Showing 30 reviews for Alpine SWX-1043D

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWX-1043D
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 30 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
90%
4 star:
.
.
10%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.9
Design
4.8
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 22, 2011 Great 10" sub hits hard
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Everedee from red wing, mn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub with a kenwood KAC-9105D amp 900w rms at 2 ohms. I've had it for a month now, and just now the sub is starting to break in and is sounding better every day. I was worried about the distortion at first but it seems to be clearing up...I wonder if anyone else has had issues with this. It seems as though it shouldn't waffle or distort being 1000w rms and 3000 peak. But it truly sounds a lot better now than at first maybe it was just break in period. Sonix got all the deals and I won't shop anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2014 Sound good but be careful
Review by
LitlChevy from Chester.WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had these 2 of these subs for a week now. They do have excellent sound quality if put in the correct box. I have them in a dual 10" separately sealed box. With 1.25 cubic feet per. They sound very nice. Problem is i have them running on a Rockford Fosgate T-2500bdcp. I do have the gain turned way down. I had everything professionally installed or so i thought. After two weeks of playing them easy to break in 1 blew at a fairly low level. I didnt have in bumping. Just heard a crack then pop. Boom sub is gone. I am going to replace it with another but turn gain down even farther. All in all i do recommend them but make sure you properly power them. Use SMD products to watch clipping. Be easy on them for awhile and you should be good. I listen to mainly metal music death, black, and industrial metal. They kept up with the double bass drum beautifly. Try them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2013 Amazing subwoofer
Review by
Big Al from New Bedford mass.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely recommend this sub to anyone looking for loud clean bass but just make sure you use the recommended enclosure and let me tell you this little sub is evil ! I am running a Pair in my trailblazer ss
Powered by alpine Pdx-m12 amp .box is vented 1.2 cu.ft L ported
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2013 Best speaker i have owned
Review by
Joe from Dallas Tx,,
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend loud as hell and i only have one 10" in a probox. Only bad thing is that it smells funny for the first couple of months when u push it, but after that either you don't notice or u get use to the smell better than kicker punch and JL audio i have owned them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2013 No complaints, slams hard for a 10
Review by
Goulet from Enfield CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not tooo big of a fan of alpine but they never let me down. I have had type s's and i had both the newer type r's as well as the first generation type x 12. Bought this off my friend and put it in a 1.75cu box ported and it sucks up some low notes to my surprise. But still mostly just hits very hard and punchy. I have it on a mbquart onyx 1500.1 at 2 ohms giving it 1000 watts rms. Onl thing is my RE audio sx 10 puts this sub to shame on spl notes. But overall the type x is better built imo. No cone distortion and it overall has better sound quality to ppl who want to listen to every type of music other than rap. It definitely sounds better than the new 2012 type r. If you have the room to fit a single 15 inch sub go with the new alpine type s 15 in a ported box. I have one in my other vehicle on a alpine pdx1000 and it hits very hard and its a very affordable sub. And btw, this ten hits harder than the 2 cvr kickers i had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2012 Upgrade from Walmart Brand
Review by
Christopher from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Upgraded From 2 12' Dual Subwoofers in a bandpass box with Dual 300W RMS Amp, to 1 Of these in a 1.3^ft Ported Box bought here on sonic Powered by a Alpine MRX-M100, 1000W RMS Amp. This Subwoofer is Considerably louder then my Old Setup, Takes up 1/2 of the trunk space of my old setup, and the sound quality of the Old setup isn't even comparable. Amazing Product for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2012 Sweet
Review by
Ralphy from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this thing is crazy awesome for people looking for SPL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2011 Type X 10
Review by
Cliffton from Ansbach, Germany
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub, and it is amazing!!!! I am currently under powering this sub with a US Amps Merlin MD1 1200. It only gives me 600 rms @ 2 ohms, but i have to say that it still bangs!!!! Currently changing my stereo and am leaning toward the Hifonics hfi 1500d. This should push the sub nicely. I ordered a new larger box from Sonic and waiting on it to arrive. Ordered my Hifonics hfi 55.4 today and the big boy will be will be ordered soon. Still trying to decide on the highs and mids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2011 5 Star Review
Review by
Kyle from Rochester, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been running this sub for about 6 months and I couldn't be happier with it! People always assume I am running two 12's or something and are amazed when I pop the trunk and they see one lone 10 inch sub! Plenty of punch and hits the lows very nicely! I absolutely love Alpine products and would recommend them to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2011 Great
Review by
dustin from Morgan City, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is very top of the line. Glad to have it. Sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2011 alpine swx-1043d
Review by
reece from willow grove, pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub it precision audio at its best. I know theres better out there but when you on a budget this sub surpasses them all and is deff my prefered choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2011 best 10s I've ever heard
Review by
Tone from mississippi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought one of these six months ago. I have it on one 1100 watt m-class Memphis amp in my Mustang. It's louder than most cars with two 12s. I'm really satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2011 great
Review by
Justin from Rockford, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great sub. This subs makes the most noise for how big it is you should get it but i did buy the 12" after i bought the 10"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 20, 2011 Audiophiles look here!
Review by
Michael from Littleton, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Seriously though, if you bought a different sub then you bought the wrong sub. This is by far the best sub on the market today for a 10". I only have a Rockford Fosgate t500.1bdcp and running it at full for hours everyday. People ask me if I have two 12"s. Haha yeah it's only "a" ten. At half power. From one audiophile to any other buy this first and you won't regret it. I only wish I knew more about audio systems when I was first buying 3 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2011 great sub
Review by
scott from tampa florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a Rockford Fosgate T1500.1bd hooked up to my Alpine Type X 10 and it is wired to 2 ohms around 1200 watts and play at 3/4 volume for 30-40 min a day and the Alpine type x takes it with no problem and no voice coil heat up odors at all I will eventually get a second type x for the 1 ohm side of my t1500.1 I would recommend this sub if you like it loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2010 Great Building Quality
Review by
Rudolf from Curitiba, PR, Brazil
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very resistant product built with good quality parts, good for people who want a subwoofer with great sound quality, I recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2010 high quality sub for good price
Review by
carl from omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
AMP: RF T1500-1db (1800 rms)
1F CAP

These are loud! Got a pair ported downfiring in ext ranger..very clean bass and can certainly take a beating..very well made..really dont think you can go wrong ported or sealed..just a great quality sub..no joke..must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2010 THE BEST!!!!!!!
Review by
Nathan from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is absolutely the way to go if you want MONSTER power!! As long as you have a big enough amp hooked up to it though..I had a 12" in my jeep but recently got a truck and got the 10" for it. I haven't had a problem with either of them, extremely durable!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2010 AMAZING SUB
Review by
Sunoo from Laguna Niguel. CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
have one of these powered by a Hifonics HFi1000D at 1000rms in my 09 nissan 370z. all i can say is, oh my god. the sub pounds directly from my trunk right behind my seat and it pounds the crap out of my car. the highs are clean and tight and the lows carry surprisingly well. this sub has definitely combined the all around playability of JL and those great lows we usually see from rockford p3's and such. and of course, the best part was the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2010 great woofer
Review by
ricky k. from omrovegas, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I HIGHLY reccomend this woofer to anybody.. it is simply amazing. It hits so hard and sounds sooo good. Best woofer I've ever owned yet.. this is my 17th system.. i am working on getting another 10 type x to complete it and i will never get another one.. honestly if your looking for a one sub combo.. even 2 or three.. this is the one. i cant even describe how it feels to have this beast in my ranger XLT getting pushed by a Rockford fosgate 1000-1bd amp..amazing sound..amazing woofer.. i was skeptical at first.. but after the first time i hooked her up.. i was amazed.. you cant go wrong. great price. great sound...great bass.. for 210 bucks... you get better quality that any other sub priced up to 300-maybe even-350! no doubt../////Alpine has my heart.. my ears... my WALLET (lol)... and got my f'n truck on BLAM! this is the ultimate woofer.. get it... you wont regret it.. and you will be pleased! just gotta spend good$ on a good amp to power her.. and get good mids and highs.. but this sub is the complete sub.. idc about JL... alpine rocks my world.. TYPEX FTW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2010 1 TYPE-X vs 2 CVX
Review by
Konstantin from dallas,tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have just pulled out 2 kicker CVX 10's out of my car to get ONE of these.... and as skeptical I was about losing even a single measure of wattage, I didn't.... I have 1 of these 10s in a sealed PROBOX pushed by a kicker zx1000.1 at half way gain on amp, and my scion TC rattles from front to back like some 15 is inside. AMAZING SUB and best of all VERY affordable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2010 A Truly Amazing Subwoofer!
Review by
Simon T from Edmonton,Alberta, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the sub you have been searching for! I tried the JL audio 10W3 and even the Orion HCCA 10". The Alpine Type X combines the musicality of the JL with the hard hitting aggression of the Orion. Absolutely superb sound and power handling, and when you factor in the price, an outstanding value. Alpine has long been my first choice for head units and now they are my first choice for subs too! Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2010 Alpine SWX-1043D
Review by
danyBWR from Timisoara, Romania
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in a custom ported enclosure hooked up with a JBL GTO 14001. For a 10" subwoofer it hits hard! I didn't expect that much. Plus it's a good deal, for this price you get 1000RMS of pure clear bass. The only cons I have is the depth of the sub if you have limited space, the magnet is big, otherwise I highly recommend this subwoofer, you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2010 amazing sound quality for the money
Review by
GANESH from QUEENS, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
wow for a 10 in sub you cant go wrong. i have just 1 in a ported box tuned to 32 htz, custom made with 1.5 in mdf all around running on a hifonic bxi2010 with about less than 3/4 gain. perfect combination the sub is getting about 900 watts rms it could handle alot more but i cant handle the madness of the bass that why it is set there. nice clean bass with no distortion and the low notes i just can't describe just amazing beating the crap out of my 07 nissan quest. sonicelectroix is the store to beat great prices on everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2010 omg
Review by
Allan from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in a JL HO box and my only word is "wow" I have it hooked up to a Alpine MRP500 and it shakes the heck out of my 08 lancer. I turn up to max volume and this thing doesn't put out the slightest distortion!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2009 Great speaker
Review by
Lewis from Midway, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these on a power acoustik 3000 class d and it beats hard nobody could believe it was only 2 tens I would definitely recommend these to anybody who wants a clear deep bass this is the speaker for you. I love em I'm now thinking about runnin 2 more with another power acoustik 3000 class d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2009 AMAZING!!! this 10'' is INSANE!!
Review by
Blackdog from Powell, Wyoming
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is crazy!!! i have 2 in the Sonic Sub Box: 2SV10 and they freaking BUMP! i have an SSL CR4000.1 amp driving these two bad boys and it works perfect! I have the loudest system in my whole school. I'm out bumping 12'' subs left and right including Alpine type Rs! Amazing subs! Not only can they beat the hell outta your car and the car next to you. But the sound quality is superb for even jazz. Alpine never fails to surprise. These are probably some of the best subs for your money. I strongly recommend them to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2009 insane sub
Review by
michael from apopka, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got one in a 1 foot box and it slams. i just ordered another one, and i'm going with a bigger box so they are going to kill my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2007 Great sub and small space
Review by
Michael from Cedar Creek, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had one of these in a 1989 Subaru GL wagon with a band pass box with 1500 watts to it and it beat my car up. Had to buy a new car cause a lot of stuff broke from the bass. Great little sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 5, 2007 great sub
Review by
david from tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub rocks i got 2 tens in a 96 mustang gt and its almost louder then my friends 2 12's kicks some ass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz