Showing 22 reviews for Pioneer DEH-X9600BHS

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer DEH-X9600BHS
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 22 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
73%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
.
5%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.5
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 15, 2014 Bluetooth issues
Review by
Sorj from Cleveland, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the previous model (X9500BHS) and really liked it, so it was a natural selection to buy an X9600BHS for my newest vehicle acquisition. Unfortunately the Bluetooth acted up periodically when streaming music ...... it would periodically "buzzzzz" while streaming. I exchanged the original unit for a second one, and unfortunately the second one did the same thing. I opted to try a Sony unit instead of a 3rd X9600BHS, and Sonic will refund the full purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2014 grate HU
Review by
mike from Chetek, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so far i love this thing! DD-1 shows front and rear are clan at 62 and sub out puts show its clean at 61!! big selling point for me was the dual usb inputs on the back!! absolutely love them!! one is dedicated to a 5th gen ipod touch the other is for my old ipod classic or ipad! both usb ports get power when ether one is selected as the source so i use the spare one to also charge my phone when i use the 5th gen touch!! grate feature to have built in!!! would highly recommend this to any one! clean power and sounds grate also love the 4v pre amp out puts!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2014 Bluetooth mic and audio is outstanding.
Review by
Dean from Green Cove Springs, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Mic pickup with noise cancelling is very clear. Getting used to all the features may take a bit, keep the manual. The price makes this is a great buy. Faceplate changing colors is always a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2014 Great Unit Great Price
Review by
Matt from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am very happy with this unit, works as expected and produce good quality sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2014 Good Radio
Review by
RBR from Santa Clarita, Calif
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Other than taking too long to get it sent to my house-its a great radio and was easy to install
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2014 Good Radio
Review by
RBR from Santa Clarita, Calif
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Other than taking too long to get it sent to my house-its a great radio and was easy to install
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2014 Pioneer DEH-X9600bhs
Review by
Ray from Waxahachie, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this radio for a little over a month now, I can say one thing. WOW.. I love this radio, it is a very high end radio, I came from the lowest line of alpine, and then skipped right on up to this big boy radio. The best feature by far is the 4 volt preouts. Don't question the difference for a second. I came from 2 volt preouts, and now run the 4 volts, and it is such a drastic difference. Cleaner signal. Noticeable immediately. I decided on. This radio because of the 4 volt preouts, and the display. I like that it is more like a screen rather then a cheap multidot display. Don't settle on a cheaper radio, save every penny and get this one, that's what I did, and I don't regret that for a single second
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2014 impressed
Review by
Dan from Buffalo, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very pleased at the clarity of the bluetooth function. very easy to switch back and forth between my pandora and the texting capability. hands free works great even with the top down at speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2014 Great Value
Review by
Donnyrs from Columbus, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fantastic buy, Great Cust service when I bought this to make sure that I had everything I needed for a hassle free install and included it all. Unit had everything I was looking for then found many extra use’s with it. Unit shipped out right away and arrived faster than expected was kept up to date with the whole process. Will use again for future buys and needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2014 Great for the price. Fits my application
Review by
Gary from Portsmouth, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this for my commuter. works great. I have it running a complete system and it functions great. I prefer more bands on the eq but I got what I paid for and I'm actually quite satisfied. Great Price and Pioneer makes great products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2014 Pioneer DEH-X9600BHS
Review by
Sauce Boss from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pretty decent deck and overall very good deal for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2014 good head unit !
Review by
Scott from DFW area, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
love all the features. easy to use and sounds great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2014 Awesome!!!
Review by
James from Owensboro, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great stereo. Great price. This is my second Pioneer. They have great quality and value. A plethora of features also. A must buy. Will certainly buybuy Pioneer in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 29, 2014 Everythings you need
Review by
David from Quebec, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've own many different head unit (Pioneer, Kenwood and Alpine) and I'm really happy with this product. Double USB is a must for me and there's not so much unit today with this feature.

Since the DEH-P510UB, Pioneer have done a great job on firmware update. For example, they add a music library so you can seek your track by genre or artist instead of always use folder browsing. Moreover, "next" button really shuffle when shuffle is on (before it was only playing the next track on the album).

As always, sound quality is perfect and screen provide every useful information in one second. That's why I love Pioneer.

The only little things I noticed, this unit does not show all "TEXT" information coming from traditional FM antenna. It only show the station name. The track title and artist are missing. I would like to be able to disable sources I don't want (like Pandora) too, but I didn't find how...

(I've put 5/5 on durability for the brand. I've owned 2 Pioneers in the past and they never broke.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2014 Disappointment
Review by
John from Edmonds, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I want to make it clear to start, this headunit produces great sound and is easy to configure. I purchased this not for the HD Radio or for the CD player, but to use with my iPhone 5 to stream Pandora. Unlike every other headunit I have used, this Pioneer DEH-X9600BHS does not automatically select the iPhone/iPod when you connect it. When you start the car, the radio turns on into standby mode. After you plug the phone in you need to MANUALLY select the mode. This doesn't sound like a big deal, but it is a major inconvenience when you want to plug in and just have your music work. The Pandora function is also flawed as sometimes it gets stuck in "FORMAT READ" mode and you can not make any changes to the song or settings. Sometimes unplugging the phone and plugging it back in will solve it, but then as soon as you unplug the phone the unit goes into standby and you need to manually select the input. Half of my short drive to work is spent messing with the radio to get it to work properly.

Would I buy this again? No, I should have purchased one of the cheaper Kenwood units with the same features. I have had the double din Pioneer headunits and they are wonderful. I hope Pioneer will produce a firmware update to resolve this issue.

I also wish the unit didn't have the AUX input on the face of the unit...I will never use it, since I only use USB.

My review is low based because it is very frustrating to get the Pandora and iPod mode to work right--the whole reason I bought an aftermarket headunit in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2014 great product
Review by
RYLAND from BALTIMORE, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My first ordering from sonic was a pleasant experience and i would do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 top notch
Review by
Cody from Hanford, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit was not my first choice but after installing it I found that it was the right choice. Easy to use, stylish, and loaded with options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2014 Pioneer head unit
Review by
Jonathan from Pennington, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Another awesome product from pioneer, pretty simple use and great features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2014 Good head unit
Review by
Austen from Greenville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a good head unit, definitely an upgrade over my old one. The bluetooth with my iPhone 5 works pretty good, I've had to reconnect it a few times thought because sometimes it messes up. The color change isn't the best, there are too few preset colors for my preferences and you can't save your custom color. Also the range of colors possible isn't as good as I'd like. The display would have been made so there isn't glare.

Overall I'd recommend it though, the audio quality is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2014 Perfect Pioneer Powerhouse
Review by
Carlos from Bridge City, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this unit for a cts cadi, looks good, has 4 volt pre amp voltage which is a must for system building. Bluetooth is pretty good too. Only cons are scrolling the menu for souces. If you pass up the one your looking for, you cant back up, you have to scroll through the souce. Menu again. Thats really the only thing i can say say bad. Its a Pioneer. Quality. Bang for the buck........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2014 Perfect Pioneer Powerhouse
Review by
Carlos from Bridge City, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this unit for a cts cadi, looks good, has 4 volt pre amp voltage which is a must for system building. Bluetooth is pretty good too. Only cons are scrolling the menu for souces. If you pass up the one your looking for, you cant back up, you have to scroll through the souce. Menu again. Thats really the only thing i can say say bad. Its a Pioneer. Quality. Bang for the buck........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2014 great price
Review by
mexican from longview washington
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like the head unit, it has good sound functions and display. its not bad for the price! I would recommend this to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz