Showing 9 reviews for Sony XM-4S

Customer Review Summary for Sony XM-4S
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 9 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.4
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 16, 2012 do not bridge in three
Review by
matthew from West Columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amp to put behind the back seat of a supercab, It's a great amp but i don't recomend bridging it. I tried that, and in about 15 minutes it got too hot to touch, so I'm getting a second amp for my sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2011 Best bang for your buck
Review by
Dylan from Colorado
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a '97 TJ and space is seriously lacking. Add to that no security and the high risk of the elements. I needed something just to be able to hear my music and this little amp does the trick. It is insanely small. I was able to tuck this bad boy upside under the drivers side steering column and because it is fan cooled it has no problem staying cool. It is completely out of the elements and is impossible to see without shoving your head up into the dash.

I was a little worried about getting a Sony amp, nobody ever speaks good of Sony, but I have been extremely happy and no issues. I had heard reports of popping and noise with this amp, but I haven't had any of those problems. Just have to make sure you wire the amp up properly, solid ground and don't run wires with other power wires. For the price, power, and size you absolutely cannot beat this amp. I highly recommend this amp for anyone who has a Wrangler and is wanting to hear their music, tire roar, wind, engine, this delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2011 Nice little unit
Review by
Adz from Adelaide, SA, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this around 6 months ago and I am quite impressed. Sits nicely under the passenger seat of the jzx100 or Toyota Chaser. Provides good power to 6.5" door speakers. Not the loudest as it's not hugely powerful but certainly good bang for buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2011 Awesome power
Review by
Wayne from Corpus Christi, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These amps are small in size but huge on sound! An excellent deal. I have a pair of these and a pair of the mono amplifiers and they scream! Looking forward to getting more for my next car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2010 Great Amp
Review by
Steve from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp specifically because it was the only amp I could find that would fit under my seat in a Ford Ranger pickup without any issue. I was very impressed with the power from this small amp. I'm driving front component speakers and one 10" low profile sub. My system sounds absolutely awesome. This is a small but powerful amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2010 I wish I bought two
Review by
Joshg from Madison, Wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to upgrade an Infinity amp and speaker system for a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The amp was the best I could find that would fit in the tight spot under the seat and did not cost hundreds more. It is a good clean amp and runs 4 Rockford Fosgate speakers very well. It hasn't overheated yet and the high level inputs made the whole upgrade possible without replacing the head unit. Very good value. For most people it will run 4 speakers louder than you would want to play them and clean. I just wish I bought two so I could replace the Infinity system in my Intrepid. Now, they're gone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2010 Great small foot print.
Review by
Lee from gatineau, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the cheapest in price name brand small foot print amps available on the market. And it delivers.

Whatís great about it is that it makes full output at 4ohms yet it is still stable at 2ohms (it makes a bit more at 2ohms but it is negligible).

I hate buying a 4 channel amp and only using half itís rated power. Itís small and looks great, you can remove the chrome shroud to make it slightly smaller and it improves the stealth factor. There is also a pair of blue lights that you can turn on and off.

Also these have speaker level inputs with auto sensing turn on for easy connection to OEM systems.

Only downside is the xover is not variable, it is on or off at the preselected value.

I have owned this model for a few years now in a location that gets hot and little ventilation, very reliable units. They will automatically lower output if it gets to hot. Smart amps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2009 Smallest with decent output and pricetag
Review by
Geno from San Jose, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
You will not find an amp with this small footprint that gives you some decent power. At 50watt rms x 4 @ 4ohm load this thing does the job.

Of course, if you have the space to put a bigger amp, for the same price you can get an amp with better specs.

The only time you can appreciate this amp is if you do not have the space for a big amp. So if you see mediocore reviews, its probably because they don't see what sony was trying to do here.

It has nice blue LED accents when its on, so if its under the seat you get a nice glow.

Bridgeable rear channel to power a sub.

Again this thing shines when you see how small it is. It's just an inch thick! It can fit under most seats even power seats.

It can power a subwoofer ok, but I would get the matching XM-1S mono amp for 500watt RMS @ 2ohm load.

Speaking of 2ohm load, I have ran this XM-4S with the rear channels bridged powering 2ohm subwoofer! It got hot, but it did not cut out. It was stable and was used in prolong hours. It's not recommended, but it works for those wondering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2009 These are one of Sony's best
Review by
Chris from Montclair, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are such a departure from Sony's latest down market moves, speakers, amps, headunits, etc. This is a great product. Compact size, nicely built, full range class D with fan for the price of typical AB class amps.

Somehow Sony got something right. Wonder who designed and made it for them? Sound is clear, amps stays cool. Puts out 50 watts x 4 with ease. Amp stays cool, and the rear channels also be bridged for sub. Don't overlook this one if you need a quality space challenged amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz