Showing 14 reviews for Kicker DS680.2

Customer Review Summary for Kicker DS680.2
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 14 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
43%
4 star:
.
.
43%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
.
7%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.4
Features
4.5
Design
4.3
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
clean and crisp

I replaced all the speakers in my 06 Frontier crew cab. people always told me the stereo sounded great before I replaced them, now my passengers are blown away. I have a complete kicker stereo now with these in the front, 6.5's in the back, and a 10" solobaric. Kicker is no joke. I am an audio engineer and these sound better than the $3,000 stereo monitors in the audio booth. when I need some alone time to study a track, I take a drive in my truck. Kicker all the way.

VS
Beware the rating on these speakers

I bought these to replace the front door speakers in my F150, and they are powered by an RF 4x50 watt amp. They distort at little to no gain on the amp. If they were only powered by the aftermarket stereo amp, they'd probably be fine, but they definitely don't handle the amperage from a seperate amp. I wouldn't recommend buying them. I will be upgrading to a set of Kappa components. It's worth it to spend the extra $50.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 5, 2011 Beware the rating on these speakers
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ryan from Dover, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these to replace the front door speakers in my F150, and they are powered by an RF 4x50 watt amp. They distort at little to no gain on the amp. If they were only powered by the aftermarket stereo amp, they'd probably be fine, but they definitely don't handle the amperage from a seperate amp. I wouldn't recommend buying them. I will be upgrading to a set of Kappa components. It's worth it to spend the extra $50.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2011 good stuff
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
perro from holtsville new york
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The kicker speakers are great i have had them for a while and they still sound great i recomend them to anyone they are really good if amplified am currently running them off an alpine MPR250 4 channel and its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 30, 2009 clean and crisp
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ruben from Albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced all the speakers in my 06 Frontier crew cab. people always told me the stereo sounded great before I replaced them, now my passengers are blown away. I have a complete kicker stereo now with these in the front, 6.5's in the back, and a 10" solobaric. Kicker is no joke. I am an audio engineer and these sound better than the $3,000 stereo monitors in the audio booth. when I need some alone time to study a track, I take a drive in my truck. Kicker all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2012 Kicker Components
Review by
Richard from Midlothian, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are are some tough little speakers. Installed as replacements for my 2004 F150 Supercrew. No adjustments/mods necessary. Powered with a solid Kicker amp, these speakers sound great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2012 Big sound moderate price
Review by
Shawn from coos bay, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound, really does hit low notes as per specs once broken in, which most 6x8 cant.(not saying these are subwoofers) Good sound separation of highs with tweeter angled mounting on surface or flush/angled with included kit.The crossover is on the large size,(must plan for this and tweeter location) but adjustable for highs, length of wires was good for door and backseat mounting-good mounting kit.
These are a great bang for the bucks you pay and really shine with an amplifier or high output head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2012 Great for the Bucks
Review by
jlmartel[email protected] from Sarasota
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy install, good sound, inexpensive and with a good sound. Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2012 Kicker's ROCK !!!
Review by
Colin S from Terrebonne OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these to up grade the factory speakers in my F-350 crew cab. Pushed by a JBL 600 watt 4 channel amp the Kicker Ds680.2 sound very crisp on the top end and have a nice full sound through out the music spectrum. I liked them so much that I replaced the speakers in my daughters Acura with the same Kickers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2012 great sound
Review by
donald from bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very clear crisp sound i wish i would of gotten the one that had seperate tweeter and crossover that i have in my work truck but i wasnt wanting to punch holes in my personal truck, great sound maxed out the volume and never even scattered or tattered the music, speekers sound good but remember when you have passengers it blocks the sound good to always by some component systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2012 Ha
Review by
Joe from grand junction
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this about more than a years ago and they work great. You really get what you paid for!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2011 good buy!
Review by
Hunter from Tifton, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these for my 05 reg cab Ford Ranger. Easy to install, sound great. I'm getting ready to replace my door speakers and im going to get these again. Tweeters were easy to install. Sound great i have a kicker 10" L3 i also got from here that was a great buy also. Looking for some great highs. These have highs mids and some lows but does great with highs and mids (not a bass speaker)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 You get what you pay for
Review by
aphex4000 from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these for the front doors of a 2009 Ford F-150 and have them connected to an Alpine PDX-5. The crossover support 0, +3, and +6 for the tweeters but I left them at 0 since the tweeters are extremely bright. The bass frequency response the 40Hz frequency response listed by Kicker is extremely optimistic as there is audible distortion as high as 70Hz.

Overall, I am very happy with the purchase. The highs are extremely bight and clear, making vocals sound fantastic. The shortcomings in low end frequencies is not an issue since I will be connecting a 10" or 12" subwoofer soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2011 Excellent sound
Review by
4mger from NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers for the price. Bought these with a new stereo and was very surprised by the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2011 idk yet
Review by
Hunter from United States
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't know how good these are I got them today and so far so good a little trouble in wiring the suckers cause u have two converters but I have them wired to the old rear speaker connectors I'm the back of my ranger limited space but I don't have the tweeters hooked up or the 6x8 hooked up right but so far real decent speakers not sure if u wanna get them for BASS and that's what I'm looking for but they should and I hope work better when they r hook up right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2011 good
Review by
Peppers from Seymour, Tennessee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put it in my truck and love the sound I want to put more in it to replace the rest of the speakers actually
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz