Customer Ratings & Reviews



5 star
46%
4 star
18%
3 star
20%
2 star
4%
1 star
13%



Durability
4
Value
4.4
Features
4
Design
4.4
Usability
4.4

Customer Reviews

Sort by:

Loading...

Very Good Sub

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub is a great purchase for the price. Not only does this sub produce good bass frequencies it also is a good competitor. From what I've seen it has a pretty big damn magnet and the cone and stitching are both made of durable material. If you wire this sub up correctly or get an audio retailer to do it you sure to not go wrong. Most people who complain on this site about there subs shorting out or quitting is because they were installed improperly. I've his 154 on the db with 2 of these in a custom box.

By Clark on February 7, 2011

66

found this helpful.

BoSs PhAnToM

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub is cheap and hits hard lol i own 2 and im really impressed

By Juan on April 4, 2011

61

found this helpful.

do not go by power rating!

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

i ordered these subwoofers about 6 months ago, they are supposed to hold 1500 rms and 2500 peak watts. i have two of them in a box, they were professionally installed correct wiring capacitor the whole nine yards. i have a 1200 watt rockford fosgate prime series amp, the amp was turned ALL the way down as far as possible. its been about 6 months give or take so they were broke in, once again amp turned down as much as possible. i was driving yesterday with the song mercy playing. i started smelling that smell like no other lol looked in back mirror and the whole back of my suv was filling with smoke. got home took subs out and they were 100% MELTED. sounded decent just WONT HOLD ADVERTISED POWER. atleast not true pwer. thanks.

By forrest on May 18, 2014

55

found this helpful.

Great deal

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I would recommond these for cheap good speakers there not the best but they do hit pretty hard for being so cheap i would buy these again if i had to!

By 2 real for fake poeple on January 13, 2014

53

found this helpful.

Bad

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I went and bought 2 of them and the voice coil started smoking. I do not recommend anyone to buy these subs

By David on March 8, 2013

52

found this helpful.

Great Sub & Design

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I purchased this sub 2 weeks ago along with the boss 2-channel 3000 watt amp and they fit together perfect everything has been working great so far it produces good bass frequencies and I'm very impressed so far. If you hook everything up correctly or recommended im sure this sub will last a LONG time. I'd recommend a ported enclosure instead of a sealed enclosure also. For the price this sub is top of the line!

By Brandon on February 7, 2011

52

found this helpful.

really surprised

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I am really surprised how good these speakers sound especially because I had two 15" kicker comp vr's and blew them. I bought the boss phantoms because of the price and I am surprised they sound the same as my vr's did. I would recommend these to anyone looking to beat.

By Damian on January 6, 2013

51

found this helpful.

Suprised Definately love it

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I had never heard of boss before buying this. i'd always heard about kewwood jvc kicker etc but i saw these and figured i'd give it a shot,

amazing sub, hit really hard although it did end up blowing after 3 weeks cuz im an idiot...

don't push a 4000w on a 2500w sub ;) bad move there. none the less ordered another one because this sub is amazing!

my only advice is when getting a new sub follow the setup instructions to a t. make sure your grounds posi's leads and everything are 100% perfect don't half ass it you will regret it later (nearly had a car fire) and seeing as it's new equiptment make sure u kinda break it in. get like 10 hours on it just smooth light to medium bass before beating the hell out of it

By grayson on November 10, 2012

52

found this helpful.

Boss

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Works great haven't had a problem with it. Has good bass more than I expected for the price.

By skyler on June 27, 2011

50

found this helpful.

sick bass

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I think that this is probably the best bass I have bought have not had any problems with it yet and it keeps blowing my mind every time I turn it on. Thanks so much

By chance on February 20, 2015

44

found this helpful.

good

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This product is a good buy n sounds really nice

By dean on October 21, 2014

46

found this helpful.

Great sub

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This Subwoofer Is Great. It Shakes the whole trunk of my 1996 caprice.
I am running this sub off of a 5000 watt planet audio amp.

By Greg on October 19, 2014

47

found this helpful.

2500 watt boss 15"

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub hits hardddddd. I have it in a crappy off brand box and it still out does all the others in the parking lot

By Dalesauce on September 12, 2014

45

found this helpful.

Killer!!

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Ok first off I will start witht the fact the I had about twelve professionals tell me Boss was junk/bottom of the Barrel! I proceeded to buy theses, cuz of the price and i was short on cash, well lets just say these are top of the line for the price, would compete with kicker, rockford, MTX, and JL!!! i have two of these things in my trunk with the 2 channel boss phantom 3000W amp! I am very impressed, they hit extremely hard if tuned right!

By Taylor on March 18, 2011

44

found this helpful.

Awesome Sub

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This is my first 15 inch sub and it hits hard. I had two Pioneer 12s 1200 watt each and the lights didnt dim but now with this sub they do dim im running 2 ohms with my boss cx1250 amp and it hits great. I ordered it on tuesday and I was surprised at how early it came because it came the next day and I didnt pay for overnight shipping. Great looking sub. hope it lasts long. So far I'm really glad I bought it.

By Eric on November 26, 2010

46

found this helpful.

Boss P156DVC

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Had a pair of these Handed down to me from my sister(I sold them cause i have a Atomic E.L.E 18")But they sounded pretty good for the price.Won't handle there rated maybe 800w max.But for the price they were pretty good.Hit pretty hard For what they are.

By josh on March 17, 2014

44

found this helpful.

great deal

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

product came in quickly and works just swell. Thanks for the product.

By Robert on February 19, 2015

41

found this helpful.

junk

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought 6 of these. At the very best they are 400 wattsRMS. I would not recommend this product to my worst enemy.

By MOFO on September 17, 2013

40

found this helpful.

Wow

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Title says it all I have 2 in a custom box with a 4000 watt phantom amp its louder than 2 audiopipes on a5000 watt gorilla amp I was amazed that I beat him idk for sure but I think im probably in the 130s or 140s well worth the money take my word.

By Boss bass on August 31, 2011

37

found this helpful.

Great Value

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I would recommended. The designed look great. I like how it sounds and the power that I can put to move them, they're great. For now, it doesn't have any pros or cons. I told my friends about it and they going to look forward to getting them too.

By Edgar on November 11, 2014

39

found this helpful.

best subs u can get if u are just starting for competitions promise

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

i have 2 of these on a 5000 watt amp and I haven't had any problems with them. The best thing is that I went to my first spl league competition and got 2nd out of 4 other cars in my class all because of these awesome subs. So don't believe what a so called professional will tell u because he is just used to the subs that he owns or the ones he is used to installing or just likes a certain sub.

By audio kid on July 8, 2013

38

found this helpful.

Good Price! Great Look!

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have to say for the price they sound wonderful, with precision tuning. BASS ON!!

By Daniel on March 15, 2014

38

found this helpful.

This is a bad sub

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I had this speacker for about 2 weeks and one day smoke started coming out of the sub. Now it wont work and im out 90 bucks. DO NOT BUY THIS.

By Big daddy on February 27, 2012

35

found this helpful.

great sub

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great subs I have 2 of them in my truck getting a 3rd and have no problem with them if ur looking for great bass for low price then this is it.

By Christopher on February 15, 2011

38

found this helpful.

Abdul Love

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've had these for a year now, and I've beat the hell out of em and they just sound amazing never blew or got hot even in the summer.i have a sealed box thinkn on going ported tho idk yet tho im gettn to more because i love em so much i truly recomend these..

By Dulo on January 13, 2013

39

found this helpful.

Bang for the buck

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought one of these about a year ago and now its just gathering dust, i wass feeding this sub 1000 watts and i never had a problem, it would get warm but i couldnt get it to blow, after 2 month i saved up enoough money to buy two kicker comp 15's and they blow boss away. if your on a budget get boss just know what your doing wire them up right and don't push them to hard.

By Derrick h on July 20, 2012

36

found this helpful.

Blew @ 800 Watts

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I purchased two of these with a boss phantom 3000-watt 2 channel amp and took it to have the amp tested at 13.4 volts it produced 1,567 watts. (around 800 ea) So I hooked the sub up to 4ohms (bridged) and it blew within a couple weeks and filled my car with smoke.

By Brandon on January 5, 2012

34

found this helpful.

Boss P156DVC

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

these subs hit really hard it gets peoples attention :P

By Juan on June 24, 2011

40

found this helpful.

Not to bad

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

A lot of bang for your buck, great for a poor college students as my self.

By Smilodon32 on April 6, 2015

34

found this helpful.

speaker already blown

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have not had the speaker for more than 2 months and it had my trunk compartment full of smoke from it burning out from eigther the voice coil or whatever is hidden under the plastic magnet cover I'm very disappointed in this product

By kendricksili on March 16, 2015

34

found this helpful.

it took 5500 watts to blow them out the box!

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I had a 5500 SPL 1 channel, class D. I turned the amp 3/4 the way up and both speakers came out the box! They still work but the cone wires broke loose. So thier alright but I needed more, so I went with kicker L7's!

By kennoris on January 9, 2012

34

found this helpful.

great value

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

The boss 15" subs work very well im quite pleased with their performance. I bought two 15" subs with subwoofer box and i matched them with a 3000 watt rms amp. The two together work very well. Thank you! GJ

By gbad on October 27, 2011

33

found this helpful.

Good buy

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Id definitely recomend these subs. I had 2 of these in a slot port box made to sub specs running them off a phantom d4000 amp i did blow them but they were much louder than my expectations comparable audio pipe 15s. Downfall.... is they are not true 2500 watt max subs and they are pretty much only good for half volume levels for extended playing. If u play at full volume mKe sure to only go for maybe a minute at most. Like i said i had a 4000 watt amp and still blew them, but for the price you will feel like steve meade for a while. O and fyi they can do very good windshield flex!

By Matt on October 15, 2011

31

found this helpful.

Good deal

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub is awesome! I have in the back seat of my truck and it absolutely shakes my cab. Just one of these is enough it hits hard enough.

By Josh on September 10, 2011

30

found this helpful.

Boss 15" subwoofer

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Very bad product!!! Hooked my sub up it sounds very good, a lot of bass, but it blew out. Then I got one more & the same thing happened. I now have a kicker & have had it about 6 months now. I think kicker comp 15" is the best out there. You'll pay more but it is worth it. Boss is good if you have boss amps. I have an 1800 watt Kenwood.

By Peso82 on April 23, 2012

30

found this helpful.

Just get them

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have two of these in my 95 cammaro. And wow. Let's just say nobody in my town can compete with these. These things are the best especially for the price. They will hit. I'm not maxing them out for stories about not handling the power so I'm running them at 2000 a piece. 4000 watt mono block amp running at one ohm.

By Kyle on September 21, 2012

32

found this helpful.

15 "BOSS SUBS

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Man i had theses two months with a boss 5500 mono calss d amp they blew on me after bout a month playing them everyday.They are real nice 4 the price but the amp was too powerful 4 these subs.Never will i buy boss a cheap brand again....Switch back over to jbl/kickers/

By Q-BALL on April 6, 2012

28

found this helpful.

goodbutnotgreat

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I had 2 in a 99 malibu. Ported box on a d4000 boss phantom amp thinking i couldnt blow them whith only 4000 watts.... i was wrong. about the 3rd week i had them blew. I had all gains down and volume not all the way up maybe a little over 3rd of the way. So i guess if ur wondering if u should buy these id say yes its a great buy they are just as loud as the cvr15s but beware u only need about 3000 watts for a pair of these or u will more than likely blow them

By basslord on September 26, 2011

29

found this helpful.

bangers

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I purchased these subs 6 months ago and they knock hard. good quality sound. but i blew one sub out and shortly after the other one went out also. not very long lasting unless your not pushing them hard. great begginer subs. i would reccomend them if your budget is tight, but i personally am upgrading to some power acoustiks.

By Tope G on September 2, 2011

26

found this helpful.

Very nice bang for your buck

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Its a good all round sub but not the best ..how ever for the price and manufactured quality of the sub its a great buy for the price ..if your looking for a aggressive speaker its not much of one on its own ..its good to use along with other better subs and fills in the bass levels ..its a good investment as a starter kit but if your gonna go big spend the extra cash and buy something better

By DJ Psymosfear on June 12, 2011

27

found this helpful.

Completely Worth It

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have these hooked up to 4500 watts and they rumble. Anything louder would literally be impossible to sit and listen to. Totally worth it, so cheap and you get more than what you pay for. I have two wired up at 1-ohm and they can be heard from hundreds of feet away.

By Young Polo on July 25, 2013

28

found this helpful.

Okay for the money

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Ive had two of these subs hooked up to a re audio 1000d for the past year and havent had any problems. They wont take your breath away but there decent for the money, lookin to upgrade to re audio se. I wouldnt put more than 600 rms to this boss sub or else it will probably blow.

By jimmy on November 1, 2012

26

found this helpful.

Nice product

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This subwoofer rocks! Kickin base! Looks great! What more can I say!

By Ben_Jam'in on October 17, 2011

26

found this helpful.

It's okay, but not great

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Well they are not bad speakers but not that good either. The first set of speakers I blew very quickly with only a 3000 watt amp and the speakers are 2500 Watts apiece so I didn't quite understand why they blew so fast. I'm on my second set of speakers right now and they're actually doing quite well this time. They do sound really good though. On a scale from one to ten I'd give them a six.

By James on August 2, 2015

17

found this helpful.

boss sub

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

no its not a kicker, or jbl, or a high end sub, but it does thump if you power it right. plus a 3 year warranty extension from sonic makes it even better. its kinda corny that they put the subs supposedly wattage rating on the face of it as to brag but for under 65 dollars who cares. its usually never seen in the trunk anyway

By JAMES CREWS on October 17, 2015

8

found this helpful.

Pos

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Burnt both voice coils the first day on a Walmart pioneer 760 watt amp wired at four ohms

By Anonymous on January 16, 2019

5

found this helpful.

THESE ARE BANGERS!

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

WOW, I'm very impressed by 15" boss phantom subwoofers. These are very loud woofers and they sound great

By Anonymous on July 31, 2018

5

found this helpful.

good woofers

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I put two of these in a ported box in my 05 civic. need I say more they hit!!!!

By jamal on February 27, 2016 checkmarkIcon Verified purchase

6

found this helpful.

Great value

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

For the price, I think it's pretty good! Hit pretty hard a lot of my friends like it!

By PAO on April 23, 2020 checkmarkIcon Verified purchase

4

found this helpful.

Good subwoofer

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

To the guy that he hit a 154 db. Do you have that backwards and you hit a 145 db. Cause hitting a 154db is really hard. Especially with two 15 inch boss audio subwoofers. They wouldn't be able to handle the power to hit those kind of #'s. Boss is a very good company but you don't have to really lie two people about the company. There are other company's that can handle the power and can't get close to a 154 db. This is just my two cents hope it helps.

By Johnny hcca 2100 on December 28, 2019

6

found this helpful.

Junk

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Burnt up the first day on a 300 watt output amp

By Anonymous on January 16, 2019

4

found this helpful.

It's okay, but not great

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've had to replace this item 4 times now and it's beginning to be a headache to deal with. It's always blowing on me. I have 2 and I have a 3000 watt class d amplifier pushing them. The speakers are 2500 watts a piece so thus shouldn't be happening but as long as they keep replacing them for me then I guess I'll be okay. I wouldn't recommend buying one of these though, sorry.

By James on September 20, 2015

6

found this helpful.

Unbelievable deal

I have 4 p156DC 15s they can't be beaten for the price.

By Danny on April 27, 2020 checkmarkIcon Verified purchase

2

found this helpful.

It's alright

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

It's okay for the price I paid but it's not capable of handling what it says it does.

By Razso on October 24, 2016 checkmarkIcon Verified purchase

3

found this helpful.

Another Great Boss Product

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have been using Boss for about 13 years and have had amps, speakers, radios and woofers and have never been let down by their products. When used within operational specifications the present one of the best values in audio components. While I have seen reviews complaining of the P156DVC smoking and blowing etc...these same complaints have been accompanied by admissions of running the units past their recommended application in wattage or the user is not really aware of the power being output by an amp running at low impedance or to the point of clipping which put out high power spikes. While these represent value they may not represent the components and voice coils designed for the highest power absorption...hence the very reasonable price and the inherent limitations. For what this unit cost the performance when used within specifications are astonishing. The SPL produced from a 1-2 cubit ft box and the low frequency bass is capable of competing with subs many times as expensive. If you buy this sub with reasonable expectations and use it within its specified operating range you will not be disappointed. Boss has consistently proven to have staying power and puts out another great value.

By BossMan on February 26, 2016

3

found this helpful.

Hits hard

The following review is for P156DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I cant complain about this bang for my buck! Excellent price nice sound and hits like a jack hammer. I cant say i will/will not go out to recomend this product....
but when i turn up the volume and you ask about my subs i will most definitely tell you where to go to get a set like mine or whatever suits your vehicle and your taste!

By Thomas on March 17, 2018

4

found this helpful.

Add vehicle

Save up to 10 different vehicles in your garage

Loading...
< Back