Showing 27 reviews for JL Audio 10W3v3-2

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 10W3v3-2
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 34 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
79%
4 star:
.
.
21%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 21, 2014 Awesome
Review by
Devkemp from Fargo, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is definitely worth the money. Right now I'm running it with a JX250/1, and I've got the amp cranked all the way up, and it sounds great. Just a tip thought, in the instructions it says not to run the subwoofer through a passive crossover, which I read, and I knew that the pre-outs for the subwoofer from the head unit have a passive crossover setting. I plugged the subwoofer into the pre-outs for the front speakers instead, and now it sounds much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2014 Exceeded by expectations
Review by
Chad from Sutherland, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these Subwoofers in my 2013 F150 Supercrew in a custom ported box under the back seat tuned to 36 hertz. They sound amazing on every type of music played. I am running them wired at 2 ohms to my Rockford Fosgate T500 Amp. Hits lows very well, can get very deep. I would recommend these to anyone! Just give them the 500 RMS and they will kick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2013 Pure eargasm
Review by
ghostlyrich from delta bc, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub is a dream when it comes to tuning and stealth enclosures. I put this in an audio integration's sub box i had made for my mazda 3 2006. just for this sub and it hits nice. rock, hip hop, orchestral you name it and this sub will give you that low end you have been craving. IF you buy this sub just grab a nice 500 watt rms amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2013 Great Sub for Small Encloures
Review by
J from St. Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I built a custom fiberglass enclosure (0.6 ft3) to fit into the inner quarter-panel area of my A4's trunk, the space is tight and the rear of the enclosure tappers off making larger subs a no-go. The relatively small magnet of this sub and basket cut-out diameter make it ideal for a small enclosure like mine. Sound was a little boomy at first, but after adding some additional poly-fill, this sub sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2012 Simply Amazing
Review by
Big Pappa from Midland TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It does everything i could ever dream of for a 10"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 Awesome Speakers
Review by
Pokerjrock from Louisville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are some high quality speakers. I installed them into my 2010 Camaro SS and was blown away by their performance. JL is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 The best I've owned
Review by
christopher from union city, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I chose the JL sub because they have performed so well for me in the past. I have never been disappointed when choosing JL over another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2012 This is an American made product, you could feel the difference
Review by
E.R. from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JL quality is legendary. I installed this sub in a sealed enclosure box in my hatchback 2005 Hyundai Elantra GT. The kind of music I listen to is electro and progressive house. This sub was paired with an amp I also bought on sonic, I forget the name. It was around 600w/450 RMS. Definitely my money's worth. JL is the best, don't settle for less. Add some polyfill in the box to get even more oomph. The box pumps amazing lows and midranges, and doesn't leak out of the car to people on the street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2012 Im Amazed
Review by
Greg from Oxford, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive had two kenwood kfc 3012 subs with a 900 rms kenwood amp. Then 2 Alpine swr 1223d subs with a 930 rms kicker amp. Now i have just this one little sub wired to a jl audio slash v2 250/1 amp and Id take this system over either of my two older ones. Sure the alpines were by far the loudest but this little guy still kicks hard but the best part is the amazing clarity and bass response. You cant go wrong with JL audio. Skip the kenwood and kicker junk and get with the real sound equipment. U'll save yourself time looking for that perfect system, totally worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 Best price out there
Review by
Sparky from Smiths, Al
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I asked my Buddy for the best deals on a JL sub and he told me about Sonic Electronix.com. So i checked them out, because they had the best price on the 10W3v3-2, i bought it. I was pleased with the fast delivery of my sub and with my sub. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2011 JL woofer
Review by
matt from hammond,la.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product was just as advetised and works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2011 Good sub
Review by
Anthony from Stockton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running my W3 with a Kenwood 1000w mono channel, and it's more than enough. I have my amp set all the way up, and my gain is at 3 db and it's the perfect amount of bass. It can get very loud and I haven't heard any distortion.

First day I had it, I showed my girlfriend at her house, and when I got it as loud as I could, he neighbors came out angry. I also showed another friend and he commented that his 2 Fosgate 12p2s sound like garbage compared to this. For the price, this is te best 10" you will find by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 JL audio 10w3v3-2 the best subwoofer out there... : )
Review by
edder from delhi, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought a jl audio 10 w3 from this company its the best sub that i ever owened. it hits hard and super clear and it could handle the bass real good and for a long period of time, not like other brand subs that burned out after 15 to 20 min of hard hitting bass... i would really recommend this sub to any one that wants one 10" sub to sound like two 12"... thats the question i always get when im bumping my music " hey what kind of 12's you have in your car" i respond its only one 10 they just look very suprise... JL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2010 jl w3v3-2
Review by
Erik from Durham, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like it sounds good and can hold all the power that it says it can while sounding good. Will buy more like this. Hits hard and best for the $$. Sonic Electonixs shipped fast as crap and was at my door in just a few days, not months like others, Ex.( h*-** ***** ) ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 Freakin Amazing!
Review by
Nick from Springfield, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is simply amazing. This thing packs a punch. I have it set up with a Rockford Fosgate P300-1 and it is the perfect match. It has great sound quality and is very clean. I set this up in my Tiburon and it has the perfect volume. If your looking for a great sub for a small car, this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2010 Great sub, but wish i had gone for the DVC
Review by
Guru from Kentucky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had JL subs for as long as I can remember. I bought a set of 10" W3's around 1997 in a custom box designed for their airspace requirements, and used them in my older model BMW. They were under amped by far with a fosgate punch 500, the series after the batwing style. However these subs sounded great! I traded them with a friend and then later acquired them again, but they had been damaged, and the dust covers were ripped. So I called JL up and I seem to remember it costing me little to nothing to have them rebuilt by JL and shipped back. Once again I was rocking my JL W3's. Matter of fact, I had the same subs up until last year, 2009, so they worked solid with medium use for over 12 YEARS! and only one rebuild in between. That's why I KNEW after I let mine slip away with my old car, I had to go for a newer version. I have one SVC 2 ohm on an MTX jackhammer amp, feeding it about 300 RMS, and the sub sounds great. However, it doesn't hit quite as well as the two old ones, so i am thinking I should have gone with their DVC, especially since I wanted 1 sub. I want that 1 sub to take all the power possible, and fill up my truck with the same amount of sound as the two old subs. I will end up using this sub in a smaller setup in my wife's car and opting for a DVC 4 ohm version to fit my single 10" needs. I love JL, they are high quality and they stand by their product. If you damage one, Don't throw it away, call them and have it replaced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 17, 2010 Great Sub
Review by
Jonathan from NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have it hooked up to a Eclipse XA1000 mono amp with a Rockford 1FD cap and a Eclipse CD3000 head unit. The amp runs at about 400 RMS and 640 MAX I have the low pass filter set to 80Hz, input voltage is 5v and bass boost it at 6db. All I ever get is compliments when people get in my truck and take a listen. The bass is nice and tight and if the singer has a real low voice it comes through great. Make sure you have the volume for your box right if you get a leak or have too much it will sound very muddy. People are really surprised that my nice 10" sounds better and hits harder than there cheap 12's. It costs a good bit but you get what you pay for and JL is one of the few companies left in the industry that have not cheapened the quality of there products. Other things about the setup is that it is in a closed box inside a regular cab truck firing towards the back and all the wire is Rockford Fosgate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2010 Great
Review by
nole3535 from Arlington, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced 2 10" M-Class Memphis Audio with these and the difference in sound is unreal. Wish I would have never wasted my money on Memphis audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2010 JLs
Review by
zig from Sacramento, calfornia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this JL for about 6 months did me right nothing beats JL audio best deep sounds ull get I have one of these and it smacks louder then two kickers. Def worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2010 great sub
Review by
scubydeath from Telford, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have had this subwoofer in my car for six months now, and i could not be happier with it. i built a custom fiberglass box for it, and stuck to the exact volume specified by JL, which is the way to go for any build. It sounds beautiful, and will put a lot of other subwoofers to shame. keep in mind though, this is a 2 ohm sub, and needs an amplifier that can handle 2 ohms. my first amp for this driver was a piece, and it would constantly go into protect mode when this sub started to rock n roll. Absolutely worth the money.
JL kicks Butt!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2009 JL Audio subwoofers
Review by
nick from saugus, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these subs absolutely rock. great bang for your buck. would definitely recommend these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2009 broke the roof support in my uptak
Review by
THUMPER from Chattanooga,tn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i had 4 of the 10W3v-2 old school. they were rated at 300 w ea. i had 2 mtx 500d's pushing them at 2 ohms. the amps were rated at 775 w. everyone who heard me thought i had 15's in my vehicle. db drag read 155.3 dbs on the meter and that was Six years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2009 slammin
Review by
stallion from new orleans LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these subs are sweet! i have them in a really small box under my 2008 chevy silverado stallion crew cab and they SLAM! better then my previous 12' kicker cvr's and these are tens in a much smaller box. the bass is tight very clean. it'll shake your mirrors windows other ppls windows.. buy them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 24, 2009 Very happy
Review by
Mend from NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm a nut and reviewed so many subs based on my needs and this was one of the very few the met my criteria (medium weight, solid SQ performance, could get some SPL as well, high quality)

I've had this installed in the proper sealed enclosure mated to a Rockford Fosgate Prime R500.1 amp and I'm very impressed. Its visually stunning and incredibly clean in a equally nice black carpeted box, (that I got from here I might add)

It has fantastic reproduction of low end bass. I'm feeding it a little over RMS but I have my gain set to my headunit preout voltage and for optimal listen I have the sub set to -3 (range of -15 to +15) on my head unit (Kenwood X991 - epic headunit btw).

This things hits like a high end 12" for sure. About 5 years ago I had 2 Rockford Punch ( P1 12's, 200ish rms each) in a sealed box and this 10" in a .625" cubic box simply destroys it.

I've thrown techno, rock and rap at it and it loves it all.

If I turn my head unit up to about 75% of full volume and turn the sub past -3 into +3 the pounding starts to hit you nicely. Since I've only had this sub for 1 day and about 2 listening hours I haven't cranked it but the few times I tested out +6 and +9 if felt like a punch to the back of my head and chest, mirrors shaking, loud and accurate to the tones.

Please keep in mind there are several factors you need to realize to my review.

- I have a large hatchback (RSX) so the dynamics of the hatch are in my favor when dealing with a sub.
- I have this running with a 4 gauge Rockford Amp kit. This is as good as it gets folks. High strand, true 4 gauge wires giving the power the amp needs, ground wires are 4 gauge as well, this keep voltage in the proper ranges.
- 3/4" MDF box, go with nothing less for any kind of sub, low or high end the box is the key to a subs sound.
- I have a high end headunit that allows me to control all aspects of the speakers but technologies that help it sound better.

Keep all this in mind when buying a sub.

As of right now, I can't imagine getting anything other than what I've got right now. I love this little thing, its fantastic in all the aspects I wanted it to be. Fantastic SQ with the ability to boom if you want. High quality, made in the USA!, cant go wrong here, high recommended. Beware these new V3 series are single coils, limits your options but makes it easier to hook up for noobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2009 10w3v3-2
Review by
Rav4 2 dorrs. from Panama, Panama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent product Im moving it with a class D JL A1400 mono. Best sound Q I ever heard and low frequency bass with no distortion at all.

This sounds as loud ad a 12 inch subwoofer. I highly recommend this product to every one.

One's you hear this sub, you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2008 Tight !
Review by
leroy from loops, HI, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I will sum this up fast, clean sound at 2 ohms, loud as you want it more power = louder, clean looking (one of the best i think) , easy to install svc design. I have run mtx, alpine, rf, and this sub does not sound muddy, boomy and is reliable. Over all I am impressed by jl products and will buy more becuase of the quality I have received, but they arent cheap but if you cant afford them you might as well buy quality the first time instead of buying a bunch of subs that are gonna blow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2012 10W3V3-2
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alex from Mexico, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hola
Acabo de adquirir uno de estos pequeños en una caja sellada con las especificaciones que marca el fabricante y wow! tiene un tremendo sonido muy limpio, claro, es decir un golpe compacto y nitido, estoy muy contento con este sub lo recomiendo ampliamente

saludos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz