Showing 19 reviews for Alpine SWS-1043D

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWS-1043D
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 19 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
58%
4 star:
.
.
21%
3 star:
.
.
11%
2 star:
.
.
11%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.5
Features
4.3
Design
4.6
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 12, 2011 Hmmm, think again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
LickyLickyRightHere from Albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This driver has a defined rattle to it. I've had it in a sealed and a ported box both matched to it in specs. It is underpowered at the moment and I have given up on locating the source of the rattle. Now it's time for another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2012 Impressive!
Review by
Kenny from St. Maries, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the first Alpine sub I've installed. More often than not I try to go with JL but this system was built on a budget.

The quality of the subwoofer is what I found most impressive. You can tell Alpine took the time to craft this jewel. Doesn't seem cheap at all and produces decent bass for the price. It won't rattle your eyeballs loose but will certainly add some depth to any system without overpowering even stock components. Overall for the price, it's a damn good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2012 Incredible Value, awesome sound
Review by
mseagle from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub hits so incredibly well. It is better than most subs with even a few hundred more watts on it. I've heard it at full power and chose to lower it to half for my tiny hatchback! It still rolls down my manual windows and tilts my mirrors. The sound is clear and hits properly at any tested audio range. Highly recommend this product!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2012 Bad sound quality
Review by
Dennis from Edison, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you're looking for sound quality, you'll have to look elsewhere, this isn't your subwoofer for SQ. It gets loud and boomy, and anyone reviewing this product with 5/5 on everything only cares about volume, but not sound quality. People might write "it shakes my car man" or "it slams so hard" which it does do well. It does get loud indeed if that's what you're looking for in a cheap/value/budget subwoofer. The subwoofer does look nice though, and the material is tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2012 wow.
Review by
Paul from Tewksbury, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got these subs in a sound ordnance ported box and WOW do they freaking slam. I have them on an Alpine mrp-m650 giving them 600 watts and they couldn't be happier. These are so loud, clear, and punchy. I love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2011 3 subwoofers!!!
Review by
Micheal from Lathrop, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I absolutely love these things. I bought them because they were pretty cheap and well these things KNOCK!!! I have a HiFi1200.1 to these and well lets just say they use all 1200 watts. My neighbors hate me i make their pictures move when i turn it up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2011 1st subwoofer ever Bought . Loudd
Review by
Alpinne is a Beassst from El Cajon ,California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a Jc power 1000 watts and it bumpps greaaat! Got a vented box with it. Best 10" subwoofer I have ever heard. I could hear more bass than the speakers. I got two of these subwoofers. It thumps so hard that it makes my back rear window shake a little though, and makes my mirror go crazzzzy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 Great Value!
Review by
Gonzo from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great value. Great customer service. Quick shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 27, 2011 last about 4 months
Review by
Kenneth from HANSCOM AFB, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of them and had them boomin for about 4 months. Then one just stopped working. Customer support is wonderful they gave me credit and got it replaced. Then the other went up in smokes one month after being paired with the replacement. Sent it back then the next day the replacement stopped working. Didnt change any settings on the amp. Will not be purchasing these subs anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 17, 2011 GREAT VALUE
Review by
IRWIN from HOBESOUND FLA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent subwoofers for the price and very durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2011 not bad not good
Review by
TQ from T-Town
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in a 1.3 cube sealed box with a Alpine M-500 pushing it and with the amp turned half way up, bass boost all the way down this sub CLIPS like crazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2011 Great sound at a great price
Review by
Eric from Sault Ste Marie Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I was unsure of whether the Alpine PDX5 amplifier would power two 1043D's enough to produce decent bass in my sedan. I was pleasantly surprised by the volume and by the frequencies that this combination could achieve. I prefer clear and balanced music in my vehicle over making myself deaf and these subs achieved my goal. Combined with the Imprint processor, Alpine has caused me to want to listen to all my favorite songs over again because I have never heard them sound this great. This sub is great for mid-level price consumers who aren't looking to win any stereo competitions but appreciate cranking music on a trip or at the beach. Loud enough to irritate the neighbors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2011 Great sound! Shallow mount perfect for a pickup truck!
Review by
Chuck from Lexington, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put 1-10" under the rear seat of my 2010 Silverado Along with all Polk 6.5's in the doors and a 5 channel Eclipse amp. Sounds great with RMS power. Clean and can go fairly deep for just a single 10". The shallow mounting depth made it easy to find a box for under seat application. Great over all value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2011 alpine
Review by
jordan from Potosi, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Loved it! Sounds great hits good and the price is cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2011 Great tight sounding sub!
Review by
Chad from Anchorage, AK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have put this sub in two different boxes. One was designed for under the seat and immediately I was underwhelmed at the response of the sub. Having said that the box was only around .45 cubic feet. The second box I designed was around .90 cubic feet and the sub came alive! It's a wonderful sub for snappy quick responses but it does lag a bit on the deep stuff. Perhaps pushing the volume out to 1.2 cubes would be a bit better for the lower frequencies. So, it's a great value and great sound but for a shallow mount sub, it requires a pretty big box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2011 Bumpin' Subwoofer
Review by
Nick from Lafayette, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are looking for a quality shallow mount sub with great power ratings and sound, this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2011 Top of the line
Review by
ben from shawnee kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subwoofers hit many frequencies low and high very quickly. I would buy these again if myn were stolen. I have two of these running off of a 1600w 2-channel SSL amp and they can handle 1800w max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2010 Great Sub
Review by
Laukc7085 from Milton WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs hit like a set of JL Audio W3s which are about 3 times more. Very shallow mount depth which is good for behind the seats in a truck (like mine) I custom built 2 sealed boxes for them at about .65 cubic feet each and they hit great. Loud and clear. I am pushing 260W RMS to them and they can handle much more. Love them and would recommend them to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2009 2 Alpine S 10" subs in a 99 Chevy S10 with a Profile 1000W Amp
Review by
Trent from Daytona, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend. The cab shakes like a club floor on springs when the beast is let loose. I keep the bass boost to 0 or 1 and the sub volume varies per song but they sound great. I got them in a sealed box. You can hear them down the block when my car is parked and blasting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz