Showing 28 reviews for Polk Audio db651

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db651
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 110 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
25%
3 star:
.
.
6%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
1%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
October 29, 2010 Sastifying Product
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Luke from West Des Moines, Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got the Polk Audio db651 6.5 in speakers. I have a Dodge Dakota Extended Cab and got 2 pairs. I am VERY impressed with the sound clarity and just sheer power of these speakers. Granted it is in a truck cab but these things are extremely loud. They have great clarity at all volume levels and are able to play loud enough to make me yell at my passengers to be heard and they still didn't have any distortion. For $65 a pair they are a steal. I'm only running 22 rms thru my head unit and they can take 60 rms I believe. I highly recommend these speakers to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2014 Excellent value and sound
Review by
Steve from Toledo, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice sounding speaker for a low budget co ax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Crisp and clean
Review by
Adrian from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these in the rear of a RAV4. This was an upgrade from a single 5.25 inch paper cone mid to this coaxial comp. The difference is amazing. The factory speakers were very muddy and unfocused, with undefined sound and no staging. These Polks have beautiful definition and staging and give my back seat guests access to nuances in the music they didn't have before.
Installation was easy- I was able to simply connect the supplied leads to the stock wiring and thread it through a hole in the door panel. Physical installation required me to drill an extra hole for the one screw in each door for the mounting bracket. The speed clips worked fine for this and installation overall was quite easy.
My gripe are few. The brackets dont seem that robust, especially compared to the beefy construction of the speakers themselves. This would be an easy place for Polk to step up a bit. Second, unlike the matching 6501 component set , there is no way to drop the treble off on these. It would be nice to be able to match them to the fronts since this is likely a common combination. Third, I'm a little surprised by the loss of bass, given that I upgraded from a smaller speaker to a larger one. I'm still using the stock HU so maybe that plays a role, as does the fact that the bass is so much tighter now, but I do feel like there's something missing at the low-end now.
All in all, I'd highly recommend these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 All round good speakers
Review by
Scott from Victoria, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
One thing to note is that the DB651s do not come with mounting brackets as they are the slim version. With the DB651 however, they are included in the box. Overall the speakers are great. It's definitely not a very 'bassy' speaker, I would more compare it more towards a set of studio monitors, providing clear/clean sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2013 polk db651
Review by
john from winchester, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have used these speakers with and without an amp. They sound much better with than without. I think polk makes an excellent product and I would recommend them to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2012 polk audio db651
Review by
Greg from Charleston, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good speakers, great price. A great mid line speaker that really comes alive with clean power. I have db series front and rear in my Toyota 4 runner on a jl 500/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2012 Good Speakers
Review by
Barcelo5 from Niagara Falls, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These sound great as long as you give them the power they need. They wont come alive unless you amp them. Good quality and easy to mount. I'v been running them for a few months now and sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2012 sounds good
Review by
manju from goa, India
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My set up is a simple consisting of a pioneer head unit, jbl gto 1004 amp, and polk momo (mm1240) subwoofer. The excel in both the department i.e. sound quality and sound pressure level.
I was surprise to see that this speaker sounds great without any distortion, secondly the build quality is upto the mark. The sound quality was good not on par with the momo series.
Cons: As compare to the polk momo subwoofer I found that this speaker were not keeping up to my expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2012 Polk Audio DB651 Speakers sounding great in boat after 6 months
Review by
Florida Fishin Chuck from Cape Coral, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put the Polk Audio DB651 Speakers in to replace some 8 year old speakers. They sit exposed, but under shade on the center console of my boat in the Florida sun. They sounded great day 1 with nice tight bass, clear mid-range, and bright highs. I listen to a wide range of music and I'm pleased with the sound. If you are looking for head banging bass, you'll need to add a subwoofer. For me, they were reasonably priced, durable, and sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2012 Good speakers
Review by
david from gainesville, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good speakers have had them for over a year now and they still play great, clear sound and they were reviewed on one site as being one of the top notch 6" speakers and they were right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2012 Speaker
Review by
Mike e mike from Violet
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Speakers sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 Mids and Highs Good...
Review by
Derek from Crystal City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For whatever reason I did not have any bass with these speakers in the doors of my 2005 Hyundai Elantra. The factory junkers had better bass. However, if you are using a subwoofer they will sound nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2012 Awesome Speakers
Review by
Big Will from los angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speaker rock. I have them on a four channel hifonics amp giving them 110 rms a piece and they are loud and clear. Buy them, you wont be disappointed. Just ordered the db691 to match today and cant wait to see how it all comes together. Got 2 12 inch L7's and a kicker 1000.1 and it sounds like a concert! Thx sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2011 Nice sound, not much bass
Review by
NorthernDad from Hazelton, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got these speakers to replace stock Kia speakers. Ended up keeping the stock speakers because these ones have terrible bass output. They were great for full range, almost making music sound 'live' - everything was good but the bass, so they had to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2011 great sound for low price
Review by
rb2025 from boston, ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have them in a 08 scion xb and they are great for highs and mids they do great with my pioneer 3200 bt along with a alpine type r 12 I would recommend to any who want better door speaker than factory at low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2011 Go Polk
Review by
Ben from Lexington, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have never been disappointed with any speakers I've bought from Polk. These 6-3/4" went in the doors of my firebird and fit great. They are powered by 50w pioneer head unit and seem to be getting enough power for my purposes, but more never hurts!

In the hatch I have 2 RF 6x9's in ported boxes and amped 100w to each. This has a good stage for music; clean mids and sharp highs up front from the smaller polks, and more low end presence from the back 6x9s.

These are awesome for the price and they're marine certified so they should hold up fine to being swung around inside the doors, exposed to weather.
Low end Hz are somewhat disappointing, at least in my setup, but match these with subs and it would have awesome range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2011 Good Spk
Review by
gg from Kyoto,, Japan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good speakers for the price. Using a Nak amp to power them. Speakers would be good for any normal application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2011 pretty good
Review by
Bubba from Brandon, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Now in my car the side door speakers are just mid bass but i went ahead and got coaxial because components wouldn't have fit. Anyways the are loud, decent mid bass, great tweets, cant wait to hook up a amplifier.

WARNING: when i was installing the 3/4 bracket didn't fit, and it was made for my car. i made some adjustments and got the speakers to go in without the bracket but do note it will not fit dodge neon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2011 Solid Performer
Review by
Douglas from Rockwall, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased these Polk db651's to replace the stock Clarion speakers on my boat and am very happy with them. They sound good and play very loud. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a budget speaker. I will probably replace with the MM series at the end of the summer, as have added an amp and have Polk MM650UM's in speaker cans. Overall very happy with these speakers and all of my Polk products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 good speakers
Review by
Mike from Burr Ridge, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound very good. I put them in the doors and they sound great. good balance between bass and treble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2011 Great sound
Review by
Eric from Oxford, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are crystal clear without sacrificing bass. Replaced stock speakers in our boat and added a 10" sub. This thing rocks on the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2010 Good speakers
Review by
K-Car Driver from Leesburg, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have purchased these to upgrade the audio in my 1982 Dodge, and am very pleased with the result. I am driving them directly from the head unit, and also have a pair of Kicker 6x9s that I drive from an amp. The two seem to work together quite well. The Polk has a slightly more refined sound while the Kicker has a little bit of an edge, but together they sound great.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 Best bang for the buck
Review by
UK from Castle Rock, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these speakers to replace the 4 OEM speakers in my 1999 Toyota Tacoma xtra cab. Fitting in the factory location requires the scoshe adapter plates #SAC-656, and a bit of work, but they will go into place behind the OEM grills. Compared to my OEM speakers, they sound great for a 2 way speaker. Thanks for the excellent customer service SE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2010 They like power
Review by
washdup from Ventura CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am running only 45 x 4 amp, so at lower volume levels there's not much mid and bass. For someone looking to replace stock speakers and keep original headunit, keep this in mind. At higher volumes, they sound great and apparently can handle plenty of power. With my system I can't listen to music loud enough to get them to distort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2010 Polk Audio db651
Review by
Rusty from Bixby, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really likes these speakers, I put them in a golf cart, speakers were exposed to the elements and held up fine. Sounded great and looked great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2009 awsome speakers
Review by
Ray from allentown, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I payed damn near twice this price, mostly becuase it was near 3 years ago, and from a retail store. but none the less, the speakers perform as though they $150+ speakers, like noted before they only can truly be appreciated with an amp, I have them powered by an eclipse EA4000, 75 watts a speakers rms, EXCEPTIONALLY sharp highs, and i mean SHARP,and not to bright. once they are tuned right, they sound amazing, I have 4 of them, and 2 in the door and 2 on the back behind my seat's that use the trunk as a bass tube to give it a little more thump, with the bass turned up, and the low's turned right, they hit so nice you'd swear their was an 8" sub back their.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2009 Polk 651
Review by
Scott from Madison, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are a nice upgrade from the one-way speakers that were in the sound bar in my '08 Jeep. They fill out the spectrum well and, with a sub-woofer, you get a nice, full range. Excellent bang for your buck. The adapter ring (included) is needed so be prepared for a little drilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2009 Polk at it again
Review by
Brian from Florissant, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As all the Polk coaxial's, these have a nice clear sound from the silk dome tweeter and plenty of bass. But putting the amp on them is the only way to fully appreciate their sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz