Showing 39 reviews for Pioneer TS-SW841D

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer TS-SW841D
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 39 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
64%
4 star:
.
.
28%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
3%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.6
Features
4.5
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 14, 2011 Lots of "bump" from a small package!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John from Hibbing, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed two 8 inchers in the back of a street rodded 1936 Graham and was utterly impressed with the sound quality of them. No one believes me when I tell them that they are only 8 inch subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2014 best of the best
Review by
Roy from LaPuente
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend sonicelectronix to everyone great prices on everything they have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2014 Best sound you'll get in such a small package
Review by
Kevin from Salt Lake City, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I needed something to fit in a smaller box and this has been great for it's size. No complaints here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 28, 2014 Awesome little sub
Review by
JR from Gainesville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Perfect little sub for me. It is very compact and if matched with the shallow mount pioneer box that is made for this sub it sounds great. I'm only pushing it with a 400 watt pioneer amp and the sound is pretty impressive in my SUV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2014 Great value for the money
Review by
Mark from Honolulu, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent sound and great price. It fit perfectly where the stock subwoofer was located.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2014 Great subs
Review by
TJ from Salt Lake City, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I picked these up to strengthen the low end of my car setup (4x Infinity 60w rms 3-way 5.75in connected to an rms-matching Kenwood 4ch amp) and to boost the overall SQ. Have 2 of them hooked up to another Kenwood 120w per- channel 2ch amp. (4.2 surround sound, woo!) Currently they are mounted IB in the trunk, but will be moved into the rear deck once I have time to build the mount. Even in the trunk they fill out the low end with ease. Listening to a range of music (punk, celtic folk, dance/pop) everything is covered. It feels like I've got a bassist and drummer sitting behind. Absolutely love it. Had to pick up some 2x4s for a home project and the lumber fell on these subs. No damage, these things are resilient!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 Great sub
Review by
Rob from Boston ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You really need this sub for a replacement for 8th gen honda civic factory sub sounds incredible even with factory amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2013 Great job!
Review by
Massey from Mission viejo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I actually looked at every single review on these on this website before I purchased them and I was just mildly pleased with them. They do the job for 2 8 inch subwoofers and add some bass but I wanted them to be much more powerful. I have a 2001 Tacoma double cab so unfortunately this is the best I can fit in without cutting metal. As for the website and customer service from sonic electronix, couldn't be happier. Shipped to my house in 3 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Great little Sub
Review by
Jason from Fort Worth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've got two of these for my tundra Double Cab and they sound great. Don't expect to be blasting he windows out but they sound good for an 8".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 great choice for small spaces
Review by
Matt from knoxville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works well for the setup its in. Nice ouput for its size
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 Great choice for small spaces
Review by
Matt from knoxville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works well for the setup its in. Nice ouput for its size
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2012 Clean and crisp
Review by
Luc from mont-St-Hilaire, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nothing to complain about it. It was easy to fit it behind the passenger seat of my MX-5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2012 Great Sub
Review by
Georgeco from Laredo Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to fit under the second row seat of my Chevy Tahoe and not only does it fit but it gives a lot of punch that I was looking for. I listen to rock and alternative so I was looking for a sub that would deliver clean crisp bass and it does the job and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2012 Nice low profile
Review by
Neverl8 from Seattle
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Pioneer sub is low profile as advertised. Solid build quality with hefty wire connectors. Mounted mine in the factory location in back on the 4runner in place of the weak sub.

Sonic prices were right on so no complaint there.

Good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2012 Not bad
Review by
George from S. Carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice slim design fit the space saving box I made for the trunk. Sound is good but a little on the quite side being only an 8" and that I'm currently only powering it with a 250w cheap amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2012 Nice low profile sub
Review by
Padg from SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tight bass. I run it free air and still hits pretty good. Very happy with this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2012 Good replacement
Review by
E from Mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Used this product to replace a blown factory sub in a 1999 Ford Exp Eddie Bauer. Great bolt in style no fuss install. Great sounding fix for a do it youself repair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2012 Awesome sub woofer and price also !
Review by
Will from Hinesville, Georgia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm currently in Afgahnistan, but I purchased the subwoofer and had it installed and my wife said my car sounds so strong and loud. I can only imagine how I'm gonna bump my sound when I get home then I can give you a truly pure sound system opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 Great little sub for small compact install.
Review by
kdh from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently installed one of these little subs into the jump seat location in my 92 s10. If you are looking for a small little sub to round out the low end of your small system, then this would be a great addition. The build of the sub is very solid, its small, and pretty stout. The push button terminals are very nice, and the overall look for this sub is very nice. In the right kind of enclosure this is a very warm sub and will add a decent amount of low end punch. It is very responsive, quick and tight sounding while still being pretty lightweight. I have this installed in a sealed enclosure so that might help. Iím still in the break in stages right now, but Iím happy with what I am hearing. I currently have the sub being driven off my MB Quarts FX4.70 channels 3 and 4 bridged and it puts out a great amount of sound. The sub is priced very reasonable for its application. However, if you are looking for something with massive output, this is not the sub for you. While still a very nice sub, itís still an 8" sub, and you only have so much cone area. This would be a great fit for any small regular sized pickups, small 2 seat car, or if you plan to make a custom center console and just want some extra low end while saving space or looking for just a stealth install. While you can run this free air, I would not recommend it. If you are looking to do a small, simple, budget minded and hidden install, then this is the sub for you. Best of luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2012 Great Subwoofer
Review by
jshua from NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great subwoofer for regular cab pickups. Surprising bass from such a small sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2011 Pioneer-TS-SW841D review
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ray from Montreal, QC., Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this installed in my 2008 Civic SI with hopes it would be a straight swap for the stock sub but it wouldn't fit so in the end had it bolted from underneath with some MDF.
So performance of this sub is impressive for its size, used with a 200 watt amp I had lying around, with some deep bass that's just enough but not overpowering.
The best part is I still keep all my trunk space. I would defenitely recommend this product to anyone looking to upgrade an existing 8" sub but concerned about maintaining trunk space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2011 very good
Review by
Samuel from Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2011 Sounds great
Review by
Daniel from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running one of these in my system which is sending 300 watts RMS bridged mono from an old school PG XS6600 amp. Sounds fantastic, though I warn you I'm an adult listener and have the levels set properly. Most kids don't know what their doing and set the levels too high. Rattled sheet metal at stop lights comes to mind. Yes this can rattle the sheet metal but I have my gains on the amp properly adjusted and the level is set on my subwoofer level control to the correct level. If your interested in setting your level correctly, you should adjust the level down until you can barely tell if it is present, this takes a well trained ear but in the end you'll find it more of a satifying listening experience. This is a great sub if you are interested in keeping your trunk space for groceries and want the sub to play strait into your cabin. If your planning on installing these in an enclosure in the truck with no direct access to the passenger cabin I would recommend going with two of them. The main thing is they can handle the high power and sound good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2011 Good Value
Review by
Rupert from Richmond Hills, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this unit to replace a 10" driver that took too much space in my Roadster. I was pleasantly surprised as to its performance in a .5 cubic foot sealed enclosure. It is well built with spring loaded terminals. Unexpected at this price point. The bass response is clear and tight, bare in mind this is no JL 10W7. However if you want to add low end response and space is an issue, this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2011 Great value!
Review by
al from warner robins
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product for anyone who want the same size speaker as their factory one , but with a little more bang to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 Pioneer Sub- Woofer
Review by
L pequeno from Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is very very good, I use it as a replacment for a parcel shelf speaker as a modification left me with only a shallow space in the parcel shelf. The speaker pumps out great quality sound on a stock sound system, better than the panasonic original deep sub. Would strongly recommend to anyone with space issues or looking for a high quality sub woofer. Also delivery to aus was very fast and very easy and cheaper than a domestic retailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2010 Great shallow mount sub
Review by
Mark from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are probably the best shallow mount subs. In a box less than 4" deep you get great bass for super tight spaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2010 Would not buy from anyone else!
Review by
Mark from Gainesville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product sounds great for an 8" I have had ppl think I'm running a 12" back there. The shallow mount size is perfect for a pickup truck or place where size is limited. This sub really does bump with the proper enclosure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2010 Pioneer TS-SW841D
Review by
David from Bolingbrook, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered the subwoofers from Sonicelectronix.com and received them within three days. I mounted them into the doors of my 07 mustang along with a Pioneer 300 watt amp and the difference from the factory speakers are tremendous. Great performance for such a small depth sub. If short on space as I was for the door sub, this is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2009 Nice Sub
Review by
Gino from New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A little pricey but if you need a tiny sub for your application it will do the job very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2009 Cost Effective Moderate Bass
Review by
Fierce Cougar from Edmonton, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pleasing bass at moderate levels, but doesn't knock the mirrors off. Ample bass for moderate sound levels and most tastes.

Reasonable cost, seems to be well built with good materials. Long term reliability should be good, but remains unproven.

A good choice for small spaces and budget conscious buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2009 Great quality, value and size
Review by
Mike from Brandon, MD, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive been powering these subwoofers with a good amp for 5 months with hard hitting bass and zero problems. The best sub I know of for tight spaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2009 Pioneer 8
Review by
Robert Ritz from Kalamazoo, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product for anyone trying to install a sub in a limited depth enclosure. I installed this sub into the center console of my jeep to save room and it sounds spectacular! No kidding. I love this product. Kudos to Pioneer for developing a shallow sub series like this.

Not only does this 8" hit hard as hell, but it can also reach those really low bass notes associated with rap and dance music. I was impressed with its range and crispness.

It is exceptionally durable. The sub's face is exposed right next to where the seatbelt latch is and sometimes hit that or the drivers seat. I have not seen any indications of faltering performance other than a few scratches that occurred due to installation placement. It is a tank!


Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2008 rare shallow mount 8
Review by
Lee from gatineau, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not many shallow 8's out there.

This is a great looking subwoofer, very shallow mounting and the best part is small box requirements.

Something most people don't know is that these work well in an IB install and thus don't require a sub box (as per the manual). They can be mounted in the rear deck of a car that has a trunk.

I tried them out as dedicated midbass' but these are definitely subs, they did not do a good job as midbass'.

As subs they do pretty good but they do have limited output since they have such limited x-max and low efficiency.

I do like that pioneer's manual has many different configurations and box sizes for these guys. I was only able to try IB.

Unless you require a small box and the shallowness i would suggest to look elsewhere. However for what they are there aren't many shallow 8's out there, they are an interesting choice for stealthy or small space installs. For what they are, they are great, but in general there are better 8's out there.

I didn't use them very long so can't speak on reliability, but one of the 2 I ordered did not work. fortunately it was an easy fix, the side have push terminal inputs and it just needed a little bit of soldering. They seem solidly built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2007
Review by
Dave from FPO, AP
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed a pair of these 8 inch subwoofers in my 2003 VW GTI. I was looking for a sub that I could install in a enclosure that would not take up more than .5 ft per woofer and mount behind the area where the factory 6.5 inch rear speaker was. The TS-SW841D`s are being power by a Pioneer Premier PRS-D1100M that is being driven into a 2 ohm load ( 600 watts RMS x-over at 80hz ). When I first heard these, the bass sounds great and is very powerful for an 8 inch subwoofer!! I didn`t think it would produce large ammounts of Quality bass from being mounted in such a small enclosure. But after listining to them with some of my standard "BASS" CD tracks, I was really surprised to see how low they went ( solid all the way down to 40hz before they started to roll off ).But for being such a shallow mount 8 inch sub this thing packs a lot of punch for it`s size, I would have to say close to a pair of standard 10`s. I definetly recomend this subwoofer if your limited space and Sonic Electronix has a great price on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2007 little space big performance
Review by
Matthew from Whitby, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had one of these for a month and loved it so i got another. These subs take up no room and hit really hard for an 8", no one could believe they were only 8" subs, i will buy from pioneer again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2007 Great Small Sub
Review by
Patrick from Hickory, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i just installed this sub in my KC Nissan Frontier. it is an excellent sounding sub with great sound quality. i highly recommend it for anyone looking to add depth (as i was)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2012 Blown Pioneer TS-SW841D
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
joel from Raleigh, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased this sub to replace a factory 8" sub in a 2009 Acura TL.

Needless to say, running only 100 watts, this speaker blew out on me. The sound quality was not the best.

Now, I've purchased an Infiniti 8" reference to replace this. I'm throwing the Pioneer in the trash. Lasted only 3 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 16, 2010 Ok, but not the result I wanted
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dave from Vic, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this thing running free air in my rear deck, it was professionally installed but I am planning to remove it. It DEFINATELY needs time to break in to give any reasonable performance but when it does it causes some rattling. I have a feeling if I went to the trouble of fully deadening the rear deck (I do have some and I also have a MDF baffle that the installer put in) that I would probably get slightly better results but after my experience with this sub I plan to replace it with a 12" in the trunk. I would prefer to have it than not and sometimes sounds ok but it's probably better boxed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz