to make them work in my truck's door mounting hole. The next size down would have been less work and fabrication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2013 Awesome!
Review by
Kathy from Va Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The price was fantastic and the sound is amazing!! I would DEFINITELY recommend these speakers. I replaced stock pioneer speakers in a 2006 Cobalt SS with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2012 Great Value for the PRICE!
Review by
Xavier from Chicago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speaker components 6 months ago. Let me tell you. Buy them you wil not be disappointed! Im very satisfied on the sound quality they bring out. Im hearing sounds that i never new were there! Really! I will buy again from Sonic Electronic! Great Service! Fast Shipping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2012 JL Audio TR650-CSi
Review by
Kevin from Markham, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am a fussy listener and would definitely recommend this set due to their detailed sound, good bass response while only using the stock head unit which puts out a peak of 45w per channel and mounted in the stock door mounts. The speaker response does seem to be overly bright, so I had to tune down the higher frequencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2011 Priced Right
Review by
Guy from Clarksburg WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Speakers where just as described New in box original
they have been played loud for long periods and sound great
I will buy the same jl speaker for my next 6x9 needs in the future
the company has my trust
Keep up the good deals and professional service sonic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2011 Jl audio works every time
Review by
DJ Cadillac Bob from Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well i got an e-mail 6 months later to ask if I could write a review. Thats caring after the sale if you ask me. Thanks SonicE! Actually the 2 sets I bought are still unopened. But the last 4 sets 8 total JL 6 1/2 and 5 3/4 have been the most bang for that price. Not the very best but if you got the money JL has a higher brand. Overall very happy for years using this product from JL in alot of my installs in my past cars and friends cars. And use JL amps to hear the real sound of these speakers. See past video contest in forums i had theCaddy EXT done with the new JL 15wo at 139.9db on a real iassca metered show. not bad for 2 low cost 15's. Man bottom line JL has endlessly put out a rock solid product. See ya in daytona beach FL for spring break nationals 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2010 Not Recommended
Review by
jbiddy22 from Redondo Beach, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned JL speakers for a long time (since the early 90's) and I think that they're entry level line misses the mark... big time. This set is clean enough if you use it for rear fill, but NOT front speakers. Even if running off of an external amp and crossed over. This set blends ok with a decent sub system, but I agree with the others that the sound is not exciting and pretty thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2010 JL ftw
Review by
Shawn from Londonderry, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these in my 350z, Great set of components for a hundred bucks. I'm powering them off my Alpine deck and they really scream. Install was very simple because there was no crossover to hide, just a resistor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2010 Good for the price.
Review by
luis from BEWYN, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this component system for the front doors on my 69 rambler. they sound really clean i added a cross over on them and they are being ran by a kenwood 4 channel also have jl 6x9s and the highs/mids sound great would by again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2010 Amazing Product!
Review by
Beau from CHarlevoix, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is amazing. Great Value, sounds great, and looks sweet. Definitely a great product and is highly recommended.
Pros: Great Price, looks good, perfect sound with good low, mid, and high
Cons: Requires more installation work with tweeter separate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2009 Sensational sound at an unbeatable price
Review by
Topjukes from Ashington, West Sussex, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I live in England, so would have had to pay over double the price I actually paid for these from Sonic. Delivery was lightning-quick and since being installed they have given a truly impressive improvement over the original manufacturer speakers so I am completely delighted with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2009 Great speakers at low price
Review by
Noah from Vancouver, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was a little concerned with the "in line" crossovers, but fear not, these speakers rock. I have 4 of these in an Isuzu Rodeo (after much modification) and they sound great. They're hooked up to an Alpine v-power 50x4 amp. The speakers are intense and everything is super crisp sounding. Make sure you set the crossovers on the amp to about 60hz or higher. Anything less and you'll lose a lot of volume and might get some distortion on the low tones. One last note, make sure when you plug the wire onto the speaker that you don't have to take it off again. It's a super tight fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2009 Great price for great quality!
Review by
Ivan from Bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had great experiences with JL Audio and this buy was based on that. I needed to upgrade the factory components to complete my system and saw the great pricing on these. JL is generally priced very high but these TR's are very competitive with the comparable market segment. I immediately was impressed with the sound quality. It's not too screechy and the midbass is subtle with an overall crisp clarity. I have these run at 80 watts RMS with the high pass crossover set at 80hz. I had these dialed down to about 65hz and was still able to handle the power while reproducing those lower bass notes. I would definitely recommend a full setup with subwoofer for these components to balance out everything. The inline tweeter high pass filter is very helpful in a clean install, no crossover box to hide away making it a pretty straight forward install. Again, JL has proven quality to me and this buy will definitely solidify my commitment to JL products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2009 Excellent sound conversion for bad sound in aTahoe
Review by
George from Richmond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For just a few dollars I was able to convert my wife\'s Tahoe to a far better sounding system than the stock speakers.

Crisp and clear, we even notice sound that we never heard before with the stock speakers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2008 Budget components that sound like they aren\'t!!
Review by
leroy from loops, HI, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a set of these in my car and wow the mids sound deep and the highs sound high. To take advantage of these speakers you really need an eq or a good deck. For the price, I really think they are worth every penny. I have owned alpine, kicker, pioneer, and these really impress me. These speakers come with cross overs built in the wires, I was skeptical about this but they sound great. I will positively buy more jl products becuase if these are the worst components they make, I really wanna hear their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2008 Great Speakers for the Price
Review by
Rick from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these in my '07 Tacoma with only minor modifications needed. I mounted the tweeters high on my A-pillars for better imaging than the stock locations. These speakers do an excellent job of reproducing mid-bass and highs. Backed up with a subwoofer, I now have a complete system that sounds great. And all this for only 110 bucks. When it's time to replace my tired ol' amp and "seasoned" subwoofer I'll be ordering from Sonic again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2006 Godd speakers
Review by
Christian from Lava Hot Springs, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These sound good. Mids could be better and highs could be higher (though I'd probably go deaf). These are JL's so you know the quality is there.

Next time I'd go for the XR's...but you can't beat the price on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2006 nice upgrade from 2-ways
Review by
matthew from woodinville, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed these in the doors of a 96 blazer and they sound awsome even running off the deck power. coming from a set of mid-range 2-ways these are a great upgrade. The highs are clearer and the mid-bass is not distorted. The only dissapointment is that they come with a in-line filter instead of a crossover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 6, 2006 Alright Deal From JL
Review by
Sam from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I picked these up from a friend and put them in my custom kick panels. They sounded alright when I was giving them the recommend RMS. All in all music was played back quite smooth. There was a lack of punch to the music. The woofers were not up to my standards, but still looking at the price it still is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2011 Good
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Big Boy from Dayton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2010 mediocre - wouldn't buy again
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bob from Whitsett, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had a pair these professionally installed in a 2009 Toyota RAV4, which had been partially soundproofed. They improved the sound a bit, but not enough to get excited over. The sound stage was still poorer than the stock stereos in my wife's 2010 Camry XLE or a 2008 Mazdaspeed3. Really mediorce high and mid range sound. Put in a new head unit - Pioneer AVH-P3200Bt. This helped the sound a little bit more, but still the sound was worse thatn the other 2 cars mentioned above. Put in a Pioneer amp and 12" sub and equalized the system. Incremental improvement again, but nothing meaniingful. My next move is to put the JL's in the back seat and buy something else for the front. There has to be something that sounds better than these for under $200.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2007 great speakers
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
steven from palmdale, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the best sounding 6 1/2's i owned no other 6 1/2 can match the sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz