Showing 18 reviews for Polk Audio db5251

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db5251
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
72%
4 star:
.
.
17%
3 star:
.
.
11%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.5
Design
4.6
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 6, 2012 Good Quality Speaker System
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ALEXANDER from Newark, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this speakers system to upgrade my OEM radio speakers on my 1997 BMW M3. I installed the speakers one at a time and then listened to the same music that I am familiar with. I first replaced the left 5 1/4 kick panel speaker and then listened to the music at different volume levels. I could only discern very slight improvement in mid bass. Got the same result with the right kick panel speaker. Just slightly tighter mid bass which may not be felt by an untrained ear. Next were the tweeters. Same procedure, one at a time, then listen for any improvement. This time was definitely a jump in improvement. I can better hear the cymbals, the esses coming out of the lips of the singer and hand movement of the guitar player sliding on the instrument. I decided to keep the system for this improvement alone. After completing the install, I rested a bit, sat in the drivers seat, and listened to the music in all it's entirety. Sound is better, but not to my delight yet. Next project, the head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 Sound Clarity!!!!
Review by
Cody from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have the NVX 800 watt amp powering the 5 1/4 polk audio components and the 6 1/2 polk audio components. They scream, I am able to hear them loud and clear over my 4 x 12in mb quart shallow subwoofers. Do not buy these to add base to your system, they are meant to be ran with subwoofers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 polk audio
Review by
g1wireless from cambria heights, ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The speakers sound good for vocal everything sound clear. I would recommend this product to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2013 great speaker quality
Review by
george9lives from kankakee, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound, great price. They are in my sound bar(jeep) and they finished my system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Amazing!
Review by
Rein from Kongsberg, Norway
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got 2 of theese comp-sets in my car powered by a dynabel 2 channel @2ohm. The amp is giving 240 watt rms per set (120 watt rms per side). And the sound quality is AMAZING, i got one of the set in my front doors, and the other set in my back doors. The bass is very good, considering its only a 5 " midbass :) i got a 18 " subwoofer anyway, so the bass in the compsets is not what i was looking for, but the sound quality is amazing and loud! dosent distort as well.

I highly recomend this compset, but you need a amp to drive them at their best :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2012 Polk Speakers
Review by
hifidriver from Canada, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Polk 5.25 component set are pretty good. No noticeable distortion at the reasonable volume I've played them at. I haven't fallen in love with them though. I still love the Infinity Reference 6.5 components I had before. They were awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2012 Good choice
Review by
ataide31 from São Paulo, Brazil
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned a polk Audio 6" component system, but i had to purchased a 5" component because i have changed my car. Unfortunately this one has the extreme high frequences than the 6". The tweeter seems so high. Not good for me, but the woofer it's ok and all the rest. So, If you like listen music with so high frequencies, probably you will like this component system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2012 I love these speakers !
Review by
Fish from Sacramento CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had one set of these in my truck for about 1-1/2 years. They sounded fantastic. So when I upgraded my subs and mid-bass (two 15's and four 8's), I decided to get another set of the db5251's to keep up.

IMHO, these are the best value for any component sets on the market. I love the soft dome tweets. Never harsh. They are just really loud and clear. What more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2011 Efficient and clear
Review by
Chris from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed the Polk db5251 set to replace front speakers in an old Corvette. Midranges are in the stock location. Tweeters are mounted high on the doors. Despite being driven by only 14 watts RMS per channel, these speakers can put out considerable volume. They are efficient, sound fantastic, and are very clear. The sound is so good (paired with a new Pioneer AVH-3300BT) that I have no need for a separate amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2011 Clean and crisp sound
Review by
tj from Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted marine rated component speakers because they are going into the fairing on my 08 Harley Ultra. I originally replaced stock ones with Hog Tunes front and back. The Polks far surpass the Hog Tunes for clarity and crispness, they also have better bass response. That is why I just ordered the coaxial version of these to put into my rear speaker pods. Thanks again to the people at Sonix for reasonable prices and top notch service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2011 Yes, I like Polk!
Review by
Vince In Houston from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the Polk Audio db5251. I tend to prefer Polk products because they sound great and are durable in the humid Houston heat. I bought them in the early Spring and they are lasting through their first Houston Summer. I've owned other Polk speakers in the past specifically because they last through several Summers before I have to replace them and the price I found them for here is really great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2011 Hear your music all over again
Review by
Michael from Reserve, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you don't have separate tweeters mounted high in your car, you are missing out.

After installing these Polk separates in my 'Rolla, with the tweeters mounted up high so that there is nothing between them and my ears, it's like I'm hearing songs for the first time! Vocals are easier to understand, and it turns out that "soundstage" really can exist in your car! Yeah, it's a bit of a pain to come up with some way to mount the tweeters and the included x-overs, but it's complete worth the effort.

For good lows you'll have to add a sub (as you would with any 5-1/4s), but for everything else these Polk separates can't be beat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 Great value!
Review by
richard from las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesom product for an awesome price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2010 Good value for the price.
Review by
Mario from Colville, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a nice clean sound at an affordable price as I was restoring an 82 GMC single cab pickup. I only had room for 5.25 speakers in the front kicks but the sound of the speakers along with the tweeters is good and I am happy with them. They don't sound as good as my Bose speakers in my Silverado but I didn't pay huge dollars for them. I am happy with the sound and I made the right choice for me. I also have 6x9 polk in the rear and the 4 speakers along with the tweeters have a nice sound that does not distort when I turn up the volume. I also put a pioneer 800 watt amp for power and I would love a 10" subwoofer for more bass but had to draw the line somewhere. Satisfied customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2010 SOUNDS GREAT!!
Review by
jazzy from hollywood, fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 sets of these along with 2 sets of polk audios 3 1/2 in my yukon xl. they sound amazing!! real loud!! i have the components hooked up to a kicker 4 channel and the 3 1/2s hooked up 2 the radio. i also have 4 pioneer champion series 12's and all together its probable the best overall system I've heard. I got the polk audio because it has a lot of power. they run at 100w rms, which is really great for the price. i really recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2009 Great Buy
Review by
Mike from Groveland, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers to replace the factory ones in my Toyota Tundra. They are excellent speakers, clear highs and hard hitting base. Great quality too. I would say buy these if they fit your car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2009 Great price and sound
Review by
KL from Jax, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I decided on these speakers and found Sonic had the best price. I installed them and they sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 21, 2009 Best value for sound quality components !
Review by
Fish from Sacramento CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I knew from the start, that I wanted soft dome tweeters, regardless of which components I chose, as in my past experience, hard domes are just too harsh / edgy for my taste.

I always liked the Polk Audio speakers I had used / heard in the past + with the fact that they had soft dome tweets + with the awesome price at SonicE, I just couldn't pass them up.

I went with the db5251's, as I'm running them in a 4 way setup, along with 8" mid-bass, and 12" subs anyway, so my components don't have to put out any bass whatsoever. Plus the 5 1/4"s fit easily in the stock spots in my doors, with no modifications. I have them crossed over to grab from 250hz and up.

I'm giving them 111 watts RMS per set (as per the birthsheet of my Rockford Fosgate Power 1000 amp (also got a steal of a deal on that at SonicE :-) with no problems so far.
But the bottom line is, they sound freaking fantastic ! Super smooth, and natural. Bright enough, but not harsh or edgy.

I just don't think you will find a nicer sounding set of components for anywhere close to this price range. And you won't find them for cheaper than you will at SonicE.

Buy them from Sonic now ! :-)

Fish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz