Showing 24 reviews for Polk Audio db6501

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db6501
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 84 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
62%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
1%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.4
Design
4.7
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
June 7, 2012 Need Power!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Peter from Niagara Falls, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome speakers, but they need to be amped! Head unit power will not be enough to show what these speakers can really do. In fact, it will make you not like them at all! Amp them and you'll love em! I installed them in my F150. Needed adapter plates and with a little dremmel work, they ended up fitting fine. I ended up installing the crossovers inside the panel under the window switches which worked out great. Polk is very good quality for the price. Just don't forget to feed these speakers power or you will not like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2014 \m/
Review by
Michael from buffalo, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Broke these in with 40 watts for a few months, got my new amp and deck and they're now running at 80. I've been in metal bands for quite some time and I can't even handle these guys at full volume. I just got the 6901's in the mail and I'm a little scared...NOT! These speakers by themselves and a Fosgate in the trunk = awesome! Install was easy, fit the speakers in the stock speaker and tweeter locations of a G6 GT with the Monsoon sound system and was able to mount the cross over on the inner side of the door panel. I have it at +-0 now, thinking of going to -3 in the tweeter crossover, they sure are BRIGHT. Would definitely recommend these speakers to anyone looking for a loud and full sounding (if properly amped) component system at a very reasonable price. Polk guy for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Polk Audio db6501
Review by
scott from Webster, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great speaker for the price, Not as good as my Alpine Type R components but did the job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Very clean and crisp
Review by
Adrian from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these to replace the stock speakers in my RAV4. It was almost shocking to feel the difference in weight between the light plastic/paper stock speakers and these heavy metal/poly ones. The old crossover was marble size and these ones are more like a deck of cards. I was already impressed.
Installation was easy--I cut out the old tweeters and the new ones flush-mounted into the stock brackets with enough room to put the cross-over behind it. Wiring was simple to strip and tighten in the terminal strip. I had to drill one hole for the mounting bracket in each door but that's not all that bad, all things considered.
I'm still using the stock head unit (this will be fixed soon) and I noticed a huge difference. The stock speakers had a lot more low-end but tended to be very muddy with a lot of definition lost and no staging. These polks have a much more open feeling to them with crisp, well-defined highs and mids and a very neatly defined stage.
My criticisms of these speakers are twofold. First, given the robustness of the rest of the system, the relatively flimsy plastic brackets surprised me. I can't imagine putting real power to a speaker with such a weak support. Second, while the sound is a lot cleaner, it lacks the lower end now. This is a big surprise because the old speakers were 5.25 and these are 6.5 but maybe it's just they are now under powered with the stock HU.
All in all, I'd say this has been a huge improvement and, with more power and/or bass enhancement (think sub), it'll be audiophile level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 14, 2013 Needs Amp!
Review by
barcelo5 from Niagara Falls, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are great once you give them some juice! you wont like them directly off of the hu though. They lack any mid range when not amped. Presently feeding 75 watts per channel and they have come alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2013 Awsome value! I would buy again
Review by
Peteo from Southwick, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I truly enjoy these speakers. Even without an additional amp they sound great. I also enjoy the fact that they are water resistant, as this should help them last longer and maintain the great sound they produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2012 Not bad at all...sounds great.
Review by
Frankie from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great buy for the money. I installed the Polk speakers in my 2001 cadillac DeVille,the 61/2 will fit in the front door but not the rear, had to go with 51/4 and they sound amazing when hook up a 500watt 4ch amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2011 Read this...
Review by
Ryan from Columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Sounds and looks great! The accessories are great and very strong

Cons: 1. One speaker's surround is messed up... It looks like the seal on the frame didn't completely seal. So the surround was dented a little. It still works, but I'll be keeping everything in case it rips or something. I don't know who to blame for that, but since shipping took way too long I'm not going to return it til it breaks.
2. OEM install of the tweeter is impossible in a Scion xA... but what can ya do?

Other: If you get a perfect pair of these, you can't go wrong. They are great for the price. I have them on 45RMS each and they get loud and have great bass! Definitely would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2011 Very Good - but spring for the MM6501
Review by
Aaron from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently own both the DB6501 and MM6501. I had the DB first set up in the front of my '07 Pathfinder, then I ordered the MM's and replaced the DB's (the MM's went in the front and the DB's were moved to the rear). All I can say is that the difference was night and day. I was very happy with the DB's so if you are on a limited budget then don't shy away from them, but I will wholeheartedly say that if you are on the fence between the two series that you should definately spring for the MM's. The difference from DB to MM is 'almost' as big as going from factory to the DB's! In the end, VERY happy with my 100% Polk set up, all being driven by a Rockford 551x 4 channel amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2011 Good Value!
Review by
Leemanssbn736 from Missouri City,Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound Really great for Power handling and price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2011 Decent speaker set
Review by
Doug from Statesville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers to put in the rear of my Honda Del Sol. The woofers fir in the OEM brackets though I had to drill a matching hole pattern. No biggie there. Figuring out where to put the tweeters were another issue. I am always hesitant to put holes where there were none before. To that end, I ended up buying a used set of panels that hold the OEM trim and drilled holes in them for the flush mount option. This put them pointed at about the shoulder.

Actually installing the tweeters was a bit challenging. Popping the tweeters into the flush mount housing required an extraordinary amount of force and I slightly dented the grill on both units. Once they are in, good luck on trying to utilize the swivel feature to aim them, They aren't moving.

I am running a Kenwood KDC-HD545U CD Receiver which provides a fair amount of options for sound levels. Sitting still, I can make the system sound real nice. With the top off and windows down, I start losing the bass and if I crank too hard to get it back, the highs start getting tinny. A small sub might help the issue but if you are familiar with this car, there just isn't a lot of room to work with.

For a typical installation, I figure they would be real nice, providing a lot of sound without a lot of power. The Kenwood unit is rated at 22 watts nom and will seems to do ok as long as you don't crank it up incredibly high. At lower volumes, you can tweak the controls to provide a good range of sound without losing clarity.

I would consider these for a regular hard top car but would steer somewhere else if I had to upgrade a convertible or targa again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2011 Did not work for me
Review by
Alex from louisville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these hoping to get the same kind of sound as my Polk monitor 70's I have at home. This did not happen. These are the first Polk speakers for car audio I have ever owned I and I am a little disappointed. It is more my style of listening that make these speakers not work, I like it loud! My problem with the polks is the tweeters get over saturated quick at high volumes and cut off. That really bothers me on a good song.
Long story short, they won't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2011 Good Speakers
Review by
Consumer from Sac, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Reasonably priced and sound really good, even at loud volume. Clear highs and mids, decent lows. Also was able to fit these in the stock locations which previously had 5.25 set. Would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2011 Great set of speakers
Review by
Prince from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this set of speakers and the clarity is superb. I put it in a Nissan Pathfinder with the matching db6501 in the rear. Powered off an Alpine MRP-F600 provide more than enough power to drive these speakers. They get loud enough without hurting your ears as long as you set the crossover on -3db. Easy install as well. The only thing I would say is I wasn't too fond of the options of tweeting mounting. I prefer if the tweeter didn't have a housing on it so that I could put just the tweeter in the stock location. Overall DEFINETLY RECOMMEND THESE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2011 Polk db6501 in a Jeep Wrangler
Review by
Matthew from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had recently put a pair of db521's in my overhead soundbar, but they just weren't loud enough while driving down the road with the top down. Then I read that the sub portion of the db6501 would fit within the hole in the soundbar that was originally made for a 5-1/4" speaker. The 6-1/2" sub fits perfectly without any cutting. Then I was able to easily install the tweeter and crossover on the surface of the soundbar. I only had to drill a couple of small holes for the wires and screws. I then moved the db521's up to the dash location, although this required some cutting and a new metal mounting bracket. I also added an Alpine MRP-M500 amp to power the whole thing. It all sounds great, but it's still a Jeep. It's hard to find something that will sound awesome at 70 mph with the top down. But this is the best I've found so far. Especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2011 Polk db6501 review
Review by
Steve from Philly, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a decent set of 6.5 components for my trusty 2002 Subaru WRX. The problem with my Subie is very shallow doors. I chose the Polks as the best speakers that would actually fit in my doors. Mostly I listen to classic rock, and the Polks are great for that. They have a balanced, smooth sound that is good for most music. They do produce good (but not great) bass, much more than my doors can handle. The only music I find they can't handle is very mid-bass heavy groups, such as MGMT. On such music the speakers bottom out and end up sounding like crap. This problem can be reduced by drastically altering the EQ, but that has drawbacks, too. These speakers are probably best for most rock, jazz, and even classical. I am not sure they would hold up for hip hop and rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2011 Good speakers for the money
Review by
Chuck from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have yet to amp these and am running them off my Pioneer AVIC-X920BT double din HU and I am very pleased with them. Clear sound with a nice wide range of sound. Bass isn't that crazy but with any component a sub is ideal. Highs and mids are great. I would buy again. These are my only speakers in my 370z and the sound is fantastic even without an amp or subs. Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2010 Good Speakers
Review by
Adam from Missoula, Montana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these in my 2002 Subaru WRX. They are powered with the deck and sound good. I'm assuming they'll sound much better when I install my amp. I've heard better component systems, but not for this price. A built in crossover would be the only thing I could ask for. I replaced a pair of 6.5" Pioneers and the OEM factory tweeters. What a difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2010 Happy after six months
Review by
HappyBuyer from FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these six months ago and installed in a 2004 Avalanche after my daughter blew the stock ones. Installation wasn't bad. Had to drill a little bigger hole for the tweeters. Also had a make a spacer for the woofers to have them seal tightly against the door panel. Used Velcro to attach the box inside the door frame so I wouldn't have to drill new holes. Was able to use existing covers so you would never know they weren't original equipment. Sounds great. Clearer at louder volumes than the stock speakers and my daughter hasn't blown these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2010 Great highs/mids - watch out for the lows
Review by
jackbequick from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All the reviews are right about the highs/mids - they are awesome. I have the crossover switched in the middle (not - or +) and the treble on my head unit is set pretty flat. You may want to set the switch at -. My VW supposedly used a 6.5 inch driver but when I took the old one out of the car, they were bigger and I lost lows going with this speaker. When i turn up the bass way up on my head unit to compensate, my head unit distorts sooner than it should and I don't get the volume I'm looking for. Maybe an amp is one solution. I have a subwoofer installed as well so I'm okay with the loss of bass. The drivers seem to take a while to break in as well when it comes to the bass. If you don't have an amp or a subwoofer, you might want to look at a lower wattage component set to get the full range easier with head unit power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2010 Excellent product
Review by
Paul from Waimea, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these in my fj cruiser front and rear and the sound quality rocks! Clear, crisp highs with some really tight midrange. Can't beat it for the price! Compliments the 2 JL audio 10's I have for bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2009 This is a great speaker
Review by
Darnell from Augusta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First of all, i received the package on time. The speakers sound great. Great bass/midbass and above. Tweeters aren't harsh at all. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2010 Great sound, no amp.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MaxRabbit from Franklin, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked this up in my 1996 Subaru Outback. They work great! The sound is awesome, and I don't even have an amp; only an aftermarket Sony headunit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2009 Not very happy, but fair enough for a decent sound system
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sergio from Laredo, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This component has an excellent tweeter performance, but drivers lack of sound pressure and sound quality as well. Good only for well endowed amplifiers, but expect no much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz