Showing 44 reviews for Alpine SWR-1522D

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWR-1522D
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 44 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
89%
4 star:
.
.
7%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.7
Features
4.8
Design
4.7
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 19, 2010 Fantastic!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Peter from east moriches, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently bought one of these. It's in a sealed box running off a nitro bmw 2000w amp and it sounds great. hits all the lows and as loud as you want it it'll never get distorted. Anybody looking for a single sub that gives you a back massage while you drive, look no further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2014 Alpine Sub Lover
Review by
Chris from Decatur, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ridiculously happy and I don't think you could get more bang for your buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2014 Alpine type R 15"
Review by
cody from greenville, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First off, I believe the type r I had was (defective), said to be brand new when purchased from sonic electronix. It appeared to new, however upon powering the subwoofer with a rockford fosgate r1200 (400@4ohms) in a 2.9 cu ft box cross braced with 1" threaded rod, tuned with dual flared 4" precision aero ports and double baffled subwoofer plank and port plank boards. I started to play sine waves at less than half volume from the head unit, bass settings all off amp & head unit, and it was making a wanging noise, so I tried music and it didn't change the tone, shortly after the alpine type r stopped working. :-(...so I contacted SE they gave me a return authorization number, and I shipped it back to them for $ 70.00, I later received the broken subwoofer and no refund, they said iwas my fault because 400 rms isn't enough to break in a 750rms woofer in a ported enclosure...this subwoofer was apart of a $700.00 order, sonic electronix lost my future purchases an those of all my bass head buddies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2014 Great product
Review by
Alpine from Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub and product I have it in a ported box with a 14in 6 in PVC port and sounds great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2013 great speaker
Review by
Krystal from Riverton, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i love the sound and the way it hits it is an awesome product and would recommend it to anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great Service!
Review by
craiger from Cottonwood,ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great service! shipping went smooth and on time! Very happy with product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Powerful Sub
Review by
Neverlost from Agawam, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend this product! I'm new to the car audio scene, but this was the best investment I've made so far. I run 8 6" kicker and polk audio speakers in my nissan max. I have this sub bridged at 2ohms at 1,200 watts and it pounds...just watch youtube videos of it's power and kit's an understatement! It's about to blow out my rear window with sheer strength! Looks nice in my trunk but box takes up most of the room, next to my air ride tank
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2013 got 4 of em
Review by
Daniel from Adelantoadelanto, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These muthalovas slam hard as hell whole truck and house and neighbors house shaken on 3000 watts rms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2013 Awesome
Review by
Dope man from Chicago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was a great product. I would recommend for anyone looking for deep bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2013 Alpine SWR-1522D
Review by
Skyler from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fantastic subwoofer! You will not be disappointed! Best quality for Alpine Type R series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2013 IT IS LOUD
Review by
Ian from WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went from a 300 watt rms 12" pioneer sub to this... and boy I can hear a difference! I have it powered by the Re Audio DTS 1000.1 amp and I have it wired in parallel to 1 ohm. I made a custom ported box out of mdf and have it to the suggested 2.9 ft2 and tuned to about 32 hz. This thing hits really hard and it's kinda annoying because it makes so many things (including the trunk) vibrate and rattle, which is kind of what you go for in this nice of a sub! It kind of makes you feel uncomfortable playing it loud and you can feel it! When playing some songs with really low bass you can definitely tell that it is a 15" because it plays the lows of the lows. aside from being just loud it is also clear and everything you could want from a 15". It turns a lot of heads... It just happened to me the other day I was a couple hundred feet from these group of guys going TOWARDS them and all of their heads turned at the same time lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2012 Dang!!
Review by
Everick from Rockford, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worth every penny..no joke these subs cand handel any thing u can give it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2012 Great Subs
Review by
Belial from Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had two of these for over a year and a half. I recently blew one (my own fault) and just ordered a new one because these are the best for the money by far. Great durability and response. I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2012 alpine swr-1522D
Review by
ryan from delaware
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this sub to anyone that wants a great subwoofer to hit the low notes and slam your whole car. I threw this and 2 alpine swr-1222Ds in my truck of a corolla. Custom box they all face the same way. I'm feeding them all the exact ammount of rms wattage they take. I've had them at the rms and they still hit hard. My whole set up is Alpine. I've experimented with kicker, pioneer, boss, and others. Alpine is definitely top quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2012 Amazing sub
Review by
SilentBass from Lansing,MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you're into music with heavy bass like rap definitely an AMAZING buy. Have the box tuned super low and it hits so freaking hard it'll knock your socks off. Have only had it in an SUV however. Never have seemed to have over heated it, definitely it has warmed up a bit but nothing too concerning. Doesn't do the best with rock, but handles SOME rock decently. First sub I've owned and an amazing one at that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2012 type r ok
Review by
kris from Plover, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good sub for the money, handels good power, i had it in a sealed box which was nice, but it limited the sub which finially blew the rubber, sub still pounds but would suggest a ported box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2012 Super Fast Shipping
Review by
YouTube Yun Doe if you want music to play your subs on. from Bay Area
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub came super fast. Ordered it Monday 1 AM. Shipped that same day. Was at my door early Wednesday morning. Only bad thing is after I bought this sub, I wanted to buy another one but the price jumped. I think I'm going to sale this and go with 2 12" Type-Rs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2012 facemelting
Review by
Kp from Millersville, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this sub for almost 6 months. Hits harder than the kickers solo baric L7, my friend has one and mine is noticably better. Theres no better feeling than going on a long car ride with this sub having your whole car vibrating. As T.I. says "rear view's shaking, and my seats vibrating".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2012 Bangin Subs
Review by
ManessBoy from Lexington,TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love these sub i got two in my Ranger with a 4000 pa amp and they bang hard!!!! My back glass flexs 3 inches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2011 Great subwoofer
Review by
CB from Ocala, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best system at my school and I only have 1, running on 1800 watts. Louder than another kid with 2 15" kicker comps. Really good at hitting lows, and really almost any pitch/note/whatever. Getting a second one soon. It's a good price for it and it's worth the money. Recommend this sub for anyone who has room. It bangs hard in my little extended cab chevy s-10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2011 SWR-1522D
Review by
mj from Lancaster, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is definately a nice subwoofer. It hits ALL the lows! I have 4 of these hooked up to a rockford t30001bd and all i can say is OMG! I can honestly say that this is the ONLY subwoofer that i have heard that hits every note and trust me every 15 inch woofer dont hit every note. I wound definately recommend this subwoofer to anybody who wants that good quality sound with the extremely low end sound. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2011 Great sub
Review by
Chase from louisville ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound quality is great and hits the low notes good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2011 crazy sub
Review by
Jr001193 from kermit, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing crushes lows harder than any single sub I've ever seen it shakes my tailgate from my back seat. Its a true monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2011 saweet
Review by
Ben from kansas city, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys Alpines clean hitting wide range of low bass note that want to pull up next to that kid who thinks he's badass with his Walmart subs and blow him away. I do that all day down here. and nothing goes wrong. Alpine is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2011 amazing
Review by
jesse from roswell, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this subwoofer is a definite good buy. i have two and they blow my head off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2011 Great sub!
Review by
jay from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in a custom ported box tuned to 30hz with a autotek 1200 amp. and this sub pounds! The notes are always clean and clear never distorted. Wouldnt hesitate to buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2011 Best Buy!!!
Review by
Minister379 from Columbus Jct. Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these Alpine Type Rs with dual voice coils from SonicElectronix. I have then hooked up to my Kicker 987.1 and wow.. I just put them in and all my friends think im stupid.. I still need to get a power cap.. my lights dim alot. But if ur looking for a sub that will blow your mind for a reasonable price.. These are the way to go.. I wish Alpine would have use a different paint scheme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2011 it broke my face!!!
Review by
Diego from Gangstaville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in my 99 Chevy Blazer and it hits hard. It is being powered by a Hifonics BRZ1200 and it's a match made in heaven, it vibrates all my mirrors. It never distorts and sounds good at any volume. I have mine in a ported box that I bought off of amazon and it sounds great. This subwoofer is definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2010 subs
Review by
rob from toledo'ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
they are very good speakers pound harder then the L7's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2010 great sub
Review by
..... from phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub is great it has lasted more than my kicker l7 12" and it all clear bass I'm going to buy another sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2010 Amazing Subwoofer
Review by
Tony from San Ramon, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not only does this subwoofer turn heads and get you pulled over (as everyone seems to shoot for when buying a bass system) but this speaker provides amazingly clear sound and body to your music. I have it hooked up to a Hifonics 1008d Titan amp, running 1000 watts at 1 ohm. I've had the sub for about 2.5 years and it has outlasted the amp! Being a fanatical musician, I need the music in my car to sound superb when I make my daily 45-minute commute. This one is the winner with no contest. Alpine R-Series is top of the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2010 big bass
Review by
got spl? from ontario, canada, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got 2 15" type r's in car hatchback car and i love them, just put them in today and all i can say is wow they are amazing, loud and as mentioned before hit every note especially the low's! i have these subs in a custom ported box each chamber 2.4 cu.ft and each chamber is tuned to 39 hz and i couldn't be happier, i would recommend these to anyone who wants to go big and loud. i upgraded to these from 2 12" kicker L5's and what a difference. definitely a good switch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2009 4 15"s
Review by
Sorz from Lake Geneva, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had one 15" and two 10's in my prelude. I am so happy with the way the subs hit that I'm building a wall with 4 of these 15" at 1ohm hooked up to 4 volfenhag 1800 monoblock amps. Pounding!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2009 Mad Sick
Review by
sean from Du Bois, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is honestly great. I can run this single sub and still be the loudest in town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2009 Alpine all the way
Review by
Tom from North Providence. RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is so clean and loud.. it hits every note perfect, its much better quality than previous subs that ive had (13w3, 10w7, RF 12p3) and all the other ones didnt have such a wide range as this one does. I would recommend this to anyone looking for good quality bump.. and sonic electronix had it shipped to me 3 days early.. thanks guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2009 slappin
Review by
Ash from Nor Cal
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub will blow you away. This is the only 15 i have ever heard that does not miss a single beat or frequency. i was setting off car alarms with 1 of these in a vented 1" mdf box. outstanding product by alpine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2008 LOUD!!! A++
Review by
Tyler from RENO,NEV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive got about 1000 watts running to this thing and it is loud, i have a denali and it sounds great in it, rattles a ton, people look at me funny, people are definitely irritated, just what i wanted in a sub, great sub i recommend it to anybody!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2008 crazy sub
Review by
Isaiah from waianae, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my cuzin has 1 of these bad boyz in his jetta and boy does in pound its hooked up to a 1000 watt amp wired with 2 gauge wires and a alpine dvd head unit,very nice sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2008 WOW!!!! A+ +
Review by
Rajan from Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What to say??? come on people its ALPINE....
put this next 2 any JL Audio sub in its class and this will do just as good or even better if u hook it up right.... trust me i know from exp... owned 3...
MUST HAVE BUY ASAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2008 Alpine 15
Review by
Ben from lithia springs, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub pounds like crazy. I have it hooked up to a kenwood amp and it rattles my durango inside out. So far i have set off two car alarms and got pulled over 3 times. This sub is the perfect addition to any system that is looking to turn heads and for the price you can't beat it. Sonics had the cheapest price i could find and had it delivered quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2007
Review by
Jason from Sebastopol, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this speaker hooked up to a ma audio amp 1800 watts and it hits while still sounding good for the price and design this sub is killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2007 5stars
Review by
Joseph from Glendale, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought one from sonicelectronix and its so loud, while breaking it in i left the level on the amp at like 1/5 and the bass remote all the way down and it still beats so hard. definitely a must buy. its awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2006 AWESOME
Review by
Sage from Kapaa, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought one of these and I must say that it's one of the loudest subs I have ever heard. I have it running off of a Viper 1200.1 and it hurts. For the price, it's one of the best things you can buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2006
Review by
Eric from Annapolis, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i just bought two of these things and ran them off of two mtx 5601 amps and these things are nasty i would suggest you get them they are great for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz