Showing 45 reviews for Rockford Fosgate Prime R2D4-10

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
78%
4 Star
13%
3 Star
7%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
2%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Mark

Chariton, IA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great sound

June 8, 2015

Best sub I've used. Have tried infinity, alpine, crunch, and some off brands in the same price range. This one sounds way better. Deeper and louder. Very tight, crisp. In a 1.1 cu. Box. 500 watt amp

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Franklin

Huntsville, AL

Overall
Crisp & Breathtaking Bass

September 7, 2014

Paired up with my Boss R1100M and Belva MDFS10, this makes the best single sub setup for the money! Bass is perfect and not overwhelming like my 2 12s were. Very smooth bass. 100% recommend. This is in my daily driven car and I've been running it for a while. Rockford Fosgate

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Johnny

Hazleton, PA

Overall
Very good sub

December 27, 2012

These subs hit nice with the right power also in a ported box. You can max these out too with sound. Nice and gives you the sound quality you want.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Scott V

Killeen, TX

Overall
Good Entry Level Sub

October 22, 2014

I always build my boxes myself never buy prefabs. I built a box sealed at .8 and the sub sounded really well for $50. Rockford did a good job with this one. Definitely fills up a 1998 mustang. I just ran one and it's lasted well for two years now run on a 200 watt amp. I would buy again if on a budget.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Edmond, OK

Overall
F150 Supercrew

March 9, 2014

I was looking to put some bass into the sound system I was building for the truck. As I have gotten older I was wanting a good SQ set up. I chose this sub for its value, wattage handling, & the dvc. I built the box and got it powered using a channel amp and it has delivered. I cannot comment on the durability as I have only had it a month but so far so good.

28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mark

New Orleans

Overall
Rockford fosgate R2D4-10

September 30, 2013

Great sound and bass also great quality speaker for the price.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

bri bug 2016

columbus, ohio

Overall
rockford fosgate r2d4- 10

March 9, 2015

My brother bought me this sub for my birthday, he has dual 12 inch hifonics running 800 watts a piece. My single 10 inch can keep up with his dual 12's if you are looking for good reliable bass I would say that the r2d4 is your best bet.

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Randy

Salisbury, NC

Overall
nice loud sub

January 2, 2013

I have one of these in a custom ported box tuned at 40hz powered by a boss 1100 watt amp. Im giving it 250w rms and it sounds great at lower volumes. When I really crank it up I can hear it outside the truck and it rattles body panels, but it dont have as nice sound quality at higher volumes. Overall its a good sub and the price is great.

26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kyle

San Antonio, Texas

Overall
Good Value

October 10, 2011

This sub sounds great. After roughly 15-20 hours of break in time it really starts to shine. It's in the back of my crew cab Tundra in a passive box tuned to 34 Hz with a Dayton Audio 10" passive radiator. It's feeding off of a RF 300.1 and after breaking it in it keeps up with the amps power. I have bottomed it out before during a torture test but the voicecoil definitely handled every bit. The duel voicecoil is nice too for extra wiring options.

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

K17

Allentown, PA

Overall
great sub and price

August 26, 2011

This sub hits hard and sounds very clear, I went from 2 15s to just one of these. It has plenty of bass and gets the job done well. For the price sonic has it, its a great deal for a great sub

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Randy

Texas (unfortunately)

Overall
GREAT

March 4, 2011

LOVE IT! This sub does a great job of balancing my factory system. I do NOT want people outside my car to hear my music. This sub is perfect. I love it! Looks cool...sounds great...what more could you want?

28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

criz

Sacramento, California

Overall
Very clean sound..

April 24, 2012

This sub hits hard, has some shake to it, and is very clean deep sounding.. Its absolutely amazing for the price.. Rockford fostgate did it again.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rex

Canada

Overall
BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!!!

September 18, 2013

Rockford never ceases to amaze! I picked up 2 of these for the system in my CRX, wired in a series at 2ohms with my amp pushing 300w rms to each channel... WOW. I never expected to get such a clean, tight kick out of a tier 1 sixty or so dollar subwoofer. Whatever your genre is, this little beast will surpass your expectations when tuned correctly. The perfect solution for someone on a budget, I highly recommend it!

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Trevor

Arnold, NE

Overall
Good for a while

January 21, 2013

These subs are great after you give them a couple hours. I had mine for 5 months then they unexpectedly sounded like s***

26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Steve

NOLA

Overall
DOES WORK SON.

May 10, 2012

Yes. Get it. Just put 2 of these in my 2011 Camaro, and now my rearview mirrow is always looking at my feet. Got it in a custom-sealed box hooked up to a mono class D 2000 Watt Power Acoustik (pushes half of what it says) so it worked out perfectly. Slaps harder than I expected, and is a little strong for my stock speakers, so I can't wait to upgrade those too. GREAT BUY! Extremely impressed.

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jacob

Codie d alene, ID

Overall
Awesome

February 18, 2013

Coming from Kicker Comp 8s to these in my Toyota pickup definitely is quite a difference. Put each one in a .58 cu. ft. sealed box behind my seat, and they kick HARD. And I'm someone that doesn't really like to crank it up and pound them to their limit. I decided to port one at 43Hz since that's what Rockford recommends. It puts out way more bass but I think I need to tune it lower since they have some trouble with lower notes that my 8s would pick up. Overall, Rockford is now my go-to stereo brand instead of Kicker. The quality of sound is much better.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Avery

Dallas, Georgia

Overall
Rockford fosgate 10s

July 15, 2014

These speakers work very well and have a good bass hitting sound especially in the lows, very nice speakers and will fit in a single cab with perfect room.

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

JJ

Augusta, GA

Overall
More Than Enough Power!!!

December 7, 2012

I purchased the Rockford Fosgate R2D4-10 because of the Positive reviews and because It was a perfect match for my Rockford Fosgate R250-1D amp. I had (1) of these subs installed in my Ford Explorer using the 8 Gauge Rockford Fosgate RFK8I kit. Also bought the Belva 10" .77cuft sealed box from Sonic. Let me tell you that I really couldnt be more pleased with my system. Sound Quality is excellent. And this combo really BOOMS and HITS HARD!! I wanted something simple and not too overpowering. I really got more than I was expecting. Sonic Electronix provided supurb FAST service. I live on the east coast and ordered Sunday night, recieved Thursday and had everything hooked up Friday morning. I couldn't be any more happy with my purchase. If your looking for a single subwoofer with great sound quality and bass, the R2D4 w/ RF R250-1D amp is MORE THAN ENOUGH POWER!!! You won't be disappointed! Thanks Sonic for the great service, and I will refer you to everyone!

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

g.

newburgh, NY

Overall
Big sound in a little package.

September 28, 2012

Highly recommend these amps. I have two of them in a A-trend box under my back seat in my F-150. The sound is amazing. I blew my installer away. He liked them so much, he's going to carry them in his shop.

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

osteologation

caro, mi

Overall
nothing special

July 26, 2014

They are OK subs. I bought 4 on sale for grins and giggles. They are no where the Sq or spl of my 2 12" alpine type r's. Of curse the 2 alpines cost me more than the 4 of these. Running a kicker cx1200.1 so I am getting 300w rms rated to each sub. I am non plussed and I paid 28 a piece.

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Jacksonville, FL

Overall
Great product

December 11, 2013

This sub hits hard for its size and price. I am pushing around 200 RMS at this guy from a Rockford R400-4D amp. Produces deep bass without any hiccups. Strongly recommend to anyone looking for a sub that isn't too powerful yet delivers strong bass.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

RBB747

Hermosa Beach, CA

Overall
Decent, but not outstanding

April 26, 2012

I bought one of these subs to replace a 10-inch Eclipse 8010 that gave up on me. The Fosgate doesn't hit even half as hard as my Eclipse, and it doesn't hit the deep lows hardly at all. It hits just enough so that I know I have a woofer back there, AND just enough to keep me satisfied until I can get a sub that really hits. If you have been riding around in your car listening to a couple of 5-inch, 3-way speakers and this is your first sub, then it will probably sound great to you. Keep in mind I was spoiled by my previous sub. It truly is a "get what you pay for" game when it comes to car audio.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gavin

Tx

Overall
2010 ram

March 11, 2014

I have 2 of these in a under back seat box and they sound really good with a good amp.

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sal

NY

Overall
Pleasantly surprised

February 23, 2014

I'll be honest, although I've owned Rockford products in the past, I didn't have very high expectations for this sub however, I was pleasantly surprised. The speaker produces rich, deep bass without needing too much power. I have this powered by a Kicker DX250.1 amplifier and the sub is in a vented box. The amp is not even up 1/4 of the way and it hits harder than some high end subs that I've heard and have owned. I highly recommend this for anyone that's not looking to spend much and wants great sound. Shipping was fast and free.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Colin

Muskogee, Oklahoma

Overall
Impressed.

March 17, 2012

This sub impressed me quite a bit. I listen to all kinds of music, and this sub has handled what I threw at it. It's really clean, clear, and crisp. I was going to buy a P110S4, but this sub is a lot like it. The looks are a bit different, but the power ratings, and the fact that its a DVC, is what I like. I have it on a RFP200-2 amp bridged mono to 4ohms. It's all ran from an RF 4g amp kit. 5 stars.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tim

New Florence, PA

Overall
Great sub

November 10, 2012

I was more than pleased with this product. i put two of them in a buddies truck in two sealed boxes i also got from sonic and man do they sound really crisp and clear. they also look great with the standard rockford quality. i would recommend this sub to anyone

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

clayton

little rock, AR

Overall
THESE ARE AMAZING

February 12, 2015

These subs are amazing, they are built really well, have extremely good sound, and I have absolutely no complaints. I have 2 of these in my 2005 Silverado and they hit like 12s with a 1000 watt pyramid amp. You could not find a better deal anywhere on subs as great as these. I personally recommend these to anyone out there looking for a nice system!

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

dchuda

canyon country

Overall
Great Value

September 30, 2013

Great product for money. Handles plenty of power and hits hard. Looks good but its a sub. Would recommend this to anyone thats looking for a 400-600 watt subwoofer!

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

james

Odenville, AL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Fosgate R2D4 10" subwoofers

January 17, 2020

I realy like these subs. They sound realy good at all volumes. The DVC lets you wire them in many differant ways. They are well bulit and a great value.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dennis

Howell, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Incredible price

July 10, 2020

At this price point you can not top these. I am powering these with my old school punch 500 amp and the sound great. Thanks Sonic!!!

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

gilbert

Kingsville, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
I got value for my money

March 24, 2020

I went from an 8" Rockford Fosgate P3 shallow mount I was using in a factory enclosure to this one it sounds way better I should have done this a long time ago.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

TeamNolen Audio

Georgetown, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
RF 10" DVC 4 ohm subs

December 18, 2017

Needed a sub to fit a small sealed enclosure.

Not listening to rap or bass music constantly but would like to have something that "can" perform in that situation.

These subs worked out perfect to add substantial bottom end to a complete system in a crew cab F 150 under the rear seat

I would by them again if needed

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jn

Las vegas, NV

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great performance

April 7, 2020

Good tight bass! Sounds great and excellent value for price

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Fort Wayne, IN

Overall
Great bang for the buck

December 11, 2019

A pair of these went under the back seat of an Avalanche. Space was at a premium forcing the need of a shallow mount speaker. The sealed box matched the volume required for these speakers. We wired the dual voice coils in a combination parallel and series to achieve 4ohms with a bridged Pioneer 1000w amp (420 RMS). Sound is very deep and full but not overly boomy. Very pleased!

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Corryton, TN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R2D4-10

June 1, 2019

Excellent product hit hard sounds great. Paired with the suggested box worked very well.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Travis

Defuniak Springs, FL

Overall
Great subs

January 18, 2016

Fast free shipping....subs sound great....hassle free service thanks...!!!!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Colt

Hamilton, MS

Verified Purchase
Overall
Wonderful buy

March 16, 2020

Great 2-ohm sub if you’re needing something in a small enclosure. It’s under my seat in my ram 1500 and sounds like a 12” sub. I love the dual voice coil. It gives me the ability to run it 2 or 4 ohms. Highly recommended for the price and output.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Wally

Roanoke, VA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Never Disappoints

February 9, 2020

Even as an entry level subwoofer Rockford never lets you down. Hooked this up in a ported box with an old punch 200 I had. Sounds great!!! Would recommend to anyone looking for a little extra bass.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

shenandoah, IA

Overall
awesome

October 17, 2019

have this in a 05 colorado single cab wired to 2ohms with a power acoustiks 2400 watt max amp...gain set less than 1/2 in a q power sealed truck box. slams! looking forward to getting my 2nd one and possibly switching to ported! may not be the most expensive but I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this sub after taking a beating for over a month from everything slipknot to ice cube full blast!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

rob

bristol, IN

Overall
good price excellent speaker

February 6, 2017

very good speaker for the price. they sound excellent in my chevy. I would bye these again if ever need good speakers

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Parker, Colorado

Overall
Koopers Review

October 23, 2018

Rockford Fosgate Sub Woofers

Hopping in a car with Rockford Fosgates installed is a different world. One may not know what Rockford Fosgate sub woofers are but they are pretty self explanatory. They produce a lot of bass which some people can not handle, but I can. Out of all the subs I have installed in my car, these are definitely the best speakers. From what I have learned from having these speakers, they give great bass, can unconnect very easy with just a screw driver, and the best part when you are blasting music the whole neighborhood can hear you even with the windows up.
First thing you look for is the quality and the better they are the more expensive. But when I was looking I wanted to have it where my bass is overpowering, the sound. Any song is good with the right amount of bass. These speakers are meant to be loud so its hard to blow them out. When you have the right set up, doesn't matter who is in the car anyone will like them because you can turn the base all the way up and all the way down. No one can compare speakers with me because Rockford Fostgates are the best. JBL speakers are not the best and I returned them after I had them for a week.

The initialization with Rockford Fostgate speakers are very easy. You just need a screw driver and a brain to unscrew a couple screws. My other subs require other tools to take them out of the box and it was just a pain. When having good speakers it should be easy to install because your paying a lot for something that gives off sound. Its the best to have my speakers turned up loud enough so that people can feel the base as I drive by theirs houses. I share a car with my twin brother. When he comes home and I'm sitting in my room, I can feel and hear my car. However there are some disadvantages because there always is.

Rockford fostgates produce a lot of base but you need a power source for all the power that is needed. They are very good speakers but nothing is perfect. My car is a 1998 and it hasn't had its battery replaced and the subs work perfectly fine. Another downfall to these speakers is that the more you like it being loud the better chance they are going to blow. These speakers are meant to be loud so there is a slim chance that this will happen but it still will. I have had my speakers for about a year now and they have not blown yet or even coming close to it. The final set back on these speakers is that they can over heat the amplifier. They are running such high wattage and sometimes if you play the right song it could blow. All these problems have a slim chance of happening but there is still a chance.
From what I have learned These subs are the best all around. I would give these speakers a 5 out of 5. They give great base , and are really easy to install and uninstall. For the amount of money spent on these they are worth it. I recommend these speakers to any one that loves base. They are perfect for everyone and anyone that loves loud music.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Conover, NC

Overall
Super hard hitting !

July 30, 2018

Only the 2nd pair of Fosgate subs I have ever purchased and not sure why. Great subs for the money !

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bond

Port orange

Overall
It sounds great and I got the item quickly I will tell my friends

January 15, 2017

Well it looks great I don't have screens on my box but they look really nice.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jordan

Front Royal, VA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Decent sub I guess...

April 5, 2021

I’m a huge Rockford fan and have run nothing but Rockford for years in my vehicles. I saw these subs and figured I’d try them since there not much different from the punch series. I bought 2 and paired them with a Rockford 750 RMS 1 ohm mono amp. Plenty of enough power for the subs and not gonna overwork the amp. Both subs are blown and cracking and it hasn’t even been a month since I bought them.. very disappointed in these subs..

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

WB

Roanoke

Overall
Great Speaker

April 12, 2018

I always buy Rockford subs. This one, as always did not disappoint. Would recommend any Rockford subwoofers.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?