Showing 30 reviews for Clarion EQS746

Customer Review Summary for Clarion EQS746
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 164 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
November 21, 2011 Good eq
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Harold from Ewa beach, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This eq is good easy to tune make you sound 10x louder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2014 : Clarion EQS746
Review by
vic from cloquet,mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am using this EQ now it does a good job of making the music sound good.The only compliant I have is after I wired this up I had engine wine in the speakers. After a lot of trouble shooting I found if I put a filter on the alternator it went away. I don't care how I grounded it or ran the wires it still would wine in the speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2014 money well spent!!
Review by
ant.b from bakersfield ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Heard this eq in my bro in law f150 trk. Sounded AMAZING, so being a guy i sayed I HAVE TO HAVE THIS SAME EQ IN MY EXPEDETION. Items just came in and installed them (items came in 3 days earlyer) and it sounds GREAT, better then expected. I dont even have the sub vol on half and it ROCKS. All my other settings are turned up to bout 75-80% due to my sub. Its pushing alot of power so i need my highs to be alil bit louder. This is well worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2014 best eq filor the price
Review by
Basshead from wharton, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I first bought one of these Eqs back in 2002 it just recently worn it out.bought the updated version. This is the best EQ for the price. You can't beat it, simple install and easy set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2014 Would Recommend!
Review by
Troy from West Bend, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this because I wanted more flexibility in tuning with my heavily customized stereo. It definitely helped but I ended up purchasing an Audison Bit Ten to better suit my tuning flexibility. But, for your average to above average stereo, this inexpensive little guy will definitely spruce things up on the sound quality front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2013 Solid Equalizer
Review by
Geff from Upland, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Clarion EQ was a solid addition to my setup in my car. I have Rockford Fosgate Punch series speakers in all six factory locations in my 99 Camaro and I am running them with a R400-4D Prime amp from Rockford as well.

One thing to note is that the equalizer didn't give me a lot better sound quality from my speakers like I was expecting. Granted, the fine-tuned control over the 7 frequency bands is very nice and allows me to set things just the way I like them, but the SQ from my speakers just was not increased to the magnitude I was hoping for even though I increased from 2V outputs on my headunit to the [up to] 7V outputs on the Clarion. Maybe there's a piece to the puzzle I'm missing in order to get that SQ, though.

On the plus side, I wasn't expecting to get a cleaner subwoofer signal; man I was in for a treat! When I listened to some music I was familiar with I noticed a large difference in the accuracy and tightness in the subwoofer's response. That alone made the $65 dollar purchase worth it, though I'm not sure I would buy this EQ at full retail price ($140ish).

Lastly, I did not pick up any static or noise because of going from 2V on my headunit to the 7V from the EQ; just make sure you have good connections and RCAs and you should be safe.

As always, great prices and shipping from Sonic Electronix!

4/5 on the Overall and Value ratings because of the hardly noticeable increase in SQ, though still a great little equalizer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2013 Nice One!
Review by
Ar2ro from Tucson
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good equalizer; easy installation, 6 months of use with no issues so far... I recomend this product =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2012 very cool
Review by
SCOTT from FLOWER MOUND, TEXAS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i like how it boosts the line signal. You can tell an immediate difference. You can actually tell when you change frequency. A con.. I don't like the fact only one input from the head unit is split from the EQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2012 Great Product
Review by
Junior_Charger from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Previous to buying the Clarion EQ I was running my sound system with just a Soundstream Epicenter. I felt like I had two different sounds playing.
The Clarion EQ brought the sound together and improved the quality of my sound system all together. Great product. Works great and I paid half of what my local audio store charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2012 A very good EQ
Review by
RG from Lodi, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered the Clarion about six weeks ago. Prompt delivery, not hard to install and easy operation. Does just what it should, no problems, and the dark blue lights do look good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 works wonders for your subs
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brian from Hanover Park, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this eq to tune my subs seperatly and it works great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2011 Great EQ
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brian from Hanover Park, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This clarion EQ is just what I wanted for my subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2011 fast delivery
Review by
anderson from frankfurt, Germany
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Item got to my APO, AE address very fast. I am very satisfied but the signal to noise ratio is high so I have more of a buzzing noise then I had before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2011 Clarion eq
Review by
Jose from Compton, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This eq comes in handy with the bass knob and the volume knob is a plus. I don't need to turn it down from the deck. I have this eq hooked up to 2 L7's with a 5500 class d amp. This baby knocks hard even though the gain isn't turned up all the way!! I would definatley recommend this eq to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 good EQ.
Review by
Stephen from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit makes your whole system sound awesome, if you have the space for it get one, one down side is a big thump when you turn your ignition off as you exit your car. You can eliminate this by turning your system off first, then the ignition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2011 Clarion EQS746
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Montana2140 from bronx ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good sound, no problem- I'm not happy with this site, I buy n buy n no discount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2011 Nice little unit
Review by
liebezeit from Ann Arbor, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted some real knobs and this provides it in a nice looking unit at a great price that just so happens to perfectly match my Pioneer head unit. The one thing I wasn't sure about is the note in the manual that says you should stop using your head unit volume in favor of its own volume knob. I haven't been doing that but haven't noticed any audio degradation. Also the depth (+-db) of effect isn't as large as I'd like but it's pretty standard for an eq unit like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2011 good buy
Review by
Dave from St.Georges, Grenada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price its a good bargin. The only thing I think its missing is a dedicated on/off switch for the sub-woofer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2011 good eq
Review by
Dharmendra from Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have Focal speakers and put this eq on them made them sound a lot better than they did before, only con is the lettering on the knobs dont light up but still looks good at night. good eq for the great price. sonic electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2010 Best bang for your buck
Review by
Nick from Pittsburgh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this unit for anyone looking for a bit more control over your sound stage. Although not high end the equalizer gives the average user a nice hands on feel. I highly encourage you as a buyer to give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2010 clarion eqs746
Review by
Solo from Palmdale, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like this eq because it picks up the bass really good this is a good up-grade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2010 Great Quality
Review by
Roberto from Cidra, P.R., Puerto Rico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly recommend this product for its quality and price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 25, 2010 Value Equaliser but not the best
Review by
Gwin from Sydney, NSW, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
easy to install, no performance issues, and easy to use.

This is basically a good equalizer but doesn't do wideband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2009 Great value
Review by
JUDE from Port of Spain, 0, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great preamp for the price, well made, does a good job at equalization, its my second, no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2009 Good value
Review by
Ray from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used the product all summer in a marine environment and it held up well, hopefully it will continue to do so in future summers. Great for fading between the cabin speakers and tower speakers as well as turn the sub up or down as well as adjust the frequencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2009 GOOD BANG FOR THE BUCK
Review by
badmotorboater from dayton, ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this for my boat, it has worked pretty well for me. The one thing i dont like is how the backlighting will dim and even go out when the bass hits really hard, i have tried rewiring it thinking it was in the install but even hooked straight to the battery it still does it. As far as sound quality it was a great inexpensive way to expand the sound system in my boat, and i especially like the volume control feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2009 Best bang for you buck eq out there I've found.
Review by
KCBOO1 from Kansas City,KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Helps make systems sparkle and really come alive. The only draw back is it only accepts up to 3 volts input. just make sure you signal isn't too hot and you are good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2009 Good performer
Review by
Victor from Carrboro, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a small profile eq, im currently using this product and still liking it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2009 Clarion EQ
Review by
luis from fort stockton , TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would recomend this EQ it works good and it makes my system more loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2009 ok not great
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from innisfil, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would have to say this is an ok product.one thing i didnt like about it is the sub control,or should i say lack of control.there is only sub volume not freq. not great when you listen to a wide variety of music.misses that little edge in control unlike the kicker eq i bought to replace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz