Showing 19 reviews for Universal Rear View Backup Camera with Flush Mount or Surface Mount Options

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
58%
4 Star
42%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
salmonid

Canada

Overall
good enough

September 30, 2014

Great during the day but crappy in low light conditions. Worth the $$ so far but will see how long it lasts...

89 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

KEVEN

Cypress, TX

Overall
Very nice. Low light sensitivity could be a little better.

April 6, 2015

As a back up camera this is very nice for the price. It's tiny, has parking guards on the video, and can be easily mounted any way you want.

I mounted it on the inside of the minivan at the top of the window pointed down. It works great and I can see nearly everything.

At night it gets grainy and resolution is poor, but it's pretty good for the price.

59 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

tony

arcadia, IN

Verified Purchase
Overall
awesome camera

May 2, 2018

finally got this hooked up and I have to say, Im impressed it has a better picture then my daughters 2017 chevy malibu's back up camera

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Corander

Canada

Verified Purchase
Overall
Camera Works

October 21, 2015

This camera was super cheap, so wasn't expecting top tier quality. But it gets the job done.

One thing of note, there is a red wire coming out of each end of the Yellow Video cable, but there was no mention of it in the instructions. I ended up using this as my 12V source wire going to the back of the head unit. I hooked up one end at the reverse gear tail light (along with the Power wire for the camera itself) and the other end into the Reverse gear signal input on the head unit (Pioneer AVH-X5700BHS), and everything worked out!

I'm not sure how reliable it is, and I have yet to mount it officially on my car (2006 Honda Civic Si Coupe), but I tested out all the wiring and the video quality.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Somerset Pa

Overall
Great product

August 21, 2018

The back up camera works great and makes it easier backing up in a crowded area. I would recommend it.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Canton, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Back up camera in Scion xB 2004

August 27, 2017

Of all the stereo upgrades I did this was the most time consuming one. I had to remove a lot of the interior to install it. The large size of the plug make routing the wires hard. It had long enough wires for me to route them across the dash ,down the passanger side the door sill, up the wall and back down inside my hatch. I used the included mount the camera unscrews so you can take it off and flip it around if needed. It has a very nice wide screen picture even in the dark works good. It has parking assist. It can be removed if you want just cut a wire. It is very small if you aren't looking for it you won't notice it. Only problem I had the camera isn't marked so the picture was upside down after I installed it. All you have to do is rotate the camera. It has green , yellow and red to tell you how close you are and on my car they are tight on. Red is about One foot from my bumper. Only thing I would change is make the plug removable for easier routing of the wires

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Foley Al

Overall
So far so good.

August 3, 2018

This camera has decent clairty, doesn't do wet well.
It's a great value !
I recommend it, especially for the cost.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Sierra Vista, AZ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome Camera

March 16, 2017

This camera did everything I wanted it to do. It even comes with the preinstalled red wire back to the console. The camera parts even allowed me to flush mount install it into my back bumper. This was more than I expected. The drill but and hole saw also enclosed worked perfectly. I had to buy a second one because my dog got under my vehicle and chewed up the wires but it was an easy reinstall.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Henry

Canada

Overall
Backup Camera

January 27, 2017

Item was shipped very quickly, first time user product is excellent and is very helpful when i backup my vehicle especially because when one gets older it is not as easy to turn ones head. well worth the money.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Riverview, FL

Overall
Great priced product

November 15, 2016

The rear view camera was easy to install. Instructions were easy to follow. The picture is clear and better than expected.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Samuel

Payson, UT

Overall
Camera is small and hides well.

August 9, 2016

This camera is small and hides well on my older truck. It seems to work well. I wish it had better instructions on how to connect electronically.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Charleston, WV

Verified Purchase
Overall
Nice camera, low viewing angle.

October 29, 2019

The camera is nice but the viewing angle leaves a lot to be desired. For that reason I would not recommend purchasing it. This camera has a 120 degree viewing angle. Go with a camera with 170 degrees to be able to see what is coming at you from the sides.

This is not a ding on the camera, just something to pay attention to that I did not prior to installing.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Canton ohio

Overall
Boyo vision vtb16b

June 17, 2017

I like this camera it is very small and has a removable mount. Works good even in the dark with my reverse lights. Has a wide viewing angle. And good resolution. At least on my 6 inch screen. I has parking assistance lines on it green, yellow,red. If you don't want them you just snip one wire. It had enough wire for me to run it all the way to the back and up through my rear hatch. The only problems I had were the rca plug is not removable is it was a little had to fish it through a few places. Other thing was that the camera is not marked with a up or down so you don't know which way to mount it , but it's not hard to rotate it. just loosen it move it go where you want them screw it back together.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

roger

Grover Beach, CA

Overall
Awesome product

October 23, 2016

Used this item on my 5th wheel trailer excellent picture quality easy to install. Only con is was going to mount on my 2009 f250 crew cab and rca cable was too short had to cut and splice. Other than that worth what I paid

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

PATRICK

ALBUQUERQUE, NM

Overall
ok product

July 22, 2016

A little blurry....but ok for 20 bucks...you have to test were to put it cause it needs to face a little downward and adjust to make it horizontal not upside down...fast shipping..great service!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

PATRICK

ALBUQUERQUE, NM

Overall
ok product

July 22, 2016

A little blurry....but ok for 20 bucks...you have to test were to put it cause it needs to face a little downward and adjust to make it horizontal not upside down.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Megan

New Haven, CT

Overall
For the price it's great!

April 17, 2017

I bought a new stereo for my car and thought I could also get a backup camera but I didn't want to spend a ton of money. When it came in I honesty looked at it and thought that it wouldn't even work when I hooked it up. But this is the clearest picture ever!! Even at night it's not that bad. For the money this is a fantastic camera!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Puresound1

Monroe, NC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Gets the job done

December 30, 2016

Got this camera as part of a bundle with a touchscreen head unit and it works great!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jerry

Chicago, IL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Nice Value

January 31, 2016

Good value for the money. One month and I'm happy with it.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?