Showing 400 reviews for Pioneer GM-D8601 (Ships as 2019 model: Pioneer GM-D8701)

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
70%
4 Star
25%
3 Star
3%
2 Star
3%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Allen

Canada

Overall
Great amp for the $$$$

March 27, 2014

Great amp with the budget people in mind. Pounds my two pioneer 10s in a sealed box amazingly. Bought this amp because of TRUE res wattage, and it definitely puts out. I have these and two ts-w260d4 subs in the smallest box I could find inside my 2014 fiesta titanium. Using a scoche 5 gage amp kit and 500 micro farad cap. Great for metal and ok for bassy music. I would give it a 9/10 due to screws coming loose on speaker terminals after a couple weeks of pounding. XD

50 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Leilani

Las Vegas, NV

Overall
Amp'd

September 20, 2014

Amp is compact, nice looking, installed under Jeep seat and gives my 2 12" Rockford Fosgate subs the power they need for loud and pounding bass.

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Timothy

Charleston, SC

Overall
Strong for only pushing 800 watts!

February 16, 2014

Decent amp for the price I got for it. Size is my favorite. Would recommend.

47 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Derek

Overland Park, KS

Overall
Great amp!

September 24, 2013

I simply love this amp! I simply hate Pioneer customer service! I got it from Amazon, and after a month the amp died. Little did I know, Amazon was not an authorized online distributor, so the warranty wasn't valid. Luckily, Pioneer said, based on the manufacturing date, they will replace it for free. Lucky me, right! Anyway, I know Pioneer and their amps and great quality and I just happened to get the short end of the stick this time. I will eventually get the higher power version of this amp. Still, this is a great amp!

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mr Holmolka

Congo

Overall
Great Amp with a few minor drawbacks.

September 12, 2013

Installed this amp a few days ago and so far am impressed with it. I currently have it running 1 Rockford 10 P3D4 at 500 watts at a 2 ohm load. I used the supplied speaker level RCA input harness and while I was a little nervous that it wouldn't work as good as regular pre amp inputs it was pleasantly surprised. The amp turns on and off instantly with the radio and seems to be putting out quality sound from this input signal.

The few grips I do have are minor, first is the writing on the side of the amp indicating positive and negative and what inputs are what. This writing is a dark white color on a silver panel, making it very hard to see. I don't know why they didn't use black writing. Something you don't want to mix up shouldn't be hard to read. The other thing I didn't care for was the lack of bass boost on the amp without the remote, you can get the bass boost to work with the remote, but you have to leave it plugged in for it to work. If you unplug it you loose the signal. It would be nice if they some type of memory for when you unplugged it or a stand alone knob on the amp itself if you didn't want to run the remote.

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

cheetamun

Mauritius

Overall
nice amp

January 15, 2015

For that price,its a nice deal. Just that the bass boost knob acts like the volume itself. Overall,you should buy it.To

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Raymond

aurora il

Overall
great sound amp

March 10, 2014

I have this amp wired down to 1 ohm and this thing makes my 12s hit good clear bass. easy to tune and great power for the dollar

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mariah

Eagle Grove, IA

Overall
Great product

October 31, 2013

Easy to install, works well and is worth the price.
~Only problem was the fuses

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Josh

Lakewood, CO

Overall
One of the Best Budget Amps

September 11, 2013

I bought this amp to power a '13 Kicker CompR 12" and it hits hard and stays clean. Amp stays cool. Paired with Pioneer Head Unit. The new Kicker CompR has an impedance selector to switch it from 4ohm to 1ohm. This amp is 1ohm stable at 800w RMS which is exactly what the woofer is rated for, so its a perfect match.

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Taz

India

Overall
Great, handling two subs

April 12, 2013

Immediately after I bought this amp it has been there upto my expectations. right now I'm running two pioneer D4's and it completely handles them. the bass is insane if i turn the bass knob... loving it... no heating issues as well

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Littleton, CO

Overall
Really really nice

December 16, 2013

I have zero complaints, the install was easy (like most amps), and I'm powering two 12's, it doesn't suck energy when the car is off, and I haven't noticed any distortion in the sound, very nice, very loud. The bass controller is a nice touch too.

37 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Milwaukee, WI

Overall
Prefect match.

September 18, 2013

I have this amp hooked up to a P2D4-8 with a stock stereo. If I was going to up grade the whole stereo (head unit, and ALL speakers) I would go bigger. But I'm not and this set up works very well to get that little extra bass missing with the stock stereo and more than a small all in one sub-amp-box.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Scarborough, ME

Overall
nice amp for the price

January 29, 2015

Great amp, good look to it really nice and glossy, nice connectors. Would of liked more tuning options but the lpf and gain do the trick.

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jeepslam

tampa fl

Overall
incredible

April 15, 2015

so this amp is awesome I just got it installed a couple of weeks a go and it slams . I have 2 alpine swa 12sin a ported box they are 250 rms a piece wired together for a 2 ohm load and this amp puts out 500 at 2ohms perfect match I have the gain set at a little over half its clean and loud stays cool I run it hard this amp shakes the windows on my house . so im about to do a upgrade add another 12 wow yep 3 12s .wired together to make . 1.33ohm load a total rms of 750 watts this amp will put out 800 rms of clean power at 1ohm and stay cool doing so .this amp gives some high power options so buy one

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

lovelie

Canada

Overall
really awsome

July 5, 2015

really good product works awsome pounds really hard really loud

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jb

Shreveport, LA

Verified Purchase
Overall
a lot of bang for the buck!!!!

May 5, 2015

this amp has been great so far I would recommend it for anyone starting out and the price was great to

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Drew

Canada

Overall
Well....

July 24, 2015

I'm pretty sure this will do roughly do it's 300W RMS into 4 ohms, but 500W RMS into 2 ohms I think is pushing it pretty hard. As for 800W RMS into 1 ohms - I have very strong doubts about that (and if it does, it surely won't for very long at all). I normally run mine into a 2 ohm load, and the two single 4 ohm subs do sound great with excellent punch and clarity. However - I've got the gain dialed back to limit power to 250W RMS (so the sub's compliment the rest of my system as opposed to being louder) - and I notice the amp gets a little too warm to the touch (it's not burn your skin up hot, just it should run a little cooler). Features - well, the 18db bass boost is ridiculous. If you had this properly dialed to put out the 500W RMS, you really think a 3 db boost is good idea let alone an 18db boost? It's also at 50hz, and that is way too high up the frequency spectrum in my books. So I say it's better to control the sub with your deck's sub level if needed. The crossover is 2nd order and adjustable, and works fine. And thats it for features. Peaked at the internals, and some aspects impress while other's don't. Beefy transformers, appears to be a double sided board, no trace wires running around, only one short bus bar, but still built to a budget - couldn't help but not notice the short life capacitors (only rated for 2000 hours and a max temp of 105 degree's). Not sure who actually makes the board, but the model number etched into it is definitely not the Pioneer model - defiantly a rebadge. For the money, it can work for you (It does work fine and it has been reliable for me) - but frankly I'd skip over this amp as you can get much better bang for your hard earned money else where.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

domingo

Argentina

Overall
PIONEER TS-W2502D2

September 2, 2015

TENGO ESTE PIONEER Y VA DE 10. CON ESTE WOOFER 800W RMS SON SUFICIENTES PARA MI LO RECOMIENDO Y GRACIAS A SONYELECTRONIX POR VENDER ESTOS PRODUCTOS . DESDE ARGENTINA UN ABRASO ENORME !!!!

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Decatur, TN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Unbelievable

November 23, 2019

The following review is for GM-D8701, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I will never by another amp other than this model. Easy installation and great bass pioneer really knows how to make my neighborhood mad .... I love it

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Southern

Headland,AL

Overall
Good deal

December 31, 2016

Good quality amp. Easy to use. Good company. Works great for subs.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jon

Tyrone, PA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Amazing power

July 6, 2016

Have this hooked up to a single Pioneer TS-W3003D4 in a ported box. Holy crap it's loud! I just wanted some decent bass but I got much more than I could have ever imagined. My single sub set-up is louder than my friends 2 sub setups. I set the gain and tuned it with an O-scope and multimeter. With this wired at 2 ohms, and a 50 hz test tone, I measured 588 watts before any sign of clipping. As long as you give this a solid ground, it will never shut off or give you any problems. Just powerful and reliable performance. What are you waiting for ??
PROS: Great value, great quality, CEA certified and exceeds rating.
CONS: Does not have a subsonic filter.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lou

Kerrville, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Your Neighbors will Hate you!

April 17, 2020

The following review is for GM-D8701, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Thanks to this little Power House, my neighbors now hate me and my son. I bought my son this amp, a box, and a pair of 10" Kicker (43CVR104) wired them parallel to 1ohm and Boom, we had ourselves a Thumper that was sure to rattle some windows in the neighborhood. He definitely gets some hated looks driving down the road thumping, but that could also be because he is a cowboy (yes hat and all, all the time) (Ridin Bulls...Punchin Fools) (yee..yee) (Mullet to Match) you get the picture...that drives down the road listening to "Booty Meat" "BOP" "Slingshot" and my all time most hated "Flexin"!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Christopher

Hawthorne, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Very Good Product

April 13, 2020

The following review is for GM-D8701, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This product,the Pioneer 8701 is a very good buy for anyone looking for a good subwoofer bass amp. I use 500 watt 2 ohm configuration and it drives my dvc subs with ease and creates strong lows. I have no cons about it. I would definitely recommend to a friend.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Glen

Newalla, OK

Verified Purchase
Overall
Amazing af

February 1, 2020

The following review is for GM-D8701, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This amp exceeds all my expectations!!! Amazing power and super easy to install!!!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

San Diego

Overall
Happy customer

December 8, 2019

The following review is for GM-D8701, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This product has been amazing so far as long as wired to a T then performs as expected.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Evan

Canada

Overall
Amazing price

February 4, 2017

Without knowing much about car audio, I bought 2 12 inch subwoofers. So I reached out to find out what amp to buy with them and ended up choosing this one. For the price you can't beat it. It's a great little amp. The only thing I wish I knew is that it draws so much energy from my car that I no longer have working headlights. I'm still working on getting that fixed. But the amp is great!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

MRDOTJC

STL, MO

Overall
Great Budget 1ohm Amp

January 18, 2017

I no longer have this amp as I needed a little more push to 2 JL 12W6v2. I will say this amp got the job done and is still a nice amp to have. I'd definitely get it hooked up and running at 1ohm. It is certified so 800w RMS is no problem. It is also basic and easy to use. Even comes with a bass knob.
The one con is no fancy lighting but that isn't needed unless for show.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Fordf350

Virginia beach va

Overall
1 month in and not a flaw

November 16, 2015

This amp, as stated is 1 ohm stable. I am running it in 1 ohm with 2 shallow mount fosgate 10s. Not a complaint. Included bass knob functions well. Nice sound and is a great fit for the truck!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dale

Mobile,AL

Overall
Pioneer GM-D8601 (Ships as 2019 model: Pioneer GM-D8701)

December 22, 2019

This Amp wasn't the amp that was advertised in the ad .I wanted champion series pioneer but the model they sent me was sold in place of the pro series model that i wanted .This replacement still might be just as great but just surprised when a different Amp was shipped.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Hoover, Al

Overall
Great Amp

November 24, 2019

Sounds great! Pushes my two kicker 10’s like a champ. Would definitely recommend

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Baton rouge, LA

Overall
Very good quality

February 27, 2019

I've only had this for a day, so I cant speak about longevity. But, I've used pioneer maps before because of the quality and price. I feel like they are in the mid range. Not as high as JL, not as low as boss. But the quality is up there. Solid dependable brand like honda or Toyota.

Now, I have this pushing a 300 watt 4 ohm JL 12" w0 subwoofer in the ported box that you can buy from this site. That sub is perfect btw in every way! The best I've ever gotten. Anyway. This amp will do what it needs to do for the price. And the fact that it can push 1 at 300. 2 at 250 a piece, 4 at 200 a piece is great because you can buy it knowing if you want to add another sub you will still get great results! At 129...come on man. It's worth it. A $40 100000000000 watt boss amp is a waste of time. Most places wont insure work done on those anyway. If you want high quality name brand go ahead and pay, but pioneer is high quality without the price, trust me I've used them for years. Maybe paying more for a JL sub is better, probably because their speakers are better than pioneer, but for the price of this amp you get a solid deal

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Long Island, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good buy !

December 9, 2018

This is a great amp for the price. Doesn't heat up, has two fuses which is always a positive. Only con about this amp is that it has only two subwoofer control settings. But for the price and size of this amp, perfect buy.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Brentwood, n.y.

Overall
Pioneer GM-D8601

June 23, 2018

Very good sound. Used it on pioneer 10 inch subwoofers. Didn't get hot at all.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

fed way, wa

Overall
Pioneer GM-D8601

June 3, 2018

I've always used pioneer amps, and this one is great, like all my others. The only real drawback is the lack terminal connections. You must feed it bare wire, which I don't prefer. Otherwise, it has a sturdy constructed feel to it, a good range of power output, and built in safety features to protect itself beyond just fuses. It's also relatively small in size, so it was easy to put where i wanted it.
-would recommend

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Roger

Melbourne, Ar

Overall
Nice, compact and plenty of power

April 15, 2018

This little amp is a beast. It powers my 2 NVX 8's to their max. A great match at a 2 ohm load. Solid 500 watts @ 2 ohms.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Pracen

Tampa Fl

Overall
Awesome amps

March 14, 2018

These are great, i got 2 of them running my 2 pioneer 12s. These amps definately put in the work

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Thomas

Mesa, Az

Overall
Awesome Amp

March 12, 2018

I purchased this amp originally to use it 800watts at 1 ohm but instead went with 500watts at 2 ohm to try to ease the load on my charging system. Amp runs nice and cool and the power is plentiful. Saw a review where the amp dynos above rating and I have no doubt its doing what its rated at. Only gripe is I mounted my amp to the sub box and its a little hard to hook up the wiring as it comes in from the underside of the amp and the screw is at the top. It wasnt terrible because the NVX 4 gauge wiring is ultra soft but I can see how it maybe a problem for stiffer wires. I chose to mount to the box so I wont ding the product for my choice.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sirr Christopher

Marion, LA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Decent amp for the money.

January 14, 2018

Pushing a Massive Audio GTX-104 at 2ohms with this little amp.
It performs great!
Be aware though thay there is no subsonic filter.
Other than that, for the price it's hard to find an amp doing rated power.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jason

Ponchatoula, LA

Verified Purchase
Overall
great buy

June 4, 2016

I bought this amp a few months ago and it does great for me. I have it pushing 2 polk subs at 1 ohm and have had no problems. I liked it so much that I bought another one for my son

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

DBUS

Canada

Overall
Very powerful for footprint it occupies

May 27, 2016

I have this amp hooked up to a dvc 10" (2 ohm) MTX sub in a ported box and it pounds out the bass notes with authority in my small sedan.
I would definitely recommend this amp to anyone running a single DVC sub in a medium vented box.
I've had it in my car for over 2 years and no issues whatsoever.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

TRM

Iowa city, Iowa

Overall
Have only tested so far.

February 11, 2016

I actually installed this series of amp and subwoofer in a friend's car wired down to 1ohm. It makes your ear drums vibrate.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jason

Ponchatoula, LA

Overall
Great value

December 11, 2015

I love this amp. I have had it for about a month and it does its job perfectly. The 2 best things are that it's 1 ohm stable and the watts for the money can't be beat.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Columbus, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Pioneer amp 800 rms 2 ohm

August 23, 2018

Pushes my 750 rms audiopipe great!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Judd

Almena, WI

Overall
RMS lies

March 14, 2016

I'll save you a long review. I have this running 2 old school fosgates at 1 ohm. If this puts out 800 watts sustained at 1 ohm, I'm the Queen of Switzerland (Switzerland has no Queen). The sound quality is mediocre at best as well.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Timothy

Shiloh, NJ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Amazing!

May 21, 2020

I’m using this on a Pioneer TS-A300D4 and AVH-211ex head unit, and I’ve got to say I’m extremely impressed. I’m very big on everything being precise and sounding exactly how it needs to, and this amp does wonders. It provides an extremely clean and deep bass with lots of power. Out of the box it sounds excellent for my sub, and after some fine tuning, it really gives a shake to the old panels. I recommend highly for a cost effective clean sound build.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?