Showing 19 reviews for Polk Audio db401

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db401
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 19 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
68%
4 star:
.
.
32%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.3
Design
4.5
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 7, 2014 Great Sound
Review by
paul from cloverdale, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 pair for my new bat wing fairing on our harley added a amp and i can hear them just fine at 70 mph and my pipes are really loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2014 Great Value, Polk Set
Review by
Matt from Valparaiso, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
2013 Chevy Spark 2LT. I dropped in the db401 and the db461 sets. With the stock MyLink dash, they sound great! No bass as they are 4" speakers, however, the mids/highs are very crisp. Build this set up with a db1240dvc sub, a pa660.4 amp, and you've got a rocking Polk Audio collection that makes your music sound amazing! I mostly listen to rock, but all genres sound great. The materials are super-durable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2013 Great value!
Review by
Mike Q from Rockford, IL.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent speakers for someone who needs a good sounding coaxial in a small installation space. Took me quite a bit of customization, but as I have a Toyota Landcruiser, I expected as much. Crisp, accurate highs with very little bass or mid, hey, it's a 5 inch speaker, so dont expect bass, frequency response listed seems accurate, and you really cant go wrong with Polks for under $55.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 Perfect Sound!
Review by
Olgive from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers were a great addition to my van. Fast service at a good price. Good description and fit perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2012 polk db401
Review by
PHILIP from CHURCHS FERRY, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great weather proof speakers used in pvc pods on a motorcycle with a cerwin vega stealth 220 driving them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 Great Product
Review by
Wilone from Staten Island, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Highly recommend these speakers sound awesome! Got them installed in my Jeep Wrangler sound bar! A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2012 good
Review by
sasha from toronto, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these in the front. They are very good at picking up high sounds and very clear. Not good if you want to crank it up with bass though obviously since its a 4 incher. Not bad for 4 inchers certainly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2012 Great Speakers!!
Review by
Blake from NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these to mount as a center channel setup in my 1986 Chevrolet Crew Cab's original 4x10 dash slot. It took some modifications and building a custom plate for them, but they fit better and sound better than a single 4x10, which I tried before ordering these. They work great and I achieved what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2011 Awesome, enough said
Review by
Salvatore from West Nyack, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned many sizes of speakers of this same type of speaker. from Polk. From 3-1/2 to the 6x9s. All of them sound great but all of them were running off of the head unit. A lot of people have said to really appreciate these speakers they need to be hooked up to an amp. In this case they are hooked up to a 4 channel JL Audio amp. I have 110 watts per channel going to 4 of these speakers in a custom molded headliner. They are in an 86 Chevy K-10 Pickup so as you know the cab is not that big where sound has to travel far. Clear is not the word they go beyond that. The highs are amazing and I could tell right away the difference between having them hooked up to an amp and not. The lows are ok, I have two 10" Kicker CVRs so I wasn't to worried about the low bass end. LIke I said I owned many of Polk speakers. I had an 80s full size Blazer and that had two 3-1/2 in the dash, two 5-1/4 in the kicker panel and two 6x9 right behind me in the back. These 4 speakers hooked up to the amp blew them all away, hands down. Whether you have an amp or not they are a great speaker any size that Polk makes. I would recommend these to anyone amp or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2011 Loud and clear
Review by
J from fresno ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very efficient; very very loud, smooth and clear in the vocals range. Treble is not ovepowering but is decent. I can't rate the bass because I have a sub and whatever bass may be coming out is totally washed out obviously.

Bass coming through the speaker does not distort the mids/highs which is a good surprise.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a speaker that will be very good at producing vocals, be it rap/rock/talk radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2010 Good speakers for the money
Review by
TD from Lenoir City, tn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I updated the speakers on my deck boat. They are a good set of speakers for the money. However, I put a set of JL audios on the front of the boat and no comparison. Of course, the JL's were also 3 times the cost and needed more power to produce the sound. If good sound for cheap is the way you are looking I would highly recommend. If you like cranking the volume up then maybe you might go with a higher quality speaker that can handle more power. Overall i would say 4 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2010 great, fast to work with
Review by
samson from enfield, ct
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great, fast to work with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2010 Great Sound
Review by
cometa from chula vista, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I did a lot of research, and found these to be the best deal for the money. great highs and lows. Cannot go wrong, Strongly recommend, by far better than what you can write about them. Will keep on buying these speakers for the rest of my cars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2010 I think I've found it!
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been searching for the 4" speaker with the most amount of bass output possible for the dash on the fairing of my Honda Pacific Cost 800 motorcycle. I'm using a Boss CH150 amp with MP3 player input.

I initially had some Sony's [Sony XS-GF1022X] that were pretty darn good. But I always yearned for a lil bit lower frequency response. They tended to distort a little too early in the volume range when pumping tracks to them with beefy bass output.

After purchasing some phenomenal Kenwood "image enhancer" 6 x 9's [Kenwood KFC-6982ie] for my wife SUV I gave it a shot and bought that same model 4" speaker [Kenwood KFC-1082ie]. The highs were astonishingly more crisper (piercing) and more brilliant than the Sony's.. but seemed to have less bass. :S

After reading the user reviews here by the Harley dudes, and checking out the specs of these speakers and saw the 45W RMS. I figured I'd give these a try.

I wasn't expecting miracles since we're only talking about 4 " speakers. But the low-end output of these was definitely improved over the Sony and the Kenwood models. It still taps-out around the same volume input from my MP3 player (maybe a teensy bit higher)... the difference though is the output is higher, and a noticeable amount more of the low-low's are there. To give you a for instance... these speakers even sounded pretty decent playing [Warren G. - Regulate].

And as an added bonus... they're Marine certified. Which is a good thing for a moto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2010 Great product!
Review by
Brian from Spokane, Wa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great quality product. Have these speakers on my motorcycle. They sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2009 Great Speakers, Great Prices
Review by
Lil Lee from Pensacola, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice speakers, great sound... would recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2009 SOME OF THE BEST SPEAKERS I'VE EVER HEARD
Review by
Chuck from Lawrence Mass.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these speakers in my Harley Road King faring and even my mechanic said they sound better than HD stock speakers. I would recommend these speakers very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2008 Great speakers for 4
Review by
Thomas from Gibbsboro, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these speakers thinking they will be better then my stock obviously but not much better. I was wrong these are superior to my stock '98 Avalon speakers. They sound great, especially for the low price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2008 EXCELLENT CHOICE
Review by
Richard from Creve Coeur, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are excellent replacement speakers for motorcycle fairings. I run with straight pipes with no baffles and have no problems hearing these speakers. The looks are great I have won many 1st place trophy's at bike shows with these speakers in fairing, I have also purchased another pair for my second bike, they also hold up to water excellently, been through rain even had water sprayed directly into them ( Bike Show, Bike Wash, Blond Girl, need I say more?) and they still work great. BEST SPEAKER FOR THE PRICE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz