Showing 15 reviews for Pioneer AVIC-D3

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer AVIC-D3
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
13%
3 star:
.
.
20%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.6
Features
4.5
Design
4.5
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Great nav and ipod control

My dad bought this for me on ebay a couple weeks ago. I got it for 100 dollars cause the speaker outputs were blown. Since I didn't need them because I use the RCA's and an amp for my mids/highs and subs. Having only 1 cd/dvd slot isn't too bad if you have an ipod and use the ipod connection, because you have to keep the nav disk in to be able to use the navigation. Other than that its a great head unit.

VS
touch screen volume

Hi my name is Bee and ive had this radio for a few months and has yet to figure out how to turn down or off the touch screen volume. Mine is extremely loud even with the volume on mute or down. When i touch the screen its loud and very annoying!

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 5, 2012 touch screen volume
Review by
Bee from Cleveland Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hi my name is Bee and ive had this radio for a few months and has yet to figure out how to turn down or off the touch screen volume. Mine is extremely loud even with the volume on mute or down. When i touch the screen its loud and very annoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2009 Great nav and ipod control
Review by
Gerardo from Spring Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My dad bought this for me on ebay a couple weeks ago. I got it for 100 dollars cause the speaker outputs were blown. Since I didn't need them because I use the RCA's and an amp for my mids/highs and subs. Having only 1 cd/dvd slot isn't too bad if you have an ipod and use the ipod connection, because you have to keep the nav disk in to be able to use the navigation. Other than that its a great head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2008 nice value
Review by
ben from Troutman, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this came stock in my 2007 chevy topkick cinch edition. nice little set up but the screen is a little small but other than that pretty well over all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2008 Would Reccomend
Review by
tad from Fargo, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am one of those people that reads a lot of customer reviews, and hesitate when making big purchases like this, but I'm glad I did. I got it pro installed, then bypassed the brake myself. (it is very easy) The options are endless. If your nav is off you can reposition yourself. Mine is extremely accurate. Sound quality is great, hooked up amped 6x9's and sub. The sound options are great as well. (it really does play almost anything you throw at it) As far as the guy who says it only searches POI's within 5 miles, he's half right. It searches around you, but if you touch the screen twice anywhere else, it will re-search POIS there. (I'm in ND and can search POI's in CA) The NAV has great clarity and is easy to use. When the DVD NAV disc is not in, it will remember info around your current location. But I bought I-pod attachment, which is amazing. It basically turns the screen into your ipod so there's no need for using the actual ipod when it's plugged in. ( and it charges it ) Overall, I would recommend this product to anyone hesitating to buy it like I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2008 Great Nav Radio
Review by
Ian from Edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I spent a long time looking into Nav radios before finally deciding on the Avic-D3. Other decks had a separate unit that had to be mounted under a seat, or behind the glovebox. This was a one piece unit. It also had all the features I wanted, plus it had the option of adding a Sirius radio tuner. My only beef would be the price of replacement DVD maps...$200+ is a little pricey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2008 Best low cost NAV unit with double din
Review by
Bob from North Hollywood, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this unit for about a year now. Sound quality is excellent, installation is simple. There's even a simple fix or hack to get the unit to allow input and view video while driving. This can be found searching the internet. At first I thought the idea of having one DVD slot for music and GPS functions would be a problem however with the addition of an IPOD unit one never needs to use the DVD slot for anything but GPS. For short drives the units internal memory will store the route and allow you to eject the NAV disk and play DVD's or CDS. This unit seems to play just about any media you throw at it. Cosmetics are not the high point for me since I don't like the high gloss black front trim, mat black would be better and not show finger prints. Most dash boards don't have high gloss. Compared to my Nuvi 650 Garmin GPS the Pioneer is second rate, driving directions are excellent however POI's and search functions for POI's is a major disappointment. This unit will only find POI's in the vicinity of about 5 miles which is useless. My Garmin unit starts with the closest POI's (Points of Interest) and shows the distance and lists them from closest to farther away. You can find POI's in an city before you arrive or along the route, this unit does not do this. Buck for buck you can't beat it, it does have it's short comings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2008 Beautiful Nav Unit
Review by
anthony from cape coral, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this nav unit upon other people having it and using it with great success in there 2007 rav4's.Upon installing this nav unit I was amazed at the great look and usability of it.It looks much better then the factory one and at a fraction of the cost.I would buy this again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2008 Amazing!!!
Review by
travis from Camarillo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I absolutely love this unit!! its amazing it integrates with your factory dash so good its the cleanest unit i have ever seen in a NNBS silverado. all the features work perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2007 Excellent Product!
Review by
Sean from Newport News, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is great! You get so much for your money! The two other reviews that give this product bad/inaccurate review are irrelavant. The navigation very accurate unless installed improperly. Also, if it is still off track, all you have to do is go into the settings mode and re-position your exact location. That will fix the problem. It also could be b/c the person mounted their GPS antenna in a bad spot.

All-in-all, this product is great! You will not be disappointed! I have purchased two and never had any problems! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2007 Best Nav & DVD player for the price
Review by
Bryan from Plano, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I self installed this unit. There is plenty of internet support and documentation on Pioneer products including the AVIC-D3 including installation, "hacks", set-up, etc. The NAV directions are good not great (comparing to OEM Lexus and GM Nav units; the Ipod interface ROCKS!; blue tooth set up was easy enough and works well; Audio quality and DVD play back are excellent; Overall a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2007 Amazing headunit
Review by
James from Melber, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do noo own this myself but I am going to shortly. A good friend of mine that works at an audio shop has this HU installed in his truck. It is an awesome HU. He has never had any problems out of it. The voltage may seem a little low but I pushes his two subs amazingly. You can hook your ipod,bluetooth,and a iphone up to this. Awesome, many presets, but can be hard to set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2007 Amazing Product
Review by
Robin from Lombard, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Avic is amazing in what it can do. I have the iPod hooked up and it works flawlessly with great sound quality. Compared to the factory Chevy unit that was in the car, it blows it out of the water. Picture quality is awesome on DVD's and the navagation works perfect with great voice guidance. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2007 Great deal, but has some bugs
Review by
Hans from Canyon Country, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price, this is a decent unit. However, as a new product, it still has some bugs that need to be addressed (i.e. vertical or horizontal white streaks across the background display, which is annoying, but the unit is still functional). Even if by-passed, the video will not play consistently unless parked or stopped. There is no true "off" button. Other than those, the unit is quite useful and functional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2007 Not so hot, but still a good product for the money
Review by
Kevin from Basking Ridge, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great for the money, but DVD navigation will always mess up, and sure enough mine does. It can't follow where I am going epecially when I am in the city. It can be off by 3 or more streets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2007 the best .dont look at it . buy it
Review by
daren from Newburgh, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
have the d3 for a day. and it the best product i have ever bought .so eazy to use. if i had another car i would buy one more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz