Garage
Shop

Rockford Fosgate R2D2-10 (Open-box, Like New) - Customer Ratings & Reviews



5 star
71%
4 star
21%
3 star
8%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%



Durability
4.6
Value
4.9
Features
4.7
Design
4.8
Usability
4.9

Customer Reviews

Sort by:

Loading...

Bang For Your Buck

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I had this sub in my 1999 Silverado under the back seat, and it was ran by a RFP200-2, and let me tell you, in the cab...sounded amazing. What I liked most about it, was that I could listen to it loud, but it wouldn't carry and shake the **** out of my truck. Definitely worth the money.

By Colin on November 29, 2012

54

found this helpful.

ok sub

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

buy this sub if you like a good solid bass line. not the greatest but an ok sub for a good price.

By Colt on July 24, 2012

55

found this helpful.

Great subs

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've had these running for several months now in an enclosed box and they're excellent. The response range is very good even with very low frequencies. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a solid addition to their car stereo.

By JustAnotherGuy on October 17, 2011

56

found this helpful.

Pound for Pound

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

If you want something that hits this will definitely do the Job not the most glamorous sub but it is a work horse.

By cpro94 on November 17, 2013

53

found this helpful.

Rockford Fosgate R2D2-10

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This is a great sub series by RF. The R2 series are well worth the money. The 10" which I own hits as hard a the JL 12w1 that I replaced. My set up is the R2D2-10 paired with a MB Quart RA400.2 amp ran off my factory Mazda radio via OEM integration by PAC. Subs pounds amp looks great. Highly recommend to anyone

By David on May 28, 2013

53

found this helpful.

Great Speakers

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have had these speakers for about six months now, and all I can say is wow! These are really nice speakers. I have them in a regular cab Tacoma in a ported box (box is crap) but these speakers sound great. They will not blow your eardrums out, but who needs that anyways? Hope for a new box soon. Give them a couple weeks to break in good before you rate them. I was quick to say they were not good, but after a couple weeks, they sounded awesome!! Thanks Sonic for a great transaction!!

By Big B on August 5, 2012

52

found this helpful.

nice

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have 2 of these subs enclosed in my rear deck of my 2000 Cadillac Deville. Running bridged off the rear channel of my Kenwood 4channel amp. These subs do exactly what I need them to do. I use them primarily for when I don't have my big bass on. (3 JL Audio W6's running off my Hifonics Brutuz 2400) & they get the job done. They have a desent bass drop giving more bass than the original factory 8" sub. I would recommed these subs but it be based on the application you would be using them for.

By greatest show on August 24, 2011

53

found this helpful.

Great Product

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Awesome sound, great product, trusted brand. Need I say more. Rocks my Mini without being overpowering.

By Dwight on January 19, 2014

51

found this helpful.

More than entry level…

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

More than entry level…
Nice subwoofer great price and it has a duel 2 ohm voice coil.

By Richard on March 29, 2014

49

found this helpful.

Hits Hard

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These guys contacted me regarding my order the very next day, and provided me options that turned out to be better than my original order. Great customer service skills and knowledge of their merchandise.

By Raymon on September 22, 2014

51

found this helpful.

Not bad....but doesn't take abuse very well

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have always been a fan of Rockford subs and amps. This sub let me down. my setup:
2 of these R2 sub
2 RF prime R-500-1 amps
sealed box .75cf per chamber.
each sub was wired to 4ohm giving them 320w RMS THIS IS OVERPOWERING THEM AND DO NOT RECOMMEND(read why below)
I used the subs for 12 days and the voice coils burned. It was my fault 100% of why they blew. So don't go much over the 250w rms they are rated at.
As for sound, They sounded fantastic no matter the music(rap,metal,scremo,punk metal, post hardcore,country) and they pounded very hard,they replaced my PB ps-10
price is good on subs such as these and i DO recommend them.
another pro IMO is the clean looks of the sub and the solid construction along with the spring loaded terminals.

By t_streets on June 20, 2011

37

found this helpful.

Hits Hard, budget price, stellar sound.

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I ran 2 of these in a sealed box wired for a 2 ohm load and all I can say is WOW! RF includes great box screws and even includes a good quality hex driver bit. Great subs on any budget.

By Richard on October 10, 2012

35

found this helpful.

Awesome speaker!

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have 2 of these 10" currently in my 05 f250 supercab, running off of 900 watts rms each. They handle every bit of the power and abuse! I've been installing for 22 years and have never heard a 10" hit like these. The lows sound like 12's and the mid to high range is ridiculous. I would recommend them to anyone! You can't go wrong with them. You get superior sound at a superior price!

By giffy119 on May 11, 2014

37

found this helpful.

One Rocking Rockford

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I currently have my sub in a sealed box with an independent 350w amp for it and it jams I thinks its one of the best subwoofers in its price range with good tone more so focused on the extremes but that's what you want right? For a piece of equipment this well made at the price it is I plan on trying to get another.

By Cpro on May 15, 2014

34

found this helpful.

Good entry level sub

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This isn't the most incredible sub in the world, but for the money it would be hard to beat. I have bought 3 of them now and I am very satisfied. I would buy another if the need arose for one in this price range. I like how they included quality fasteners as well as a hex driver bit too.

By Daniel on December 5, 2013

33

found this helpful.

Great Bang for your Buck!

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Put these in a 98 ext cab gmc sonoma , 2 in jl audio stealth box wired to zx300.1 mono amp an they hit decent for the price! I have them in a seal jl audio stealth box , not dissapointed ! I do recommend them!

By Scrape Hard admin on January 12, 2013

31

found this helpful.

Good subs for the price

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Hands down the best sub for your money. I have one in my truck and it sounds amazing. Couldn’t be happier with the product. Made a great pay with my Rockford speakers. Rockford is the best on the market!

By Jordan on March 4, 2021 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

16

found this helpful.

Great product

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great product for the price. It fit my application perfectly. You guys really did your homework.

By Jackson on July 17, 2019 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

16

found this helpful.

Works great

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Overall it’s a good little sub does what u want it too with no issues.

By Anonymous on July 15, 2019

16

found this helpful.

Best subs and best price

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I love my R2D2'S. For the price you can't ask or get a better shallow sub.

By Chuck on October 23, 2015 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

16

found this helpful.

Rock Solid

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

For close to 30 years I have used Rockford Fosgate products knowing that the quality is there. This sub is no exception. My teenage son just got a Jeep that needed some serious help. With some other old Punch speakers and a Punch 150 old school amp and this 10 sub hooked the old Rockford way it is awesome even with no top or doors.

By KCCryptKeeper on July 8, 2020

15

found this helpful.

Great Product!

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This 10" is perfect to balance out my stock Bose system. I use it under the rear smaller passenger seat and it bumps just right. Combine with the Rockford Prime 500w amp my system is perfect and has all the bass needed for the bassiest soungs or just some good ol rock and roll!

By Jeromy on February 15, 2020 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

15

found this helpful.

Awesome subs

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have x4 of these in an enclosure under my Back seat in my ext cab and do they move some air, even at lower volume. I'm very happy with them.. the sound I was hoping for. Nice thump for the buck...

By Tom on January 27, 2017

15

found this helpful.

Decent Choice For The Price

The following review is for R2D2-10, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought two of these 10" RF R2D2-10 subs to go into a prefab box in my 2002 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 4x4 (Under The Rear Seat).
I paired these with Rockford Fosgate's Prime R500X1D amp (perfect match up)
I wired them to 2 ohms and for what I paid for them, I was "fairly" impressed with the sound. Typical of most 10's, they don't produce much SPL in a sealed enclosure. The did however have a really nice punchy bass and thump. 808 Bass sounds decent but don't expect much low end teeth rattling bass unless you put these in a ported and tuned box. I'm only assuming they would sound better in a ported box but since I didn't install mine that way, I can't say 100%
I love the security screws that they include with their subs.

Cons:
On the downside, the XMAS wasn’t much on these 10’s and I noticed two intermittent problems with them. 1. When I would drive them harder with heavy bass songs you could hear what sounded like the voice coil bottoming out ever-so often. It wasn’t because they were over-driven unless the RMS is over-rated on these subs which isn’t typical of RF. 2. The cone area of the sub would get really warm when driving them for more than 15-30 minutes.

Wanting more bass, I ended up building a custom box for my truck to allow even more air space and I ordered 2 JL Audio 10WOv3-4 10” Subs from SonicElectronix (see my other review of them) to replace these RF R2D2 subs.
Of course the JL subs were twice the price and the new custom box offered a little more air space but the JL’s sounded much cleaner and the XMAS was almost double and the frequency was 26-250hz compared to the R2D2’s frequency of 45-250hz and the JL’s were 300 watts RMS compared to the R2D2’s at 250 watts. The difference was so good that I had ZERO regrets of getting rid of the R2D2’s and going with the JL Subs.

Overall I would have to say that if you cannot afford more than what the R2D2’s sell for, then they are a great choice for Rock, Metal, Country and Some Hip Hop but only a decent choice for dubstep, trap and the majority of Hip Hop.

This is coming from a huge RF fan.
I Have Found Sonic Electronix To Be Superior In Customer Service, Products and Super Fast Shipping

By Joe on May 1, 2016 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

15

found this helpful.

Save up to 10 different vehicles in your garage

Add vehicle
Loading...
Identify your vehicle and submodel details
  • Owner’s manual
  • Vehicle’s insurance card
  • Vehicle registration
  • Vehicle produced after 2005: Inside driver’s side door
  • Vehicle produced before 2005: Rear passenger doorjamb, glove box, center console, or engine compartment
Car Info Side Door Icon
Vehicle Registration Icon
Vehicle Insurance Icon