Showing 35 reviews for Hifonics BRX1600.1D

Customer Review Summary for Hifonics BRX1600.1D
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 43 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
81%
4 star:
.
.
16%
3 star:
.
2%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 17, 2014 Hard to beat
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joseph from Rockingham, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp isn't quite creating its rated power. (1473 RMS on a 1 ohm load with a 14.7V input), HOWEVER, 1500 watts for $189 is very tough to beat. The guts of this amp look rock solid. After 20 hours of hard use it has yet to overheat. One thing I did notice, the amp is VERY efficient. I don't run a dual alternator set up, just a single 300 amp alternator, and this amp isn't sucking juice like most amps its size. I think its efficiency is actually a little higher than the manufacturer states in the product literature. Only negatives I noticed were the dinky control knobs from 1983 that you need a small screwdriver to adjust. Real knobs would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2014 Need watts?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dean from Lake Balboa, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price there is no amp even close with the same power and durability. I have a long commute and use this BRX amp at least 3 hours a day powering two 12" BRZ subs. Passengers can't handle the ear pain. The LED lights look sick at night. The angled terminals help hide the wire, just drill the holes close to the amp. Your car's wiring must be solid to get all the power out of the amp. Tune it properly. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2013 Hifonics for tha MFW!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
BJ from Okmulgee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You can't go wrong with this beast. Hifonics is one of the best amps out hands down. Quality product, great design and POWER! I've owned Hifonics mono blocks in the past and every single one performed as designed. I use all types of amps, high and low end. Hifonics has a low end price with a high end output. You will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2013 Amazing Amp
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
IanD from Sacramento
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed this amp last weekend and I love it! I have it connected to 1 Alpine Type-X 12'. I am running it at 2 Ohms and it sounds excellent!! I highly recommend this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2014 great for the price
Review by
Jeff from Warsaw, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp does pound hard! i am running 2 re audio 12sexd4s on it and it exceeds anything else youre likely to find for the price. something to note: it is a power hungry bastard. definately want to make sure youre electrical system is up to snuff. it makes a lot of power but takes alot of power. that being said im not mad i bought it, i have big 3, 0 gauge amp wire, a rockford rfc10hb capacitor and am about to purchase an xs power d3400.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 16, 2014 killer amp Hifonics Brz 1600.1
Review by
Justin from Casselberry, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is 2006 CEA compliant. It puts out what it says on the box. Might need to upgrade your battery to handle this amp. this is a beast and if you add a dry cell its amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2014 Good for the price
Review by
Bryan from San Rafael, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been running this at 1 ohm for a few months now, with no issues. It seemed a bit light when I originally un-packaged it, but my concerns have vanished after my success with it. Definitely a good buy for the price. The lighting is actually kind of cool around the edges and face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2014 sportman
Review by
Randy from Magnolia, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All I can say is wow this amp has got some balls. (Hopefully that is acceptable) This is by far the best amp I have ever had. It does not get hot and the clarity is really sweet. Not to mention it is loud as he'll. The lights on this amp look killer to say the least. It has it all. No cons just pure joy. Thanks again Sonic for great products and prices to boot, along with exceptional service. Keep it up Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2014 BEAST AMP!!
Review by
Dom from Austin, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for a few months now and let me tell you. Once I upgraded my electrical system the power started showing up. Sitting at 14.4v at .5 ohms, this thing pounds. Had it powering 2 12inch CVRS but decided to upgrade and run 6 12s off this beast at .63 ohms. Plan on getting another one soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2014 nice power 4 a good price
Review by
wilfredo from waynesville, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got this hooked up to a 1200 rms mofo and it has the speaker maxed with not even a hint of heat. One thing is that I have 4 gauge wire with a 3 frg cap and the 40 amp still not enough for the amp to push at its max. Go 1/0 with this bad boy if you want to tap into that 1600 rms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2014 This Amp Is RIGHT
Review by
Gio from Miami, Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
first off im going to say that sonic has this listed as 2 awg wire to install, but when i opened it it fits my efx 4awg wire perfect into the terminal. i dont know if its just the wire of the efx being very thick or it just takes 4 awg. Anyways this amp looks so raw and has power into it. i had two alpine type s and it was powering those really good. i would def recommend this to anyone who is looking for power at the right price. Hifonics Brutus is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2014 great amp
Review by
bassbeast from Chicago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp powers my 10 type r like a beast gonna have to upgrade door speakers because how hard this amp pushes my sub over a month and a half it has not overheated or went into protection mode on me was easy to bolt down inside my truck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2014 brx1600
Review by
bk customs from blaine, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hifonics Brutus series amps are powerful and reasonably priced.. You cant go wrong with any of the Brutus series amps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2014 the right price for a bad ass amp! !
Review by
russell72 from baytown, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp slams! And looks good to. I have it hooked up to one kicker l7 12.I have had jl audio and just did not impress me. This amp sounds good and has plenty of power! ! Looks good day our night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2014 Hellz yea
Review by
Daniel from adelanto, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got 2 of these on 8 l3s and they knock nasty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2014 Great buy
Review by
Dee from Chicago Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product for any one try to put together a system for bass, this amp is a awesome buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2014 Bad Azz Amp
Review by
Pyg from Enfield, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best Amp I Have Ever Owned Next 2 A Soundstream Rubicon. Even Tho The Soundstream had jus a slight sq over the Hifonics. It's still the best bang for your buck. As far as amplifiers go, I'm sticking with Hifonics. Played hard for 2 Hours straight and barely got warm, not to mention I have 2 Soundstream RW-12s rated at 600rms a piece wired to 1 ohm with the gain closely set to 2volts with the bass eq turned half way up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2014 No complaints
Review by
AllWeKnowIsWinning from Raleigh, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this running one type R 12 at 2ohms. It works great. But the only bad thing I noticed was that the bass knob was not allowing the amp to fully power my sub. It was shorting it. It was weird, never seen that before. So now I have no use for the knob. I can just adjust my settings through my alpine deck. I would buy this beastly amp again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2014 Beast
Review by
Big J from Galveston Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp at a great price with great power- beat tha block up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2014 Hifonics brx1600.1D
Review by
Red from Las Vegas nv
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best amp I have ever purchased I wouldn't go with any other brand braised a hifonics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2014 An incredible value in Sub Woofer Amps!
Review by
Barney from San Diego CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp really packs some punch, and at a price point that not
many quality products can touch- and this is a quality amp. The
filters allow you to quickly turn the sound of your sub woofer to
your vehicle and preferences.

This is the 2nd Hifonics amp I have had, and I would not hesitate to
buy another. Just a great amp, at a great price. Thank you for the fast shipping service too- you guys are outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 Great Amp
Review by
Chris from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got this amp and hooked it up to my 2 rockford fosgates p2d4-12's. They are 800rms and 1600 watt peak, and this amp pushes them great! Have the amp up about half way and it works just fine! Never gets that hot either which is another great thing. The build quality of this amp is very good. It's solid and has some weight and size to it! It lights up all blue too which is cool also for a look factor. Over all this amp is a great buy for the price. I would recommend this amp for sure to anyone with power ratting that my subs push.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Hifonics brx1600.1d
Review by
Omar from Salinas ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this amp for a pair of sundown sa10s and man oh man does this amp do the job doesnt over heat ordered it from here fast shipping got it the next day great service great quality products would defintely purchase from here again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Great Amp
Review by
Edgar from Mty, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is perfect for 2 RE SEX 12D4 wired to 1 ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2013 great prices
Review by
denail from east chicago ind.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would encourge anyone to get all of your audio systems toys from sonic there prices are unbeatable and there service is great you won't find any place to get the best for less then sonic electrioncs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2013 bang for my buck
Review by
robert vee from fairfield, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price one of the best amps out there!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2013 Amazing!
Review by
Jeff from Massillon, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been using this amp for a while now and there have been zero problems, just great bass. installation was easy, the design looks great and i love the illumination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 my first amplifier
Review by
Caesar from Montreal, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great with my fi q12. gives fair sound quality and looks good.
I believe it gives true rms watts given the loudness and light dimming ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2013 Great Amp
Review by
Paul from Chickasaw, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best amp I have ever had. The power coming from this amp is great. You will need an extra battery, because it demands more power. I highly recommend the Hifonics BRX1600.1D. I plan to get two more in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2013 perfect performance
Review by
Sam Eddleman from Jefferson, Oregon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this amp because it does exactly what it says it will and looks great also it never heats up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2013 Amazing amplifier for the price!
Review by
Alex from Brampton, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently bought this amplifier and paired it with a Kenwood KFC-W3013PS. This 12" sub is being fed 600 watts rms @ 4 ohms and let me tell you, those 600 watts have been the loudest and cleanest I've heard in a while.
This amp features a sub-sonic crossover, as well as a low pass crossover; with the crossovers and gains set right, the bass is incredibly clean and loud, even when it's coming from a 12" sub!
As long as you set the crossovers and gains right, this amp will deliver a clean output all the time! Another cool feature is that the Hifonics badge on the amp illuminates blue and the top and bottom of the heat sink also illuminates blue; it looks great at night.
Keep in mind that this amp is power hungry so don't play your music too long with the engine off or else your battery will drain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2013 Awesome Amp
Review by
Charles from huron, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
have gain set to a little over half way xover set at 80hz and subsonic set to 32hz this thing makes by subs hit hard and accurate. (dual l7 12" in undersized ported box). it does draw power and reached my older cars limit of its electrical system. but it is a great great buy cannot stress that enough. also have an xscorpian 150A anl fuse by battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2013 Quality Amplifier
Review by
Asap Steven from Spring Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a quality amplifier, for the price you cannot beat this. If you're on a budget, this is the amplifier for you. I also have a 4 channel Hifonics 1200.4 And together these two create and unbeatable team. The angled terminals I have the wires going under the board so the blue lights and wires go down into an unseen area make it perfect. Show car status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2013 good buy
Review by
jg316 from phoenix az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this amp for about a month now, no problems what so ever. good amp for the price. running it at 4 ohms right now bangs so loud it loosened the screws in my box, in processes of building new box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2013 sick!!!!
Review by
peyton from metropolis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just Bought This Amp To Replace A Kicker 750.1 Pushing A Soundstream Splx12 And It Is Doing Some Major Work, The Only Problem I Have Is I Have 4 Gauge Stinger Wire And It Is Still Too Big, Definately Dont Need 2 gauge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz