Showing 20 reviews for (2) MB QUART FSB216 6.5" Component Speakers + (2) 6.5" Coaxial Speakers

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
50%
4 Star
45%
3 Star
5%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
F00DY

Miramar, Fla.

Overall
Best OEM substitute for MBZ

March 23, 2012

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I just bought these for my MBZ C230. One of the door speakers was shot and it really made my stereo sound crappy. Tried shopping around for some coaxs. Tried a few from Pioneer and Kenwood and they didn't work. The door speakers have a passive cross-over so the coaxs sounded really 'shelly'. Went back to the drawing board when I stumbled across these. Took me about 30 mins to install with a little help from my dremel and my soldering gun but I'm extremely satisfied with the outcome. The tweeters sparkle and the 6's hit nice and solid. Perfect compliment to the stock woofers in the rear doors.

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jace

Belleville, IL

Overall
Nice

April 26, 2013

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Good for the money...I want to buy another set for my boat!

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Derek

apple creek, OH

Overall
Pretty Good

April 16, 2013

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These speakers have a great sound. The tweeters a little bit bright but you can change that with cross overs. The cross overs suck. I personally separated 2 channels for tweeters and two channels for the mid woofer. That way i can fine tune my system with out buying other cross overs. Plus i honestly think that your amp will have the best cross overs anyways unless your dealing with some expensive speakers like JL, Rockford, or Focal.
The tweeters also blew when i was playing really loud.
If i were you, Id spend a little extra to get the onyx series.

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jeffrey

williamston, SC

Overall
great value

September 23, 2013

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

not the greatest, by far not the worst... sounds good with some power behind them...

10 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Awwjard

Owensboro, KY

Overall
great balance of mids and highs

February 10, 2013

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I run these speakers off of an Alpine KTP-455 and it is a great match. I can CRANK these babies and there is never a hint of pushing them to the limits. The highs soar and the mids are tight and punchy. Awesome speakers for a small amp. If you want a great pair of reasonably priced components, look no further. I will not buy car audio from anyone else but Sonic.

10 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Customizer

Exmore, Va

Overall
MB QUART FSB 216

July 31, 2012

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great speakers, with quality sound. For the price of the MB Quart speakers and the rich sound in which they produce, they have always been a great buy. I select components for my systems that work great together and the MB Quart speakers are always selected to carry the inside staging for me.

11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Roberto

Merced, CA

Overall
Excellent value and performance

May 30, 2012

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

MB Quart is known for their highs being too bright. This is not the case with these units. The midbass has punchiness and the vocals are smooth. The highs are seamless and clear without being raspy or overpowering. Pick the right amp for your subs and these should compliment your system nicely.

10 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

lkoh

Singapore

Overall
Good value for money

November 16, 2011

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I ran this off a 300W amp.
*cost effectiveness
It was the cheapest of the "low wattage" speakers and yet had an impressive range on paper. The only negative point (on paper) was the low sensitivity (84dB?).
When put to practice in the real world, these performed decently and I had no complaints whatsoever.

*installation notes
The 2 1/2" bottom mount depth was also a consideration, as I was not confident the larger 6.5" components would clear the doors.

The spade connectors came with plastic jackets so you don't have to add tape / heatshrink to the connections.

The red and black wires to the crossover seemed skinny... too skinny. Almost like 24awg. Not confidence inspiring at all. It may be irrational but we always feel good with chunky wires.

*Tweeters
The tweeters came with different mounting options (flush / pod). MB Quarts are reputed to sound overbright but these sounded just right.

Overall, a good buy on a budget.

10 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Roberto

Merced, CA

Overall
excellent speakers

May 30, 2012

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

MB Quart is known for having over-powering highs...

This is not the case with these speakers. I listen to country, pop and rock and the sound these crank out is smooth, seamless and clear.

I like to crank up my music and these deliver a nice rear fill sound for my car.

I highly recommend them over the other leading brands.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ben

Orange county CA

Overall
MB Quartz

April 25, 2012

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Highly recommended. Great speakers for the money. Great size for shallow install. Good highs, mids not much on lows. Maybe it was my headunit, but I had a sub anyway.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Brooklyn, NY

Overall
Top quality

April 10, 2012

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Bass hits nice and deep, while highs are crystal clear

9 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

steve

middletown, OH

Overall
excellent sound for the value

September 28, 2013

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

i couldnt be more please with the value vs sound quality. I have had more expensive speakers and they do sound better, but for this value they are quality sound

6 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

swest

Canada

Overall
You get what you pay for

January 11, 2012

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have these installed in the doors of my 2000 cavalier Z24 winter beater.

Custom work was required to install due to woofer depth, and I installed the tweeters in pods at top of doors (after several days of listening, I ended up installing off-axis, facing opposing side of car, which sounded best and gave a balanced image with minimal time alignment required from my headunit). Doors are vibration damped with dynamat, and speakers are driven with 120 rms per channel. Head unit is a Kenwood X995. I listen to all types of music, including top 40, folk and rock.

Installed these as a first attempt when looking for an inexpensive improvement over the coax units in the car from the previous owner. At low to moderate volumes, the tweeters are overly efficient and are unbalanced to the woofers (I attribute some of this to my elevated mounting position) and induced listening fatigue fairly quickly. At elevated volume levels, the tweeters get downright harsh and nasty. Midbass is as expected from a 6.5" driver, and only gets uncontrolled at high power levels. I am running them with a 12 db/oct HPF at 60 hz. The tweeters were so tiring that I ended up installing L-pads to drop their output by 8db, which has made the speakers sound more balanced and cleaner. The tweeters still get harsh sounding when driven hard, and I will be swapping these out when I get a chance.

Previously I had used MBQuarts in a few installs back in the mid 90's which is why I started with these, but those older units were much better (and more expensive) speakers. My next trial will be with the PVL 216's, which I recently ordered from Sonic too. In the end, I guess you get what you pay for. Luckily, I love tinkering around with audio systems, and I look forward to finding that elusive combination of affordable quality sound.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tyler

Mechanicsville, VA

Overall
Intense highs

December 15, 2011

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These speakers are extremely clear, especially in the high frequencies. The titanium tweeters create piercing highs which for my taste were a little too much. I think this is a great value for the right listener.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Brooklyn, NY

Overall
Great value

April 10, 2012

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Cant beat the quality for the price? Great bass and mids

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

phuc

marina, CA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Bang for your buck

May 22, 2020

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Simple Upgrade for stock systems but I paired it with an alpine power pack and it sounds excellent!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

KG

Houston, TX

Overall
Great Price For Great Speakers !

September 18, 2013

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought 4 of these speakers to replace the door speakers in my honda crv and i am very happy with the sound there very full and clear perfect all around sound I listen to all types of music from house music to hip hop pretty much anything coming out of these speakers sounds great

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

brandon

Kansas City, MO

Verified Purchase
Overall
never bought mb before, quality product super crispy

June 6, 2021

The following review is for FSB 216, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've never bought any MB quart stuff before but I've been doing stereo stuff for a long time as a hobby and a job, these sound great, big tweets but still fit in some small spots, and the crossover is very slim and easy to hide

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

michael

lawton, OK

Verified Purchase
Overall
Excellent speaker

July 10, 2020

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I love the sound of these speakers. Needs special ring for bmw door mount but a great speaker

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Casey

morris, IL

Verified Purchase
Overall
MB Quart FKB 116 (FKB116)

March 22, 2020

The following review is for FKB 116, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Mb quart has lost their quality over the last 10 years but the price is good and they're acceptable for sound reproduction.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?