Showing 22 reviews for Sonic Sub Box: 1SL12-1.0 (GRAY CARPET)

Customer Review Summary for Sonic Sub Box: 1SL12-1.0 (GRAY CARPET)
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 22 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
59%
4 star:
.
.
36%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.4
Design
4.6
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 18, 2013 Quality for a bargain
Review by
Natedogg from Orange County, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend this box to anyone who is looking for a good quality sealed sub woofer enclosure. It is built with high quality materials and has not cracked or chipped over the 6 months i have had it so far. The sound quality is great and it has no leaks or rattles. The materials alone that are needed to make this box yourself cost twice as much as this complete ready to go box does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2012 good box, good value.
Review by
Thomas from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Met my needs perfect. Have had no issues except had to re-tighten one of the connections on the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Can't Complain
Review by
Tyler from Canyon Country, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This box is as simple as it gets. And the gray looks awesome with a nice black sub. Terminals were kinda loose, but thats nothing a socket cant fix. The only thing is if your looking for a completely air tight seal, i recommend sealing the terminal with some good silicone, as well as the main hole, you wont regret it. For the price, I'll never sway from this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2011 Seems fine, great deal!
Review by
Tyler from Canyon Country, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought it last week. Terminal cup was not sealed hardly at all, and one of the posts were loose, but to have a properly sealed enclosure you have to seal the terminal yourself anyways. So after tightening the post, which was a breeze, and sealing the terminal cuwtt35824 and mounting surface for the sub all with multipurpose caulk and letting it sit for a day or so, its completely air tight. Seems fine, havent hooked it up yet but there shouldnt be an issue. Worth the price for sure, and very sexy with a nice black sub too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2011 Great Box!
Review by
Randell from Waianae, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered this box from Sonic along with a Boston G5 12". This box is very sturdy and the carpet was excellent. The terminals are great as well. I didn't use any polyfill and it sounded pretty good. This box overall was excellent and I have nothing bad to say about it. I even spun around once and the box went flying across my trunk and no damage was done.

Great box, great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2011 The Average Joe... or box in this case.
Review by
Tom from Rochester, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wasn't expecting much from this box after I ordered it this summer. I wanted to experiment with this box to see how well it performs for how cheap it is. Once I received it and started inspecting, I noticed it's not true to size. You WILL have to shave the diameter of the slot so your subwoofer could fit in perfectly. It runs a little smaller than most 1.0 cu. in. boxes. So after my modifications with an electric saw/sander the subwoofer was finally ready to fit in. I played my favorite songs and the bass is accurate and very tight. A little too tight for my liking. I've had it for half a year already and so far there are no other problems with it. This is a temporary enclosure as I look for a higher quality & bigger cu. in. box to permanently replace it. All in all the box is average and it does it's job. So the saying "You get what you pay for" actually applies to this.

Pros:
Does it's job
Very tight bass
Carpet lining matches most OEM grey carpet
Lightweight

Cons:
Small cutout hole
Requires slight modifications
Low caulking sealant
No free shipping

Tips:
Use an electric saw and sander to modify the diameter.
Tighten the terminal cup and gold posts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2011 Perfect box for my application
Review by
Ryan from Canyon Country, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
WOW this box fits perfect in my 2003 F-150 in the back seat between both front seats. I just installed this box with a Kicker CVR124 and it its hard. awesome construction, very well made and the best part was the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2011 Quality Box...
Review by
Eric from Louisville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a finely constructed sealed single sub-box!.I was actually surprised by the quality for this amazing price. Every piece is quality from the carpet on the box to the gold-plated connections. I believe that Sonic competes with any on-line retailer out there. I will be using Sonic Electronix for all of my audio and video needs... Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2010 Good choice
Review by
AdamR from Mesa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered 2 of the boxes shown. They came 2 days after the order with no shipping damages. I'm mostly satisfied with the product and it is MOSTLY SEALED. There were a bunch of gaps and missed spots that should definitely not be there, but its not hard to put some neutral cure silicone into it. Other than that it has great construction and looks like it will hold together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 16, 2010 Great Product!
Review by
Eric from Commerce Twp., MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This box is exactly what I was looking for. I had to modify the terminals a bit because I have a dual 4 ohm voice coil Kicker CVR and I wanted to hook up each voice coil to a separate channel. But overall, a very well made product! For the price, you can't beat it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2010 Great products..!
Review by
Mohsen from Austin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good products and awesome seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2010 Great box
Review by
Jeremy from Harrison City, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this box was great, first one i have ever owned but i have to say its been very useful. Very durable and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2009 good
Review by
dustin from maine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
gets the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2009 Gets the job done.
Review by
Travis from Appleton, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My major complaint is that the hole was cut out a little too big - some of the screws were barely holding in. Definitely not 'precision cut' as I'd hoped.

Ah well, it works and that's what counts :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2009 My sub box review
Review by
Klaus from Palm coast, flo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't need to say anything about this product, except one thing.. I ripped this company off! The money I paid was way way way less than what I should have paid for the quality of product I received! I recommend this and if the rest of their products are anywhere near as good as that box, then you're in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2009 Nice value but weak terminals
Review by
Thomas from Alameda, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this box because it was cheap. It was sturdy and well made. Carpet was well done. I would've preferred a bit more caulking around the edges, but it was still sealed. Well worth the price.

Only problem: terminals are weak. The box moved around a bit and then the terminals BROKE when I used banana plugs. Yes... and so the only way is that I have to rely on the screws to pin the wires in place. It barely holds, but I was REALLY disappointed.

Good value. Just dont use the banana plugs unless your sub NEVER moves around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2009 Awesome sealed Sub Box
Review by
Sir-X-Loin from Naples, ME
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sealed 12" sub box 6 months ago. I have been pounding it and it has held up perfect. I have absolutely no complaints. It was a great value and has stood the test of time. highly recommended. A+++

Thanks alot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2009 No complaints so far
Review by
Burt from PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great box, very rigid. No construction problems but joints could be a bit better sealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2008 SOLID
Review by
Jon from Grand Junction, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this box to hold a kicker comp 12" sub. Don't let the price fool you, this thing is sturdy. Simple installation of speaker port, and it was ready to go. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2008 Great Sub Box
Review by
clifton cunningham from west covina, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just install sonic sub box tonight 9/19/08 the box is great and i used polyfill to enhance the bass.I read many reviews on trying to find the proper box for my 12 r alpine sub and it sounds great with this box.The box is well built and the carpet is very nice.I was looking for black but out of stock, However, the gray matches well with my trunk carpet.This box works perfect with alpine 12 swr sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2007 .
Review by
josh from corona, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
well... its a box. It does everything it is supposed to, and it was well made. if you are looking for a box, this is really all you need, unless you plan on buying a ported or bandpass enclosure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2006 Quality box
Review by
Todd from Inverness, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This box is quality, it's sealed great and has good carpeting. My new sub sounds great with this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz