Showing 28 reviews for PLANET AUDIO AC12D 12" 3600W Car Audio Power Subwoofers Subs Woofers DVC (Pair)

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
61%
4 Star
21%
3 Star
7%
2 Star
7%
1 Star
4%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
LDot

Virginia

Overall
Hit Hard!!!!!!

September 30, 2014

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought 2 of these subs and they hit hard. I have them hooked up to a Planet Audio 1900 watt max mono block amp(1400rms@1ohms/1000rms@2ohms). I'm running the amp and speakers on 2ohms. I don't even have the amp turned up half way. I had them in a Bbox vented box and it blew the box apart. Great buy for the money.

63 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ryan Wright

Tucson AZ

Overall
So Far So Good for my Planet Audio AC12D

October 17, 2014

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great sub so far! I Bought this Sub woofer 3 months ago no issues what so ever, still non today. Also, LOL No way this thing will Ever handle 1800 or it's 800 RMS Like it claims. Because I'm running it on a 400 Watt Amplifier & That's almost to much for it with Gain Matched & set correctly. I usually like to deal with Kicker, JL Audio & DD's Subs, but this was something quick and cheap I wanted for a daily driver so far sounds amazing. When you first install it, it's not as loud because "like all sub woofers they go though a Break In period", if you're good with car Audio you'll know what Exactly I'm talking about. Just make sure you set you Gains good with a good Amplifier that has True RMS Rating's marked on it I'm sure you'll be Surprised. I have this Sub in a 2FT Cubic Box in the back of my 90 Ford bronco running off the Left Channel of my Cheapo (VM Audio 1000 Watt Amplifier Class AB RMS is 800) it sounds very good for being 40 bucks. Reason i have it running off one channel and not bridged is because the Sub woofer is 2 Ohms and my Amp is only 4 Ohms Bridged and 2 Ohms per channel. So I had no choice other why's I'd burn up my amp.

54 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

d

b town

Overall
bad

March 22, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Doesn't do anything near rate rms... only had 500 clean watts going to it and it blew within 24hrs during its low volume break in period..

47 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

bangen

southbound, indiana

Overall
awesome

December 1, 2014

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought this speaker because one of my others blew. I'm now gonna buy another. They hit hard!

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Hispanic Mechanic

Helper, UT

Overall
sounds good

November 7, 2014

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

i bought this sub on a very tight budget and wish i would have bought a pair sooner. this sub hits hard and sounds good, one of the better subs I've owned

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tyron

Antioch, CA

Overall
Great Price! Subs Hit Hard!

April 3, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs hit hard. Can be mounted in a truck box, I have a 2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Crew Cab with a Boss Amp and they pound, I've had them a couple of months with no issues and running about 500 watts RMS to each of them. They are clean sounding and honestly, hit as hard as the JL w3's I had before. $40 a woofer, great deal, better than paying $150 a woofer.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jairus

Jackson, TN

Overall
Cheap

March 15, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I purchased this product and installed them. They didn't last no more than 10 minutes. Clearly the sub's are overrated. I put the SPL 3400 mono on them. It was the RMS it said they needed for both. Now I can't use them anymore. I won't recommend these sub's to anyone. Waste of money.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

AVS

Northern Virginia

Overall
I'm extremely happy with this product!

April 7, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I haven't had these for too long but so far I am extremely please with this subwoofer. It was affordable as heck and for the price I couldn't be more happier with the complete setup, just recently bought another car, can't wait to put the other sub in the Genesis!

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Clay

Rockport, IN

Overall
Great subs for great price

May 3, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These are great subwoofers for a good price, they were my first subs, but definitely wont be my last! Easy to install, and they bump

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Daniel gish

Tarkio

Overall
Bass

May 9, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub has been the best sub I have ever bought I would so tell my bass friends and family to buy this sub pounds very good

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

bigphish

new orleans

Overall
decent sub

May 17, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

For the money there is no better designed sub hands down pay attention to the rms rating and you won't be disappointed

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jr

Vancouver. Wa

Overall
Not rated as it says!

April 20, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Its a nice looking sub, i was pounding my truck for about 3 day intill the coil over heated!! So their for its not a 900 rms i was only runing a 900 rms amp and it made it go bad. My audiobahn are only 800 peak power and only rated at 400 rms and they seem like they want more, and i got them hooked on a planet audio ac2600 amp!
Over all this speaker is OK if you run it with a amp of 350rms max that way it want blow or over heat the coil!!!

28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

steve

Lanham, MD

Verified Purchase
Overall
OUTSTANDING SUBWOOFER

June 30, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

did lots of reviews on this sub before i bought them....have them hooked up to a power acoustic 6000d amp running 4 ohms was running 1 ohm . running them at 1 ohm they are pure monsters but we all know that 1 ohm dont last.....any one wanting a great sub for the money these are them

17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Taylor

Provo, UT

Overall
Great sub, even if you wire it wrong

June 10, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

So as it turns out, I'm a HUGE moron and have been wiring my subs wrong. Single sub's havn't been bad, but I got two of these and wired them way wrong. I simply didn't understand... Doing the math on it, I had my dual subs wired in a way that brough the resistance to 1 ohm. These subs aren't rated for that... Neither is my 3000w amp. SO I had them wired in 1ohm, bridged on a 3000w 4ohm amp... They lasted a good 3 months like this, until they blew, and hit so hard my whole apartment hated me! (deal with it).

In the end. I got a lot more out of these subs than I was expecting, especially for wiring them wrong. Now it makes sense why my amp kept popping fuses... I've upgraded to Rockford T2's, and i'll see if the amp still performs after I rewire them correctly. Glad I caught this!

VERY impressed with these subs. Bought in a 4 pack. Other two were on a 500w amp.. so they're still healthy. Will rewire correctly and increase to 1000w. Definitely would buy some again.

17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Georgetown,Ky

Overall
you get what you pay for.

August 11, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought this sub thinking I would run it in my ported box in the trunk of my Challenger for some extra bass. I hooked it up to a planet audio amp I bought from sonic electronics as well. The amp has held up pretty well except it has fried two 12 inch speakers. This AC12D and also a JLW3V0 as well. The Ac12d lasted 4 days before it got stuck, definitely not what I expected. It sounded pretty good up to that point but I won't purchase it again. They are best suited for low power amps or maybe I just got a lemon.

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Parumpumpumpum

Maricopa AZ

Overall
kick azz subs

July 21, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I heard these at a local electronics store and they pounded pretty good running off a Hifonics mono block amp not sure of the wattage rating and they reproduced fairly clean and accurate bass notes even in the low 808 kick drum frequencies . Then I put some good ole rock and roll to them and it had pretty decent tight bass notes. For the money you cant beat this sub then again... You still get what you pay for so fair warning. I was looking at the jl audio w3's and I don't have the budget for those so I got 4 of these. They look sleek and sexy and sound pretty decent for the money. Pretty loud too !!!

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

kev

Monroe, Ga

Overall
Sound great

August 27, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I had 6 of these in a sealed box in the back of my trailblazer. Pushing them with a planet audio 5000. They hit great.

9 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chuck

Louisville, KY

Verified Purchase
Overall
(502) 4 12s on 5k

January 18, 2016

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I'm from Louisville KY and let me tell u this..After breaking in my new AC12D yeah 4 of them on planet audio 5k everything is shaking my mirror fell off and u cant keep a lighter lit in my car I put them in a 81 g body cutlass supreme...CAN U SAY BEAT..good speakers and wonderful amp I must say...

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dan

Visalia, CA

Overall
Great budget subwoofer

November 18, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I'm in love with this subwoofer. I power it with the planet audio anarchy 1500.1 amp, which is slightly overpowered, but turned down the bass and this thing still impresses me.

Pros:
High RMS rating
DVC
Price!!!
Frequency response. Very deep bass with this one

Cons:
I didn't buy two =D

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

West

Moberly MO

Overall
Just got a pair

September 2, 2016

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Just Bought a pair of these now i do admit i wouldn't over power these, For a budget build i would use these but on a real note. I have seen some of the reviews on here any sub can blow on a big amp not in the right box are to much bass knob every sub has to be broken in and a 24 hour period it can take a week to a month some time to break a sub in. These i would give a week to break in. Fist week i will put them on a small powered amp like a 500 to 600 watt amp on a 4 ohm load then week after put them on a 1000 watt for a week then after that put them on my big boy amp my 4000.1 on a 4 ohm load

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Philip

Aurora, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Planet Audio AC12D

April 22, 2020

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs are a great value for the money. Paired them with the Planet Audio AC4000.1D amplifier @ 1ohm. Perfect pairing. Sounds much better than the Boss subs I got as a reward from my work. They're not Rockford Fosgate or JL Audio, but if they last a year or more, they'll be well worth it. I'll give them 5 stars for the initial performance.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Birmingham, AL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Beats hard and low

March 6, 2019

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought these subs because of the price I have them on a Massive audio E2 1600.2 only running about 400 RMS at 2 ohms in a custom down firing box in my volvo v70 and they have the doors and roof shaking I would recommend them to anyone looking for deep bass on a budget

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jesse

Medford Oregon

Overall
Good speaker

November 28, 2016

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

A good speaker for the price. In my opinion they are better subwoofers than brands like; dual, Pyle, boss, ect. They sound good and handle a decent amount of power. At 40 bucks you can't go wrong

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Brandon

Lincoln University, PA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Okay for the Money.

December 18, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

It works fine, adjustment with bass knob is almost nonexistant. Emailed Boss audio who make Planet Audio they sent a new one out immediately. Didn't fix the issue so it must be that it doesn't have much of a adjustment.

Amp is seriously overrated power wise. I wasn't looking for some powerhouse amp but i did expect just a bit more from this.

It looks good at night with what lights up and is a decent looking amp.

Install isn't that great as they have a real deep and narrow screw hole to put mounting screws in and most of my bits didn't fit. had to make something up to screw it to trim piece. Also the phillips screw terminals for wiring are a joke. Stripped out and still loose. Replaced them with what i had laying around and it still wasn't great.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

twin

little rock, ar

Overall
Nice for the price

December 8, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Once broken in, speaker has great bass quality. RMS is not what is rated but nice sub for price.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Newberry, FL

Overall
Good starter subs

October 25, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

It's a monster at 2 oh but sound better at 4 but takes a lot more power

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Duckhunter0699

Hot springs,ar

Overall
Love then

September 27, 2015

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs are the best , especially for the price. I bought 4 , but ended up only using 2. I built a box to spec and hit freaking awesome. My son has already knocked his rear mirror off and busted windshield, i think i may have over done it for his first system and vehicle. I have them paired up on the 5000 watt mono amp running at 1 ohm.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rick

Kalispell,mt

Overall
Kick ass subs

March 6, 2021

The following review is for AC12D, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Don't listen to the negative reviews. Bought two of these with the 4000-watt mono 1-ohm stable amp planet audio offers. System hits hard. Leave your "gain" control down and it will last a long time with great-sounding music.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?