Showing 29 reviews for Kenwood DPX500BT

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood DPX500BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 29 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
66%
4 star:
.
.
24%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
3%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.8
Features
4.7
Design
4.6
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 15, 2014 great radio
Review by
Dale from Indian Trail, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sounds great, installed easy good looking radio if I need another radio I ll buy from you guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2014 love it
Review by
David from Portsmouth, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Screen hard to see in direct sunlight other than that great DD unit.sonic is great customer service win win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2014 Great choice
Review by
James from North Vernon, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy instalation
Bluetooth works great and auto syncs when I get in vehicle
Well worth the extra cash for BT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2014 Great buy for the money
Review by
Chet from Columbia, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love the radio. Installed easily. Works great. Read mixed reviews on line but for me this is a perfect upgrade from my factory installed radio that came with the car 13 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2014 lots of options
Review by
Matthew from el paso, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is the best head unit i have ever owned. their are lots of options and settings to change things around. the bluetooth works amazing and sonic was quick with the shipping and costumer service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2014 Great Radio for the price
Review by
David from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely buy this radio again. It was pretty easy to install and the brackets from my original Toyota radio bolted right to the side of the new radio and it lined it up perfectly. The only challenge came in installing the microphone for the Bluetooth phone. I wanted it above the rearview mirror near the center of the windshield so I had to remove the pillar cover and feed the wires down through the dash. The wire did not want to stay tucked into the headliner. I wrapped tape around the wire in a few places to make it thicker so that when I tucked it into the headliner it stayed up. Now it works great. The manual that comes with the radio is just a quick installation guide. To get the full manual I went to the Kenwood website and download the manual. I printed it off in booklet form so I could easily refer to it. It was something like 148 pages long. I printed it two sided and two pages per page of paper and it still came out 3/8" thick when folded in half, but it was worth it to get all of the information because not all of the controls are intuitive and the book really helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2014 must have
Review by
Mark from North Providence, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You get all that you need in this unit, nice and easy to use, and a piece of cake to install. for the price you cant beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 26, 2014 Awesome price
Review by
Ken from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice easy all around system, user friendly. The remote is great to have also. Would recommend this unit to anyone looking for an upgrade from factory unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2014 Great features--Great sound!
Review by
John from Jackson New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great upgrade to our RV. Easy install in our 2003 Ford E450 Winnebago.

Sounds great and simpler to operate than our original rv radio.

Love the Bluetooth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2014 Works great!
Review by
Chuck from Toledo, Oh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced factory AM/FM in my Chevy express with this unit . Factory speakers and sound is great. BT with RAZOR HD is very good. same quality as OEM BT. Has many features, I liked the ability to turn them off ( AHA, Pandora, Etc) as I don't use them. Display can show incoming caller ID and can answer and hang up from stereo. XM Add on is easy to use and the remote works well. ( I find it useless )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2014 Ken wood dpx500bt
Review by
Garry from Claremore, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was the easiest to install everything worked the first time no brainier ,and it looks great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2014 Average
Review by
Sharma from edmonton, alberta, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SO, i have reviewed this product from my account so it wont let me change it or re-review it, however after playing around with this headunit i must say the tuning setting are really good and the output is great, however on the higher end it starts to distort my coax speakers, and i won't be using the pandora aha or iheart as the apps are flimsy and theyre not really available in canada the sirius xm is available but the HU doesnt come with that accesory so i guess u have to buy it separately and hook it up or probably my install guy didnt do that, besides that the front aux and usb works like it should nothing spectacular, the bluetooth is where i dont like it, if i play music via bluetooth the quality is not good and it doesn't put out any bass notes.. only highs and mids, the handsfree calling feature is great and i guess thats basically what its meant to be used for so when i disconnect bluetooth the HF disconnect message just doesnt go away unless i restart the vehicle, the color illumination is good but during the day only certain colors can be seen so!! not super useful ive left it at plain white color. install is fairly easy everything is straight forward and marked. comes with all the install kits and accesories you will need. will i buy it again, no i wil buy something more expensive and something with more option and touch screen and blah blah. but for someone on a budget this is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2014 cant beat it for the price!
Review by
James from Canal Winchester, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent aftermarket stereo. Very easy installation. Installed in 2005 F150 with factory subwoofer. Sounds amazing. Bluetooth works great, no complaints from people i talk to . I prefer using the usb drive. Love how the track name scrolls on the display. Get this, you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2014 Android users beware, otherwise perfect!
Review by
Hava from Mariposa, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The only negative thing I have to say about my new Kenwood stereo is that after buying an android compatible stereo, neither my android phone nor my android tablet work in the USB plug. After purchasing a few extra parts from the hardware store (aside from the installation kit), a friend of mine was able to install it himself with no issues. I love the way it looks in my Expedition and I love the way it sounds. I had plans to Install an Alpine power pack amp and speakers as well but honestly, after hearing the sound quality with the stock speakers and the new stereo I am in no rush to buy the amp and speakers. The only reason I might still buy them is to get a better base sound out of the stereo. I couldn't be happier with my purchase and the customer service from Sonic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2014 good product
Review by
piyush from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works fine like the colors and the output is pretty good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2014 great Kenwood radio
Review by
JT from Gardendale, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Found this for a great price. Love the hands free Bluetooth phone setup that worked great with my android phone and also works well with music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2014 Awesome deal super fast shipping!
Review by
Polo from Surprise, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazed how fast I received my stereo. Everything that came with it was super easy to put together and I ended up with more than I needed. Sounds great, awesome color options, easy to use, Bluetooth works like a charm, no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2014 Excellent product
Review by
Tony from Le Mars, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo is very nice sounding even with the factory speakers. The Bluetooth is a nice feature along with the usb option. I had never heard of Sonic Electroix until I searched for prices on this item. They had the best price online. I am very pleased with the product and deal I received from them. I would highly recommend them and would do so again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2014 Very Good unit, But..
Review by
William from Plano, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Owners manual is short & poor, lacks much details of operation settings & set up, the web page is the same brief. So what is the only option call and ask my list of "what is this"? Overall it's a good unit and preforms well and I would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2014 Great Sound and Great Fit in a 2007 Nissan Frontier (non-Fosgate)
Review by
Terry from Cocoa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First, I was concerned about the technical difficulty of the installation but it was actually quite easy. I used some ground-down tongue depressors and popsicle sticks to release the dash clips. Search on-line for videos. I used the Scosche NN03B Wiring Harness and the Metra 99-7581 Dash Kit. An Antenna Adapter was not required. Wired the Illumination wiring on the stereo to the factory wire controlling the parking lights, not the variable dimmer wire. Dimming works as expected when the headlight are turned on.

The Metra Dash kit is primarily for single DIN radios so most of it is wasted. They do provide one essential double DIN trim piece that mounts easily on the inside of the dash and frames out the stereo very well. It is only piece of the kit that was used. I am very, very pleased with fit, look and finish of the installation.

From an operations perspective, it sounds really good. The initial setup was straightforward but a lot to absorb in one sitting. The Key color selections match the orange Frontier dash lighting quite well. I chose blue for the text display colors - looks great.

I updated the firmware for the stereo after the setup, which was a mistake as it reset some of my user preferences - so update the firmware first.

Bluetooth phoning is OK - I mounted the mic above the rear view mirror - seems to work OK - time will tell. It pairs easily with my Samsung S3. I don't stream audio via Bluetooth but rather use a very small flash drive in the USB port, which is really handy and sounds great.

Overall, I couldn't be happier. BTW, I'm 65 years old, so you young guys will have no problems. Take your time - enjoy the process. It was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2013 Kenwood DPX500BT ROCKS!
Review by
Phil from Acton, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fantastic Sound, Looks Great, Loaded with Features. Easy to install. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2013 Nice multiple vehicle trim plate options
Review by
Dave from Herriman, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had a factory gm/delco unit face finally finish burning out, looked at several units and went with the kenwood due to features. Keep in mind the gm unit is only a 1.5 din so I knew some creative modification was needed that is when the multiple face plate trims helped, I used the (Toyota) trim and enlarged the dash bezel for it. The harness matches the color codes of all oem adapters like scoshe gmda, the instruction manual is a quick guide only did have to go online for details. Overall very pleased with unit and prompt service from sonic. FYI if replacing a factory 1.5 din don't waste time and money on dash kits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2013 Great Sound
Review by
James from Mississauga, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Radio sounds incredible and works perfectly. Integrated well and auto programmed with the ASWC-1 with no headaches. Can't wait to finish my set up and have my subs hooked up and see what what results I get.

Careful with the screen on this. The display is housed in cheap plastic that scratches so easily. With basically no pressure at all, it can damage the liquid inside the LCD and distort it. That aside - it's a solid unit and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2013 good stereo and price
Review by
Mike from Ocala, fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sent it quickly. Was so easy to install especially with the easy instructions. Radio is cool. My son loves the changing colors. Easy to operate. Thanks sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great value
Review by
cruz from Porterville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am very happy with the stereo the price I paid was about 40% less then the local business very easy to install it and easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great Player
Review by
Dogpatch from BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Functions well. Good Remote. I love the Blue Tooth. Connected to my Blackberry with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Bluetooth could be better
Review by
Jarek from Mississauga, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall OK unit, Bluetooth can be hardly heard, and the screen in any sunlight is pretty much useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2013 perfect!!!
Review by
Kenzie from Central Point, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is great! It has a nice sleek look that makes it look classy while putting out great sound. The Bluetooth is a great edition to this all around awesome radio. It gives true power to my kicker 6 3/4" and 6x9's. This is a great edition to any sound system and I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2013 Kenwood DPX500bt
Review by
D-Rodman from Long Island
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had a year old DPX308, was pleased with it but found myself wanting BT. On my other car I have a pioneer I really like, decided to go for a FH-X700BT, a radio with very positive reviews. Really disliked that HU, super plane Jane looks, boring, ugly with mediocre sound and a problem freezing and giving error messages. Sent that Pioneer back to Sonic(thank you) and got the kenwood DPX500BT. Install was simple, adjustments were very intuitive, easy to setup. The sound is far better than on the 308, it just a far superior HU in so many respects. The new 500 is a very goon looking HU but the 308 is better looking day or night. All said, I am very happy with my new HU, sound is very stout, crisp and clear. Thanks Sonic, thanks Kenwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz