Showing 112 reviews for Polk Audio db1040 (FREE Upgrade to 2017 Model)

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
93%
4 Star
7%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Mark

SC

Overall
Big BOOM for small Bucks!

January 4, 2010

Easily handles 200w RMS. Sounds as good or better than similar 'popular' subs costing 3x as much.

58 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sideskraft

Holland, MI

Overall
Great sound in sealed double enclosure

October 20, 2014

Although I've spent limited time listening to the system in my boat cabin (where the Polks reside), so far I'm happy with the sound. They're installed in a dual sealed enclosure (I think 0.7cuft per driver) and they are driven by the 5th channel on a Cadence F100-5 amp and complementing four MB Quart PVL216 6.5" full-range component speakers (which I really like). I'm much happier with the "neutrality" and accuracy of this setup as compared to a single 10" sub in a vented enclosure, which was boomier and had obvious peaks at certain frequencies that obviously colored the music (rather than just reproducing it). The Polks are tight and play every frequency evenly (I listen mostly to 70s/80s rock, fusion and prog). I have not tried any other subs in this enclosure so I can't compare them to another brand or style, but I would definitely buy them if I had to do it over again.

55 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

gutman121

Alpharetta, GA

Overall
Sound Amazingg!!!

January 23, 2011

I got two of these for Christmas along with the 1000.2 watt crunch amp and they dound amazing in my dodge ram. I am in a family of subs and these top all. Great value and sound Amazing!! must have

52 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Oklahoma City, OK

Overall
Provides the Missing Bass

August 30, 2011

This sub works great. Previously, my '02 LeSabre had nice sound with a Clarion head unit driving Sony ExPlode speakers in the door and back. I purchased this sub, an enclosure with a Jensen amp recommended by the excellent phone hostess. Within a week I had it professionally installed and I tuned the bass to fill in what was missing. It provides oomph and subtle warmth. when cranked, it performs admirably without cracking. A track on Neil Young's Lenoise album literally rattles my teeth. I highly recommend this sub and the matching Jensen amp.

51 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Danville,Va.

Overall
BOOOOOOOOMMMMM

September 17, 2013

These work great for the money. Running 2 ohm at 300w each... Plenty of bass

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jay

Louisiana

Overall
Good sub!

February 7, 2011

Put one of these in a friends truck on a MA audio amp. Sealed. Sounds great for what he needed.

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lemon Cove

Henderson, NV

Overall
For "normal" listening tastes

August 5, 2013

The db1040 works perfectly to fill in the bass on normal full range music. I have this powered by the sub out of a Polk 5CH amp that is also powering my 2 sets of Focal 5.25" coaxials. The blend of the bass from the db1040 and the other speakers provide a nice and "full" listening experience in my vw camper van.

46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bobby T

Youngstown, OH

Overall
Great Subs!

March 23, 2012

I bought two of these for my 94 accord and ran them too a 2 ohm load (1000watts 500 each) and these little 10s pound! great subs for the price and they do get loud! i would recommend these to anybody looking for some good sound on a budget!

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

joshua

hamilton, OH

Overall
Great Value

June 30, 2010

Have 2 of them in the back seat of a boat they sound great and hit pretty good for what you get.

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

DJ

Plainwell, MI

Overall
ear hurting bass!!!!!

June 18, 2010

I just got 2 of these bad boys and woah. they are only hooked up at 4ohms getting 300watts, and they are twice as loud as my 2 comp MA audios that were getting 500watts each at 1ohm and I only have my amp at a 1/4 gain for the break in period and my can hear me coming from about a mile away and there is no looking out the rear view mirror cause it rattles so much. There is absolutely no cons to this sub all pros. So if your tight on cash they are the sub for you

47 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lemon Cove

Henderson, NV

Overall
Just as hoped for

August 5, 2013

The Polk db1040 is just the ticket. It powers my 2 sets of Focal 5.25" coaxials and a 10" Polk sub thru an Alpine head unit. I have very good dynamic range and no distortion at levels that can go way louder than I will ever need.

I like the remote (wired) subwoofer level control to adjust for the varying EQ on my music.

An older Alpine 5 ch amp I have in another car tends to overheat and cut out. I've never had that happen in the 6 months of use since I installed the Polk. I'm very satisfied.

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bill

Colorado

Overall
Love em

January 9, 2014

Have 2 of these in a sealed box running 250RMS to each of them. They are clear and have plenty of low end. When I first got them I was like eh.....I could use a little more output because I'm used to my JL 12w3v3 but once they broke in they really took off and play all types of music great and get LOUD. Tight on rock (feel it in my chest), boom on hip hop/rap (shakes the whole interior). I recommend them to everyone that is looking for an amazing budget sub. I still like my JL's a little more but they are bigger and get more power and cost $200 more. Better than the Power Bass 10's I had though.

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rob

Canada

Overall
db1040 Subwoofer

September 10, 2013

I was originally skeptical about this sub due to the low cost and low wattage ratings, but after having this sub for about six months, (and after having been broken in), I am definitely very happy that I purchased it. It doesn't pack as much punch as some other subs that I have owned (Alpine's, JL's) but those were also higher powered and in specific boxes designed for them. This sub is very clean sounding and adds a great low end to your music. I would recommend using a 600 RMS or higher amp however, the amp that I am using is 400 max (about 185 @ 4 Ohms), and it is definitely under powered so I can't crank the volume for fear of clipping.

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Richard

$city, $state

Overall
These sound awesome

March 9, 2018

The following review is for DB 1042 SVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great looking sub and unboxing was very satisfying. lol........they hit hard and sound great

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bobby

$city, $state

Overall
Great sound

February 3, 2018

The following review is for DB 1042 SVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Best sound for the money for sure! It handles all the power you throw at it with ease.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Dallas, TX

Overall
Very Impressed

April 18, 2019

The following review is for DB 1042 SVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Very impressed with the sub. Running 2 at 2 ohms taking 500 watts. They sound great out of the box. Have them in a small enclosure so the shallow profile helps. Expected them to have limited low end due to the shallow design but thats not the case. They take all the power we've thrown at them beyond what we would listen to on the regular. At high levels the sub keeps thumping out clear bass. Highly recommend.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Luc

Canada

Verified Purchase
Overall
Quick shipping

April 19, 2016

I've received the product within a week and it works great in my boat

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bonds

Albuquerque, NM

Overall
More bass for your buck!!!

February 16, 2021

The following review is for DB 1042 SVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

The old adage says, " you get what you pay for," but herein lies the exception to the rule. You get way more than what you pay for, and you pay a sticker price of $69 on average. The sub is two-fold, it's rated for marine use and audio as well. The durable cone makes it ideal for moving from one setup to another. In my opinion, the shallow cone is a benefit due to the many available dimensions in box sizes of your liking. For a middle-of-the-road sub, this Polk feels like your on par with the giants but not the giant prices. Highly recommended and it won't be long before your showing off the hard thumps to friends or maybe just upsetting the neighbors due to the family portrait constantly rattling off the mantle as you drive by slowly, immersed in a textual deep nod. Have the system bumping and you could win money betting others that audio mastery they feel rang up for less than $100. Open a new bank account, you're going to need a place to put all your winnings. The sound tribe dude abides!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?