Showing 26 reviews for Rockford Fosgate Punch P400-4

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate Punch P400-4
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 26 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
77%
4 star:
.
.
23%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.7
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 9, 2011 Rockford wins!!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mod from CR,WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had Rockford amps in almost all of my vehicles since the late 80's and they have never let me down as far as sound quality and adjustability of levels. This new Punch 400x4 channel amp fills the bill quite well for those looking for a bit more power for under $300. Slim chassis design does not take up any space at all, it fit perfectly under my passenger seat with room to spare. It is running four door speakers on two channels and one 10" sub on the other two, and it hasn't even got warm at the highest levels.

Thank you Sonic for the excellent customer service and instant shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2013 plenty of power to spare
Review by
Devin from Nashville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have this installed in a 92 chevy camaro running infinity 4x6 plates in the front and kenwood 5-way 6x9s in the rear. it is plenty of power and it keeps them clean, just took a little while to get it tuned the way i like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2012 Best Brand Ever!!!
Review by
Justin from Mangilao, Guam
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive recently installed this amplifier to power a set of Infinity Reference Series 5 1/4 components as well as Infinity Reference 6 x 9 2 way speakers and I am very satisfied with my purchase. This amplifier delivers clear, crisp, quality sound that i havent heard in a long time. Even after powering my speakers to the point where my ears have a slight ringing sound, theres still power to spare. I would recommend this brand of amps to any audio enthusiast. The look and design may not be as visually appealing as other amps on the market but then again its not the looks that give your speakers sound. The plastic cover gives it a feeling of being cheaply made. It has all the features an amp needs. And its really easy to use. Overall great product!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2012 Excellent
Review by
T-Mac from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp has been an excellent addition to my system. It puts out a ton of clean power. It puts out much more power than what it is initially rated at. I believe in Fosgate Amps! The only gripe I would mention, albeit a small one, is the fact that the gain and crossover settings are very tiny, plastic, and recessed into the amp. This makes it a bit of a pain to adjust settings but you get used to it after while. I have had no mechanical or sound issues with it. Overall, love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2012 Power to spare SQ to be desired
Review by
808Mag from Kona, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is a beast makes my Polk DB Tweeters scream! My Boston 5x7's and Pioneer 6x8's hit like subwoofers in my Mazda 3. I have the gains set at less than half.

It's also built like a tank and is plenty loud. I had to do some tuning with the Crossovers and Punch EQ to get it to sound more natural. The power this thing has makes it very easy to pickup distortion as well as electrical noise. I had to re-route my RCA's to elimate the noise that this thing picked up. I had a Kenwood 4ch amp before this one and it didnt pickup any noise with the wiring in the same place.

In conclusion I think this unit is a very good choice to go LOUD with decent Sound quality and compact size but there are other units that will sound as loud with bett SQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2012 Excellent Amplifier
Review by
Tony from Thornhill, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have always used Rockford Fosgate it has never let me down, this amplifier sounds great as all the other Rockford Fosgate amplifier's that I have owned in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2011 Good but slightly inconvenient at first...
Review by
John from Silsbee, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp will push plenty of power to your speakers but I wouldn't use the punch series speakers with this amp because the mids drown everything out and distort a little sometimes. I had my hp set to 125 for front and 110 for my rear speakers, everything sounds really clear and edgy but not as full and smooth as I like, I just don't think the crossover gives you a convenient way to tune everything so I use pioneer speakers for extra bass and a smoother range of frequencies. If I was to replace this amp, I'd probably buy a kenwood, but I'd look into speaker replacements first, there's nothing wrong with this amp. Note I paid around $350 for this amp in an audio shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2011 Great as always
Review by
Buddy Lee from Lawton, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been running Fosgate amps since I first got into stereos in the early 1990s. I have owned about fourteen Fosgate amps and only had problems with two of them, one was my fault for overheating it because I had my sub box sitting on the amp and the other blew for unknown reasons but both were under warranty and replaced for only the cost of shipping to Fosgate. I have this 400.4 pushing four 6.5" Kicker marine co-axials in my pontoon boat. Prior to this amp, I had them running off of an old Punch 40 (20 year old amp still working) and they sounded very good, but the 400.4 really brought them to life with increased midbass and much brighter highs. I believe the birth sheet said it runs about 75 watts per channel at 4 ohm. I also have on older model of this amp which is much larger that has been running almost 10 years strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2011 Great
Review by
scott from parma, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp very powerful I have it powering the infinity kappa component 6.5 and jvc 6x9s and they sound great with it turned only half way up and there more then loud enough with a Very clean crisp singnal being sent out I would definetly recommend this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2010 Great amp
Review by
Colton from Vancleave, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was suppose to be 50 x 4. When I got it the birth sheet read 76x4 so I'm not complaining. This is such a great amp and underrated. Well worth the value. Pushes my Rockford punch 6x9s and 6 1/2 jbl component set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2010 Rockford Fosgate P400-4
Review by
NSX FANATIC from DETROIT, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted a quality amp that had the features I needed in a small package, ie, bass, treble, multi-channel.. I've always wanted a Rockford amp so I decided to go with this model. So far so good, It's living up to all my expectations..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2010 Rockford Fosgate Punch P400-4
Review by
Tom from Derby Ct.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Amp, awesome power, can't beat the price for what you get, I have two older 2 channel Fosgate amps and this amp kick's butt just like the others do!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 5, 2010 Worth The $
Review by
Arturo from Sierra Vista, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
first off Fosgate amps in my experience have always worked great and last forever. There usually a little more expensive than others who claim to have the same rms but there always worth it. This amp works great for subs or speakers. the only thing they could have done to make this amp better is make it look a little cooler but performance wise absolutely flawless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2010 HITS HARD
Review by
Willy from Alexandria, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i had this amp with a 1 gauge wire hooked up to 1 12" Rockford T1 bridged two of the channels to it. and the other two channels i had 2 10" P1's and the setup would make my jeeps hard top go in and out over an inch. great amp!!! sounded amazing also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2010 Excellent
Review by
mike from baton rouge
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
fast shipping, great communicator, authentic product, and most important.. trustworthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2010 Good amp
Review by
Andrew from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great, clean sounding amp. Purchased in December of 2009 to drive mid-range and highs. After owning older Punch amps from the 90's, I anticipated the high and low Punch EQ controls to be separate adjustments. But on this amp there is only one adjustment, for both bass and treble. Using a high-pass crossover setting around 100 Hz, the mid-bass gets over-driven too much by the Punch bass boost, while trying to boost the treble. It sounds to me as though the Punch bass EQ does not get defeated by the high-pass crossover. I would prefer separate controls for the bass and treble boosting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2010 Works
Review by
Wildrat from Clearwater Mountains, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These units were installed on two Harley Baggers along with Polk Audio 6X9 on the bag lids and 5 1/4 speakers in the OEM mounting spots. The system sounds great and has plenty of power for the bikes. Would buy all these products again and would buy from Sonic again and have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2010 Great Buy
Review by
KB from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good combo for the infinity kappa series speakers (2ohms) crisp and clean, not to mention very loud. Got a T2 set up to a t1000 and this set up to the kappa 6.5 inch components and 6x9 amazing sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2010 good
Review by
patrick from OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
needs better control over frequency is the cons
pros would be it actually puts out 76watts rms x4 at 4 ohm, 126watts rms x4 at 2 ohm, 256watts rms x2 at 4 ohm bridged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2009 Pretty good
Review by
Stereoman from Acton, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A little more power from this would be nice. But super clear and beautiful looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2009 great amp
Review by
B DOGG from Dayton, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp running two pairs of Diamond 4.5 comp. And four 6.5in mid bass woofers up front. This is amp very clean in the sound department an has strong power out put. would like to have a little more control over the mid bass in the hi pass setting with the Punch EQ, but i can live with that. I am going to get the P200-2 so i can run two 6.5in mid bass woofers and a pair of Pioneer 6x9 4ways rear fill. Bottom line i have been a pro installer for 17yrs. I like this amp great for mid bass/midrang hi's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2009 Excellent Quality, 90% there on features
Review by
Matt from Portsmouth, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have both a Punch P400-4 and a P200-2 in my car, and they deliver an amazingly good quality sound. They are consistent throughout the spectrum and give excellent results when combined with even just half-decent speakers.

My only complaint is there is a slight limitation in the configuration of the punch EQ; punch EQ will only boost high frequencies - I wanted to have the high pass set in order for them to cross over with my sub, but wanted to boost the lows in order to bring up the bass response around the crossover frequency on my components. It's a minor con, though, and worth putting up with for the quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2008 Great amp
Review by
Joshua from Sylvan Lake, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an amazing amp. I got it quick from sonic electronix and I was very impressed. opened the box and looked at the birth card, and it says 74watts RMS. This amp powers my infinity 6x9 3ways in the rear and my infinity 5 1/4's in my doors. This amp does a great job, with a very small foot print in my truck, which is good. Thanks again sonic for awesome service and another great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2008 Power and Clairty!
Review by
Chasten from Blue Springs, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp pushing Infinity Kappa Perfect components in my fronts and Infinity Kappa 3 ways in the rear and I had to turn the amp down because it was too loud! This amp has great power and very good clarity. If you have a powerful amp and good subs already this amp will do the trick for you but with out that prob not the one you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 5, 2011 diz chit knocks!!
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Shane from Sunnyvale, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Lub it ! Lub it ! Lub it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2009 Excellent sound
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jessica from Santa Monica, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This subwoofer is awesome. So much boom for your buck. This is a great product. Good for rap & metal music as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz