Showing 23 reviews for Polk Audio db461P

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db461P
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 23 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
74%
4 star:
.
.
17%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
9%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.5
Features
4.4
Design
4.8
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 23, 2014 Sound Great
Review by
Francis from Evansville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these in the dash of my buddy's truck, along with matching 6 1/2s in the doors. I put 100 Hz bass blockers on the dash speakers. He was jamming out with a big grin on his face while I was putting my tools away. As always, Sonic Electronix had the best prices on everything along with super fast shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2014 these db's just scream
Review by
ryno from maylene Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound clear.. these highs are unmatched best speaker out there.. polk db series. Period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2014 Nice speakers
Review by
Rob from Manchester
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far I am pleased with these speakers. I installed them in the rear doors of my 04 Silverado. I am waiting to get my Rockford 200p to power them. I will use the high pass on the cross over. cant wait to crank em up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2013 great deal
Review by
Jared from Taylor, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
purchased these polks for my front doors and they sound clear and loud. I am amping them with a ppi amp and I am pleased with the sound. I highly recommend these speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2012 Great speaker
Review by
Al from columbia ,missouri
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This speaker is awesome. Easy install, hit them with a ton of power, crank very loud, sound great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2012 Polk audio db461p
Review by
Will from Nacogdoches, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are looking for a 4x6, this is the one. Great sound loud and clear. They have good bass too for a 4x6. Not gonna beat the block down or anything. Great speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2012 Great speaker
Review by
Joe from Fort lauderdale fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I think one of the best sounding speaker for the size and price I would recommend them to anyone looking for a speaker in that size..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2012 great speaker
Review by
darren from Saint Augustine, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Handles power well, clean sound, really loud for 4x6. Great speaker for factory 4x6 design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2012 Great accent speakers!!!!
Review by
Kurt E from Woods Cross, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As long as these are not your main speakers you will be fine. If they are your main speakers, I would suggest that you amp them as most stock head units don't have the power to really drive them. I have an old pioneer head unit powering them in the front of my wrangler. The rear speakers have a 100 watt power amp driving some old JBL gt 6x9's. I bought the polks to give me better highs and more clarity for the midrange ---- and they really complement the 6x9's in the back!!! My system sounds A LOT better now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2012 Great
Review by
Paul from Edison, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Perfect sound on my Jeep Wrangler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2011 Polk db461P
Review by
Arizona. Man from Chandler, Arizona
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put them in a 75 stingray and when I took the old ones out, I was surprised to see the old ones were Polk. These db461p's are amazing. I have an Alpine and JL subwoofer. The clarity of the highs are like none I have had before. I brought them up to max with the allman bros. And the neighbors down the street thought I was having a party. No distortion. They couldn't believe it was my car. Only drawback but minor is hardly any bass but my sub made up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2011 fitted perfect in a tight space
Review by
riverracer from adelaide, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these to fit a '72 corvette, as a direct bolt in replacement for the dash and kick panel positions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2011 Polk db461P
Review by
Leon from Shiprock, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound super cleaner and clean with not distortion. Polk is one of the best speakers i have ever owned, HANDS DOWN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2011 Polk audio 4x6 thank you bunches
Review by
Chris from Dallas Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product I purchased is awesome still six months later, couldn't expect any better of a product especially for the price since other company's are out trying to rip people off!!! Thank You guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2011 Good deal for some high quality 4x6 speakers
Review by
Paul from Bagley, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros:

- They sound nice for the price. I have them crossed over at 150hz, so not a ton of bass gets to them. 150hz below is where my 8" sub takes over.

- They look great.

- They are the exact same size as an actual 4x6 speaker, so no air leaks occur.

Cons:

- Bass could be more prominent, especially considering the separate woofer and tweeter. Oh well, you get what you pay for, I guess.

- For all you SQ audiophiles out there, these are not the speakers for you. The crossover components are not the best, and the woofer and the tweeter are not spaced properly.

Overall, these speakers work just fine for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2010 Follow-up
Review by
Alan from Lake Stevens, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I removed the original equipment NP 3.3uF caps and replaced them with audio grade 3.3uF caps from an online distributor. The sound is now noticeably warmer and more real. Pity that Polk is cutting corners on essential components. Since I paid the same price for this item as for the much superior MB Quart component system, I have to rate the value very low. Naturally, Ease of Use goes low because I had to modify the unit (and thus void the warranty) to get them to sound decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2010 Can't say they didn't warn me
Review by
alachabre from Lake Stevens, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I read lots of opinions that 4x6 speakers are not worth the money. Still, I had to get something to replace the cracked and broken Infinity Reference in my dash. I should have listened and chosen a different path: The sound of the Polk db461p is strained and artificial, and part of the reason I'm sure lies within the crossover.
The ads claim a two-way crossover, which is technically correct, but the crossover is actually just a 3.3uF NP electrolytic cap in series with the tweeter. It is possible the design is taking into consideration the series inductance of the mid-bass, but that's impossible to tell without measurement, because Polk's technical data on this speaker is not available on their site. The fit required some sanding and filing of the dash grille work, but that's not a problem. It's the sound; it's just not very good - it's not accurate. I'm going to experiment with putting in a proper crossover and hope that helps, and perhaps turn it into a mid-tweeter with the addition of a 6.5" 4 ohm woofer on each channel crossed over low.
The only good thing I can say is that it's claimed to be a very good weather resistant speaker, which is going to be important on the rare days when the Northwest sun beats down on the dashboard. Can't say if that's going to be a plus until several years go by. Meanwhile, the dash (front) speakers are good for news and sports, and the music is going to be played on the rear component set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2010 Awesome buy!
Review by
Mowman from Arden. NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product was exactly as represented. I have enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2009 great speakers
Review by
Gray bush from Kokomo, Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are great ! installed them in dash of 02 s10 and put the db651s in the front doors all powered by the jensen 760 amp. great sound very loud and decent bass response. no bass blockers needed just used filter built into amp and they jam.a 8 or 10 inch sub would make this system even better , but maybe later. on dash speakers you have to knock off a little nipple where the speaker goes so it will sit flat and on the grill you have to hack of the long tabs where the screws go through and thats it. on door speakers they fit perfect, with no adapter necessary cause most 6 1/2 speakers are over sized anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2009 Good
Review by
Raxo from Sõmeru, Lääne-Virumaa, Estonia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good looking speakers that were easy to install in the dash. They sound nice although bass blockers should be added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2009 Excellent performance and value
Review by
Scott from Prospect, Kentucky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these to replace factory front speakers in '95 Jeep Wrangler. Access to installation location was incredibly difficult (Jeep issue) but once there the speakers went in fine. Even with significant highway and wind noise (especially with top off), the sound of these speakers comes through clean and crisp. Also installed compact subwoofer to relieve these speakers of lower range duty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2009 LOUD
Review by
Daniel from Shiloh, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 12'' subs in my regular cab truck and i cant even hear them any more beacause these 2 little speakers are so loud!! Great Stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2009 Decent speakers
Review by
Sergio from Laredo, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are good speakers for the price.
If you can´t afford expensive ones, try these for a decent sound system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz