Showing 43 reviews for Sound Storm Labs (SSL) EV5000D

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
72%
4 Star
19%
3 Star
7%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
2%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
SIMEE

Portage,WI

Overall
Ridiculousness

November 27, 2011

I got this for my S-10 and all i have to say is get 0 gauge wire. 8 gauge does this amp no justice at all. I had a 1000.2 hooked up to my three 15's before this amp. I switched it out with the SSL 5000.1 with 8 gauge power and ground. No doubt it pounded louder than the 1000. I decided to do the big 3 (from SonicElectronix, i recommend, big time!), also 0 gauge power and ground. The after effects. I have a glass table in my room with a full gumball machine. I forgot my wallet one day after i started my truck and my music hadn't started playing and of course it was at full tilt 3 clicks from full volume. I started running up the stairs and my whole house started rattling white girl, i mean every picture, cup, vase, controller that was out was rattling. I went in my room and my full gumball machine was vibrating off my table. My town of 11,000 now hates me!!! Thanks SonicElectronix!!!!

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dano

Bend

Overall
SoundStorm. (SSL) EV5000D

January 29, 2015

I recently bought this amp for my 2 15" KicKer Drivers 1200 watts rms and and those subs with that amp POUND. The SoundStorm (SSL) EV5000 is a very good amp and its Black with a thin sleak Design with gains and a base boost ajustment. Also I like that it came with a bas e boost control nob that i ran beside my stering wheel so I can ajust bass easy. Extra things sent with amp was a base nob , fuse system with 100 amp fuse , and a cable that you can connect 2 amps together so they get same signal. In all I would buy this amp again and might try some of SoundStorms other products. Thnx. Great equipment.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

cody

labelle

Overall
SSL is the best amp i have owned

June 22, 2014

i have had my SSL for about 4 months now and it can fry my orion hcca very easy if you are having a problem with it shutting off then upgrade your remote wire to 8 gage that is what i did and it solved my problem this amp needs alot of power so i also added a cap and extra battery i would definitely recommend this amp to a friend i will be taking this amp to competitions

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Phil

Dothan Al

Overall
Purchased Amp

February 7, 2015

I would highly recommend your car audio needs o be met here. Fast free shipping. And the product is Wonderful. I give this company two thumbs up.

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jr

florida

Overall
Check this out.

July 27, 2014

It's a good amp it pushes my 2 dd 3500 15s pounding down for the price u can't beat It

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

michael

fort worth, TX

Overall
great amp for a great price

September 23, 2011

This a great amp I love it. Its very powerful I hooked it up to 2 kicker comps and wired them at 2 ohms and they beat workers in the back of walmart were I worked at said they could here me pull into the parkin lot and as far as sound quality goes I just used a name brand crossover which made the sound so much louder and deeper and clear. But without the crossover it still very bada** I didn't use the crossover to make it louder though cause it was already so strong it was melting my speakers litterally I just used it only to help get a lower frequency. But the amp is huge all my friends go crazy when they see it or hear it they think I'm some kinda audio expert I'm actually about to hook up a system today for a guy cause he heard my subs but recently I sold the comps and switched to 2 kicker cvr 15 4 ohm subs and wire them at 1 ohm man when I say this car bang so hard I have to turn it all down cause it gives me a headache I see windows on buildings shaking around me people who are in my car complain for me to turn it down mad cause I ruined there hair and don't think I'm an idiot who just packs his car with bass and it sounds horrible well I have alpine door and reak deck type r they sound perfect alpine headunit cde-102 I had an dvd screen at first but I took it out and gave it to my dad so no one would break my windows on my car tryin to get it and they broke his window and stole it from his car a week later but that's how it is in the hood lol and that's why I took it out my car my friends were sayin I downgraded my car but I didn't car I save my window and it became somebody elses who's got smashed but anyways I also amped my inside alpine door and deck with a 1000 watt alpine amp and I used a raptor capacitor on my subs which I bought here as well and I use 4 sq tweeters on a seprate crossover and a yellow top battery can't think of the name of my battery at the moment but it cost me 200 dollars but I had it long before I got a system and that's my review I would definetly say get this amp if your want to crack concrete with sound volume lol even those guys at car**ys were surpise to hear how good and loud it sound they claim there that jl audio subs are better than kicker subs well I heard 1 jl audio W7 maxxed out and a solo x maxxed out solo x kills it even the L7 kills it and a lot of people hate on the L7 well there better than FI BTL that's it and Kicker still takes that.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bigdog

Atlanta, GA

Overall
Powerful

October 26, 2014

This is a powerful amp i purchase this amp a month ago I have 2 kicker 15in sub and it makes them sound like there trying to jump out of the box. granted that there 500watts peek power but I would recommend this amp to every one looking a good and powerful amp, yea it might not be the 5000watts but it's atleast 2000 to 2500watts it depend on how you wire up your sub, damm good amp for the price (that's a fact)

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jared

Springfield, MO

Overall
Great buy for the money

January 13, 2012

This amp has done good by me. It doesnt push the power that they claim. Maybe 1700w rms at 2 ohm. But for the price paid, cant complain a bit.

17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Public Disturbance

Rapid City, SD

Overall
Sweet Deal

November 23, 2011

Ok I got this in for a buddy of mine. we took it to the local shop and had them do a true bench test and while it is over rated for the money it is a great amp.
4ohm:523 true watts
2ohm:1053 true watts
1ohm:2001 true watts

so it is a pretty decent amp for the cost just over rated.

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Nic

Mesa, AZ

Overall
overrated, like everything.

February 10, 2011

I've seen bench testing that showed 2143 into 1 ohm. Speaks for itself really, Its not a bad amp at all, makes some pretty good power, especially for the money. Just dont expect to get anywhere close to the ratings on this one.

17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

el paso, TX

Overall
great for the cost

August 13, 2014

i have this amp on 1 orion hcca 12 and it bumps pretty hard only bad thing is that the power terminals on the amp are not 0 gauge, i think its a 4 gauge but the fuse block that comes with it is 0. and also it has the power terminals that point down at a 45 degree angle

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

james 89scbird

ashland ohio

Overall
great no problems

March 15, 2011

not the rated power but one on 2 mofo122x it hits pretty hard at 2ohms but bout another one and going to strap them and see if it puts out like my hk4000d which is a current huge and die do to voltage drop and had power akoustic ovn 5500d which went throw 2 of them in the one work 5 minutes and the other one i got didn't even work so im happy true clamp at 1 ohm is 2100 watt at 13.8 volts

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Audio Kid

Atlanta, GA

Overall
good value!

January 2, 2012

but its not the rated power, but a good value for the price! I would recomend this amp i have it powering one MOFO 15 and it slams pretty hard.

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

05pont.grandprix

Appleton, WI

Overall
Great amp for low price

January 2, 2012

Purchased it, and love it. Not 5000W but thats expected. Pushing my 2 12" cvx subs easily right now.
Pros- Cheap, good quality, big watts
Cons- Heavy and has small mounting holes, so beware

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mike

St. Paul, MN

Overall
2 15" L7 Kickers Bang

February 3, 2015

When I was shopping for amps for my sound system I couldn't find an amp under 200 that could run 2 l7 kickers, untill i found this!

Pros: Runs cool, low cost for such high wattage, overall exceeded my expectations. Also the base knob is a great feature for when you are cursing around in the cities; as to not draw too much attention to ones self. ;)
Cons: At the time of purchase the product info said you can fit 0 gauge wiring in the amps speaker/battery terminals, this is not true as i can only fit 4 gauge wiring.

General thoughts:
At first I was hesitant due to the off brand label but now that I have had this thing for about 6 months it is still going strong and has won my stamp of approval.

For those of you who are concerned about how much power this thing is going to give you, my 2 15" L7's subs, each 1000 rms, could rattle my car apart with this amp. My Sound Storm amp came with a 200 amp fuse which allows roughly, assuming you have a good batery and alternator with respect to mono amp efficiency , 14.7v x 200a x .7 = 2058 Watts rms

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Nate

Dayton, OR

Overall
WOO HOO

May 16, 2012

I recently purchased this amp with some assistance from the very professional sales reps there at Sonic Electronix. I have to say I have never owned an amp that puts so much power to the sub this thing is fricken awesome like OMG awesome. I own a sub that is rated at 2200 watts RMS and I have had trouble finding an amp to push it. Well i need to look no further. The sound quality, power per price and all around performance is awesome I love it and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Shawn

Monroe Ga.

Overall
Big time flex in the Chevy

December 4, 2011

I have two of these going on 4 12's with a cross over man when I turned the bass knob My Surburban was flexn so hard I dam near cried! I no longer have theose 12's any more but these amps kick butt!

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Murc

SoCal

Overall
Good power for the money

November 25, 2011

This amp is overrated at 5000w, it puts out closer to 2000W pending on your electrical but for the money its pretty good. The amp it self looks really nice with the brush aluminum look. Had 2 15" Kicker L3 and it pushed them with ease without getting hot.

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jeremy

chambersburg, PA

Overall
not a bad amp for the money

February 6, 2011

ok to start off saying this amp is not junk i have two alpine type r 12 wired at 1 ohm so i guess im getting about 1400 watt at 13.8 volts and it get loud im sure that this amp will not do 2500 watts at 2 ohms with a 175 amp fuse rating cause if you take 175 times 13.8 you get 2415 but next time i will get a hifonics amp one that is CEA Compliant so then i will get the watts it says it has and this amp has some weight too it

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

bass head

st. louis mo.

Overall
best value

May 20, 2010

this amp is awesome for the price, out powers my audiobahn a2300hct on 5 15 inch cozmic subwoofers.

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

C-MURDER

TUSCALOOSA, AL

Overall
BEST VALUE YET!!!!

June 5, 2012

I bought this amp 6 months ago and let me tell you, this amp brings it, i'm getting around 1850 watts to 2000 watts true power and it delivers, it's a little power hungry but put you an extra wet-cell or cry-cell battery with at least 600 cold cranking amps along with your stock battery and you should be fine. I have mine pushing three twelves in a 1 ohm load, the aluminum finish is great, also it doesn't get hot quick with the right amount of power going to it. If you're having problems with this amp or it burns up, then you didn't have the right amount of power going to this amplifier. My three twelves have my ears ringing with ease and can hear me blocks away, true it's not 5000watts but tell me where are you gonna get a true 1800 to 2000watts of true power for this price. Stop complaining and do your system the right way and you won't have to worry about it burning up or frying!!!

13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

king aries

lexington nc

Overall
there good

April 6, 2011

I got two of them strapped up on some 18 in Solo X and all I have to say is damn. I got them at 2 ohm and they supply the power I need

13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

james 89scbird

ashland ohio

Overall
great no problems

March 15, 2011

no the rated power but one on 2 mofo122x it hits pretty hard at 2ohms but bout another one and going to strap them and see if it puts out like my hk4000d which is a current huge and die do to voltage drop and had power akoustic ovn 5500d which went throw 2 of them in the one work 5 minutes and the other one i got didn't even work so im happy true clamp at 1 ohm is 2100 watt at 13.8 volts

13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Oscar

Mount Vernon, WA

Overall
Awesome Amplifer!

January 24, 2011

I would really recomend this amplifier for ANYONE that wants to have a loud subwoofer set up at 2 Ohms, Sonic Electronics ALWAYS has the best prices for new stuff!

13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ashton

dade city, FL

Overall
omg!!!

May 8, 2010

this amp plus two audiobahn 12"s and a jbl 15" flexes my glass in the back of my my truck so hard.... the bass is so much that when u roll the windows up you cant breath.... decent amp for so cheap

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tylor

Memphis, TN

Overall
BEAST!!!!

March 3, 2013

True power blew my LANZAR 15's in two days and shock my whole car for the time being

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

los

cameron mo.

Overall
soundstorm ssl ev500d

May 25, 2012

i would recommend this amp if you don't compete. got one on two kicker 12" nice low budget hitter

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Los Angeles, CA

Overall
Great Amp!

April 1, 2012

This amp was easy to set up and never gave me any trouble. Pushed my T2D212 sub like nothing and never clipped nor over heated and i played it on a 700 mile drive, non stop usage. Great amp and I am planning for another set up with another one of these.

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Danger

Aruba

Overall
Great item

January 16, 2012

It's a great item and will tell a friend.

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BabyBassHead

Baton Rouge, LA

Overall
BUY IT NOW

December 5, 2011

Almost got a "better name brand" for tha same price & half the max output but I decided to try it & WOW! First time I tried I thought I was going deaf. I had a Rockford Fosgate 600watt which max is about the same as this one. I'm running two 12's & I can only turn it up half way or I can smell my speakers burning & I only dream of turning it on with out starting the car for 2 mins or more. Fast shipping as always & another great deal Sonic Electronix!

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

cpars

Stockton,MO

Overall
great buy!!

August 17, 2011

I've owned this amp for about a year now and i have it hooked up with two AudioQues Hcd3's with a mtx bass slammer box. It has never overheated or gone into protect. I can be heard from two miles away and it pushed them so hard it flexed my front window of a 4 door oldsmobile.

11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gordo

Waco, TX

Overall
Great amp for what its worth

June 28, 2010

I have this amp pushing 2 12" Kicker CVX in Probox in a Mustang and And I can tell you this amp is pushing those speakers with all they need. I'm sure its not 1800 watts rms like they say but from watt i can hear it pushes around 1200 watts rms at 1 ohm. I would definitely recommended these.

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Paul

astoria, OR

Overall
Power!

December 16, 2010

Tis amp BUMPS! It is the single loudest amp that I have ever heard. I have it hooked up to 2 12" Kicker CVR dual 4 ohm subs wired at 4 ohms and rated at 400 watts a piece. Absolutely no light dimmage with 30 farad capacitor and stock alternator and stock battery in a 1983 mercedes benz 300sd

11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Oscar

Mount Vernon, WA

Overall
This amp + 2 15 inch Memphis Mojo's = Massive Power Outputs!!

December 31, 2010

This amp (if wired properly) is one of the best amplifiers you can get for under $200! At 2500 watts RMS @ 2 Ohms, its suitable for most daily pounding systems!

9 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cody

Portage, WI

Overall
Would not recommend

January 26, 2012

Within a month of this thing pushing my 2 10" orions it popped all the capacitors. If you want a quality amp dont go for this one. I now have an HFi 3000D and am very pleased with it pushing my 10's. If you can afford a better amp do it. The bass knob only works when you turn it up to half. The other half it just seems like a distortion boost instead of a bass boost. It may look like quality but dont be fooled. It also only pushes out half the power it says it does. I recommend hifonics by far.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Manuel

Palm Springs, CA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great product

February 28, 2020

Had this pushing 2 12inch alpine type r subwoofers
On a stock head unit.. great peace for the price

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeremy

Galveston, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good Amp...

January 14, 2020

Gets the job done and more..I will definitely be purchasing another...

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ej6

Palm springs,ca

Overall
Great product

January 12, 2020

I'm subbing 2 12inch alpine type r s
I haven't had a problem with anything no heating
No going to protect mode

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Texas City , TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great for the price.

March 27, 2019

I got this mono block on to silver L5 12” it does the job well, it’s no where near 5000 watts more like 1870 at 1 ohm, but that’s plenty for my subs, I have the gain on about 8 o’clock (barely touched it) and the bass make my chest hurt after about 30min, amp barley lukewarm. Only issue I have with it, it won’t fit 0gauge power wire true 4 gauge at best.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

little rock, AR

Verified Purchase
Overall
Power for your buck

September 11, 2018

This amp is super overrated but if you look up the Dino's on the amps before you purchase you can get to close to the amount of power you want for less before you make a purchase and spend too much money...you do get what you pay for but also you don't want to be a dummy lol..I recommend this amp at this price range to get between 1100 to 1300 watts rms at 14 volts..the amp is strapable and that is very important..keep that in mind..

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

banginonabudget

atlanta ga

Overall
ssl ev5000d

August 8, 2016

I ordered a NEW amp and I received a scratched up refurbished one. I egave them the benefit of the doubt and they sent me yet another scratched up refurbished amp. The amp itself has a great dollar per watt ratio. It gets hot pretty quick on 1ohm it needs a fan to last long but it's under warranty they will just send me another patched up amp.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

banginonabudget

atlanta ga

Overall
ssl ev5000d

August 8, 2016

I ordered a NEW amp and I received a scratched up refurbished one. I egave them the benefit of the doubt and they sent me yet another scratched up refurbished amp. The amp itself has a great dollar per watt ratio. It gets hot pretty quick on 1ohm it needs a fan to last long but it's under warranty they will just send me another patched up amp.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

bruno

Canada

Verified Purchase
Overall
Excellence service and low prices

August 6, 2016

Haven't hooked it up yet but everything looks great they never seem to disappoint me im customer for life thanks Sonic.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?