Showing 20 reviews for Rockford Fosgate Prime R2D2-12 (Open Box, Damaged Packaging)

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
85%
4 Star
10%
3 Star
5%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Drew

Belleville , MI

Overall
Great Value

July 15, 2011

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have 2 of theses but at duel 4 ohm. they are crisp sounding and are great for a beginner or just for someone looking for great sound. i have them hooked up to a soundstorm 2.2000 amp with the gain about half way. the only real con i think is that they can not handle a lot of watts even the rated watts push them kinda hard so i would get a warranty just in case if you abuse your subwoofers.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Slandis3

Tipp City, OH

Overall
Good buy

March 10, 2014

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I would recommend these for anyone wanting entry level bass in their car. The fit is great, binding post are well made and hold the wires tight. Only bad is the rubber surrounds are really soft and will tear very easily if you get something aginst them.

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Petey

Idaho Falls, Idaho

Overall
Great Sub

August 12, 2012

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have had 2 of these hooked up for about 6 months now and haven't had a single problem yet. They hit hard for the price and look very clean and crisp. Honestly to the average person who wants a system these if hooked up right and to a good amp will blow you away. If you are one of those people who already has a taste for subs and wants something crazy, spend a little more money and get something else.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Blazn_1

Polson,MT

Overall
You get what you pay for.

October 7, 2013

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I like how the sound hits hard, but it just can't handle the heat. I have it evenly matched with a 200 watt rms amp @4 ohm and it sounds great at first but after a 2 hard bass songs @ 3/4 power you can smell them :( they get hot. My last sub I replaced it for didn't get hot that fast, I could go an hour full power. I think maybe I should go with the punch sieres just $30 more. 250 rms yah for 1 min. I hope better from the P2 d2 we'll see?!

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jet

NC

Overall
Its Rockford.. whats not too love?

March 22, 2013

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought 2 of these and I knew they would be good since they're Rockford's but I only have one installed right now powered by a very old Alpine V12 120 watt amp which is nowhere near enough and its a 4ohm amp so if I bridge it the amp cuts off periodically, so its pushing about 60 or so watts to this speaker and it still sounds awesome, it's clear and would be pretty loud if it has the right wattage, and hits some pretty low notes, overall it's an amazing budget sub, but if you want too be really loud go with the p2, p3, or a power... once you own a Rockford they will ruin all other brands for you.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Canada

Overall
Worth the price

September 10, 2012

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub it worth it's price as long as you give it enough power it does the job. I'm only feeding it 240W in a sealed box and my gain control is only half way with my head unit sub control on -16! The sub produces just the right bass not too soft and not too punchy. Awesome sub for a budget SQ or loud and clear setup!

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Austin

Pine Haven, WY

Overall
Love it.

June 20, 2012

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have this sub wired up at 4 ohms giving it about 300 watts. Let me tell you, this sub hits for only costing $70. I've been running full tilt for about a year and haven't a single problem.

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

skully

grand island nebraska

Overall
you want these.

September 17, 2013

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I installed 2 of these in my 95 silverado with an under seat box running a Kenwood excelon head unit And 1000w Kenwood amp... 2 hours after hooking them up I hit 140.7 at the local db drag at roughly 3/4 power. Now after having more time tuning my amp And head unit I'm very curious to see how they do. I run them hard on a daily basis And not once have I had a problem. And they hit pretty hard for the cost.

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

SlyGuy

Columbus, GA

Overall
One word - "Quality"

September 4, 2012

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These are GREAT subs. I just received the 2 I ordered today so they are not fully broke in yet but still sounded awesome straight out the box. I am using a sealed enclosure and I'm very impressed. The prices are unbeatabl

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Timmy

Saint Cloud, MN

Overall
Good Sound Quality

March 19, 2012

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs are very good beginner subs but they aren't going to tear a car apart with spl. I have two running from a Soundstorm 2000 watt amp like the other person that wrote a review on these. That amp pushes about 375 watts to each sub at 4 ohms, and they can't handle the full power, but they do sound really great. These speakers look sexy and are built very well. If I were to do it again I would have spend 25 dollars more and got something a little nicer.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

fisher

pensacola,Fl

Overall
great value and price

April 20, 2015

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

the subwoofer is awesome. it was a good price to

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Guntersville Alabama

Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R2D2-12

August 18, 2018

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I would recommend this especially of u low on funds. I have it set up in my single cab dodge ram

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

SIOUX CITY, IA

Overall
good buy

January 7, 2018

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought one of these and put it in a sealed box. The amp I am using is a R Fosgate 7001bd. The amp has too much power so the gain is set somewhere around half. I'll be 50 this year and I guess I don't like super loud bass anymore but I need some bass. My 07 accord's stock system doesn't cut it. Now the sub is doing a great job and is about what I expected. Nice lows and sounds great when I do turn it up.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Zach

Painesville. Ohio

Overall
Amazing Sound

October 1, 2016

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Never bought anything from them before, but after this, i only want Rockford Fosgate

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Edward

Sparks nv

Overall
Excellent value

April 22, 2016

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Product sounds good. does not cost very much. And just the amount of bass you want

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

AudioFanatic

North Carolina

Overall
Value and Performance

April 17, 2021

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This subwoofer is a great entry-level product that really shines in performance. I'm not new to car audio I remember hooking up car stereos for my buddies in high school back in the 2000s. This Rockford Fosgate sub reminds me of subs that easily cost 2-3 times as much less than ten years ago in loudness, clarity, and power handling. Sonic Electronix and Rockford Fosgate really nailed it. I'll definitely be doing more business with both in the next upcoming projects. Fast and easy delivery was a nice Bonus Too!!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Payette, ID

Verified Purchase
Overall
Nice bass

August 12, 2019

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I compared these with the punch P1S4-12 and by surprise they sound very close to the same the only difference between them is the prime seems to have better foot bass. Definitely recommend for rock or heavy metal music they bring out some serious beats

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Pacolet,South Carolina

Overall
Great product

July 15, 2019

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great product hits super hard and they are a good price

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Evan

Oakdale, CT

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome sound

May 8, 2020

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great bang for your buck or boom for your buck! Clean bass!! Great price

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Carloes

Santa Clarita, CA

Overall
Good speaker

March 13, 2016

The following review is for R2D2-12, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Nice sub good base happy with it would recommend good buy.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?