Showing 22 reviews for Focal 165 CA1

Customer Review Summary for Focal 165 CA1
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 24 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
92%
4 star:
.
.
4%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
December 11, 2013 2011 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport Double Cab
Review by
Jeff from Cambridge, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers as an upgrade for my rear doors. They look great in the package and sound better than the $300 Alpine component set I have in the front doors. I have these running directly off an 18Wx4 Clarion NVX602 with no issues. I just wish Sonic had a Focal 6.5" component set to match! I'd buy it in a heartbeat!!!

One word of caution....Do not over tighten the mounting screws as the mounting ring on the speaker is plastic! I noticed the ring deforming as I was tightening the screws. Luckily I caught this and backed off a turn before damaging the speaker!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2013 Awesome speakers
Review by
Randall from Morristown, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sounding speakers I've purchased. Such great sound you can not tell where any of the speakers are located! Very natural balanced sound!!
And I do not even have them on an aftermarket head unit or amp. Running directly off the factory radio. 09. G8!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 1, 2013 Fantastic speaker
Review by
Joe Rocker from Camarillo CA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had these Focal speakers installed and what a difference! Fantastic highs and midrange. I highly recommend these speakers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great clean sound with correct amplification
Review by
Trey from Broken Arrow, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I was hesitant buying these because they were the "cost effective" line from Focal. Here we are 6 months later with a consistent 50 watts each on 4 of these speakers. I am very satisfied and would recommend them. I run an Alpine MRP-F450 on these with a 6 volt input and 3/4 gain to the amp. I do not listen to anything at low volume and I assure you these are clean on the vocals and I think they are really well balanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Focal 165 CA1 Speakers
Review by
pswomack from Ringgold, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are awesome, very clear and crisp, decent bass. I would recommend them to anyone on a budget, they are very good for what they cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 great product!
Review by
donhenderson from Winnemucca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Focal is a premium product that will not disappoint! I now have two sets on my Harley streetglide and they sound better than my Truck with JBL's. Ops, I'm gonna need more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2013 Amazing Sound
Review by
Lonnie from Beaumont, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are likely the best I've ever owned. Very comparable to Boston Acoustics (I had a set in my last vehicle). On occasion, I'll play a certain song and it's like I forgot how awesome they are....and get all excited all over again. I have a JL 400, 4ch pushing them with a set of coax's up front. Very happy with the setup. I wouldn't do it differently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2013 Clean Music - A+ Highs, A- Mids, and D for Lows
Review by
PackALack from Ada, Ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If your looking for bass, you need sub woofers. I have 2 sets of these focals installed and they produce wonderful highs...good mids and poor bass... Thats what you get from a 6" speaker. Just the power from your stock stereo (I have a Honda Accord) is not enough to power them and you will be severely disappointed. Once I installed a 5 channel amp to power these and a 10" sub. Quality was perfect. I would recommend these to anyone who wants to step up their quality of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2013 Awesome for the price...
Review by
Richard from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For $129, you can't beat them. I have had similar 6.5 in. speakers (Memphis Audio, Rockford Fosgate, Polk) and the Focals are a notch above others in the same price range. The highs are a bit "tinny" at times, but that is my only complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2013 Awesome Speakers
Review by
Christopher from PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers were a direct replacement for the awful OEM Subaru speakers in my 2013 wrx. Granted, the head unit is extremely under powered and pretty awful itself, but these speakers really made a difference. I also used RAAMmat vibration dampening and ensolite nice cancellation material. HUGE difference, I cant wait to put in a new head unit and hear them sing. FYI, I was able to pinch the tweeters in the stock locations if you remove the stock shroud piece. Mess around with it, you'll get them in there. I think the rainbow component speaker tweeters fit better, given the chance to do it again I'd give them a try. But these speakers are great for the price. Do your Subaru a favor and throw the stock junk out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2013 excellent
Review by
Francis from terrebonne, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had "massive" before buying focals and the difference is impressive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2012 Exelent speaker
Review by
Javi from Phoenix Arizona
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got the focal speaker and is the best speaker very good thanx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2012 BUY THESE
Review by
Hunter from West Point, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these speakers in my car right now, and they are absolutely amazing. Very clear and every note is heard. I love these speakers and i'm very satisfied with them, I wouldn't recommend any other pair at this price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2012 Excellent Sound
Review by
Donald from District Heights, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these per my installers suggestion and have not regretted my purchase. Sound reproduction is accurate and crisp. By far a better product than Polk Audio speakers that I have used in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2012 incredible!!!!
Review by
andrew from oakley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Honestly my friend has infinity speakers and these blow them out of the water. The clarity is phenomenal. These speakers throw out crystal clear highs and mids. I had Rockford Fosgate p165's before these and i LOVE rockford but they are simply no match to these Focals. I will only recommend these to people looking to upgrade speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2012 Great SQ Drivers
Review by
Electric6978 from Kansas City, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After listening to multiple brands including JL, Boston, Alpine, Kenwood, and all Focals I decided on this set. The Focal lineup beat all other brands hands down. The Focal 165A1 set are the second best sq set following only the 30th anniversary. These have more punchy mid bass than the poly glass set, and dramatically better sq than the new entry lineup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2012 Sonic Marvel
Review by
andrew from northridge, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Truly the best sounding, most complete, warm sounding speaker you will hear anywhere near this price.
I have a set run off deck power, and continue to be impressed with the quality of sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2012 Excellent sound
Review by
Christopher from Federal Way, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these in my '99 Maxima's front doors and they complement the Focal 165VB's I have in the rear perfectly. They handle everything I send them with great reproduction of sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2012 Great speaker
Review by
Gary from winder, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have these in the rear doors of my 2013 Mazda CX-5 being pushed by a Polk PA D5000.5 from the OEM head unit through an Audiocontrol LC6i. They sound great, install was easy and these have great mids and bass. I have all the filters on the amp turned off and these hit down to about 40hz and sound great, never bottom out or distort. The tweeters swivel to help adjust the imaging and build quality seems top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2012 Focal 165 ca1
Review by
curt from windsor ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers! When i have people in my car they are always amazed at the "clarity" of the sound.
Excellent product, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2009 audio craftsmaship at it's best
Review by
shortbus from pacific northwest
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went to buy some more Infinity Kappas for my motorhome and the salesman at C****** said to give a listen to the Focal's. I did. I then went home and found a smokin deal at Sonic and saved $75.00!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2009 Focal 165 CA1
Review by
Andy from Honeoye, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent speakers. Very bright upper mids and highs. Detail is definitely there. These are a great selection for the beginning audiophile. For those that like speakers that will get loud, these will and they will do it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz