Showing 3800 reviews for Alpine Type-R SWR-12D4

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
76%
4 Star
14%
3 Star
6%
2 Star
2%
1 Star
2%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Solo

Cincinnati, OH

Overall
Great Products; Great Prices

January 31, 2015

I've had previous Alpine Type R 12" speakers, and purchasing their most recent version from Sonic Electronix was good move! Great product for way less than you'll pay anywhere else. I'm consistently impressed with Sonic Electronix 's product selection and shockingly low prices. I will continue to support and recommended this Company.

47 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

txrtr

glen burnie

Overall
question

November 6, 2014

I want to ask someone who really have owned this new type R and owned a type x also, I had bought a type R in 2009 and it wasn't loud so I changed to a type x, I am wondering if this new Type R is the same as a Type X since as they discontinued the Type X?

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Prosound

Boston, Masss

Overall
For clean tight low end response

February 7, 2014

This is definately the sub for the true audiophile that is not looking to spend a fortune, but demands the best in sound quality and true clean bass respone, this is a great purchase and a well built driver.

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tika8lack

Queens, NY

Overall
the hardest hitting subs ive owned

May 16, 2014

I have had dual Rockford fosgate p3 12s and dual hifonics Brutus sq 12s and neither compare to these sub's. You can not beat the price and quality of sub's. Must buy!!!!!! Only issue for me is the extra rubber that hides screw's. It would stay on so I didn't use it but they still look and sound beautiful in ground shaker bandpass box.

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Antioch, TN

Overall
Don't be fooled

March 30, 2014

Alpine say's that this sub will run 1000 watts. Don't be fooled I Bought one and blew and 3 months after the break in period I blew a voice coil. I had it hooked up to a JL Audio 1000/1 V2 slash series amp. The sub is worth the money if you're not gonna run 1000 watts to it but if you are you might want to go with the type x.

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Marlon

Virginia beach, VA

Overall
great speakers

January 12, 2015

Great speakers to have, got to get them hard hitters

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tracy

Lafitte, LA

Overall
alpine subwoofers

February 10, 2015

Great buy couldn't ask for anything better. Great choice for great price.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Brandon

Broussard, LA

Overall
Alpine type R

February 11, 2014

This is a great subwoofer, for 159$ this and the RE audio line, are the best for the price. I chose alpine however for the significant power boost. Just so you guys know you really don't have to worry about power, just watch your gains. I'm giving mine 1200 rms and it takes it like a beast. Highly recommend this in a sealed box for rock, and really it gets to a great volume in a sealed, but ported for sure if you're into volume and you will only need one of these.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

michael

garland, TX

Overall
Sub Gone Bad

September 12, 2013

Purchased this sub about 6 months ago and installed it in a ported box and it sounded great until the cone came unglued and now I am having to have it repaired. I am hoping after the repairs are complete it will sound as good as it did the first 6 months and that it will last a lot longer this time.

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

john

Marietta, OH

Overall
Alpine...

December 28, 2014

I love Alpine! I did not get to use this product I returned it for the better NVX subs but I have seen them in action they are beastly but there is better choices out there!

37 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

john

Webster, TX

Overall
Amazing

June 17, 2014

Paired this sub with a jl 1000 w monoblock........amazing non stop base. It replaced 2 10" pioneer. The 10s were tighter but could not produce the deep base. I have an excursion and it rocks.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Raymond

higginsville, MO

Overall
not for me.

March 27, 2014

The subs showed up on time and in new condition. Hooked them up and put them in a prefab box and could only do 130db berore clipping...the subs will not take 1000 watts rms...I'd say 600..taking them out and putting in 2 sundown x 12s

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

brandon

loveland, OH

Overall
alpine swr-12d4

December 14, 2014

i would recomend this for anyone that wants to spend the money i have two in a ported box with 2400 watts going them and they slam. they take a min to break in but when they do its welll worth the wait.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

shourtie

Tulsa ok

Overall
love it

March 16, 2015

Love the product shipment was fast and the sound is great

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lucky

Canada

Overall
These subs are not a joke

May 16, 2014

Got them about a month ago and all i have to say is wow! Amazing bass ,shakes up the whole car. Great product ,i have to get a more powerful amp currently running a 1200 rms kicker amp from my old car .i know my amp is way under power but still these subs are amazing ,and sonic has the best price!

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

tony

stlouis mo

Overall
pound

May 14, 2014

I have 3 of these type r alpines in a 2000 grand marquis and people be so surprised to see its not something larger......breath taking bass....

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Veronica

Carver, MA

Overall
Great

May 10, 2014

I have this in a ported box tuned to 36hz With 500 rms of alpine power and this thing knocks well worth it for sure

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tracy

Lafitte, LA

Overall
alpine subwoofers

February 9, 2015

Great buy couldn't ask for anything better. Great choice for great price.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kavoc

Fresno,CA

Overall
Good sub

May 29, 2014

These are really good for the price. I have a JX1000 1D amp hooked to one of these in a sealed box. It hits really hard. The sound quality is pretty good. I would buy it again I'm satisfied.

31 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mingo

Hayward, CA

Overall
Perfect sound

September 17, 2013

Not only do they hit hard with a small amount of power but they can take a beating. I started off with about 350 watts per sub... I am now pushing 1300 per sub and they don't skip a beat. Tight solid hard hitting/low frequencies for low bass.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Beni

Philadelphia

Overall
Great value

May 20, 2014

Worth every penny. If you have the right amp this sub will shake your car like crazy. Had lots of subs, nothing compares to the bass the alpine gives out much more deeper. Shipping was super fast it came in a day early.

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Alldayj

Odessa, Texas

Overall
Quality

July 3, 2015

Don't like seeing the hate on these subs about overpowering them. List the amp you have pushing them and the settings. I have an NVX JAD 1200.1 powering 2- Dual 4 ohm 12's. My electrical doesn't support it just before clipping. Backed it down just a little and voilà. There you have it. Haters quit hating and adjust your amps correctly or pay someone who knows what they are doing to do it for you. Damn good subs. Highly recommend.

26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Raymond

McLeansville, NC

Verified Purchase
Overall
600 WATTS RMS

April 30, 2015

we ran 2 of these to a 2000 watts rms amp and well bad new they couldn't hold never heard them take the full power as well they where only ever pushed 2/3 of the way and well both froze same time. now I want say alpine is bad yet just that they over rated this one. if your going to hook 2 of them up do it to a 1200 watt rms not 2000

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Baltazar

Bakersfield

Overall
Awesome bass

November 19, 2013

Couldn't be happier with my new type r subs
The bass is awesome

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

channing

stanley, ND

Overall
great sound and great price

March 19, 2015

Sub hits good, sounds clear and just one is all I needed for my truck. I would suggest that this sub would be all you need for good bass and sound. Not going to win any competitions but people look when your bumping down the road.

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

GB

Stony Brook, NY

Overall
Great sub, so-so in reliability

May 16, 2014

I have been an Alpine fan in general since the mid to late 80s. I have always relied upon a great head unit, amps, and even subs. This sub is no exception. However, here's my take on the matter.

The sound quality itself is really good. Toanlly accurate, tight, deep bass in my sealed box. Power handling is exceptional as well (hitting 2 units with about 700w RMS RF power). Not bad at all.

However, recently the cone has separated from the surround from daily use. I do not compete, and I don't listen at compettition levels. I listen at moderate levels only. When a sub recently blew, I thought it was the voice coil. But in this case it was not that. I think Alpine quality has been slowly dgrading over time. Still a GOOD product / good value for the money. But there are better subs out there, you just need to do your homework.

As always, you get what you pay for. I am in the process now of having the defective sub replaced. Sonic has been really good overall since my first purchase years back. I love them overall and will continue to do business with them.

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dash

Eastpointe Mi

Overall
Best Buy!!!

October 5, 2014

Best sub ever!!! I highly recommend these subs to anyone. Affordable & durable. Alpine gets a five star rating. Thanks SONIC!!!

28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rell

Ann Arbor, Michigan

Overall
Nice Sub

July 1, 2014

I have a single 12 dual 4 ohms pulling 2 ohms from a Alpine M110. It sounds nice but the amp is just a little to powerful for it, I have to keep all the levels down in order not to damage the speaker. I'm thinking about changing up and maybe getting two subs just to be able to get the most power out of everything.

26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Charlotte, NC

Overall
Great Value

November 25, 2013

Great sub for the price. You can't beat it power wise.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Deere guy!

green bay, wi

Overall
beware, not true 1000rms, will overheat with extended play and fail.

October 16, 2013

These are great subs for the price, but dont beat them to true 1000 rms playing dub step or hip hop. 30v at 1 ohm with 50hz tone and this soon will blow easily! After first one failed, then the replacement failed, i own a hippo 122 and now unleash my amp at 39v 1 ohm load and am afraid of my car falling apart! If you have over 1000 rms amp just get 1 hippo 122 you will make your friends jealous when they see it's only one 12 in the trunk! Thanks sonic for the great prices and selection!

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bud

Chicago

Overall
Amazin

May 23, 2012

I have been through 3 subs since i had put sounds in my 2009 Eclipse. 1st one was a 12" Orion Xtr Pro, was pretty decent but i blew it. 2nd was an RE audio SE, Liked it a lot but i wanted to see if the new Apline R Type was better. Lol. Lets just say that i messed the hatch up with just ONE of them. The hatch flexes now. i had to turn down my Power Bass 2000 watts. Will be buying another one and plan to bust peoples ear drums. lol

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Austin

Stuart, FL

Overall
Excellent Price, Fast Service

January 23, 2015

Product exactly as described and shipping was fast and efficient. I would highly recommend this seller!

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mr Campbell

Canada

Overall
Killer sub

January 7, 2015

I bought a 12 inch alpine type r from sonic and was again super pleases with the fast delivery and also am more than happy with this killer sub! May add another one soon.

26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Boswell, PA

Overall
Great bass

May 7, 2013

Very pleased with the alpine type R. All the pros of the type X and about half the price. would recommend this sub to anyone.

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

Canada

Overall
Really great sub!!

December 14, 2012

I ordered this sub because I have ears great things about it and wow does it live up to the hype. I also ordered a sealed box to go with it and am very happy with the quality of both products. I've got the sub wired at 2 ohm to an alpine mrp-m500 and I must say it sounds amazing, with both good sound quality and bass. I am however considering upgrading the amp and also getting a ported box because it is currently getting 500 watts, half of what it's rated for and i want to hear it at its best! I would definitely recommend sonic electronix to anyone looking for the best deals and super fast shipping.

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

David

Woodville, oh

Overall
Hmmm

May 7, 2012

My buddy has two of these on a kicker zx2500.1 in a ported spec box. And wow. Alpine really changed these up. They are no longer sq oriented. They are LOUD. And actually kinda sloppy. You won't get that crisp sound that alpine usually delivers but you will get a ton of spl. Amazing bang for your buck.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dustin

Goose Creek, SC

Overall
awesome

September 11, 2014

I love it!! It hits hard and sounds beautiful, highly recommend

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Fairfield, CT

Overall
loud bass

August 5, 2013

I have 2 of these running off a 1000 watt Alpine amp with a custom ported box and 10 gauge speaker wire in a hatchback and these things bump really loud !!! Even running at half the power these speakers bump pretty hard. Best subs I have ever had, thinking of adding a bigger amp too.

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Trey w

springville UT

Overall
2 type r 12d4

September 25, 2012

I have 2 of these walled off in my 99 accord (trunk wall) in a 2.98 cube box tuned to 33hz. Definitely my favorite subs ive owned. I have them running off a soundstream rub1.1600d their getting 721 watts each. Combined 1442 rms and they slam. Couldn't be more impressed. I would reccomend these IF you have the electrical to back it up and ONLY give it clean power. Great job Alpine A+ i can bump these for a full hour longest I've went and they get warm, but not hot by any means.

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sean

Santa Clarita, CA

Overall
The quality is ehhhh

September 20, 2013

I had this woofer for about 9 months and had the same problem as another reviewer. The cone came unglued from the surround and fortunately sonic let me get a store credit so i could get another woofer. I loved the woofer until it unglued but i just got a RE SEX in the same box and it bumps!

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jeff

los angeles ca

Overall
Amazing sub

May 11, 2013

best subs ive ever owned I have these on 2 650 watt power acoustik amps pounds stupid hard thinking bout two more moves air amazing

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

whoami

Bear,DE

Overall
Disappointed

May 27, 2015

This sub is perfect for someone who will power the sub @ 500 rms or less. I had the Alpine mrx m110 hooked up to it and had it smoking in a week . Will not purchase again for my car, maybe for my wife's car

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Austin

Chattanooga, TN

Overall
Awesome

February 3, 2014

I will go ahead and mention, I am definitely an Alpine guy, so I am biased. I have several of their products and I love all of them, which is why I decided to go with this subwoofer in the first place. I have never had a problem with Alpine.

I had an older Alpine Type E before I bought the Type R, and there is a big difference between the two. It is much louder and you definitely feel it more. It vibrates everything in the car. And I only have one. Two of these would be crazy.

I am running it off the Rockford Fosgate R500X1D amp, which powers it very well.

I put the Type R in the same ported box I used the Type E in, which isn't a even a good box, but I'm planning to get a proper enclosure built to the correct specs soon, so I'm sure that will make it sound even better.

I can't really speak about the durability yet, but based on my prior experience with Alpine, I have no doubts this sub is made well and will last a long time. It weights almost 30 pounds!

This sub sounds great, looks great, and you really can't go wrong with Alpine. Buy it!

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

henry

Albuquerque Quealbuquer, NM

Overall
alpine type R

September 17, 2013

I purchased two alpine type R. I am very pleased with the performance of these subs. definitely should buy.

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bj

Harvey, Illinois

Overall
Alpine SWR 12D4

March 19, 2013

Alpine Type R is excellent product. The speakers never caused me a problem, they are one of the best subs I ever had. Like I said alpine is an excellent product to buy. Good quality bass.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Miami, FL

Overall
Nice sounding subs

February 23, 2013

Reminds me of re audio subs...but it hits the higher notes well also....just make sure u dnt crank the boost/sensitivity up too high or the woofer will come apart from the cone....

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Luis Valencia

Morris, IL

Overall
Best Investment & Sub!

January 10, 2013

I bought a pair of these after some idiot stole my L7's. I used to have a pair like 2 years ago and they were good so i bought them again and i would have to say this is one of the best investments I've had. ive had them for about a month now and they are flawless. They're not over expensive and they POUND! I have them paired with a Rockford Fosgate T1500-1BDCP amp and they shake everything in my jeep. These hit alot harder than my L7s ever did. I put them in a Sound Ordenece box with 1.61 cubic space each. I will have videos up on youtube soon. Feel free to check them out: Rockford Fosgate t1500 with 2 type rs.

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

DeezNUTZ

H-town, VA

Overall
ALPINES NEW TYPE X+

December 2, 2012

Alright maybe im over my type X but this thing is like, man I can't even explain it properly you gotta witness this before you even talk about this sub. There are some people writing neg reviews cause they don't know how wire and give power to this baby properly. My experience of this sub. It actually hits harder than my type X and weights less and takes less space inside my enclosure. It's sexy and sleek, had some dudes trying take pictures of this like it won a competition or something. You can't go wrong with alpine I got a alpine CDA-105, got a sub now and speaker system on the way. Easy install, beast connections. In and out like a 1st night stand but this baby you just wanna KEEP ON HITTIN! This the baby u wanna introduce your family to cause she is a keeper.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Reddz

san diego, CA

Overall
Bad a** subs

November 24, 2012

Just purchased and installed two of these Alpine 12s and I must say they hit hard I am really impressed with how they sound I have them hooked up to a Rockford fosgate 2-channel 1800 watt amp subs wired at 2 ohms it makes the chairs in my EXT feel like a massage chair I can only imagine how they will sound once they are fully broken in as right now I have the bass negative 13 on my screen and amp remote turned down.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rodamus21

Dahlgren, VA

Overall
Alpine Type R SQL

November 9, 2012

First thing I notice was the tightness of the cone. I switched from CVX to these. I had 1732 real rms watts on the CVX's I have a new amp putting 1949 REAL rms watts to these bad boys. They sound so good. I 20mm of xmax, they catch all the notes that the CVX's missed. Alpine really out did themselves with these subs. They even match my trunk's carpet. My buddy has two T1 12's on a T1500CP and my systems is louder than his. I metered at 148.2 and he hit 143.6. Not bad for Type R's.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

CJ

Norfolk Va

Overall
bang for your buck

June 13, 2012

Bought two of these and put them in a custom ported box tuned to 35 htz and wired to 1 ohm with a power Acoustik BAMF 4000/1D and these things pound!! Alpine did a really good job changing these up... wish they would do the same for the 15's!!!

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dennis

Los Alamos, NM

Overall
Alpine's uppin their game

May 25, 2012

My friend has one of these wired at 4 ohms he has a cheap amp so it probably gives the woofer around 200 watts, I connected the sub to my Rockford T1500-1bdcp which puts out over 1000 watts @ 4 ohms and the alpine really started slappin (no audible mechanical noise at 1000 watts either). 1 of these is good on 1000 watts, I would definitely get one if looking for good bass out of a single sub. 2 of these on an amp up to 2000 watts rms would be super loud. This is a nice sub I recommend.
Don't know anything about its durability.

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Juan

Scottsbluff, NE

Overall
Super Great...

June 8, 2015

These subs sound amazing!!!! I got them in a 2013 f150 and rattles like no other...

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

So Official Audio

Random Lake, WI

Overall
There's a reason why this sub is rated 5 stars.

March 30, 2013

I bought two of these straight off of sonic electronics and received them around a week later in perfect condition. You can't complain with Sonic Electronix. THE BEST car audio website in my opinion, and i use many many many of them.

If your looking to get into car audio and you want to start out with a really nice set up. My advice would be to go with these alpine type R's. Alpine really makes sure the customer is happy.

The product:
One thing that really confuses people new to car audio may be how much power can this subwoofer really take? It rated peak is 3000 watts. NOW, although alpine does underrate there subs for the safety of you not blowing them, That doesnt mean you go and get a 4000 watt amp. 2 of my R's ran perfect on a 2000 rms amp. The subs always ran cool and never got warm for me once... and im picky about checking that stuff. This sub shines in style. REALLY good looking sub.

The bass!
This is obviously what everyone wants to see. and let me tell you, you cant go wrong with this sub. If you have the money, and are looking to get a quality system. Look no further because this is the one. For 169$ per sub I was blown away at how loud these things were. Along with them being loud the quality of the sub is beautiful. They really punch out clear bass notes. Defiantly a 5 star sub, I still have these currently hooked up in a buddies car and he loves them, never given him a problem for a year and a half.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tyler

Chico, CA

Overall
Surprised!

February 1, 2013

I was doing a lot, and I mean a LOT of research on woofers. After I blew up one of my Infinity woofers I knew I wanted something that could handle the power. I have a BRZ1200.1D and even though these woofers can take up to 1000 watts rms a piece, they still slap on 600 watts rms which also isn't what they're actually getting because my charging system tops off at 14.0 instead of 14.4 like the specs on the brutus says for 1200 watts. I showed my friend who got me into car stereo stuff and he said one of these woofer weighed the same as one of his 15" Kicker CVR's. They're not even broken in yet and I played a song that made my rear view mirror just aim straight down that I could never do with the Infinity's. If your considering getting these, just go ahead, you won't be disappointed!

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

wood man

Arkansas. city is

Overall
can.t be beat for$ 150

February 18, 2015

Alpine quality and performances:need not say any more
Always great

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

420

Dillon, MT

Overall
Great Sub

March 9, 2013

I bought one of these and a ported box and it hits just as hard as 2 12in kickers

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mel

Mechanicsburg, PA

Overall
They effin bump!

June 5, 2015

These subs hit so hard especially if you drop them down to 2 ohms. Great product. Very happy with my order.

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Adam

St louis, MO

Overall
Amazing subwoofer sounds like 2 12s

December 11, 2013

Great bang for the buck if you want to get more bass than your normal others brands. I sell and install over and over again.

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

bFlo92

whitehall, michigan

Overall
Great sub

June 29, 2012

I purhased this sub brand new a week ago and i love it. I have always heard good things about the type r series and had to invest in one. Still breaking it in so the gain on my mx-50 Alpine amp is only up 1/4 of the way and this single sub shakes the mirrors in my olds alero and gives a nice back massage! Cant wait to hear it slam when i adjust the gain! Very crisp and clean sound.

17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Biglimpen

Florence, South Carolina

Overall
No Regrets

March 25, 2014

These subs are ridiculous and extremely loud with the proper power. These things bang and at this price they are more than worth the purchase.
I was replaced 2 pioneer champion series pro subs ( the big heavy grey and black ones) with just one of these. Get one you will have no regrets.

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Filipp

Littleton, CO

Overall
GREAT SUB!!!

September 2, 2013

This sub is amazing.
My old sub was stolen and i was debating on ether buying this one or a pioneer premier sub. But i got the alpine and its AMAZING.
I built my own box for it and im pushing around 1000 watts from a hiffonics amp that i bought from here as well and its really nice, low, and loud!!
I WOULD TOTALY RECOMEND THIS SUB!!
Did take some time for it to brake in but other that that its nice

17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cutter

Fort Worth, TX

Overall
Thourougly impressed. Clean. Loud. And DURABLE.

December 1, 2012

Sometimes people say "you get what you pay for." Well, this is definitely NOT the case. Alpine has surely been generous in this deal. I bought one of these back in march only to watch my cheap 1600 watt lanzar push the sub until it went into thermal protection (which was a 6 hour trip from Dallas to Lubbock) the sub though: a little warm. Alpine must have solved the heat problem for sure.
I guess the next thing to note is durability. Being a teenager in high school I always have people in my truck and with a console box, people touch the speaker while its running and stuff gets put against it. Worst it got: a scratch
I recently upgraded in September by buying a second one and building a new custom box. So end result: 2 swr12-d4's in a 6.67 cube box (yes I know it's oversized) running abt 900Wrms. Got a friend with a meter: pushing 116.
Recently bought a Hifonics glx2200.1d and HOLY MOTHER OF GOD. My friend's meter cuts out at 130 so now I have to go find a term lab to test it. Now with the right power this audiophile-to-be can't be any happier because I can now have the sound quality to match a system many times more expensive but also possess the power to show off upon occasion.

2005 F150 supercab
Rockford Fosgate 6X8 full range component system
400Wrms 4 channel Planet Audio amp
2X alpine SWR-12D4 in 6.67 vented box tuned to 36 hz
2200 Wrms Hifonics GLX series amp

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Alexander

Taylorville, IL

Overall
you only need one

November 30, 2012

I have a single 12 in a box a built tuned to 32htz and 2.68c ft of airspace, this thing whollops its louder then my 2 15s on twice the watts, btw I'm running an alpine Mrp500 but pros it seems very sturdy and is very stylish but for how much the surround moves at 500rms 1000rms seems like it would really over push it, I might post again in six months on the durability of it.

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Dallas

Overall
Very satisfied--recommended

August 1, 2012

Usually when I see a full 5-star rating I think it's just a fan boy who doesn't really know what he's talking about. This is an exception.

*Value* - $200 for 1000watts? That's incredible
*Design* - Dead sexy. Perfect with black interior.
*Durability* - Very strong. See below.
*Features* - Included jumper cables and connections - very convenient to wire the sub to its final ohm rating.
*Ease of use* - Manual is very descriptive and includes diagrams of all the different wiring options. Wiring the jumper cables and the speaker connections to the amp was very easy.


This woofer was a huge upgrade for me. I went from 2 DUAL 12" in the rather large, flashy bandpass enclosure of theirs to this Alpine sub in a Sound Ordnance ported box. I've got a Hifonics Brutus 1200.1 powering it at 2ohms.

While I'm still breaking it in and tweaking some settings with the tuning, I have to say I'm very happy with it. With my bass knob, I can dial it down and get very clean, subtle bass perfect for really any genre. Upon cranking it up, it hits *very* hard and I soon forgot I only had one 12" in my hatch.

It seems to keep at a low temperature, and I have my gains and bass boosts set pretty conservatively. I tuned my amp with a multimeter to reach the desired voltage. It looks amazing--huge upgrade, in my opinion, from the older type R's. Flexes well, no noise, etc. I do sometimes smell the woofer at high levels, but I think it's just being broken in (with the DUAL's I learned what voice coils smell like). Also, that magnet is *heavy* and this thing is tough.

Overall, if you want a sub that hits very hard cleanly, or one that cleans up and compliments the mix, this is perfect.

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Horacio

South Houston, TX

Overall
Awesomee Subwoofers!

July 26, 2012

I bought 4 of these and they bang very good if you like hard bass i highly recommend these to you.

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Plaistow, NH

Overall
This thing bangs!

March 19, 2013

I initially got the previous model which could handle only 600rms and I cracked the spider so I wanted to get something that could handle more power. This subwoofer put in 1.8cu ported slams lows like I have two 12's in my trunk. PLUS I am only feeding it 3/4 power on my alpine mrp m500. Compared to the previous model this sub is more than worth it.

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Marquis

Salters, SC

Overall
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

July 11, 2012

These subs are freaking AWESOME, i jus got them in today and i am in love. They look great and sound great. I strongly recommend this sub to everyone, BUY THEM.

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Toledo, IL

Overall
No complaints.

December 2, 2013

A friend of mine recommended these to me because I was looking for tons of power without a huge hit to sound quality. So bought one, it hit so hard, and sounded so good i bought another! My Only complaint is the way you have to put the speaker wire into the sub i found it quite hard to get the wire to stay in place. Really this sub is just a great mix of power, sound quality, and price! As long as its from sonic other websites this sub was $279 bucks!

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Randi

Los Angeles CA

Overall
Alpine made a fake advertisment for consumers but!!!!!!!!!!!!!

November 17, 2012

I would highly recommend the alpine type r they hit very hard and clean unless you don't have the electrical, a powerful amp , the right box , the right gauge and battery and everything , then they wont hit. alpine really did change the type r completely i mean the previous hit harder but the power wasn't still balanced because it has 1800 peak and 600rms that's not a balance sub-woofer if you look it the rest of the company's they have there rms half of what the peak is for example if the sub-woofer is 1000peak then the sub will be 500rms, alpine usually doesn't do that that's why they always have problems but finally the first time they have the rms of the new alpine type r balance with the peak thats how you'll get a good system in your car especially when it comes down with the rms power, but iam still breaking in the subs, and i kind of smell something weird when the sub-woofer hit maybe iam breaking into them ill wait more time and see what happens just recently still bought them, the alpine type r does not do 3000 watt peak that's for sure because i heard a 3000 watt sub-woofer and it pounds super hard compare to the new type r and that's a fact and proven that type r doesn't do 3000 watt peak its 2000 peak 1000rms look on alpine.com and see for yourself and if you have the these subs you could tell they hit 2000 peak and for sure 1000 true rms they lied about the peak power but not the rms i have 2 of these in a sealed box with an alpine pdx m12 which mine is rated 1450 rms at birth sheet at 12 volts which is plenty enough for the type r each getting about 700rms each that's good you don't want to go over you could but i like to be in the safe side and not put pressure on the voice coils even thou they build the new ones strong. and my system pounds super clean and sound quality is amazing for the money you pay for. my chest pounds and my teeth rattles but for a fact not 3000peak or else I'll be ****in up car alarms in the parking lot like crazy because a peak means how much can the sub pinch it doesn't pinch 3000 it pinch 2000peak for fact and alpine even said it , so they made a big false statement to the consumers and thinking there going to get the same power as the 13w7 jl audio because it has about 1000rms and 3000peak. lets be straight here the previous version has 1800 peak and now the new ones have 3000 peak now lol that's funny the news still pinch about the same as the older ones just 200 peak difference not 3000 watts my ass.
but overall the the previous type r hit good and hard but not enough rms power as the alpine type r d4 which does 1000rms clean and true, and the new ones to let you know i still bought them but since it hit truly hard and clean and sound quality is outstanding , i have to wait more time and I'll see what alpine really did to the new type r and will see what there up to if its worth, but other than that i would recommend to anyone buying these sub

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Ironton, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Just WOW!

June 7, 2019

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

First off, I thought I was getting the previous model type r which was like over 50$ diff but they upgraded me to the newest model without telling me (which is awesome).

Secondly, this thing performs!!!! It will vibrate your nose hairs and sometimes causing a sneeze (NO JOKE). on the mrv m500 amp and a 1.5ft box its louder than what my head unit can produce volume for the music. And this is just for 1 alpine type R. couldnt be happier

9 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tc

Grand rapids, mi

Overall
Alpine swr 12d4

August 14, 2015

Ive bought two of these now and ran them on an alpine mrp m100 and i can promise you that this thing will not take 1000 watts.

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Eduardo

Elgin, TX

Overall
Fried Amp lol......

March 15, 2014

I have a pair of this in my trunk for thing they did was destroyed amp=D:) never ever buying lanzar again.... but its nice when they make your face feel numb don't have no regrets.... they heavy though

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Grand Portage, MN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Speakers

May 18, 2019

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I purchased 2 of these 12" Alpine Type R subs and installed them in a Fox Box underneath in my 2006 Dodge Ram quad cab.
Fitment is great and bass is good.
I have them running at 1ohm from a 1700.1 Hifonics Brutus amp.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jody

Roswell,New Mexico

Overall
Top notch product

March 24, 2018

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Combined with a second type-r/great amplifier/ and 0/1 gauge wiring,this sub worked wonders for me in terms of handling power cleanly without distortion. A must have sub without blowing the bank

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gerardo

CA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome Sub!

October 19, 2017

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I am running this sub on a 500 watt JBL amp at 2 ohm and it is bumping. I've only had it for a month but so far it works. I previously owned at JL Audio W3v3 and this thing is way louder and has very similar sound quality for a cheaper price. With just one sub is enough for me and I'm not even pushing the sub to it's max. My car windows aren't rattling but the bass is enough to still turn heads when really pushing it. Really enjoy this subwoofer and I would definitely buy another one.

6 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lorenzo

Thornton, CO

Overall
Great price

March 2, 2020

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Had been wanting these subs for a while, with help from Travis I was able to get a great price on these. Great subs but even better customer service.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

SqEarl

Bay Area, CA TWDY!

Verified Purchase
Overall
BASS! How Low Can It Go?

January 29, 2020

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These sub is hands down the best one out the collections of subs I have. The overall design and build of the sub is amazing. I really appreciate how Alpine had the terminals on one side and can easily be bridged with a less than 6” inches of wire. I currently have them in a sealed enclosure that is a little too big but sounds so nice. The bass sounds tight and hits hard. I may switch to a vented box to hear and feel the difference.
This sub will not disappoint and is money well spent. I also highly recommend getting the grille to protect the sub.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Scottville, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Amazing! I will never buy any other brand of sub than this one!

September 8, 2019

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have had many different subs in the past and these alpine type r’s are by far the best I’ve ever had. Highly recommend spending a little more on these than on some other brand, it’ll be worth it

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

El Paso, TX

Overall
I love it!

January 20, 2018

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Sounds great! Bass response is awesome! I would buy again.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

JOSHUA

Indianapolis, IN

Overall
Excellent buy!

November 29, 2017

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

wow, first let me say that sonic electronix upgraded me from the previous gen to these subs for free. that alone will keep me coming to this site for future orders. the subs are great, they pound on my old kenwood amp, so i can't wait to get a beefier amp to push these things. always had good luck with type r subs before, so didn't see any reason to keep me away from these. you won't regret these babies!

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jay

JacksonvilleJ, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Alpine type R

February 11, 2020

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Alpine never disappoints great price very pleased thanks Sonic electronics

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Canada

Overall
Great value!

April 27, 2018

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs are pretty good, glad I decided to go with them

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Oscar

Chicago, Il

Overall
Great product

April 4, 2018

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Kicks ass, just what I expected from Alpine.. You won’t regret your purchase..

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Collin

Mayfield, KY

Overall
Fantastic--best subwoofer for your money

November 11, 2015

Before installing these I had previously installed (4) 6X8 Type-R door speakers powered by (1) 400 watt Pioneer GM-D8604 amp hooked to a Sony XAV 64BT head unit. I can't say enough good thing about the Type-R brand: these door speakers are impressive.

I lacked that extra bass push that I really wanted though, so I decided to stick with the Type-R family and install two 12" Type-R subs powered by a 1900W BRUTUS X-14 Series Class D Monoblock 1-Channel Amplifier.

The result is a system with full, rich audio that will slam when needed. I chose to install my subs in a sealed box, and I wired them at 1 ohm. I highly recommend these subwoofers to anyone looking to build an affordable yet very respectable system.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gage

Kalamazoo, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Bad Quality.

January 9, 2020

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought 2 of these subs and had them for almost two months and they blew. Had them professionally installed. Should've never wasted my money. Very dissappointed.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

QUEENS VILLAGE, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great lows

August 31, 2019

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub is the truth. It is putting in work. No problems. If you want bass at a great price this is it.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Caveman

Texas

Overall
Type R 12

February 5, 2016

Overall I'm pretty satisfied, but if you had a set of the first gen type R's these don't hold a candle.

I'm pushing a pair of dvc 4 ohm type R's dropped down to 1 ohm stable with a CT Sounds at1400.1 and they beat hard till between ¼-½ gain and then they start distorting/clipping.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sean

Johnsburg, IL

Overall
Was amazing but blew

January 22, 2016

I bought this sub an amazing sub for someone looking for a slamin single sub I have this sub ran with 4 gauge for 1000 rms ran the sub in parallel at 2 ohms wich is rated 1000 rms for my amp. I had it goin great sub fuckin slammed so hard for one but then one day I was slamin and not even turned all the way up sub just blew. Idk what I did wrong I believe I possibly could have broken it in incorrectly but I still let it break in.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bacon

Dallas, TX

Overall
SPL bro

November 22, 2015

First off, I have my Type R in a 3.4^ft gross box with a 4"x5" round port (build us slot port, it sounds better). It is powered by a JL Audio GMAX giving it 49V. Stock100A alternator and stock battery. Voltage drop down to 13V at full tilt.
The first week I broke the sub in, I used a 1.2^ft sealed box.DO NOT SEAL THIS SUB! It will sound like garbage compared to a ported box. And if you really want to get max SPL, make a ported box a little bigger than 3^ft. If you put it in a box that big, you cannot give it more than 800 RMS. YOU WILL BLOW THIS SUB IF YOU DO!
Not particularly sloppy or muddy, but definitely not tight. Personally, it works good for me. Sounds good with metal, country, and rock. This bad boy really shines with trap and dub.
Extremely loud for a 12". Rear view mirror always faces my shift knob now. Slight difficulty breathing, hearing loss after extended listening, and free bass back massages are all side effects that come with this basshead prescription. Enjoy!

P.S.- Go with a RE Audio SXX. Nothing hits harder for the money.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bryan

Rogersville, TN

Overall
Great deal!

July 16, 2020

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great sound and quality are awesome for the price. Definitely turning up the music!!!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Hawaii

Overall
Well worth it

December 25, 2018

I had 2 12” alpine type r and I love it it is well worth it bumps hard and perfect from Maui Hawaii

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Beaverville, IL

Verified Purchase
Overall
amazing buy

November 18, 2018

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

this is one bad ass sub to buy. highly recommend getting one.. or 4...

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Charlotte, Michigan

Overall
Great bang for the buck!

October 30, 2018

These speakers are amazing for the price! I've used several other brands before but Alpine's have never let me down. 2 12" type R speakers are all you need... Currently running 4 in my Impala and the welds are starting to break everywhere! Great speakers!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Louisville, Ky

Overall
Awesome Buy!!!

August 6, 2018

Alpine is Mainly my brand of choice, I have tried other brands they couldn't keep up with the Alpine Type R Subwooder. I reccomend anyone who wants a nice system at a Reasonable price to checks these Subwoofers out

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jon

Pulaski,VA

Overall
Great sub!!!

April 25, 2018

This thing is a monster! Pretty awesome you get a free upgrade cuz this alpine will knock. Hooked to a zrx2400 and will shake your brains out!!. Get it while it’s hot!!!!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Carroll, IS

Overall
Great Product

April 24, 2018

I recommend this product cause to it’s always been a well known brand and type. I finally got the opportunity to buy a couple and they are now improved. Super stoked!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Broe

Illinois

Overall
I only buy Alpine

March 20, 2018

Simply the best bang for your buck! If you’re looking for great bass but don’t want to spend a ton of money then this speaker is the one for you.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Meach Dot

Seattle, Wa

Overall
Great Deal

March 19, 2018

Ordered these and they sent me the NEWEST R Series subs instead and didn't charge me. Packaging & shipping wasn't that great but I won't complain. Great subs for the money. I'd buy another pair if I had too!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Vue

$city, $state

Overall
best sounding sub

April 22, 2017

Like my title said, this is the best sounding sub I've had. Better than my solobarics. Bass is so smooth and deep, it never rattles the car like cheap woofers do. Just big, deep, smooth clean bass. Since I only run 1 sub, wish I had bought the 2ohm model instead so I can maximize my amps power.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Clarence

Fucking utah

Overall
Great

February 26, 2017

Great up grade for an older model I had before. I buy again to up grade my other speaker. Good clean crisp sound and bass.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Impala

Prescott valley

Overall
Great value

January 26, 2017

really pleased with these alpine speakers Definitely worth every penny thanks .

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Lexington sc

Overall
Great customer service

September 24, 2016

Alpine type r's have always been great subs my last pair lasted 8 years and still going, decided to try a upgrade and still exceeds expectations

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Worlboss

San diego ca

Overall
Great sub

September 19, 2016

This sub is a great value for the money, great sib all around.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Galvin

Glenpool, OK

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Subs! Very Pleased

June 8, 2016

I looked around for places to buy these particular subs. One vendor from Amazon sent the wrong model, I had to return item. Tried Ebay, after purchasing the subs from them, got a message the item was actually out of stock! Finally tried Sonic Electronix, they shipped faster than the vendor who shipped the wrong subs, and sold a better price. Glad I found Sonic!! Subs sound awesome to say the least! I should have bought from Sonic 1st

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

1116 N . Waverly Rd

Lansing, MI

Overall
Great sub

June 6, 2016

I would definitely recommend this sub. I am very pleased with the sound quality. I would have chosen a more powerful amplifier though. Running a 1500w planet audio amp and it may not be enough power.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Tennessee

Overall
Awesome

May 27, 2016

I've always like the way Alpine subs looked but never thought about getting one cause figured they would be too expensive. But lockout after looking found this deal and got one. At first I was nervous to install cause I had already blown a kicker in the same enclosure and same setup. it sounds amazing and handles power like a boss. Could oonly imagine what two sound like

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lj

Hinesville, GA

Overall
Great

April 10, 2016

Ive been hearing that these were good so i bought two and they are..will be a good pickup if you decide to get these

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joey

Bethlehem , Pa.

Overall
Alpine Type-R SWR-12D4 Subs

March 24, 2016

I put a Whole new system ... These Subs are Slammin .... 5 stars ... recommend HIGHLY

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Las Vegas, NV

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great subs!!

February 18, 2016

These alpine type r subs are awesome, I have 2 of them hooked up to a Hifonics brx2400.1d and slams hard in my challenger.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeff B

sealy,TX

Overall
They beat pretty hard.

February 9, 2016

Hifonics Hercules 2400.1D at 1ohm about 3/4 on the gain xs xp3000 bat and all upgraded wiring, and my Tahoe is falling part.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

osar funez

everett Massachusetts

Overall
swr12d4 amazing

November 29, 2015

This is the subs thank you soniceletronix u lo ve this sub

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Aberdeen,ms

Overall
Nice sub good price I need a sub that can handle more power

September 2, 2018

Nice sub just didn't hold up on my amp good price though

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Oshkosh, WI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Alpine R-W12D4

June 8, 2018

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Holy cow this sub slams! I have 2 in the back of my Ram (under the seats in a ported box). These hit a lot harder than the kickers I've always run and they sound a lot clearer, too. Match them up with a good amp and you'll love what you hear! I'm glad I made the switch to Alpine :)

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Woodard Boy

Ripley, TN

Overall
Love this sub!

April 20, 2016

I love this sub. I ordered mine, saved money by ordering it threw sonic electronix, and it's a awesome sub. Hits very hard, I only have 500 watts on it now about to put 1500 on it. Awesome sound quality and durability. It's absolutely amazing, if you want something that hits hard even putting low wattage to it and for a good price order this sub. I currently have it wired at 2 ohms.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

David

Lakeland FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
not good. I am never buying alpine again

July 18, 2019

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

It blew up after about 2 months of use ran at 75% of its rater power, and tuned as per alpine's tech support instructions. I was prommised a better performing speaker than my previous alpine swr-12d4. I shoulve never bought it.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chuck

Harrisburg, Il

Overall
Awesome subwoofee

April 21, 2017

One of the best sounding 12 in woofers I have ever owned. Very good bass a d with the alpine 500 amp perfect pair. If you don't buy you are crazy..

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Ft. Wayne, IN

Overall
Great sound,

May 6, 2018

The following review is for R-W12D4, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Really like the quality sound, really hit hard. But the jumper cables that are provided with the sub tend to fall out. Not a good design at all.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

purvis

fl

Overall
great product, flawless transaction

March 25, 2016

I'll put these speakers up against a SA12 any day. Best budget build speaker I've came across. Smooth transaction with S.E. and great customer service.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?