Showing 12 reviews for Clarion NX404

Customer Review Summary for Clarion NX404
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
58%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 7, 2015 Very good value
67 of 83 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Daniel from Harlingen, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit mostly for the in dash GPS, which I'm getting used to. I'm very happy with with the Clarion NX 404. I would recommend this unit to everyone, I may put one in my wife's car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2015 NICE RADIO
41 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
carmen from bronx, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
FOR THE PRICE THIS RADIO IS THE SHIT IN A GOOD WAY.
ALOT OF FEATURES FOR THE LOW PRICE.
ONLY SACRIFICE IS THE SCREEN SIZE .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2015 Good Value
13 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I upgraded my kids 09 Malibu and have been happy with this unit. It's very user friendly and the large display works well with the backup camera I installed. My only complaints are with the Metra wiring harness was wired incorrectly (volume +/- wires were reversed) and I eventually had to pay an installer to finish installation, even though I had done everything correctly. Also understand that Sonic Tech Support works on a "call back" basis and are not available on the weekends. So, if you are attempting to install this yourself, plan ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2014 Mr.Volodymyr
23 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Volodymyr from Mississauga, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product I like it. Works very well. Very easy in use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2014 Clarion NX404
25 of 45 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mick from TULSA, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this unit in a 2013 Dodge Avenger, along with a xsvi-6522-nav & a aswc-1 to keep the steering wheel controls, install went smooth only issue I had was finding somewhere to hide the wires behind the unit its ver cramped behind there, I eventually put both Axxess modules on top of the radio.
The Axxess aswc-1 found the correct settings, just had to tap volume up as we turned on the ignition.
Now to the head unit itself, looks great in the car, screen is nice clear and responsive.
The GPS is great, I always use Igo so I am very used to the software.

CD/DVD player seems a little slow to get going, doubt I will use it much anyway.

USB to iphone works great.

Blu tooth synced no issues, oh and by the way I forgot to purchase an external mic, glad I did as the unit came with one in the box, the head unit does have an internal mic but of the head units i have installed I have never had one where the internal mic has been very good.

Sounds great with my Kenwood KAC-9106D and my sound-qubed HDS212subs.

Cons: No RDS, No HD Radio.

Overall very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2014 Clarion NX404
26 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mick from TULSA, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this unit in a 2013 Dodge Avenger, along with a xsvi-6522-nav & a aswc-1 to keep the steering wheel controls, install went smooth only issue I had was finding somewhere to hide the wires behind the unit its ver cramped behind there, I eventually put both Axxess modules on top of the radio.
The Axxess aswc-1 found the correct settings, just had to tap volume up as we turned on the ignition.
Now to the head unit itself, looks great in the car, screen is nice clear and responsive.
The GPS is great, I always use Igo so I am very used to the software.

CD/DVD player seems a little slow to get going, doubt I will use it much anyway.

USB to iphone works great.

Blu tooth synced no issues, oh and by the way I forgot to purchase an external mic, glad I did as the unit came with one in the box, the head unit does have an internal mic but of the head units i have installed I have never had one where the internal mic has been very good.

Sounds great with my Kenwood KAC-9106D and my sound-qubed HDS212subs.

Cons: No RDS, No HD Radio.

Overall very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2014 Very pleased with this purchase
21 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Zeke from Soddy Daisy, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just finished installing this unit today in my '07 Tundra, along with a back up camera, so I am not fully familiar with the system yet, but so far I am very happy with it. The gps seems to work very well, and I am going to update the gps maps here in a few minutes. My iPhone pairs with this perfectly...the Pandora radio function is very cool, or can play mp3 files via bluetooth as well.
The unit arrived very quickly and well-packaged (in good shape). Also the wiring harness and trim plate that Sonic Electonix threw in (for a total of $8.00) made wiring a breeze.
A couple of things to note...if you do not have a bluetooth phone system in your vehicle already, with a mic you can use (in the steering wheel for example), then plan on buying an external bluetooth mic. This unit has an internal mic, but I have to yell for anyone to hear me.
Another thing I noticed was that when I ran the a/c on high for a while (and it was very humid today), the trim plate built up moisture on it. Hope this will not be a BIG problem. I might try to do a little foam insulation work when I pull the unit back out for mic plug up, to prevent this problem.
I am only giving three stars on durability as I have not had this long enough to judge.
Overall, I think this is a very good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2014 Navigation errors
26 of 49 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
justhangthere from Peoria, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Lot of navigation errors around Peoria, AZ. Map details are lacking compared to Garvin Navi maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2014 Great Headunit
20 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John from Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I actually came to this headunit after a less than pleasurable experience with the Clarion NX603, which I had for about a month. In short, that unit had a bad GPS board, so the NAV did not work. The interface was also less than great.

That being said, the NX404 is SO much better. Every aspect has been improved. The interface is better, it switches between screens lightening fast, and I don't have any connection issues. (The other unit would randomly disconnect, or just not connect). The NAV is great, works wonders with lots of customization. So over I like it.

Few words of note... Not bad, just not spelled out in bold. I have an iPhone 5. This unit WILL mirror perfectly (requires HDMI, lightening to usb, and lightening to digital adapter from apple). However, it will NOT connect via USB to Pandora, or the iPhone/Pod audio. It will connect via Bluetooth. Not a big deal. The iPhone 5 will NOT be able to use the iPhone/Pod video service. That only works with Apple products that have an analog (30 Pin) out.

It should be noted, this was in the manual, but I had to dig and was not expecting issues. However, this are all MINOR and can be worked around. (Use mirroring vs iPhone video). (This is the only reason I gave it a 4 on features)

Overall, I'm super pleased with the unit, and Sonic. They replaced my malfunctioning unit (NX603) with the amazing NX404. Hope this helps. I'd buy another Clarion NX404 any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2015 flawless
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John from Mc Donald, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put this in my 01 tahoe.. jad to modify the dash as i was aware.. links to galaxy s5 FAST. Shipping was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2015 Great Value
Review by
Rich from Minocqua, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this for the Bluetooth phone, In Dash Navigation, and Back Camera Feature. Installed into a 2004 F-150. Rather easy to install.
All of the features I wanted work fine. Bonus was the Pandora feature that can run trough my phone.

Only one CON: The built in microphone only good up to about 40MPH. After that, person on other end of phone call could not hear me. even after making all of the adjustments on GAIN possible.
Ended up installing the wired MIC that came with the system up to the drivers side headliner. Worked great then, no static.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2014 Good for the price
20 of 40 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
wanda from Boynton Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product. I took it to the dealership & let them install it for me, they were impress because they never worked with a Clarion NX404 before. The bluetooth sometimes freezes but I will just turn on my radio when that happens. The radio is awesome It produces great sound, but the navigation takes some getting use to. If you use the voice activation there is a delay before the voice starts to speak, I had to use my VZ navigator which the bluetooth picked up through the system. But its a good product, I'm satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz