Showing 18 reviews for Focal 165 A1

Customer Review Summary for Focal 165 A1
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
28%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.4
Features
4.4
Design
4.6
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Excellent entry-level offering

These are the entry-level component 6.5"s from Focal, and they are excellent. The tweeters are definitely the best part of the setup, if you like aluminum dome. Very crisp, not too bright, and excellent for what I listen to. Ideal for dance music and trance, 8.5/10 for more mellow, classical-style music. The mid-range are quite powerful, and sound teriffic, IF oriented properly. Otherwise, they sound good, but not spectacular. The mid-range are slightly colourful, but definitely pleasant. Overall, the entry-level Focal beat nearly every other competitor in their price range, and are HIGHLY recommended.

VS
ENTRY LEVEL!

i wanted to buy some really good sounding speakers for my car without spending a fortune so i went with these because they were focal and it was a good price, however as well known as focal is for good sound these didn't seem like a big difference to me so i sold these and went with a pair of JL XR components for the same price basically and i am much happier with JLs second highest level speakers over these. they are good speakers but for the price u can get better. yes they are FOCAL but they're entry level set so keep that in mind and don't hope for the world in these

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 2, 2010 ENTRY LEVEL!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tricky from toronto ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i wanted to buy some really good sounding speakers for my car without spending a fortune so i went with these because they were focal and it was a good price, however as well known as focal is for good sound these didn't seem like a big difference to me so i sold these and went with a pair of JL XR components for the same price basically and i am much happier with JLs second highest level speakers over these. they are good speakers but for the price u can get better.
yes they are FOCAL but they're entry level set so keep that in mind and don't hope for the world in these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2007 Excellent entry-level offering
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Kitchener, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are the entry-level component 6.5"s from Focal, and they are excellent.

The tweeters are definitely the best part of the setup, if you like aluminum dome. Very crisp, not too bright, and excellent for what I listen to. Ideal for dance music and trance, 8.5/10 for more mellow, classical-style music.

The mid-range are quite powerful, and sound teriffic, IF oriented properly. Otherwise, they sound good, but not spectacular.

The mid-range are slightly colourful, but definitely pleasant. Overall, the entry-level Focal beat nearly every other competitor in their price range, and are HIGHLY recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2013 great sound and value
Review by
Ryan from Taft, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love the Focals. They have outstanding sound and were a great deal. Sonic Electronix shipped fast and they arrived perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2013 JUST BEAUTIFUL
Review by
SCRIBBLES from 1ST STEP SOBER HOUSE, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed these in my acura and, wow. These speakers can eat alot of power, so be sure to juice them up properly. I have a 300w rms boston acoustics amp powering them. U can hear every word from the song, as well as all other noises crystal clear from wayyyyy down the block. Great speakers!!! If u have subs for bass, skip the 6x9s and throw another component sys in its place. External crossover and lots of good quality rms power. Cant go wrong with these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2013 AWESOME mid range!
Review by
johnny from SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought my Focal 165 A1 speakers for a deal; 129$ for a BRAND NEW set.

The woofers (mid range) have a very nice fine tone, and you can easily make out several dozen sounds coming out simulataneously, from each snap of a snare drum, each toot from a wind, and every honk of a horn, while thed vocals still come out sharp and clean.

I origionally had difficulty whether I wanted the Focal CA1 (2 way speaker) or this model with seperate tweets, but now I am glam that I paid a few bucks extra; The tweets sound great anywhere in the car, they really do need to be positioned near/facing your ears to REALLY stand out; even when I have my 2000W subs blaring, I can still make out chimes and dings.

The woofers have a little kick in them, but overall, they don't go very low in range, especially when the volume is turned up. Luckily, a high and low pass crossover set is included, so it cleans up a lot of the cracks when the volume gets high. Unfortunately, these have the lowest volume limit in my car, but they can still get very loud. Do know, you need to break them in for a few months...When they first come out of the box, the sound isnt quite as clean/crisp, and they don;t do well at high volumes at all right out of box.

Overall, I am very happy with my Focal A1's, and recommend them to anybody who wants professional clarity without spending a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2012 GREAT Speakers
Review by
Cody from Dalton, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got these powered by an MB Quart ONYX 80.4 and they sound amazing. Makes me wonder what they'd sound like on a high end amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2012 Fantastic Speakers
Review by
Jake from Doylestown, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would consider myself an audiophile, and buying these speakers was probably one of the better decisions I have made. They are well balanced, and if you seal the door off with the sound deadener of your choice and power them with a quality amplifier, which in my case is an Arc Audio 2100CXL, they come alive. They have sharp and clean midbass, drums and snares sound like they are happening right next to you, and vocals are just beautiful. The highs are sharp, but clean, but if you place them in the top of your doors, you will need to change the tweeter volume in the crossover box. If you are considering buying these speakers, BUY AN AMPLIFIER. They sound dull if you power them directly off the headunit. The only con I have had with them is the crossover box is rather large, so its a little hard to conceal. I wound up mounting it under the dashboard and running wires to the doors from them. Overall I highly recommend them to anyone looking for audiophile quality on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2012 focal 165a1 components
Review by
Frank from montreal, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good Speakers, set them on the middle setting for crossovers... I put them in a kia sorento 2012 with the stock base sound system...(front..perfect fit). bass is deep and a little boomy but mids and highs are stellar making this an amazing package no matter what the price. I underestimated the time it takes to break them in... I am hearing new things only now (6months on). really a good buy. highly recommend. I used polk audio in the back, a good setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2012 great sound!
Review by
wally from joliet ill.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
in my opinion this are a verygood speakers in name reputacion & sound for my personal taste & well positioned this speakers sound's exellent I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2012 Excellent Sound
Review by
Donald from District Heights, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best bang for the buck. Typically I like Polk Audio and decided to take a chance per my installers suggestion and haven't felt as though I have made a mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2012 Outstanding
Review by
JULIO from Ft. carson, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a set in my Isuzu Axiom and they sound great I had to order 2 more and for the price you can't beat it. They arrived in the time that was estimated my wife checked them out their was no damage, I currently Deployed in Afghnistan and can wait to get back and get them installed. Thank You SonicElectronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2012 good but not worth list
Review by
matt from richmond va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers a few months ago, they sound amazing. However there are many speakers in a much lower price bracket that that can keep up with them, for instance kenwood excellon components infinity reference or kappa speakers (kappa components win in my opinion). Dont get me wrong there amazing speakers but not audiophile grade also when you turn up the volume the highs can be harsh and you begin to loose detail that my rear infinity speakers continue to play. they do seam to handle the higher volumes without distortion and the sound quality is still fair. I tend to blast my music and they have held up to everything ive thrown at them. bottom line for the sale price i would recomend because there still better than most of the stuff at that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2009 Focal Access Series Components
Review by
Ryan from Sioux Falls, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers provide clean crisp sound at a very affordable price. I wanted to get a good set of components and when comparing to other brands such as Dyn Audio, I have found that Focal has provided the best bang for the buck when it came to making a cheap set of components sound really good. I have one set in the front and one set in the back. Whenever I crank my system, everyone comments on my highs asking how in the heck I got them to sound so good. I tell them that its quite simple, I bought components that are made by Focal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2009 Sweetest Ear Candy
Review by
Nathan from Asheville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers for my wife's car. I am an "old diehard MB QUART Q-Series" guy. I was not pleased with the new QUART Series, so I went to the local shop and was introduced to Focal. It was love at first sight and the sound was exceptional. Though not cheap, the installation and price will vary from car to car and shop to shop and the best deal I found was through Sonic. If you are looking for the "old school" sound with the best technology, look no further. Your ears will thank you and ask for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2008 Great componets for great price
Review by
Shirley from college station, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these in the front doors of an ext. cab truck to keep up with a pair of JL W7 13.5 and they do great. I Have the focal coaxial in the back and with that combo you mids and highs are great. These components sound just as good if not better then the high end models of other major brands. I have installed them free aired and also sealed up and they are amazing both ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 amazing set of component speakers
Review by
Ben from Sherman Oaks, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This focal comp. set is one of the clearest sounding set of speakers i have heard. The woofers, as well as the tweeters are high quality and are built to last. I am running these off of a Pioneer DEH-P880PRS head unit and i must say that the power handling is incredible considering that they are not very high wattage. Installation is very simple and straight forward. You will need some extra speaker wire and terminals for better connections. These speakers are great for rock, rap, hip-hop, and especially acoustic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2007 Focal 165A1
Review by
Hennie from Auckland, 0, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Really nice lively speaker. It is pure and crisp and really shines on unplugged or acoustic music. But so far no matter what music i have listened to. They have a real nice live realm it creates. You will not be dissapointed in these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2006 good sound
Review by
Victor from Richmond, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was a good investment. Not overly expensive for the performance you get. Simple, clean sound, good craftsmanship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz