Showing 26 reviews for Polk Audio db1001

Customer Review Summary for Polk Audio db1001
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 26 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
81%
4 star:
.
.
15%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 30, 2011 These sound BEAUTIFUL!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I installed some Power Acoustik NB-1's I got as a freebie with an order I placed with Sonic into the dash of my wife's Nissan XTERRA. I felt awful for doing that afterwards because those were THEE WORST sounding P.O.S's EVER!!

Feeling bad about what I'd done to her setup I wanted to make it right. I was impressed with the db401's I put inot my MoTo so I decided to buy these to fix her problem.

Fix them it DID!! Wow... now I'm seriously considering going thru the hassle of buying a set of these for my car and mounting them to the A-pillars. And I'm not a "tweeter guy" at all. But in the system I put into her car... it just... it just Wow'd me how these turned the system from being something ya just couldn't turn up at all because it harshed your ears out... into this super-wow ultra-crisp "I'm-sitting-right-in-the-middle-of-the-music" experience!

Oh SO Happy with these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2013 They are NOT garbage - only if you do a GARBAGE INSTALL!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
pcguy from IL, USA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These tweeters are not garbage as someone claimed they were! They are one of the best sounding 1" tweeters I have heard for under $100 IF you DON'T do a GARBAGE INSTALLATION. I have these running off a MB Quart 4.60 so they are getting full power. I set my gains with a scope and therefore they sound fantastic at any volume. Ask any pro installer, clipping destroys tweeters FAST! So does garbage installations. Its funny how people blame products for their poor installations all the time lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 14, 2014 Great for the price
Review by
Brucebanner77 from Palestine, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great! They come with a cross over. Great sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2014 awesome sound
Review by
1nicehd from walton hills ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i ride a bagger and already have an amp and speakers in addition to the factory system. i have tried several different tweeters to add to what i thought was a good system. i have always had a problem at 70 mph, the exhaust would drown it out. after i added the db1001 tweeters not only was the sound clear, at 70 i have to turn them down. nice quality piece.
the price from sonic was far less then everyone else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2014 Nice!
Review by
Corey from Hutto, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product!! Worth the money. Very clear! Looks great. No cons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2014 tweeters
Review by
cali hero from new Orleans Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are great tweets sound better than the Kenwood. Tweetsan staff is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2013 Great sound and value
Review by
Buster from Kankakee, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers put out clear highs with no distortion and they look great on my dash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2013 Good Quality For Price
Review by
Johnny from Coldwater, Mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have these mounted in the columns of a 2010 Ford Taurus. 4 DB571's in the doors powered by an Alpine amp and an Infinity BassLink round out the sound system. The 1001's are a great choice and bring out the guitars and cymbals nicely. When you're looking at tweeters in this price range, the polk's do a nice job. Minimal wash out in the highs. Not much brassy or tinny over-tones either.

I'm very pleased with this purchase. Not all of us can afford a component system and polk makes quality products for the mainstream who want better sound without breaking the bank. As with all replacement speakers, power it with a decent amp. It makes all the difference in the world in sound quality.

Pros: Quality to Price Ratio Very Good
Cons: Highs wash out slightly at higher volumes but what do you expect at this price? A great value for improved sound however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2013 Crisp Highs
Review by
Clarence from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These tweeters are a nice way to add some clarity to your system. They are great for a wide range of music genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2012 Polk audio. db1001
Review by
Sean from Tolleson, Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great tweeters for the price. I've been using these tweeters for 2 years and they've been really nice sounding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 8, 2012 Great Buy
Review by
Playboy from Jxn,Ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Speakers sound awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2011 Nice tweeters
Review by
Rick K from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been using these Polk Audio tweeters through several generations of their component speakers for the last 15 years. They offer crisp detailed highs and work well in stock and amplified applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2011 Takes the Heat
Review by
Daedhart from Peoria, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These tweeters are great, taking a full RMS wattage load for extended periods of time with no loss of quality or damage. These are, by far, the best tweeters in the price range, hands down. These replaced a set of Image Dynamics tweeters that couldnt take the recommended wattage (and whose warranty was worthless after the company imploded), and the quality is even better.

The only complaint was that they seem to be slightly bigger than a standard tweeter, so I had to do some minor Dremel work on my mounts, but it wasnt that big of a deal.

I didnt use the included crossovers either, so I cant comment on them. By the design, I wouldnt recommend putting them somewhere with moisture buildup, like in the door. But, thats common for tweeter crossovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2011 Best tweeter i had so far!
Review by
Rafael from Dubai, 0, United Arab Emirates
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing sound quallity. I had DLS, Alpine and Harman Kardon tweeters but none can match the sound quality that Polk Audio brings. My buddy who is a professional car audio technician was surprised when he heard the music that came out from these baby's. I highly recommend them. It is loud considering it is 60watts RMS but it is not harsh on the ears. Replace your old tweeter with this and you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2011 they are a great pair of tweeter sound crisp and clear in my jeep i love them
Review by
rasta from wyandanch ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great product i love them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 30, 2011 great product
Review by
kingaudiojd from Howell mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very clean and clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2011 Super Upgrade
Review by
rharv from Colorado Rocky Mountains
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These will make your factory stereo sound like an expensive aftermarket. I just spliced these into the front speaker leads and used double-sided tape to stick them to the upper corners of the windshield where the sound disperses nicely and they're out of the way. My Jeep Cherokee sounds like a concert hall now. It's the best $60 I've spent on my vehicle. Thanks Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2011 A go!!!!
Review by
PoloBrett from Savannah Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sound great in the ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2010 great value!
Review by
mark from galesburg,illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recomend these tweeters to just about anyone, I was looking for some tweeters for my 2006 Harley Street glide and these work perfect, I wired them in to my stock speakers with the base blockers and they sound awesome everybody is so impressed by the way they sound,and I put them to the test one night in a down pour of rain and hail they are truly marine grade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2010 no harshness
Review by
Mike from ormond beach,fla
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice sounding for the price pretty picky about tweeters these fill the void very well! Sonic folks are awesome and the prices are too! THANK YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2010 Loud and Clear
Review by
John Doe from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These tweeters are very nice and fill out the highs in my truck quite nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2010 Awsome !!!!!
Review by
Alabama from Las Vegas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to install. Great sound quality. Excellent service. I would recommend this product to my friends!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2009 Polk Audio db1001
Review by
Kiley from Athens, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product!! I had two already in the dash and ordered two more for the back doors cuz they sound so good. All pros no cons. Great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2008 Best tweeters around.
Review by
John from Spring, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tthe highs are nice and mellow, very easy to listen to at all volumes. A+ Polk. I also purchased a set for my Alpine components.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2008 great tweeter
Review by
Kerry from Ruston, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are full word tweeters, not the 'tick tick tick' ones. I have these powered by an Alpine amp. Great tweeter at a better value. Good mid-level tweeter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2013 dont do it
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
lil larry from jackson ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound good but can not play them up loud i would not by these anymore they garbage i replaced mine with so that cost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz