Showing 25 reviews for Kenwood KAC-5001PS

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KAC-5001PS
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
92%
4 star:
.
.
8%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.8
Features
4.5
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 2, 2014 Update
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
dkeproductions from Sacramento
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Still going strong and I did in fact buy another for another sub. This thing sure does make stuff vibrate in my truck. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2014 Great Amp!
10 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Blake from Loganville, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is amp is the best value for the money. It pushes 2 Kicker Comp 12s with ease. They hit really hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2013 Great Amp!
12 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ken from Grants Pass, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an excellent little amp! Have this powering 2 Kenwood KFC-W2513PS 10" subs at 2Ohms and it sounds fantastic. Perfect match. The subs are in .70 ft^3 enclosures.

My only complaint would be the lack of a bass boost knob, but so far it sounds great set at 1/2 on the amp.

I love the small size and clean look of the amp also. It's very easy to tuck away under or behind a seat. I highly recommend this little beast of an amp, especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2015 Powerful Little Amp
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brian from Fayetteville, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing a Polk DB840 sub. This amp sure makes the sub perform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2015 works amazing
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brahm from Walterboro, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this about a month ago and it works amazing. it does overheat rarely but im running 3 10 inch subs. I wish the terminals were a little bigger because I run 4 gauge wire and cant fit but a quarter of it in it. that's my only complaint. IT SHUTS ITSELFF OFF WHEN IT GETS TOO MUCH POWER TO IT. BUT TURN THE VEHICLE OFF THEN BACK ON AND ITS BACK TO NORMAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2014 Great value, Kenwood durability
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Philip from Mandeville, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Small footprint, fairly low profile, end plates help to cover and dress up the wires but remove quickly and easily with an allen wrench. If you're looking for bass but not trying to wake up the whole block, this is a great amp for a reasonably sized single sub (and trust me, wired to 2 ohm it's plenty of power to get loud.)

If I have one gripe, it would be the lack of a subsonic filter, but in this price range that's quite a rarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2014 Small but powerful amp!
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christina from Wayne, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would absolutely recommend buying this amp. I replaced a boss amp with the Kenwood amp and the difference was unbelievable! This amp is small but believe me when I say it's powerful. Unlike the boss amp the Kenwood amp has true ratings. You can push it hard and it does not get hot, completely cool to the touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 18, 2014 Great for the price
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from Bremerton, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great useing this to drive a dvc 10 inch sub. Its just right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2014 Great Amp
8 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Al Green from Ponca Oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far this amp has been great, it is powering my 2 10' Kenwood Excelon subwoofers great and with plenty of power to spare. It is reliable and small for its power output. Easy installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2014 Powerful
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Shawn from Surrey, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp hooked up to a alpine type S 10" rated at 500rms and this amp sure makes the sub work! Playing at max volume with heavy consistent bass at the most I have noticed it gets a little warm but nothing to be worried about! I would definitely buy this again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 10, 2013 Great little amp!
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
isaac from Canmore, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to power my little 10" sub in my Mini Cooper. Doesn't get too hot and tucks away perfectly in one of the side tool pockets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2013 Nice Amp
8 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gary from Lakebay, Wash
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this amp in my HHR Panel and it really kicks out the bass well. I was worried that it might even punch out my back window. I've owned Kenwood amps in the past and this amp is no disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2014 WOW
7 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Delaware, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First I would like to say I would recommend this to anyone, Also sonic electronix has great prices and fast shipping. The Kenwood KAC-5001PS
is a great amp and really makes my subwoofer move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2014 A Lot of Amp For The Money
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christopher from Springfield, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great amp for the money. I have this amp pushing 2 JL Audio 10WXv2 subs. It's nice and small so it mounts easily behind my rear seat in my F150 supercab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2014 Good Amp for the Money
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Adam from New Albany, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Added the amp to a Kicker 2ohm sub and it woorks great. Not a bad buy for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2013 Great amp
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kevin from Lake Stevens, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp running one RE Audio SEX10D4 wired at 2 ohm. It hits nice and hard. The sound is clear and deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2013 Great amp
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bowelly from Lumberton
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great little amp pushes a lot of power. Would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 8, 2014 Nice Amp.
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
christopher from fredricksburg, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a good amp. As to the name: top of the line. Kenwood has always offered great products and that is still the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 23, 2014 Slams!
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jason from Thomasville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is so powerful for it's size. It slams a SRX 12 REAudio subwoofer with no issues in my challenger. I have it mounted in a custom box and the amp does not even get warm. Thanks Sonic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2014 Good match - wanna buy another one and sub
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
dkeproductions from Sacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
One problem I had with my former setup was that I was using Road Gear amps aka Walmart brand amps. One 250 watt to power my Rockford Fosgate 12 inch 4 DVC Prime shallow mount sub and an 80 watt to power my Rockford Fosgate Prime 6x9s. Now I was hearing distortion even at low volumes on my 6x9s, not good. Furthermore, my sub amp went into protect mode as i was playing very loudly my bass music. I was due for an upgrade so I bought this Kenwood amp here and shifted my amps around. Now mind you my sub is rated 250 RMS which I have wired in a 2 ohm configuration and the amp is rated at 500 RMS @ 2 ohms as well. OH MY GOD does it sound beautiful with the addition of my recently bought Clarion EQS746 and boy did I learn something about underpowering your drivers. If you underpower you run the risk of distortion the louder you get but if you overpower your drivers you have headroom just be sure not to set your input gains too high on the amp or you run the risk of driver failure.

The bump is arriving and forming and slowly reaching its way into my very soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 Good Value - Nice Unit
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from San Francisco, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great beginner one channel amp. It drives my 1000w subwoofer easily with great sound quality. Does not draw much power and stays extremely cool. Three simple controls adjust sound. Easy to install - do it yourself by watching videos, etc. Don't waste money having it done at an installer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2013 Great amp
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
steve from cambridge, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
installed this amp in a ford excape with a single Alpine E10. Full warm sound, plenty of bang, sounds great, good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2013 Great for the price!
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bob from Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hooked this up to my 2 10 inch kickers and they sound and run great! Id recommend this to anyone as long as it is powerful enough for the speakers you are using. A little difficult to install but it wasn't too bad I'm not a pro by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Great Amp!!
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kim from Wantagh NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Amp. Clear crisp Bass! Have owned a lot of Kenwood amps and have to say for a sub amp this is one of the best I have ever had. Sound is clean, adjustments are sensitive and allow you to get that amp fine tuned perfect. Even though I added a Cap (all systems should have them) before I installed power draw was minimal. I would recommend you consider this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2014 Kenwood KAC-5001ps
7 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
christopher from fredricksburg, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted an amp that was a well known brand known for top of the line quality and that is what I got. Not to mention that it offers true RMS power and simply will not over heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz