Showing 17 reviews for Sony XM-1S

Customer Review Summary for Sony XM-1S
Average Customer Rating is 5.0 out of 5 stars:
5.0
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
100%
4 star:
.
0%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
5.0
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
November 18, 2011 POWERFULL!!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RANGER 1 from St. Louis, Mo.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing 2, 10" sony shallow mounts @ 2 ohms, each sub in it's own .43 cu. ft. ported box tuned at 40hz. And man those Sony's POUND!!! Lots of power in such a small package. A must buy if your tight on space. Fits ANYWHERE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2013 small but packed with power
Review by
Lamarcus from Starkville, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked this product to my Mtx road thunder subwoofers, pure sound, little distortion, great features. perfect punch for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2013 Great compact amp!
Review by
Alexander from Rock Springs
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp about six months ago to power my one infinity 1262w subwoofer. This amp has more than enough power and never gets hot. I have not had good experiences with Sony car audio products in the past, but this little amp has been awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2013 surprised
Review by
Dad from las vegas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had a lot of systems in the years. Bought this to push 2 10" infinity reference subs in my 96 z28 ragtop. Was very surprised at how good the match sounded. Im a infinity guy so I knew they would sound gd but the amp is very small but packs a punch. Looks good and would buy again even tho im not big on sony products. Kinda curious about the matching 4 channel amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2013 Very nice amp
Review by
Doug from Clinton Pa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this pushing a single Kenwood 12" in a sealed box and it does a nice job. It puts out nice steady power and doesn't get hot. A very good deal for the price. Hopefully it will last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2013 Awsome
Review by
levonte from McDonough, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good amp have it hooked up to 12" pioneer i them alot nd it lights up a lil. Its small so it leaves you with alot of room. Good investment though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2012 WoW!
Review by
Gunfighter from Corona, Calif
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pushing a 12" Sub in my 2011 Accord and it sounds great! Best deal on an Amp for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2012 Strong Amp - Small Size
Review by
Terry from Newburgh, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this in a JK Jeep driving two 8" subs......It hits hard, clean and does not get hot. (Class D CEA 2006)........I have always run top end Alpine/Polk amps, this was my first Sony Amp. The size and price (from Sonic of course) sold me.

Solid power in small package. Nice sub amp for Jeeps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 sweat
Review by
Ryan from Lakebay, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best Sony product I've ever owned and I usually stay away from Sony but the reviews got me on this one. It puts the bump in my single 15 in a custom sealed box and hasnt got hot at all always cold to touch for me. I have it on 4 gauge OFC just to be safe but ive also ran it on 8 gauge with a 50amp inline fuse for a while never blew the fuse and i bumped it pretty hard im using a 500w rms 15" sub with this and im super satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2011 Awesome sounds!
Review by
Wayne from Corpus Christi, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a pair of these amplifiers powering 4 Sony 10's and the sound is awesome. I powered them for 4 days in a row for about 12 hours a day at the Dallas Auto Show and they performed flawlessly! If you are looking for an awesome amplifier at a great price for your subwoofers... get these asap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 3, 2011 Small footprint and easy integration
Review by
Pierre from Montreal, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amplifier was very easy to install, because it is small and it has an automatic "turn ON, turn OFF". It was exactly what I needed to power a small 8" sub !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2011 Great amp for limited space application
Review by
David from Suisun City, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Small amp that can put out lots of power with ease. Bought this because I have the 4 channel version and was satisfied with that one also. Driving two 8 inch kickers in a compact space and i am more than satisfied with the result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2010 A PERFECT LITTLE AMP
Review by
Pete from WEST TEXAS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this little amp in a 96 Cadillac Fleetwood and they are powering 2 Precision Power PPI PCX102, and it pushes them HARD!!!! Love the amp and the CHEAP PRICE TAG !!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2009 most power for size and dollar
Review by
Geeno from San Jose, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sony is still looked down upon a lot of times, but this product should not be overlooked.

First of all this thing does 500 RMS WATTS! @ 2ohm load

And it is so compact it can fit anywhere. It is probably the smallest with this type of power output.

It powers my 12" FUBAR sub just fine.

Has rca pass through to hook up the matching Sony XM-4S 4channel amp for your speakers to be powered, as that does not has a pass through..

Subsonic filter, variable low pass filter, and 40hz variable bass boost, mono class d spec amp, it really is the only amp for people who dont have a lot of space yet still wants some nice power output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 15, 2009 Sony XM-1S
Review by
Donald from Brook Park, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this powering a single Polk MOMO 8' sub. The install was very easy, and it does it's job well. The extremely small footprint was the selling point for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2008 Class D mono
Review by
Ricardo from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp does pretty well in my book. I have two of these pushing four 1100 watt 10inch subwoofers, they handle real nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2008 Tiny foot print, big power
Review by
Lee from gatineau, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is lots of power in a small package, with 2 30 amp fuses it certainly delivers.

Like the xm-4s it looks great with the shiny chrome top but can also be removed to have the stealth black look. I was able to fit these amps in places no other amp could go, such as in between body panels, not much would fit in there.


This is some great bang for the buck and almost impossibly small. They are pretty thin as well, alot thinner the most other full range class D amps out there such as alpine PDX, pioner PRS and the blaupunks.

Variable xover, gains and led light up on top as well as all wire connections on the same side makes this an easy amp to install and tune.

Love these sony's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz