Showing 18 reviews for Pioneer AVH-X5600BHS

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer AVH-X5600BHS
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
78%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 6, 2014 Put this in your Porsche
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Burbank, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I highly reccomend this product I did a lot of research before pulling the trigger on this and I am glad I did. It made my stock sound system ( non Bose with standard Plus package with 7 speakers. It has a great eq I love the app radio and wish there were more apps. I did have to buy a bunch of adapters to make it work with my iPhone 5S over $100. But now I charge my phone and I can use google maps, Spotify sounds awesome. I use hands free siri for listening to message play back ,phone calls and text messages. I am very pleased with the mounting kit as well so if you have a Porsche Boxster Non Bose system it is an inexpensive huge upgrade as well as having all the cool features and I also put the Porsche emblem on the wallpaper of the 7" screen..Looks and sounds great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2014 Great Service, Great Head Unit!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Westcoastjazzer from Valley Springs, Ca.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This went into a 2006 Ford F250 Super Duty Pick up.First of all, Thank You SONIC! I placed an order for this Stereo Unit on line, Bought 2nd day delivery and got it when they said I would! The unit arrived in fine shape, Could use a few more packing peanuts though. Slightly dinged corners on the outer box. The unit is a heck of a lot better than the Kenwood DDX770 that I installed a week ago. Much better sound and a better selection of mix options. The Siriusxm stations are displayed along with the tune name and artist. I can plug into my ipod 5 with the AUX Usb and the unit will pick it up. The KW would not do this.Blue tooth works great, quick to mate up with the iphone. Display has just enough bling to be nice and not stupid looking. The install was easy with the soldering of the harness taking more time than the install its self. Steering wheel interface matched up with the unit after a reset of the steering wheel interface. Everything worked and worked fast! This Pioneer unit has more bang for your money than the Kenwood DDX770. I am a real fussy dude about this stuff and I am more than happy with the Pioneer. Also everyone should know that BEST BUY "WILL NOT PRICE MATCH" SONIC'S price. So be patient and order from "SONIC" and save yourself a butt load of money! Use the money you save and donate to my Maui condo fund! All I need to do now is pack up the KW pos and return it to Best Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 21, 2014 Best head unit I've ever owned!
Review by
Shadynasty from Grand Forks, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit is simply awesome! I've had it for a good month now and no problems so far, absolutely love the ease of use and the quick response to touch. I love the style of this stereo with the basic glossy black and the nicely set buttons. I wish the buttons responded to everything push, but if I turn the volume up or down in a fairly quick fashion it may skip a press, as in I pushed the volume button 10 times and it only went up 8 or 9. I like the colors you can use for button illumination and background/theme, but it needs more. And maybe where the colors are constantly changing. You should be able to make a custom colored background and not just the button lights. Overall its a great product and it was better than anything else in the same price range!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2014 Great double din
Review by
Angela from Simi Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best bang for the buck. Offers so much versatility. Looks good. Sounds good. Android and apple work perfectly. Highly recommend this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2014 Great stereo!
Review by
matthew from Cranston, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unite is nice and does what it supposed to do. My favorite thing is the Pandora app, it works great with my galaxy s4. Phone calls sound good too, and no complaints. I am happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2014 Almost all that I could ask for.
Review by
Joel from conyers, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been using this headunit for about a month now. I'm very satisfied with it. Installation was easy, sound is clear, screen is perfect. Only complaint I could say is the menus can be a little confusing, but not too bad. I definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2014 awesome
Review by
louis from Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the Pioneer avh-p4200 and upgraded to the avh-x5600bhs and I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 2, 2014 Seems great so far
Review by
Jay from Mesa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything works as expected so far. There are WAY more features on this deck than I was aware of. Not the worst problem to have.

Installation was pretty simple. The Metra harness that Sonic included with the deck matched up perfectly with my Altima's factory harness. Running backup camera wires from the trunk was the most time-consuming part.

The touch screen interface responds pretty quickly. But it lags significantly when scrolling through long lists of settings or Artists/Albums on the connected USB drive.

HD Radio sounds great and picks up strong signals in the Phoenix area for most major stations. It will also include album art for many songs, which I found surprising and cool.

Pandora and Bluetooth audio playback work pretty flawlessly. Connecting my iPod is also a breeze.

Sound quality is great. I was surprised with how much it improved even though it is still pushing the factory speakers with no amp. The video resolution is pretty low. But considering that it's a screen in my frikking dash, I'm very pleased. Especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2014 Great product!!!!
Review by
Iceman from St. Cloud, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this in a 2003 Ford Explorer with factory speakers sounds great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2014 awesome radio
Review by
elijah from albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The radios great I love all the features. It's a must product for all those delivery drivers out there especially the satellite radio part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2014 Good Unit !
Review by
Robert from Rawdon, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good product doing what it's suppose to do . Come with instalation kit for my corolla 2006 worked like a charm and nice look . Bluetooth Mic could be upgraded for a better one ... DVD playback should have a full screen settings otherwise the unit works well . Nice unit !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2014 great item
Review by
Jessica from Senatobia, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great brand and easy to install. Everything that was recommended to buy for installation made it that much easier. And the price wasn't bad. With the product you will definitely get your money's worth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2014 Excellent!
Review by
Darrin from Clermont, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very Happy with this purchase. Does everything it says it will do.
Very user friendly. If you own ( know how to use) a smart phone, setting up and using this head unit will be a breeze. Very pleased with purchase and Sonic Electronics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2014 Awesome Stereo
Review by
Theresa from Chillicothe, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo is absolutely awesome! It has everything I was looking for in an after market head unit. The HD Radio,IPOD ready, Sirius XM ready (I purchased separately), Pandora, DVD, CD player, hands free phone (I purchased steering wheel controls) and everything else is fantastic. I am very impressed with this unit. It can also have a separate navigation and rear camera installed. I just didn't want to spend the extra money for those items at this time. I would highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2014 Awesome
Review by
Michael from Northglenn, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the app radio 3 from September 2013 until the end of Feb 2014. I hated that thing. I had to swipe this and unlock the phone and allow that... just to play music. It was an annoying pos and I almost gave up on Pioneer it was so bad.

This deck however is great. I plug in my iPhone and it goes directly to the iPod player. I can stick my phone in a compartment and not look at it again. There are more outputs, an aux input, HD Radio, more eq bands, direct connect for iPhone 5 (no special adapters other than the usb to lightning or additional software required), 4 volt outputs, and these are just a few of the options that the 5600 has that the Appradio 3 did not. The overall interface has a much better layout and responds much faster as well. There is also a clock visible when listening to the iPod where as on the Appradio, it did not have a visible clock. Since the deck is my only clock in my truck, this is nice when driving to work. I also like that I do not have to hit ok every time I turn on the deck to see the user interface like I had to with the Appradio 3, I know that watching videos while driving is dangerous, I do not need to hit ok several times a day.

I do not like the auto eq. and I thought I would. It sets the highs way to bright and almost no lows and once they are set, you cannot adjust. Other than that, the sound quality is great especially on lossless files. I can really hear the difference between 192 k and below mp3's vs. lossless with this deck and the Polk mm's I am running. I also like how I can adjust the colors to match my factory lighting colors.

I am getting ready to install a rear view camera so I have not used that functionality yet. The only thing that I can think of that I wish it could do is provide me the ability to rate songs on my iPhone, just a quick touch of the screen like the thumbs up or down on the Pandora player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 installed in a 2008 tundra
Review by
eddie from Windsor, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i've owned this unit since early feb 2014. i'm going to break down each rating and why i rated it so.
OVERALL, this is a great unit. the display is huge, video is beautiful and it's easy to navigate which is a plus. i like that the buttons are located on along the bottom, it keeps the unit looking clean. ipod functionality is great, although, i haven't had much time to play around with app radio, but it seems ok for now. android interface (i'll touch more on this later) through bluetooth works almost perfect. i'm loving the 4v preamp outs and the 8 band para equalizer.

VALUE, although this is a great unit pioneer gives you NOTHING, you're lucky they give you a remote with this. audio through ipod works fine with a standard ipod usb cable, but if you want to play video, you must buy the pioneer ipod video cable for $75 (hint, buy a generic one on ebay for like $15). Extra nav unit is expensive, not sure on the exact price, i didnt buy it, but i think you can use a nav app with app radio from your iphone, not positive. if you want mirrorlink, throw in another $100. when all is said and done you can be looking at spending a few hundred extra bucks on extras, so value ranked pretty low in my eyes, but i knew that going into this unit anyway, so it wasnt too big a deal for me.

LOOK/DESIGN, like i said before, beautiful!

DURABILITY, seems pretty solid to me so far.

FEATURES, ok, so this is where i'll express a little frustration with this unit. i bought this because of it's android interface capabilities, which, without mirrorlink, seems to only be compatible through bluetooth. i've tried to connect through usb but it will not recognize my phone. i have a galaxy s4, running android 4.1, so it's not like im using some out dated phone. so it looks as if in the fututr, i will indeed be needing mirrorlink, which i did not count on previous to buying the unit, hence my low rating on value. also like i said, i can't really comment to much on app radio as i don't have an iphone so i haven't been able to really try it out yet. pandora is a cool idea in a sense, but i dont use it too much because i dont want to go over my data, i wish they would have integrated more online music choices such as spotify or google play, both let you download music for offline use.

EASE OF USE, as i stated earlier, this unit is easy to navigate and you won't get lost in a mess of menus and sub menus. pretty straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2014 Great Head unit
Review by
Doug from West Chester, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this unit primarily for the iPod feature. Pioneer's have the best interface for the iPod. What's also great about this unit that it didn't require an expensive cable to connect the iPod like previous models. Also look at all the add on equipment you can put on this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2014 great
Review by
peter from arima, Trinidad and Tobago
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i;ve 2 drivers both r overly excited bout dis product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz