Showing 26 reviews for ScyTek Industries ASTRA-777

Customer Review Summary for ScyTek Industries ASTRA-777
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 26 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
35%
4 star:
.
.
50%
3 star:
.
.
15%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.9
Value
4.5
Features
4.3
Design
4.2
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Excellent Value

I recently installed this for a friend's pathfinder. Well I would have to say that for the price, you can't beat it. Could use more range, but for the price, a good unit.

VS
Works Great at First, then Close to a Year, Remote/Transmitter Would Not Respond Sometimes

I had the Astra 777 car alarm installed on my car close to a year ago, the first 9 Months was Great! system works well, it does what it is intended to do, which is to Protect the Car. Keyless Entry and Engine Kill Switch is Awesome Features, However, Recently, I'm Starting to Notice some Highly Disappointing Problems. 1st. My 2-way Remote Sometimes would Not Respond. The "Arm/DisArm" would Disappear and Any Buttons you push would Not Respond (Note: I made sure that the Battery is Full, so Low Battery Excuse is eliminated.) Unfortunate/Embarrassing Times occur when the Car is on "Arm" Mode and Kill Switch is engaged and the Car Transmitter OR Remote Would Not Respond to "DisArm" command which Equals to the Driver being Stranded without Knowing how to Manually Override the engine kill switch. But After Pressing Random and or Manual Specified Buttons and After Much Frustrations and Cursing Hurled towards the Developers, Companies, Technology and Installers. The Remote would Finally work again. Hallelujah! I am Saved from being Stranded! With all that Said, I am Afraid to Use my Car Remote Again for Fear of the Torment of not being able to Start your Car because of the Engine Kill Switch.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 12, 2011 Works Great at First, then Close to a Year, Remote/Transmitter Would Not Respond Sometimes
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
alphabstract from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the Astra 777 car alarm installed on my car close to a year ago, the first 9 Months was Great! system works well, it does what it is intended to do, which is to Protect the Car. Keyless Entry and Engine Kill Switch is Awesome Features, However, Recently, I'm Starting to Notice some Highly Disappointing Problems. 1st. My 2-way Remote Sometimes would Not Respond. The "Arm/DisArm" would Disappear and Any Buttons you push would Not Respond (Note: I made sure that the Battery is Full, so Low Battery Excuse is eliminated.) Unfortunate/Embarrassing Times occur when the Car is on "Arm" Mode and Kill Switch is engaged and the Car Transmitter OR Remote Would Not Respond to "DisArm" command which Equals to the Driver being Stranded without Knowing how to Manually Override the engine kill switch. But After Pressing Random and or Manual Specified Buttons and After Much Frustrations and Cursing Hurled towards the Developers, Companies, Technology and Installers. The Remote would Finally work again. Hallelujah! I am Saved from being Stranded! With all that Said, I am Afraid to Use my Car Remote Again for Fear of the Torment of not being able to Start your Car because of the Engine Kill Switch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2008 Excellent Value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Greg from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently installed this for a friend's pathfinder. Well I would have to say that for the price, you can't beat it. Could use more range, but for the price, a good unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2014 Good Product For The Price
Review by
keanumc from Anniston, Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Alarm unit installs easily with a print out from your vehicles wiring (can be found on the net.) The only thing i have found that is wrong with this product is the 2 way remote. If you drop your keys several times the remote stops working.It isn't constructed for heavy use. I had to buy a whole new system to get a replacement remote (the Scytek people want the price of the whole system just to replace it.) Overall the alarm is built well and works well, the only detail they need to work on is the 2 way remote it just isn't built for any abuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2013 Decent Value
Review by
Jeremy from Rapid City, South Dakota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product worked well for a few weeks then the 2 way pager quit. The alarm itself works great for the price and easy to install. Would recommend in some parts but need to get a better pager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2013 Piece of Mind
Review by
keanumc from Palm Bay, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this alarm system some 6 months ago and I spent a total of about 6 afternoons connecting all the different features up (this unit has a lot of features.) At the time I was living in an area where car theft was the norm so I slept well at night knowing my pager would go off and the starter disable would stop the vehicle from starting in the event of an attempt.
A little about the transceiver/remote; I was able to on several occasions to arm and disarm the car from 3 city blocks away. Now that's impressive to me. The only thing that makes me angry about the unit is if you drop your keys the battery back will fall off. I lost mine once and had to pay dearly for a battery back (most of it being shipping.) Obviously this is a problem with this unit and I think ScyTek should find a fix and replace them at no charge to their customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2012 Awesome deal
Review by
donmickey from Richfield,MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product,excellent store (100% RECOMEND) fast shipping I will buy more items with this store GOOD JOB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 great for the price
Review by
yoshee from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a great alarm and it was shipped fast.thanks sonic electronics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 great for the price
Review by
yoshee from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a great alarm and it was shipped fast.thanks sonic electronics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2012 Car Alarm
Review by
Tonnie from Orlando, Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got it for my Honda and has worked great. Does what I need it to do. Only issue is that you better have lots of AAA batteries for the LCD remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2012 Great For Price
Review by
Ricardo from Watsonville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had It For A year No problems Worth My Money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2011 Great Value
Review by
Kim from Ozone Park, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is really a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2011 ok alarm
Review by
andrew from birmingham,Al
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
install was straight forward ,however some features have to turned on via a button sequence which they dont include in instructions.if you call support line be prepared to talk to an outsourced guy for an hour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2011 is good
Review by
josew from central islip n.y
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2011 good alarm
Review by
james from trenton, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
was easy to install... works great.. remote eats up a battery every month but overall a great alarm !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2011 Great Deal
Review by
Brady from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This alarm is perfect for the budget minded consumer. And it is very easy to install. Great features and as loud as any other model. The blue led light is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2011 Good Alarm For The Price
Review by
Mike from CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a good alarm and the 2-way paging is nice lol helped me not get towed a few times... just being honest. The LCD remote is nice and the range is cool also. I have my shock sensor set really sensitive because I have to protect my system. If you are on a budget this alarm is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 23, 2010 great value
Review by
john from dc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
does what it says, wasn't hard to install. had to buy a door lock module for the door lock/unlock feature to work but that was only 9 bucks. the battery life on the remote is like two or three months, that's kinda annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2010 Great features
Review by
hankster from troy ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I liked all the features of the Astra-777,i dont have to carry two remotes i can still unlock lock open trunk and still have a panic button. I am a master auto tech for me i had no problems with wiring in all relays for all accessories for horn lights trunk release ect. The other is what i called the smart remote if you misplace you keys hit the call button(set of back up keys is nice to have) and the remote beeps till you find it. Only one problem i found with smart remote is battery cover would get knocked off easy. The tech help line was very helpful on one question i had. If i had to buy another alarm i would buy another astra 777.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2009 Low price, loaded with features
Review by
Shane from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Definitely a high quality alarm, the only problem is it has random siren chirps after the car is turned on whether or not it was on and was disarmed with the pager or if it wasn't armed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2009 Great for price!!
Review by
Acura-Legend from Spokane, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product has not given me any troubles it is a great product for the price.
Pros - Its 2-way so you know if your alarm is going off. Has nice sounding beeps and such... I have heard some alarms that have a very gross sounding beep.
Cons - Range is perfect for at work or home or school, however if you are farther away it will not notify you your alarm is going off.

I would recommend this product if you don't want to spend a whole lot on an alarm but still want some security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2009 Good alternative for affordable security system
Review by
Sharad from TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this system for people who are looking for a decent and affordable security system. It has a 2way pager, and remote plus a variety of add on options. I think this is a good starter or entry level system that gives you a 2way pager for a very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 28, 2009 Great Alarm for the price
Review by
narcoleptik.ninja from Fort Smith, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It has a 3 beep system when the tamper alarm goes off, then a chime when the actual alarm is set off. It also has a silent arm/unarm which is nice when you don't want make lots of noise. The range is great on it. The nicest thing about this alarm though of course is that it's a two way alarm. If your car was being tampered with at night you probably wouldn't hear it (if you park your car outside or live in a crowded urban area), and the two way keychain alarm is awesome because you are alerted as long as your in 1000ft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2008 Good for the money
Review by
Jin from Carlsbad, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have to say this is a good little alarm for the money. You can't compare it to more expensive units, because this wasn't mean to compete in that price range.

With that being said installation is a breeze because there isn't a lot to the alarm to begin with. You don't have multiple sensors/zones, etc. Simply find where you want to mount the everything and within an hour or 2 you should be all set. It's a simple matter of splicing some wires and making everything look neat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2008 Simple Install
Review by
David from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Alarm place around here wanted to charge me $400+ to install this alarm. I bought it off here and was able to install it in one day. Super simple to install on my '98 Ford Explorer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2007 Perfect for my truck!
Review by
stephanie from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to install with the detailed instructions and talk about a siren! I istalled this alarm in my truck and it is perfect for my needs. The pager remote is great and the system is so user friendly. I have quite a bit of money invested in my truck and can sleep well at night with this system hooked up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2007 Works good
Review by
chirag from Burbank, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well it works good for car security. It's actually realy good if you ignition kill and it will really kill the ignition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz