Showing 41 reviews for NVX VCW154

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
90%
4 Star
10%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
dustin

billings, MT

Overall
quality subs

July 18, 2014

I went from kickers to these bad boys and the difference is night day these subs hit every bass note flawlessly if your looking for Sq sub and don't want to break the bank these are the subs to get

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

06GTOLS2

Greenville PA

Overall
BEST subwoofer for the money.

January 12, 2014

Let me start by saying I've owned plenty of subs and amp and have had everything from 10's to 15's and amps from 300 to 5000+. This subwoofer in a 2.5^ft box with and re audio ctx4200.1 is so amazing it's unreal. I love this setup. I spent $400 on this sub and the amp and it will beat most $800 setups I promise. My entires car shakes but in the most amazing way possible. The clarity is so crisp and it hits all the low notes perfectly. Definitely my go to brand from now on. NVX all the way. For the price, what you get is a steal! GET THIS SUB NOW!

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

T.Cox

Flint,MI

Overall
Two 15s

April 23, 2014

Great sub. I got two of them hook to my RF T1500 and they can handle all the power my amp gives them. They sound clear and hit every note to be 15s. And yes they can get LOUD

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

tobias

marysville, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Fantastic

July 3, 2015

I had 2 Rockford p1 15s and was planing on upgrading so when I blew one of my subs I new it was time. I thought I'd give nvx a try (i figure if EXO is impressed with them then I can't go wrong.) Obviously, there going to be better than the p1s, but thare doing way more than i anticipated. I can't Waite to get these 2 metered at Midwest audiofest. I will defiantly be getting 2 more soon.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Melissa

Livonia, NY

Overall
READ ME ON THIS SUB

September 23, 2013

Ok Here is the Bottom Line, This is not a spl sub period. It is a fantastic flawless pure wonderous joyful quality from heaven sub. Do not give it over true 1100 rms you will cook the coils faster than H*ll! Now lets get to the facts this baby is pure quality that can literally hit every single frequency in a song from low,mid,high with pure heavenly accurate perfection. Just to name a few I compared it to, re sx pro, re sxxv2, re sex, pa mofo, polk mm(which has 5 star reviews for amazing sound q) and the list goes on nobody can touch nvx on sound q, accuracy, and best of all the wide bandwith of frequencies it hits and perfects. (please note this was not achieved until properly broken in.) I know you can read reviews on tons of subs and see 5 star reviews you will have to trust this one that its the ultimate sub hands down. The only thing it doesnt have is power handling. Id love to see nvx make the voice coil bigger, longer, and give it more than 4 layers it would be unstopable. IF YOU WANT SQ WITH DECENT SPL BUY THIS SUB FORGET EVERYTHING ELSE PERIOD!!!!!!

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

FatMat916

Sacramento, CA

Overall
We Shall See

March 15, 2013

I just purchased one of these today out of curiousity... They look great and ive done plenty of research to know my money is not being wasted... From what ive learned NVX came out in 2011 and there whole business is about being better than others and building nothing but quality... Since no one else did any reviews on this woofer, i take it upon myself to do it.. As soon as recieve sub not only am i doing a review on Sonic, Im doing a Video as well on YouTube...

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Melissa

Sound Beach, NY

Overall
HEAVEN

August 10, 2015

wow, musical clean and loud. not the best sub ive ever owned, the mb quart premium is my fav but this is close second. it really is something special and is clean warm loud deep very very low and overall for the money the best sub it really is a little bit of everything. you will not be let down. only thing it doesnt have is that hard tight punch more of a low end sub.

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Caleb

Tombstone, AZ

Overall
Great Sub

June 3, 2014

Got the sub in put it in the enclosure and tuned it. Sounds freaking clean and hits really hard. If you let the sub break in on low watts it will hit really smooth later on! I really love the sub!

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jenine

Chicopee, MA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Deep, thundering lows.

January 26, 2020

Can't believe the price of this thing is incredibly low for how much ass it kicks. Also note this thing performs well even with low power as I tested. Incredible performance from this great sounding, ground shaking beast! Highly recommended!

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Keith P

Shepherdstown, WV

Verified Purchase
Overall
Pleasurable Bass

February 11, 2018

Went from a pair of Polk Audio Dxi 12s in a custom ported box to this VCW154 from NVX and I'm quite impressed. I've only had it installed in 2.8cu ft box (32HZ) for a few days, and it gets better with each listen. Run off a JBL GTX500 amp @ 2ohm with gain all the way down and -03 set on my JVC's subwoofer output and this thing readily spanks my old Polks in every way! The mid bass is punchier and the lows are so much cleaner and louder and I'm still breaking this sub in! Actually makes my Kia van flex (no easy feat with one sub in large minivan cabin) SQ seems pretty good for a 15, but will need further breakin/tuning to really be able to judge. I would recommend this to anyone looking to step up from cheaper subs :)

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

michael

king william, VA

Verified Purchase
Overall
suprized!!!

April 6, 2018

would normally have gone with a R.E. or a sundown in subs but sales guy at sonic highly recommended this woofer. I'm very impressed with.... well.... everything about this woofer and totally surprised you don't hear more about them! they will easily compete with any thing the heavy hitting brands have that cost twice as much... HEL# I don't even think that will out perform them. look forward to doing a crazy big build with these woofers.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

charles

Rochester, NY

Overall
Clean warm bass

September 27, 2015

I think where nvx shines is their subs. This really nice clean warm bass that's extremely pleasing to the ears very clean like home audio very very nice sub takes power no problems three years old just awesome

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

michael crum

Townsend, DE

Overall
This 15" NVX is bad a$$

September 3, 2015

I have own alot of subwoofers from JL Audio to Eclipse and I have to say these NVX are as good if not better . They sound great and they will hit them low lows easy. The price is amazingly affordable and you get 10x the bang for your buck. This is my first time purchasing and owning NVX but they have me for good now. Thank you Sonic Electronic for the help and fast delivery .

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Martin

SC

Overall
Great For Trunk Baffle (IB) Install

August 3, 2016

I installed a single VCW154 in my sedan via trunk baffle / infinite baffle, I'm feeding it 450 ish watts, about half of the sub's rated RMS, via the NVX JAD900.5 amp. I'm very, very happy with this sub (and the NVX amp).
It sounds amazing, very clean and musical, diggs very deep. Trunk baffle installs are more for SQ than SPL and require subs with lots of x-max. This monster totally fits the bill.
For those who care, I weighed the sub by itself and it came in at 30.5 pounds, not 37 like it says here on Sonic.
As with other NVX products, you get very high quality gear without paying extra for the name. Highly recommended.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Guntersville, AL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Honest Review

February 25, 2016

I read many reviews before deciding on this sub. I was impressed with how well it is made. I am currently breaking it in, but I can already tell that it will be impressive. I cant give 5 stars on durability at this time, but I feel that it is a great sub for the price.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bryson Customs

Team NVX

Overall
Powerful

January 5, 2017

Now I Haven't Installed These Yet, Still Building The 6th Order. I Own And Have Installed Many Of The VCW 10D4's And Tuned Properly With Excellent Electrical Will Crush You. At 50hz I'll Make You Sick To Your Stomach...LOL...I Know But Their 10's Everybody Says And Your Right But Until You See The 10's You'd Think I Was Running 2 15's On 5k. Now Don't Get Me Wrong There Are Better Subs Out There, But For Right At $200.00 For The 12's And 15's These Are Priced Right, Musical Subs That In The Right Enclosure Can Get Low And Nasty! ( FYI These Subs Have A Aluminum Voice Coil Not Copper Which I Have Found Allows These Subs To Run Cooler Longer And Will Handle Over Rated RMS With Proper "Break In".) Shout Out To Team NVX And SHCA! - Keep It Real -

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Elijah

Santa Ana, CA

Overall
Amazing Sub

December 28, 2016

This sub is amazing!!! I high recommend it to anyone that wants quality sound coming out their trunk. It handles the low Hz very well... Bass so hard u feel it in ur chest haha I paired my NVX VCW154 with a 1000w RMS Monoblock Alpine. Very satisfied

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

James

Lexington, KY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Nice

July 18, 2016

I bought two of these to replace three twelve inch kicker L7's and I like them much better. They hit the upper bass nicely like the kicker's did, but kills the lows far better than the kicker's could ever do. Very good frequency response, and they do handle power without ever getting stinky! I run a Alpine 2000 watt amp on them all day and they never smell, even after hours of heavy use. I got them to hit 150.1 db so yes they do get very loud depending on your box, but very nice sq as well. Ugly in my opinion but who cares really, they sound good

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Arthur

ASHEVILLE, NC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Love them

May 26, 2020

So I bought two of these subs and I was building a custom box for them. I built the box (10 ft3) and it's tuned 32 Hz...them boys get down!!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

MayzDayz

Bloomington, IN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great value I love NVX VCW154 subwoofers

April 15, 2020

It will do beyond the rms, the magnet is beautiful, and did I mention triple-stacked 195oz!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Durham, NC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Very nice 15

June 8, 2019

Ive been around car audio my whole life, and ive had 12s 15s from almost every brand that is decent, maybe 45-50 different setups! Tried this vcw154 out of curiosity, newish brand but dope reviews. So i gave it 2.5 cubes 4in port and 1000 watts from my trusty ppi p1000
1. BOOM this thing is bangin, hadnt even broken it in yet sounds amazing! Sonic electronics is awesome and so is this nvx vcw15! Gotta love the price too

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

westland michigan

Overall
nvx 15 damn good sub

May 4, 2019

i have owned many subs orion hcca re audio xxx alpine type r infinity perfect . i was looking for a budget sub under 180 with out the over rated power . the nvx i put it into a sealed box it plays the low bass to 10hz 20 hz is loud tears the car apart all the way up to 60hz rap hip hop .
and for rock it digs in hits that bass tight fast no distortion. use the proper rms power and you will have a loud clean sub that will last years. 1 of these is plenty loud in a car it will shake the seats glass mirrors your stomach heart . i will rate this sub perfect 5 . there are louder subs out there but who listens to spl 100% of the time ? if you want music buy this . in my opinion its a steal at this price. well built stitched leads i fit double 12gage into the connectors . played it with 900 watts full tilt ultra low bass boosted songs for about an hour its gets warm its normal but no smell of burnt coils . for spl guys look @ the cubic feet 1.75 sealed you can fit many in a back seat or 4 in the truck .

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Indianapolis, IN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Nice clean bass!

April 1, 2019

Nice Clean bass. More than enough for daily riding. They are not aggressive as I’m used to but they are well built monsters.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Palm Coast, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
NVX VCW154

January 16, 2019

Absolutely kickass speakers wired them at 1ohm with a hifonics brx2400.1 on 2 speakers and its massive clear bass I'm more than thrilled....thank you Sonic for helping me with not only my choice in system but how to wire it for the most bass possible...I strongly recommend the nxv 15" btw they are in a ported box with 2.4 cubic

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Miami

Overall
NVX VCW154

July 5, 2018

I bought this sub to replace a sub that burned up after a month. So far I am satisfied with what it can do. I have it in a custom made 4 cubic ft ported box tuned to 28 hz. The box was made for a different sub however not wanting to get rid of a brand new custom built box I decided to give the NVX 15.4 a chance. Now obviously the box has way more room than the NVX 15 needs according to the specs but I tried it anyway and I can tell you right now that I am not disappointed. This sub hits hard and low as hell but still sounds clean even at high volume. I have one Kicker 40KX1200.1 Mono wired down to 2ohm which is way more power then this sub is rated for and have had no issues at all so far. This thing is moving big air. I have for many years been solely an Earthquake customer and enthusiast so for me this was a big deal. NVX has impressed me with this product.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Fatboy

Woodruff SC

Overall
Good Buy!!

April 2, 2018

Good Speakers worth the money DOESN'T FEEL CHEAP OR LOOK CHEAP.. Hits real hard will recommend this to anyone who wants a good speaker..

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chadwick

Athens, AL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Nvx vcw154 well built sub

January 1, 2018

Nice size voicecoil gd tensil leads nice magnet price not to bad but bn goin up a lil.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

larry

Mt. Vernon, KY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Better than expected

August 12, 2017

I love this sub it slams hard on only 750rms still trying to make my mind up on the perfect amp to run at 1000rms but for what this amp cost it was money well spent. Just have the right box and a good amp and you will be amazed by the lows and how good it sounds. Definitely would recommend for anyone who wants a daily sub that pounds

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

holly

CA

Overall
LOUD

June 6, 2017

THIS GOT LOUD AND HIT ALOT OF NOTES ONCE IN A WHILE SOME LOW NOTES DISTORTED BUT MAN WAS IT AWESOME WISH I DIDNT SELL IT!!!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

aj

Batavia, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
great value!

April 16, 2017

woah this sub for the money is fantastic it slams so hard over all a 8 out of 10

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jayjay

Red bluff. Ca

Overall
Amazing value.

December 28, 2016

You feed these subs clean power in a solid box and be amazed. How do they sell these for so cheap? I'm buying another immediately before people catch on to this brand and the price goes up.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

george

Yuba City, CA

Overall
Beast

July 23, 2016

This speaker is a beast , can handle big watts running just one on a Brutus brx2400.1

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Las Vegas, NV

Overall
Nvx15

July 3, 2016

This is a first impression, as I have not hooked them up yet. But my first impression is that they look to be very well built woofers. I can't believe I bought them at the price I paid. Once I hook them up I will update my post.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Biff Nasty

Jackson Michigan

Overall
Awesome!!

June 29, 2016

Im running 1 15 (waiting to order another) in a custom sealed box. This is the first 15 I've ever owned and I absolutely love it. I've always ran 12s because i listen to a lot of rock and heavy metal and I've had just about every brand you can think of. I stepped up to a 15 for the first time and this thing is awesome!! Sounds tight and clean even in the fast drum beats and slams when listening to rap and hip hop. I promise you will get more then you pay for with these subs.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Couchaudio

DFW texas

Overall
So far, so goooood

June 27, 2016

I purchased 4 nvx vcw154 from sonic. Built a custom 4th order blow thru in my 98 single cab swb chevy. The box is 7cu sealed and 22 ported. Port is 344 square inch tuned to 44hz. I'm running 2 db drive a6 2800.1 amps which is approximately 2000w each. Subs are wired to 1ohm 2 per amp. The subs have held up for approximately 6hrs total of play time on and off for about a week now. Even though this subs are not specified by design for a 4th order they sound great in the box I built.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dwayne

Wrightsville, GA

Overall
Great product

May 10, 2016

I'm happy with the subwoofer I brought from sonic electronic, the bass is clearly deep, I have a 2000 watts rockville on it and it's screams for more

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

christian

Battle Creek, MI

Overall
omg loud

September 13, 2015

These were the best subs i ever bought for under 300 and much louder than i thought it was going to be

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Phoenix, AZ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good Bang For The Dollar

April 20, 2019

Good quality sub, well built. Hits nice and deep. If you're looking for some hard hitting bass for a good price then this is for you! Very pleased with it, might even buy another one.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Freddy

Kansas City, MO

Verified Purchase
Overall
Very nuce

November 27, 2016

This sub is bangin'! I have it in a sealed box at 1.7 cubes to include displacement. It's paired with a Rockford prime 1200.1d at 2ohms. (Roughly 700-900wrms.)

It's a musical sub. There was no lag in fast paced techno, played rock well and got down/dirty with rap/r&b. Very high output sub. Couldn't imagine it in a ported enclosure.

To sum it up, this sub won't disappoint you.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Shreveport, LA

Overall
Long lasting

May 23, 2019

Recommended. I have had my sub for 2-3 years. Played daily. Very loud. Very Low. I have a crap prefab box. Yet people think I have 2-3 subs in. I have a 1200 watt NVX amp on them. I believe I’m getting 600 to 700 watts out of it the way it’s hooked up. I’m pretty sure it can handle more but I need an extra battery the nvx capacitor is not keeping up.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Brandon

Fair Oaks, CA

Overall
Great Bang for the Buck

May 28, 2017

easily comparable to an SA-15 (sundown audio). great sound quality and response all the way down to 34 hz, gets a little sloppy after that. Definitely do not give it more than 1000 watts RMS because they honestly rated their woofer. i wish they listed the inductance of the voice coil in the specs so i can figure the impedance at any given frequency in the sub bass frequency range. 4 stars

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?