Expert Service 1-877-289-7664 [Hours]

Back to School Deals

SMD DD-1 Distortion Detector/Analyzer by Steve Meade Designs

Distortion Detector/Analyzer (Patent Pending) (DD1)

In Stock. Only 1 Left!
|

List price $189.99

You Save: $40.00 (21.05%)

$149.99

with warranty

+ FREE Shipping in US 48

Order within 47 hrs 33 mins to ship 8/3

Arrives by Thursday, Aug. 6 to zip 07095

Add an Extended Warranty

SquareTrade Product Warranty
Fast, Free Shipping

Within the US 48

60-Day Money-Back

Hassle Free Returns

Low Price Guarantee

Seen it for less? Click here

365-Day Coverage

Warranty assistance for a year

In Stock. Only 1 Left!

Arrives by Thu, Aug. 6

Get FAST answers from customers ASK a Question See questions answers

Get Rid of That Distortion

The purpose of the SMD DD-1 Distortion Detector/Analyzer by Steve Meade Designs is to enable the installer to set the gain of an audio amplifier to match the source units output level, accurately and quickly. It can also be useful for detecting distortion in the audio signal caused by poorly designed or malfunctioning audio equipment.

SMD has chosen a 9V battery as a power source for a few reasons. They are readily available and isolate the DD-1 from the vehicle’s electrical system for power, guaranteeing it will only measure what it is supposed to measure; the audio signal, not noise in the charging system. The supplied RCA connection is used to measure the output of a headunit directly, if you choose to do so. Should the harness become damaged it is easily replaceable or repairable in the field.


General Features:

  • Distortion Detector/Analyzer (Patent Pending)(DD1)
  • The Distortion Detector’s circuitry is 100% analog
  • Distortion Detection trigger level > 1.0% Harmonic Distortion
  • Guaranteed operating range of input signal is 1.2Vrms – 125Vrms. (15,000 Watts at 1 ohm) Autoranging
  • Signal Present LED trigger voltage 750mVrms
  • Low Battery LED trigger battery voltage < 5.6Vdc
  • Auto-shut off timer 8 - 10 minutes after ON button is pressed
  • For Systems running at 18 volts or higher check out the SMD DD-1 HV(High Voltage) Distortion Detector
  • To precisely calibrate your crossovers use the SMD CC-1 Crossover Calibrator by Steve Meade Designs
  • Authorized Internet Dealer
  • 1-year Manufacturer's Warranty

What's Included:

  1. The Distortion Detector (DD-1)
  2. Protective silicon rubber boot
  3. Calibrated Test tone CD
  4. Harness
  5. Product manual

Accessories Specifications

Type of Accessory
This is the type of accessory that the item is.
Primary Color
This is the main color of the item.
Quantity
This is the amount of units that is included with the item.
Vehicle Manufacturer Compatibility
These are the vehicle manufacturer's that the item is compatible with. Although a manufacturer might be listed here, please verify that your specific vehicle will accept the item or part.

Specials with this Item

Promotions
Promotions we have offer More Ways to Shop for items that are on clearance, last chance, special offer and sales, Made in America, and more!

Warranty and Return Policy

Parts Warranty Duration
1 year
Labor Warranty Duration
1 year
Warranty Provider
Manufacturer

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
81%
4 Star
13%
3 Star
5%
2 Star
2%
1 Star
0%

Average Attribution Rating

Durability
4.8
Value
4.4
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
john

bristol, TN

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
works as advertised

April 10, 2014

well built though over priced but hey I ordered it and it performed as it should. Setup sounds good

39 of 69 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

abquiroz

alta iowa

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it was good

March 31, 2014

it came quickly and it was convinient to understand. i tried it on my head unit and thought it didnt work and come to find out thAt the head unit was the one thAt does not reproduce clean sound. i would recommened this product to those who find car audio a pation. i am a a loyal costumer to this site and will continue to be.

43 of 77 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jason

Wisconsin

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DD-1 is a scam

January 18, 2014

This thing isn't what people think. It can detect distortion at certain frequencies. I wouldn't put my thousands of dollars of equipment on the line trusting this thing. I wanted a true gain setter like this thing showed on videos. It works with the frequencies your using at that time. People a whole lot smarter than me even said "I wouldn't trust this thing with your life,but it's a guide". If it makes you sleep better at night buy it. I used it once and I just threw it in the tool box.

34 of 60 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Sam

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing Tool

November 23, 2013

This tool is by far the most impressive single purpose tool I have ever purchased. It's sole purpose is to detect distortion, Which it does at an amazing accuracy and with minimal user effort. I set the gains of both my DC3.5k mono and DC175.4 4Channel, in the underground parking of the local mall on my lunch break. This tool also can be perfect for finding your decks max undistorted volume, which is a bonus for any SQ oriented builder. All and all this unit is solid and well worth every single one of the 15,000 pennies you spend on it. A word of warning, although this is often confused as a gain setter. IT DETECTS DISTORTION. You can and will over power your speakers and blow coils if you just crank your amp to max undistorted levels without concern for your speakers power handling rating. a 150 watt channel will decimate a 35w coil with an undistorted signal! Just keep in mind this detects distortion and not your max output and you'll set gains like a pro. ** READ THE MANUAL, not only insanely easy to read and full of useful info. Meade actually managed to pack some humor into his manual..quality you just cant match from the mass producers.

36 of 65 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Dozer

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product by SMD

October 15, 2014

This is a great product from Steve Meade Designs you can also by them from Steve Meade on www.wccaraudio.com for the same price and there are more of a selection as well as crossover calibrators, amp dynos and lots more so check it out.

21 of 39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

KW

Indiana

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DD-1 review

August 5, 2013

The dd-1 is a very useful tool. It allows you to find the clipping point of your head unit. After that you can go down signal line to your amps and accurately set gains on them. The issue I had was getting an accurate setting when using one or more eq's in the signal line such as the audio control three.1 indash eq. You have to take into account that components such as this will change line voltage and frequency boost as the user manipulate s the controls. Try to start with the most flat unboosted signal as possible.

15 of 27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Carlos

San Diego, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product

July 30, 2013

at first I was looking how to set my gains, i had it a little below half on my amp it was ok but once i set the gains with the dd1, man this thing made my sub sound great i could not believe that i was cutting myself out from that much bass. Glad i bought it, now i can set my gains for future amps since this is just the beginning

22 of 41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Howard

Texas

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Legit!

March 29, 2013

Received the DD-1 yesterday and used it today for the first time. All I can say is it definitely makes the audio signals much more clear due to how it allows you to calibrate the gain on your amps before clipping/distortion. I absolutely recommend this product to anyone who wants to properly adjust the gain on their amps and get pure clean sound out of their audio equipment.

16 of 29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Pasta Prime

sweet home, OR

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There's nothing like it!

July 16, 2014

If you want an undistorted system where you know how loud you can turn it and blow anything up then you need a DD! It comforting to know that when I spin that skinny knob I know everything id tuned right and I have nothing to worry about.

Read the directions and watch the SMD videos on Youtube if your unsure how to use it.

34 of 66 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Hillingdoner

Rio Rancho, NM

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Useful tool and quick

April 25, 2014

I've always set gains using a tpi440. I bought the DD-1 as I'd seen some verification videos of it being right on with the TPI, but looked much faster to use. Well used it quite a bit now and have to say it is quick and effective. Super simple to use and makes setting the gains correctly on your system easy and fast. One note. I watched videos on how to use this tool and then read the instructions when I received it. There is a change to the new tools when it comes to setting amp gains in that you hook the red probe to the + speaker terminal and the black probe to the - speaker terminal. All the videos I'd watched showed the black probe to amp ground. This has changed and I verified with Tony at the manufacturer before using. So, word to the wise, double check your instructions before using to make sure you have it hooked up right. Either way, an excellent tool and worth having.

37 of 72 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

sirbOOm

Atlanta, GA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What? No included battery?

November 14, 2013

For $150, SMD could have included a generic 9V battery. Not everyone has a 9V sitting around the house (except in their smoke detectors). That really ticked me off... even a dollar store flashlight comes with batteries.

Other than that, it works fine. It's expensive but less expensive than an o-scope which I would never use the full potential of.

19 of 36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

tintopking

fairfield, ca

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SMD DD-1 Distortion detector

October 30, 2013

Excellent product even for a novice, it is a very good piece of electronic equipment to own.

15 of 28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Gagan

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Perfect

October 28, 2013

The dd-1 is the perfect way to tune an amplifier, found where my deck clips and where my amp clips and have been bumpin clean sound, good investment

17 of 32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

SCOTT

FALL RIVER, MA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SMD DD-1 Distortion Detector

October 18, 2013

Product works as stated, helped me check my head unit for clipping and set my full range and subwoofer amp. Directions are easy to understand and follow. With this tool you're confident you're pushing the amp to its full potential but safely. Great tool, getting the cross over tool next CC-1.

14 of 26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Terry

Mechanicsville, MD

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SMD DD-1

July 16, 2013

This is an awesome little device. Made my system so much louder and clearer. Thanks Steve Meade for making such an excellent device and thanks Sonic Electronix for the fast shipping and awesome customer service!!!!

20 of 38 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Harry MECP installer

Pottstown, PA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No more guess work needed!

December 8, 2012

This distortion detector takes the guess work out of tuning an amp. I used to use a DMM to tune my amps and I also would tune with my car on so I would get the max voltage. What I did not realize was is that my amp would distort with while playing it moderately loud with the car off.

Now that I have this tool I can get the maximum potential out of the amp before distortion and clipping (they are not one in the same). Just remember to use this tool on your amps with the car off to avoid any damage that would be caused by distortion and clipping from low voltage.

The equipment that I tuned using the DD-1 is the Alpine KTP-445U running to Diamond Audio component 6.5" front and rear speakers as well as a Kicker IX1000.1 running a Cerwin-Vega STKR124 in a transmission line slot ported box @ 2.9cu ft. tuned to 31hz. All of this is running off of my Pioneer AVIC-X940BT.

This did make an improvement in loudness as well as sound quality. Now when I tuned my system using the DMM I also tweaked it over a number of days to get everything to sound great. But if you think about it, it took me days of fine tuning to get it right and I have been installing car audio as a hobby and professionally for roughly 15yrs. What took me days to get my car audio close to it's full potential, the DD-1 got me to my systems full potential in roughly 30min. It made setting up gains nearly goof proof (and it saved my ears... my poor ears over the years and years of tuning).

13 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jarad

Australia

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent Tool

February 11, 2015

This is a fantastic piece of kit, so underpriced for what it is yet simple and accurate to use, does exactly what it says on the tin and it's built to last. If you intall car audio you NEED this tool!

22 of 43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

depretto90

Australia

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
excellent

September 24, 2014

Love it its handy no distortion in my sound system

30 of 59 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

James

Great Britain

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Smd dd-1, great pice of kit

July 25, 2014

I would recommend this bit of kit as it's easy to use, and great for setting up my amplifiers, and would defiantly buy more stuff from sonicelectronix, I can't get hold of the audio equipment I want in the United Kingdom, and sonicelectronix have got the gear I want, great delivery service.

32 of 63 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

joshua

Australia

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product

November 5, 2013

What a great product. makes quick and easy tuning of any amplifier love it and would recommend it to anyone. have used on about 30 cars so far and everyone says. sounds clearer and louder..

13 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Red

LaFayette,AL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
RCA input panel needs a bigger hole

September 21, 2013

I would have given it a 5 but I had to disassemble it to use it with my RCAs. I have the Professional Series Fusion and Streetwires. They were too big to fit pass the RCA input panel. Other than that it is a great tool to have.

15 of 29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

SKORPION

Phoenix AZ

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
excelente producto!

September 17, 2013

Hago este review en español para los que hablan español.
Este producto es muy bueno porque te ayuda a ajustar las ganancias de tus amplificadores sin meter distorsión lo que se traduce a mejor calidad de audio y evitar quemar las bocinas por exceso de distorsión en un mal ajuste lo recomiendo altamente a todos los que quieran tener cálidad en su audio.

14 of 27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

soccerballzs

westerville,Ohio

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DD-1

July 25, 2013

This is the tool if you are into car audio. Do not guess on gains when you can use the DD-1 to set them for you the right way. LOVE IT! All of SMD Products are the highest quality and USA built. You got to love that!!! Thanks Sonic for carry SMD products.

10 of 19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Grant

Loudonville, OH

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A must have

September 29, 2012

This device is amazing! I was sort of skeptical when I first got it. Easily the best purchase I have ever made. Using the DD-1 is so simple. I have owned it little over a year now and tuned many of my friends systems and they are all amazed at how much cleaner and louder there bass was. It takes all the guess work out of tuning. Once everything is tuned there is no more worring about cliping or distorting the signal going to your speakers or subwoofers. When tuning the subwoofer amplifier make sure to use the -5dB or -10dB track, that will keep the signal the cleanest. A few of the devices that I used the DD-1 on is Dual XDMA6415 HU, a few Kenwood HU's. RF Prime 500.1 sub amp, RF 1000.4, and a couple of kicker amps. All SMD products are top of the line.

13 of 25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jeremy

Pulaski, VA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Directions need to be re-evaluated

July 24, 2015

The DD-1 does what it says it does. It made my system sound incredibly clean. I have been setting my gains by ear for a couple of decades now and always had it sounding very good. I have had people ask me, "How can you turn the volume up all the way without it distorting?" Now, after using the DD-1, my system sounds 10 times better. No exaggeration. The only complaint I have is in the directions (setting gains on sub amp) where it says to use track 3 for cleanest sound, track 7 for loudest, and track 5 for a mix of both. This is non-sense. They should have said somewhere in the directions to compare the tracks on the CD with the media you use every day and use the closest track to set your gains. My 40Hz test tone on my flash drive is closest to the #1 track (0dB). By using the -5, -10, or -15dB tracks, my amp will clip. So just be forewarned, if you use tracks 3, 5, or 7 to set your gains, your sub amp will probably still clip!!! Clipping is BAD!!!

2 of 4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Luis

Rio grande Texas

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product

July 24, 2014

The product is very good because helps you adjust your audio system and will prevent your speakers from blowing up !!! :)

20 of 40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Robert

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DD-Awesome

July 17, 2014

As with all Steve Meade and Tony D'Amore products this thing rocks. I get the most sound out of my system without putting my amps in danger. A must have.

23 of 46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Tim

Athens, GA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing product!

February 28, 2014

This made my amp sound so much better and it's really easy to tune. Thanks to Steve Meade and D'amore Engineering for making this!

14 of 28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Braden

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What a difference!

February 14, 2014

Honestly after having set my gains properly with this tool I have increased the clarity and output of my amplifiers by roughly 30%! I love this product.

21 of 42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

ROG

MCALLEN TX

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
GREAT PRODUCT

September 24, 2013

GREAT PRODUCT. I KNEW THAT SOMEBODY OUT THERE HAD INVENTED THIS PRODUCT BUT I COULDN'T FIND IT FOREVER, BUT NOW THAT I DID I'M SATISFIED WITH MY SOUNDS BECAUSE I KNOW THAT'S WHAT IT COULD HANDLE.

16 of 32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

158.7 legal

louisiana

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
yeah it works to certain degree

September 21, 2013

The unit works only when its tuned to certain db level ex.....
If i tuned a -15 then that means the gain is higher then a -5db track. so when i go to play some bass boosted decaf my subs will clip.

16 of 32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

larry

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
nice product

September 17, 2013

I like this SMD DD-1 easy to use. The service from Sonic Electronix was great. Would buy again from them.

15 of 30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

The one

Greenville ga

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First time tuning a amp

July 31, 2013

If you are doing a install on your on car buy it.

12 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jonah

Espanola, NM

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Thanks Steve you know whats up

February 25, 2013

I purchased one of these about a year ago when he first made them (before sonic had them), and I was dumb founded by the simplicity of finally being able to set my gains like Mr. Meade him self. Top notch device.

12 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jason

Roy, UT

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Steve Meade comes to Sonic Electronics!!!

November 18, 2012

If you are ever going to tune an amp or change a head unit more than once in your life, you NEED this!!!!

Find max volume for a head unit (no clipping)
Find max volume for subwoofer gain


Save your gear. Get this.

14 of 28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Robert

Villas, NJ

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
To good to be true

September 9, 2013

Amazing to know I'm safely powering my set-ups. Tuned everyone of my friends systems. Noticable gains in output. Worth every penny.

13 of 27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Chaise

Windermere, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No distortion, sounds perfect!!

June 27, 2013

bought this thinking I was going to install my own system but didn't have much time so I had a professional install it. it sounded nice but nothing special. a few months later I finally had time to sit down and set my gains with it. after using it, it made my system sound amazing. hits all lows perfectly and you cant hear any distortion. I highly recommend this product. it will greatly improve sound, quality and life of components.

13 of 27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jake

Columbus, OH

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product

December 16, 2014

This is extremely easy to use and a great tool. I have used it on multiple amps already and makes setting them a dream.

16 of 34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

accordguy

mo

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
does decent job

October 30, 2014

Sometimes when I use it, I can then the gain all the way up on the amp and the distortion light doesn't come on. Other times it will work correctly. Not sure what the problem is, but when it works, its fast and easy.

13 of 28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Amorn

Thailand

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Must have

May 6, 2014

This tool is easy to use and very useful for every car audio installation shop

19 of 40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Chuck daddy

Morganton, NC

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DD-1 YOU NEED THIS!!!!!!

April 26, 2014

if you do any car audio you need this .. super easy to use well worth the money

22 of 46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Nanthakumar

Malaysia

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Be a pro with SMD DD-1 !

April 18, 2014

It works!!! Such a easier way to set amps gain. After using SMD DD-1 Distortion Detector my sound system improved. I recommend to anyone who
facing problem on gain setting. No more wasting time. Get it do it and
be a 'PRO' with it!!

21 of 44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Beau

San Antonio, TX

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product at an amazing value. Designed by Car Audio Leaders

March 28, 2014

This is an amazing product. I just found out about this product this year by stumbling upon it and its creators on Youtube. I watched all of the videos I could find and did a lot of research. This product is the result of a leader in car audio installation in southern Cali (Steve Meade) and an electrical engineer who has a long career in car audio (D'Amore Engineering). This is not a product that was created with all glitz/glam and no function. This was created with full function in mind by two titans in the car audio industry. It is extremely easy to use and gives you confidence in your amp settings.

Pros:
Ease of use
Style of product
Accuracy
Numerous testing options (speaker outputs or directly from RCA's)

Cons:
Only the price. But this is ONLY if you are looking to use the product only for personal use (ie. 1 or 2 vehicles). It's a good bit of money for just one or two vehicles, but peace-of-mind can also be priceless. But, rest assured, this product has had a lot of R&D and testing put into it before being produced. And, each product from D'Amore Engineering is specifically tested (by the maker) to verify the product works as stated. $150 is a lot for a single user and probably more suited for installers, but, like I said, peace-of-mind is priceless.

I HIGHLY recommend this product and recommend not just taking my word for it, but looking up the accomplishments of the creators on Youtube to learn more for yourself!

25 of 52 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Nathan

Baltimore

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Smd dd-1 Smd cc-1

February 7, 2014

Easy to use, works just like advertised, best tool on market for the price.

31 of 64 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Piree1

Charlotte

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SMD DD-1 = Love it!

October 26, 2013

Made my system sound so much better & cleaner! Cant express that enough. My system is not for comp, just personal daily driving & I do love to play it LOUD. I have 5000 RMS ( 1K going to mids & highs & 2K going to 3 re audio 12's (custom sealed box) & 2K gong to 1 SSA Xcon 18 in a big ported box, (not to mention 3 AGM batts, big 3 upgrade, all 1/0 guage OFC wire, H/O 270 amp alt, alpine TV h.u. ect ect blah blah) so I obviously spent a LOT of money on my system, but I think the best money I have invested into my car audio system so far is the SMD DD-1. No kidding! Thousands of dollars invested & that little extra $150 made sooo much of a difference in the sound. Also I love the comfort of knowing I can slam my system hard daily for a long time & Im getting a clean non distorted signal to all my speakers. To me, just that comfort alone is worth buying one. I was running my system for almost 2 years before I learned about the DD-1. Before I used the DD-1, I was nervous/reluctant to turn it up to certain volume levels, not knowing if I was clipping/distorting my speakers, but now I feel 100% confident to play it at much higher levels without destroying my expensive equipment. Sounds much much cleaner now. I cant imagine all the hours of time I have spent trying to tune my systems by ear. I have been through many cars & all have had amps & subs ect. I would recommend a DD-1 to anyone. Also I think no car audio shop should EVER go without having a DD-1 & tuning every customers audio system before they leave the store. That's my 2 cents

16 of 34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Ben

Anaheim, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to use.

October 8, 2013

I'm not a pro installer, I've only done 2 installs both were my vehicles. This product really does help set the gains & find volume distortion on head unit. It's really easy to use takes about or less than 5 minutes to set gains or find the head units top volume level. Only thing I dislike is it does not come with a battery.... for the price I think it should.

15 of 32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

John

Pensacola, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome Tool

August 3, 2013

This thing is great, I've used it set many amplifiers already and will continue to do so.. It's great to not worry about if your gains are set correctly or not with the DD-1. it's definitely worth the money if you're going to use it multiple times. I also have the CC-1 and it has some nice features as well. Just do yourself a favor, put your DMM away and buy the DD-1..

11 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

808 boomer

Orlando, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
love the dd-1

March 20, 2013

I had use the dd-1 to my system and I was in love with the tool after I could't ask for better bang!!!!!

11 of 24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Omega5002

Ocoee, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Probably of the most important tools in Car Audio

September 27, 2012

This tool is absolutely amazing, I set the gains of my mono amplifier with this tool, and the results were phenomenal, my amplifier runs a lot cooler, the bass is much cleaner, and a lot louder when I play songs that reache my peak settings (I used the -5 db track so I can play all kinds of music), I noticed it's a bit louder than before when I set my gains with my ears (not recommended).

I also set a couple of my friend's amplifiers too as well, and they were impressed, also said the bass sounded a lot cleaner as well.

I also like how durable the tool feels, very sturdy, doesn't feel cheap at all, and it's made in the USA, which is a plus.

I think everyone, whether a professional or hobbyist, should invest in this tool, it's very easy to use, takes only a few minutes to set the gains, very durable, and it's 100% analog, so you don't need to worry about it being outdated.

12 of 26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

BJ

Antigua And Barbuda

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great tool but .....

May 11, 2014

I owned both the DD-1 and the SMD for a while and i really love them. simple, precise and easy to use. My problem is with the price. I think they are too expensive for a one dimensional tool that i don't use often. That's why i sold them and bought a scope for $400. It takes some learning to use, but it does the job of both the DD1 and SMD and much much more. I use my scope every week on my car and on my house.

31 of 65 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Piree

Charlotte

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worth every penny!!!

September 26, 2013

I have been frustrated for a long time bc I cant find a single car audio shop in my city who can fine tune a system to get it sounding right. So recently I did some research & learned about this SMD DD-1, bought it, used it & in 20 min I had my $5000 system sounding TWICE as good!!! I would say its the best money I have ever spent on car audio equipment & in my 20 years of driving, I have probably had 20 cars with systems in all of them. Now I have the sound I want and the PIECE OF MIND knowing my system is pumping CLEAN power through all of the speakers with NO DISTORTION which is a amp & subwoofer KILLER. Do some research & you will see that everyone is having great results using the SMD DD-1 !!!! Whether yu have a $500 system or a $50,000 system this thing is a MUST! 5 out of 5 stars on every level!

9 of 21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

HEX

NY,NY

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A must have.

September 18, 2013

Easy to use, amps can be set before installing. Never had a sub sound so good.

12 of 27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jrocket

yuba city, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product

April 17, 2014

Product does everything it's meant to do! Nothing more nothing less. Very pleased with it and easy to use.

16 of 36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Wader935

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice Product

March 3, 2014

This really works! I thought my system sounded pretty good. After using this to set the gains on my amps, i was amazed. My highs amp was set too high, and my bass amp was set too low, and i was only able to turn the volume up to 26. Now i can turn my volume up to 34 out of 36 and everything sounds clean and clear. A BIG DIFFERENCE. Very happy with purchase. You have to get one of these and do it RIGHT!!

18 of 40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

haze1

elkhart,IN

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
simply amazing

September 17, 2013

The best way to set up your amps period. Good directions and it doesn't feel cheap. Overall a high quality item

19 of 42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Logan B

Crestview Florida

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Dd-1 review

July 25, 2014

I purchased the smd dd-1 to set my amp gains on my system. I was do impressed with the increase and power and clean signal that it provided I decided to start setting amp gains for others on the side so that they can also experience how much better a properly tuned system sounds. This product is easy to use, compact, and has good build quality. I also bought the cc-1 to set my crossover points and match my amp gains but that's a post for another review. All in all this is the best money I have ever spent on car audio installation gear. Thanks Steve and Sonic Electronix!

28 of 61 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

ERIC

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
useful product

January 6, 2014

I have yet to use the product. It was a combo with an amp that i bought. The build and construction of the device looks good. I did use the test tone cd though, as the instructions for my specific amp, tells me what tone to play and what a/c voltage to read from the amp's speaker terminal with a regular multi-meter, that is why i have not used the product yet, but intend to when i have to setup amps that do not come with detailed instructions for matching deck output voltage to amp input sensitivity. I also wish it came with a 9v battery for the price.

21 of 47 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

haze1

elkhart,IN

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
simply amazing

September 18, 2013

The best way to set up your amps period. Good directions it doesn't feel cheap overall a high quality item

13 of 31 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Skar

Tulare, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome Product

August 20, 2013

I've been a car audio enthusiast since I was 14 years old. I never had fancy equipment to properly set amp gains. I bought the DD-1 and am very impressed with it! I tested it side by side with my Fluke Oscilloscope and it is dead on. I highly recommend this to any car audio installer from amateur to Pro.

14 of 33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

MD

Florida

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DD-1 Distortion Detector

May 28, 2014

Had no issues.. Fast processing and delivery through Sonic.. Detector comes with easy to follow instructions.. My system sounds nice, and the detector seamed to work great.. Would definitely recommend.. A little pricey though.. Per the detector, I was fairly accurate matching mid and high amp gains by ear, but I was way off on my source unit and sub amp.. Really not even close.. Made the corrections, and my system sounds great now..

28 of 62 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Eddie

El Paso, TX

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome products and service!!

February 9, 2014

I bought the SMD vm-1 and om-1 and they are the best meters I have ever seen and used they are a great product and it's great making everyone jealous of them, I'm being honest. Love the producst and super quick shipping and delivery as well. I look forward to buying from you in the future.

24 of 55 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

aamurillo67

Mexico

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very useful

January 19, 2014

I bought this in order to protect my equipment and at the same time maximize the fully potential of it, because in my hometown all the installers just turn up the gain in order to impress the buyer; I recommend this especially to those pplk that do installs for fun or for a living.

18 of 45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

phats

ohio

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very nice

February 3, 2014

very nice product everyone should own one easy to use

21 of 53 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Browse 3 questions and 32 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this?
Sonic Electronix Store
hopefully a easy way to set gains
Randy S on Jul 28, 2015
It was highly rated by some of the top audio installers.
Glenn L on Jun 17, 2015
Had one in the past. Great tool to see the max volume of head unit before distortion
Anthony O on Jul 17, 2015
Anyone who just wants to tune their Sound will need this
Johnathan F on Jun 3, 2015
i have yet to be answered ,dose this tune all amps,including mids and or highs?
Dave D on Oct 17, 2014
Best Answer: Yes. The DD-1 will set the gains on any amplifier weather it's a bass amp, or a mids and highs amp. I have used it on both my amps which is the Crescendo bc5500d for the bass, and on my Rockford Fosgate 600.4 which is my mids and highs amp. It made a big difference in the sound. I have a Kenwood head unit and the max volume is 35. After using the DD-1 I can turn the volume to 33 with no distortion. Great product.
Reply · Report · Wade H on Oct 17, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
will this help tune an eq??
A shopper on Dec 16, 2014
Best Answer: This will help tune an EQ, but it depends on your setup a little.

The DD1 is great for getting maximum output from your individual components (headunit, EQ, amps) without distortion. If you follow the instructions in the manual, you start up from with the headunit and figure out its maximum, non-distorted output. Then you do the same for an EQ and your amplifiers.

For instance, I have the Clarion EQS746 and was able to use the DD1 to determine that I could have the volume up all the way on the EQ without distorting. Personally, however, I would rather not have my EQ working as hard as it can just to have the gains set lower on the amps, so I set the volume significantly lower and then proceeded to follow the DD1 manual for setting my amp gains.

When it comes to EQs, one thing to keep in mind is the output voltage for your RCAs. My EQ is able to put out 7 volts, but my JL amp only receives up to 4. Consequently, when I had my EQ outputting more than 4 volts, I wasn't able to turn up the gain at all on my JL amp because it read distortion immediately. Because of that, I had to use a voltmeter to set the volume/gain on my EQ to get just under 4 volts from my RCAs and then I was able to use the DD1 again and set my amp gains.

I hope this helps!
Reply · Report · Geff C on Dec 16, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)

Product Summary

Manufacturer

Model Number

DD-1

Weight

1.10lbs

Internal SKU

smd-dd1

Internal Product ID

61378

Sonic Electronix Wiring Guide

Wiring Diagram Legend

Warning: The image depicted shows the resistance change when wiring multiple subwoofer terminals. Please refer to your subwoofer's owner's manual for the proper wiring of its terminals. Sonic Electronix, Inc. is not responsible for damage caused to your audio system or vehicle due to improper installation. Please call tech support at 1-877-289-7664 if you require additional assistance.

Product Name: SMD DD-1 Distortion Detector/Analyzer by Steve Meade Designs