Showing 7 reviews for Kenwood eXcelon KDC-X697

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood eXcelon KDC-X697
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 7 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
43%
4 star:
.
.
43%
3 star:
.
.
14%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.0
Value
4.6
Features
3.9
Design
3.9
Usability
3.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 27, 2014 GREAT SOUND
Review by
brian from GRAND RAPIDS, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very nice unit - great sound. Must use the remote for everything which is a bother - radio preset recall with the remote is a pain. But the sound makes up for any problem. To hard the set up and the operation directions - useless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2014 Cannot beat it for the price.
Review by
Paul from Elkridge, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the XDC-697 for $104. I was looking for a single DIN unit with a multi-line character display and USB. Most other Single DIN units have 10-12 characters max at a time. This unit can have three lines and probably 16 characters across.

The colors are customizable (buttons and/or display to match my dash). The audio adjustment options are endless. The display and interface customizing options are endless as well. You could get lost for days tinkering with your settings.

I have had it for almost a month now and finally think I have all of the settings where I want them. It pushes my speakers nicely. The higher end units have bluetooth.

My Gripes:
-------------
1. The faceplate appears to scratch easily
2. If you like adjusting your EQ frequently, it is not a simple process
3. FM reception is not as great as my GM factory HU
4. You have to download the 104 pg manual online to understand the settings
5. The lack of buttons on the faceplate gives the remote control easier control over the unit
6. You only have one audio 'User" preset

All in all I love this HU. It only took me three weeks to understand what all it can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2014 its ok
Review by
ben from kingman, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
itts ok..just not happy w the screens and resolution
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2014 Excellent Head Unit
Review by
James from New Braunfels, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit to replace the factory stereo in my 2001 Nissan Pathfinder. I didn't have a lot of money to spend and this unit offered a lot of features for the price. I hooked it up to some JBL GTO speakers I had. I have another car I use for a daily driver that has an expensive and very complex system. When I fired up the Kenwood with the JBLs I was amazed at how well everything sounded with just the head unit and no amp.

Don't let the price fool you. It offers some great features and has a pretty extensive menu of settings. I really like having the front and rear USB ports. You can even add satellite radio to it. I have a 64GB thumb drive with nearly 4000 songs loaded on it connected to the rear USB port. Paired to JBLs the sound quality is very good.

So far I guess my only complaint with this unit is that it doesn't have blue tooth. If you need that then you need to look at another model. I really didn't have high expectations so I was very surprised by its capabilities. I recommend this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 Most bang for your buck
Review by
thomas from myrtle beach, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After doing some research i found the eXelon product line rates well with most audiophiles then it's just a matter of finding it at a price you can live with. Well i had to wonder if the cops were coming to my door because i stole this item legally. Sonic electronix always has had what i wanted in stock at a great price with timely delivery A WIN, WIN, WIN SITUATION FOR ME !!!!!!! also included was a wiring harness for a professional installation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2014 KDC-X697
Review by
TJ from KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really like the look of this head unit, it's very sleek and elegant. The flaps over the cd and usb/aux ports are a classy touch. I also like the glossy finish, I'm not having any of the glare problems that a lot of reviewers write about. That may be because I have heavily tinted windows.

The sound quality is fantastic.This is the first non-Alpine/Pioneer head unit I've owned in years, and I'm not disappointed. One important thing to note when setting your amp gains, this head unit's preouts do not clip at full tilt - volume 35/35. If you set your amp gains at 28/35, which is about 80% like most people/sites recommend, will will end up with a fairly low preout voltage. To get the full 4 volts, you need to use volume 35 and sub +1.

Kenwood has seriously stepped up their game lately. One reason I decided to go with Kenwood over Alpine/Pioneer/Claroin, is that I was so impressed with my girlfriend's Kenwood head unit. I got her a new KDC-108 a little over a year ago for dirt cheap, and she loves it. Looks, sound quality, durability, these are all around quality units, and they seem, to me, to be much better value than what the other guys are putting out.

There are only 2 things I don't really like about it. Firstly, if you pause then go to a different song, that song automatically plays. You can't pause a song right at the beginning because the you have to hold the pause button for a couple seconds. That may sound like no big deal, but I just find it a little annoying that whenever I get in the car, the middle of a song, or at least a second or two into a song, starts playing, instead of the beginning. & there's nothing you can do about it.

Secondly, useless functions like "loudness" and "supreme". I know most companies have similar functions, but Kenwood - You would be much more highly respected in the audiophile community if you'd get rid of that crap.

Okay, so my two complaints were pretty weak, but that's really all I've got. I really like this head unit, and I highly recommend it. As far as I'm concerned in the heard unit market, Kenwood is one of the big boys now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2014 Really great deal!
Review by
Shawn from Cincinnati, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this unit, I wanted to replace my old unit which only had the iPod hookup, now I have that plus pandora, I'm good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz