Showing 23 reviews for Alpine R-W12D2

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
91%
4 Star
4%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
4%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Christopher

Chicago

Overall
Awesome subs

April 11, 2018

These things are awesome I have 2 of them running off a kicker kx1600.1 @ 2ohms and it's super loud I would definilty recommend them.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Niles, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Just what I wanted!

January 15, 2018

Upgraded from a P3 to the new Type-R because i wanted more rms watts with my Alpine mono amp and am blown away by the difference! Got 1 12 running at 1ohm and it sounds like 2 12's in my trunk. 100% satisfied!

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Senatobia, MS

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great value

July 1, 2019

It work awesome I would buy a hundred more if I had to.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jason

Duluth, MN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Blows anything else in this price category out of the water.

March 8, 2018

Bought this to replace my 1 year old Type S. My daily driver is a 2007 Chrysler Town and Country (Hey I got kids and they haul crap). I just wanted a little more than what the S was giving me. Got way more than I had hoped for. I thought I would get about double the sound. Nope its way more than double. I have this matched to a Pioneer GM D8601. Puts out (True) 800RMS @ 1ohm. Installed it today and got it set up. I dont do the break in ritual some people live by but I do take it easy for the first hour. Then retune and go all out. I must say for 1 12 in a 1.5cuft slot port in the back of a minivan sounds like I got way more than what I do have. Got a buddy at work work running 2 12' JL W3s and I cant wait to run the db meter with him to see how this compares. I know vehicle makes a difference and box but hes got those in a Tahoe in slot ports and they dont hit as hard. So heres my Pros and Cons....
Pros:
Way under priced (For what it is should really be in the 350+ range)
Very well built
Love the new look
Packaging is solid
Puts out way more than expected
Comes with jumpers

Cons:
Only 1 The included jumper wires.
I run 8ga speaker wire. Why? Mostly because I can, but I do notice a difference in responsiveness and also amp runs way cooler. But that being said the included jumpers have cheap banana ends on them. When I put the 8ga into the push terminals it makes the banana only go half way in. Was a little worried about them popping out so ended up using the set that I had from my type S that seemed a bit sturdier. Plan to rework inside the box and just make my own jumpers to eliminate the potential problem.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

daniel

$city, $state

Overall
Amazing amazing amazing!!!

March 8, 2018

I love the sound and the reliability! Simply put it beats!

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

NUNO

MALDEN, MA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Simply WOW

November 16, 2017

If you want real ground shaking, hard hitting power then look no further. This is all you need. I would highly recommend this sub if you want clear loud sound. I currently have 2 12s and you can hear me coming blocks away

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jordan

Dover-Foxcroft, ME

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great value

December 24, 2019

looks great sounds awesome High quality highly recommended The description says 2 alpine 12 inch subs and I received both just like the ad said

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Kershaw South Carolina

Overall
Alpine R12D2 Subwoofers

February 2, 2018

These subs are monsters unreal bang for the buck! I am running them on a JL1000 mono block amp and all I can say Is ouch!! They hit so hard in a spl ported box 1.71 cubic ft of ported air space hits harder than 2 15’s!!! I highly recommend these subs if you want shock and awgh thunderous BASS

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Frank

Orlando, Florida

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good Performance

January 21, 2018

750 Watts ... 15 Hour break in ... Clean Deep Bass. Ported 1.86 cubic feet

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Sullivan mo

Overall
Awesome deal!!!

October 12, 2018

Awesome sub!!!!! This is the best 250$ and under sub you will get promise!!! I've been into car audio for 25+ years @ this pounds!! And I ran 4k true power to it and it never even started to smell! lol I feel bad that I cant give 11 stars!

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Patrick

Farmington, CT

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great sub

August 29, 2018

I got this sub when I realized I ordered the wrong one but I can’t even complain. The bass this thing puts out is insane, normally I run 2 10s but just this single sub in a ported box is perfect. Couldn’t be happier

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Carlos

Seguin TX

Overall
WOW

April 6, 2018

I got a pair of these Alpine R-W12 to replace my old Alpine type S12. If I would have known how loud they are I would have just got one. They pound and can handle the watts.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

PIT BRIAN

RC CALIFORNIA

Overall
WOULDNT PAY $50

October 14, 2017

Heart Broken. Flutters like Garbage with no Low End Bass.
Buy Anything Else.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Thornton, CO

Overall
Fantastic Subs!!!!

June 25, 2019

I have had these subs for over a year now and they still bump! I am running 2 12WD4 in a custom ported box running 1800W RMS to both of them at 1ohm with 1G oxygen-free wire and a big 3 upgrade. With this set up my windshield flexes like crazy and the truck sounds like it wants to fall off when I push them to their full potential. You tune them right and they will go off! Absolutely worth the price!!!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Mcminnville tn

Overall
Alpine R-W12D2

June 7, 2018

Perhaps because I’m an old school “system” having guy (had systems back in the late 1980s and Alpine was always the go. Remember “....and let the Alpine blast!”
Anyways these subs hit!!! Love em

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Herman

$city, $state

Overall
Great sub

March 28, 2018

I owned alpine type R 12 inch sub before but the older model one sub never let me down great quality sub for your money... but I purchased the new were model alpine type R 12 inch sub and I’m loving every minute of it sounds great hits hard.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lorenzo

Thornton, CO

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awsome subs

March 11, 2020

Went from 2 old 500rms type r subs to these and the difference is huge! These are a lot louder and just seem to hit every note better!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Fiji

Verified Purchase
Overall
GREAT PRICE AND TRUSTED SELLER

January 27, 2019

I just received my parcel and everything was fine packaging was great and subwoofer works Thanks Sonic Electronix

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tyler

Kirkland, WA

Overall
Alpine R series is one of the best ever made

December 26, 2020

I'll be honest and say that I don't have this current model, I have the one from ten years ago called the 1223D and it's been put through years of abuse and is still going strong. It only has 600w rms compared to this new one but I currently have it wired down to 1ohm hooked up to a Pioneer GM-8701 thrown into a ported box in the cab of my Ranger. It pounds just as hard as the day I got it in 2010. I want to upgrade to this new one since it has 150w rms more and my amp has 800w rms at 1ohm but this old type r won't die! If you want something that has deep bass and longevity all for a great price? This is the one.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kasey

Sic utah

Overall
Def hard hitting and extremely well built

July 25, 2020

I have owned two of the type s series years back and good grief they were loud, or so I thought, they cracked the glass on the hatch of the 89 mustang they were in. Fast forward to now and I currently have two 2ohm type R. Pushed by a rockford fosgate t-1000bdcp amp. They shake my seats, the roof of my car flexes. With the amps constant power technology at 2 ohm I'm feeding both speakers just a hair under their rated rms. They get as low as the box and amp will let them and when the highs come in (100ish hz)
It sounds like there's a really pissed beast trying to rip its way out of my trunk. They're FANTASTIC subs. I beat on them every single day for at least an hr of full rms pounding. To the point that get a bit smelly. Yet every day they sound amazing. I paid $350 each so seeing them for so cheap here makes me think about adding a couple more to the mix. You will not be disapointed with this sub. I can promise you that. They're built for abuse....

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Orlando 407

Overall
Excellent

April 15, 2018

Pounds. Wired to 1ohm in ported box, country sounds good, rock sounds good and it splashes water out of cups with rap, can't go wrong with this speaker.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Patricia

San Angelo, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Alpine R-W12D2

July 25, 2020

12' sub amazing sound quality. I loved it.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gary

Wichita, KS

Overall
Great price

July 25, 2020

Great price on these powerful speakers! Shipping was fast and packaging excellent. Cant wait to fire them up!!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?