Garage
Shop

Rockford Fosgate Punch P2D4-12 - Customer Ratings & Reviews



5 star
88%
4 star
7%
3 star
5%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%



Durability
4.9
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9

Customer Reviews

Sort by:

Loading...

I want 2 more!!!

I currently own 2 of these in a sealed box. Loud, clean, clear and efficient. The really do pack a PUNCH

By mar on December 22, 2013

69

found this helpful.

Amazing "punch" for your buck!

I put 2 of these in my friends buick, and let me tell you, just getting through the break in period, they hit hard, and we were watching them in his trunk and they are barely moving! These things are going to be champ status! Great sound quality, Great price, what more do you need?

By Tom on February 15, 2012

68

found this helpful.

Great Sound!!!

Easy to Install, very customizable and looks great, the sound with the amp is worht the extra weight on it. Recommended !!!

By HECTOR on March 3, 2014

66

found this helpful.

great sub

first subwoofer i ever bought and i have absolutely no complaints whatsoever!!this sub is a great starter sub and it slaps HARD!!!rockford fosgate is a high quality product that will sound amazing and last you for a long time dont think twice about getting this sub

By zmore on June 12, 2012

64

found this helpful.

AMAZING!

Just picked two of these up yesterday and man do they pound and they are not even broken in yet! I also bought a 2 year warranty for each sub.

By Fly Like A G6 on November 26, 2011

64

found this helpful.

Best sub I have ever heard!

I have this sub in my mustang. And WOW. Does this thing hit. I love this sub and never want to get rid of it! This sub is almost to the point of its too loud. I told my friend I was ordering this sub and he told me to get two. glad I didnt. theres no need for anything else for bass. I have it in a belva ported enclosure with a rockford fosgate 500 amp and I am more than happy with my purchase. way more powerful than I thought it would be! buy this product!!!!

By Seth on November 24, 2013

60

found this helpful.

powerfull and affordable!

as with any properly made speaker these speaker have the potential to destroy the silence. If your wire them correctly and understand how the load is distributed you will love these speakers (go to their website and view diagrams). I would not recommend these speakers to you if you bought your amp at a flea market as they will suck the power out and fry your board. Remember big speakers need lots of constant power to perform as needed so don't cheap out on your wires and amps.

By will on September 21, 2011

58

found this helpful.

slammin

I got 2 of these hooked up to 1800 watt kenwood class d in my 89 honda prelude, it hits so hard i gotta hold my breath sometimes because i cant breath when there whammi. These subs are definitly worth it.

By soopa villian on August 21, 2011

58

found this helpful.

Incredible Sound!

I have a pair of the p2d4-12s where my backseat used to sit. Not that I need that much space because they only require 1cu ft of air. But I have them in custom ported enclosures which are consideribly larger. But with just these powered by a Punch T600 you can literally see the air pushing the quarter panels on my car. Stick your head next to the window and you can feel your hair moving. My car is all black so the smooth clean black look with the machined trim ring was a perfect compliment to the "blacked out" look I was trying to keep. They are so much better than the old school 15s I had back in the day which took up so much mor space! I recommend these to anyone looking to upgrade to a great sounding system but doesn't want to lose every inch of you trunk space...

By SCOTT on June 28, 2012

53

found this helpful.

great sub

This sub hits really good and looks great. I have been running it hard non-stop from day one. It sounds powerful, tight and clean. I have also pushed 500W RMS for awhile with no problems, this sub is tough. My only concern is why the basket is designed with plastic (or thin metal). A little cheap, but I don't see any issues arising from it.

By Cody on June 14, 2012

53

found this helpful.

RF P2D4

Sounds great in my extended cab chevy. I'm glad I bought it!! Have it powered by a punch 300!!!!

By Kris on July 3, 2013

38

found this helpful.

awesome bass

I bought these to replace my older model rockford fosgate 12" p2's. I love the new design the subs are longer than original and a lot more punch, i have thess hooked up to a p300.2 amp thats pushing about 943rms...great value awesome power..ROCKFORD FOSGATE AMPS AND SUBS always give you extra power for your buck no matter if its prime edition up to power Edition..

By ThaCancer69 on March 31, 2015

36

found this helpful.

P2D4-12

Great product, well built, great price. Bought these subs a month ago and paired them with rockford a 750.1 amplifier and wired the subs to 1 ohm impedance. In a dual box in the back of my 02 trans am and the flex I get from these are amazing. If you know what you're doing, thes subs will be a great addition to your system and will not overheat your amp. Very impressed.

By Sky on February 26, 2015

37

found this helpful.

Thumper

I have one of these in a 2.50 cubic foot ported box with a punch 400x1 at 2 ohm this thing hits hard and low great sub and even better price! Thanks sonic!

By Maurice on February 26, 2014

37

found this helpful.

Great product

This Rockford Sub hits hard as f***.. Rockford is the best sub you can buy hands down, so much power behind these things.

By Pops on November 22, 2013

37

found this helpful.

Big improvement over the RE Audio sub it replaced

I took a gamble on the RE Audio SRX 12 with dual 4 voice coils after reading tons of great reviews on them. I was unimpressed as it just didn't sound as musical as previous Fosgate subs, even cheaper ones. Also, the stitched tinsel leads broke loose and it wasn't even a month old. Sonic let me return it and upgrade to the Punch P2D4. Very glad I did, this sub hits way harder and sound far more musical than the RE. Its well worth the extra cash. I've been driving it hard with 300 watts no problems at all, even with the bass boost set at 40hz and cranked high.
If you've owned Fosgate products before and are considering saving a few bucks to go with a budget brand, save yourself the trouble and get the real deal.

By Erick on March 17, 2013

40

found this helpful.

Decent sub

I bought this woofer to put in my boat and as soon as I got it I put it in a ported box I had from a previous woofer and plugged it into the zx750.1 I have powering my JL w3v3 13.5. The sub didn't hit quite as hard as the w3 which I expected. It also seemed to really struggle on some of the higher frequency bass notes that sounded clean on the w3 which suprised me because of the smaller size. I'm wondering if the box I have is a little too big for this woofer because overall I was pretty bummed with its performance, especially because I have heard plenty of good sounding Rockford woofers before. Listen to it before you buy it and make sure whatever box you are putting it in compares to the box you are listening to it in.

By KB on July 9, 2014

40

found this helpful.

SLAPS!!

Just installed this beast of a sub into a vented enclosure and right off the bat it was pounding away!!! For this price there is absolutely no other brand that can make a better sub. This sub is outstanding!!!!!

By zmore on March 7, 2012

36

found this helpful.

great deal

I thought the subs handle good in my chevy 6 was great but 8 or more, made my day in short my back injury went away after the music started to play... two thumbs-up!!!!! You should feel the bass now. I broke a window or two from it.

By Eric on October 13, 2011

37

found this helpful.

Excellent subs. Blew me away

I have two of these in a ~4.5cu ft box tuned to 30hz. Slams so hard and gets low with ease. Blows away my sealed Fi Q on 2000W. Couldn't recommend these subs more. Huge Rockford fan and have always been happy with their products.

By ahl395 on February 23, 2015

36

found this helpful.

big bang for the bucks

I ordered a single Rockford P2D4 12 inch to add some punch in the existing stock Bose system for my daughters mazda 3 hatch. And i cannot be more then thrilled i made the best purchase for the price. I know its the 2nd generation P series but this sub hits hard. Its connected in parallel from 4ohm to 2ohm load so i can get 480rms power from old school Punch800 a2. I can bridge amp to 800 rms but really don't have to. This set up shakes the inside of the vehicle. This sub can take more abuse. I highly recommend it.

By Rick on December 19, 2013

35

found this helpful.

great subs

I currently have three of these subs in my car. I run 2 of them off of kicker 1000.1 dx amp and 1 off of the kenwood 9105d amp. Kicker amp puts out 1000 watts rms and the kenwood at 2 ohms is 900. I love these subs I still have one of the older generation p2's with the plastic cone which is broken and it still bumps. The two newer generation subs definitely look better and im sure the cone holds up better then the older one. Im currently saving up to buy 2 p3's to replace the busted p2. Make sure you buy a good amp to power these subs. The kenwood amp is the 3rd amp i had with the p2's and the kicker amp is the 4th. These subs sucked the life outta the cheaper amps. I recommend the grill with these subs because they bump so hard if anything touches the cone it's either gonna tear up the cone of what ever is touching it from experience. Oh and last with a good amp its gonna suck alot of power so make sure to get a cap. I have 50 farad cap and with the 3 amps my lights still dim a little bit.

By primo on June 18, 2012

36

found this helpful.

Awesome

Great sub! When powered and tuned correctly, this sub hits every tone you could hope for a sub to hit. responds well to rock, but also hits hard for those bass lovers. Demolishes all my competition, which always consists of multiple twelves and fifteens. This is a great sub for anyone looking for good clean bass across the spectrum, and its fosgate, its gonna last. A+

By Tyler on February 20, 2012

35

found this helpful.

Great Sub

No complaints with the sub. Sounds great and can hit hard if desired. In a ported box with a 400W amp. Works great for me.

By Graham on October 16, 2012

40

found this helpful.

Rockford Fosgate

I had bought 2 of these RF P2D4 about six months ago it sound's good i had it wired to 2 ohm and 1 ohm and a few minutes into the song i started smelling burnt glue. My friend owns the P3's he also could smell the burnt glue on his they hit hard but smell after a song or two.

By James on June 8, 2012

34

found this helpful.

awesome sub well worth it

Have one of these bad boys and love it sounds great not obnoxious nice hits great definitely recommend this sub i will buy another soon dont hesitate on the price worth every dime.

By charles on May 13, 2015 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

31

found this helpful.

Good subs great value

I put two of these subs in a dual bandpass box powered by 1800 wat kenwood and man do they hit hard but i do recomend at least 4 guage power wire with a good battery. If you have a small car with a small battery you should invest in a capasitor these use alot of power and can overwork your alternator and drain batteries and dont go buy your amp at walmart they need real power for the optimum sound experience.

By P on December 4, 2011

32

found this helpful.

Lives up to its name

These subwoofers most definitely live up to their name. I have these running on a CRUNCH PZA 1400.2 in a SEALED, that's right, SEALED box and they slams harder than my dads ported setup with two 12's that are just as powerful. Shaking garage doors and knocking cans off shelves in my pantry! These subs are most def worth it and they EASILY live up to their name! You feel the bass in your chest!

By Donte on May 30, 2012

29

found this helpful.

Can't beat a Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer!!

I have used Rockford Foagate products for years. Good quality subs and amps!

By lolos757 on October 20, 2016

18

found this helpful.

Awesome sub

This thing kicks. I have it power by the 500watt Rockford Prime amp. Handles the power great even tho it is slightly stronger than the sub is rated for.

By Anonymous on October 11, 2019

16

found this helpful.

Super value. Good power handling

So I've been going crazy buying and trying a bunch of subs lately. I have a large SUV. I started out with two 10" JL Audio subs in their sealed box. Great punch but not enough output. Then I tried a pair of JBL 12" subs in a sealed box. More output but not very good at handling high power (500W). Then I tried the RE SEX V.2 single 12" sub in a ported box. Awesome low bass but not very good punch at the higher frequencies maybe around 90Hz. Pulled that sub out and put in this RF sub. Now I have good punch and low bass. Not quite the 'weight' or power handling of the RE sub but overall more linear. I really like it and it was 1/2 the price of the RE sub. Next I'm putting the RE sub in a sealed box. We'll see...

By EdP on September 12, 2016

17

found this helpful.

great product, great durability

The product was shipped on time and arrived on time, the subs and amp were amazing

By Debra on January 3, 2016

17

found this helpful.

Sounds awesome

If your looking for good clean deep bass then these subs are the ones !!! I put these in a sealed box in the trunk of a 01 mustang hooked up to a 2000w mono Sony explode amp....

By Anonymous on June 11, 2019 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

15

found this helpful.

Great sound from a great brand. RF Punch P2D4-12

Was currently running a pair of DLS mw12s in my wifes 2016 Jeep Wrangler in a sealed enclosure. Decided she wanted something that took up less space.(and I wanted the DLS 12s back in my vehicle lol) So I did some checking around and decided on the P2 12 vs the P1 12.

Sub was going to be ran at 2ohm on a RF Prime R500X1D. This amp is doing around 650w.

Bought a single 12 ported box 1.75^ft Model# 1X12VMBASS

Mounted the sub and tuned everything in the Jeep and was extremely impressed. Sub, thanks to the box, played louder then her pair of sealed 12s and took up less. space. Over all sound quality is great. It gets loud and low and she was extremely, extremely happy. Great sub for the price.

By soundcontrol on February 6, 2017

15

found this helpful.

Great value

These subs are great. Very clean sound of bass!!! You can not beat the price. And sonic electronix is an awesome company!

By Rfanatic on December 10, 2016 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

15

found this helpful.

Pretty Durable

I have two. Actually I'm overpowering them using a Hifonics 1200 watt amplifier at one ohm and they've held up surprisingly well. I've gotten "the smell" one time on one particular song. Other than that, they've taken the abuse so, if you give them the RMS power they're rated to take you shouldn't have any issues with durability. Now, This subs freq response stops at 27.5 I believe. I have them in a Ported box tuned to 33 hz with each sub getting 1.61 cubic feet in it's own chamber. Let me say it doesn't " destroy lows" such as in the song Trunk Bang by Durrough but the mids such as the song Dope by Tyga sound great and rattle everything in my car. Actually, the perfect song to test this sub would be The Hills by The Weeknd. During the chorus the first two notes are higher with the third note being very low. The first two sound great but the lower kinda trails off I must say, For a 90 dollar sub from Rockford Fosgate's punch line I'm quite impressed. Especially considering I've been giving them 200 rms more than they're rated to take. The sound is pretty clean and the average song sounds very good with them. But if you're looking for a spl monster this sub isn't going to give you that so look elsewhere, at the very least try the P3. But if you need a good daily driver that sounds good...for 90 dollars this isn't a bad choice.

By kellen on August 26, 2016

15

found this helpful.

fosgate p2s

very good speaker these are my first pair of fosgate speakersand i must say im very satisified with them

By south☆park on December 17, 2015

16

found this helpful.

Bumpin!

Ever want to know what it feels like to have the beats going through your body while cruisin'? Rockford Fosgate is the way to go!!! It sounds amazing. I just love going for drives to get my daily dose of SUB in my system. Wish I could post pictures!

By Jada on July 11, 2016

15

found this helpful.

Love the speakers

Haven’t broke them in at all but can’t wait. Super happy with the speakers. Also the company delivered them on time with no damage to any parts of the package. But wish I would have waited.

Pros-nice lows clean bass.

Cons-14 days after I purchased them at full price they go on sale for 155$ less for two.

By Porchia on November 24, 2022 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

13

found this helpful.

Well worth the money

Great product, one of the best out there for the price. Not really designed for inverted mounting.

By Bill on March 21, 2016

15

found this helpful.

By Logan on February 22, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

12

found this helpful.

By Gustavo on March 25, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

7

found this helpful.

By Jason on June 2, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

Save up to 10 different vehicles in your garage

Add vehicle
Loading...
Identify your vehicle and submodel details
  • Owner’s manual
  • Vehicle’s insurance card
  • Vehicle registration
  • Vehicle produced after 2005: Inside driver’s side door
  • Vehicle produced before 2005: Rear passenger doorjamb, glove box, center console, or engine compartment
Car Info Side Door Icon
Vehicle Registration Icon
Vehicle Insurance Icon