Showing 37 reviews for BOSS Audio P106DVC Car Subwoofer + Vented Enclosure

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
43%
4 Star
16%
3 Star
11%
2 Star
5%
1 Star
24%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
t3

baltimore md

Overall
beattttt

December 3, 2010

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs are beat they just rattle a lot. so instead I bought two 12 inch alpine Type R those are the best subs I've ever bought the lip is so serious idk how to explain it u want quality buy type r

57 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jbarnes

macon ga

Overall
nice!

February 4, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Bought a 10" and have it hooked up to a 2000 watt monoblock boss amp and i have to say it sounds nice!! I agree with the guy below me. Cheapo amps aint gonna cut it!

56 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jay

bronx, ny

Overall
great buy

June 7, 2011

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

It works very well, produces very heavy bass....I highly recommend this product

50 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Tampa, FL

Overall
u get what u paid for

March 3, 2011

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I got one of these in my 93 camry as my first system.. I have them on a Boss PH1500.1 amp..its not the best sub in the world but its an ok buy for the price.. I just recently dropped it to 2 ohms which the amp handles great to add more "boom" but it could be better..for a first system I'm proud of my purchases but looking for more..I've had to do A LOT of tuning on my EQ and my amp to get it to sound how I want it to because I guess the quality is catching up a little bit since ive had it since november but now that ive got it to 2 ohms its where i want it.. i recommend this to anyone who is looking for a first time sub for a cheap price but I dont recommend it for those who have been around the car audio world for awhile..

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Pierre-Philippe

Canada

Overall
Great

October 15, 2010

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Cheap and good sound, my first 10 inch and I would recommend 12 inch for better bass

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rj

tx

Overall
Do not buy

February 24, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Do not buy do not buy had it for like 4 days at 2 ohms not bridged but on 2 channels. Did not last.

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Vic

Caguas, PR

Overall
Best 10" Sub I have ever heard.

January 18, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I recently purchased the 10" Boss Subs on a package deal Sonic electronic offered. The package included two 10" Boss Subs, Autotek Mean Machine 4,000 watt mono amplifier, 2 gauge wiring and the enclosure for 300 and something dollars. First of all let me just say that I have bought some good sound packages before but this one tops them all. I have an answer for all the negative reviews on this product. If you want a Sub woofer to push the watts it advertises you have to buy a good amplifier at least 2,000 watts and up and wire the dual voice coil properly. Please don't try and bridge your 300 watt amp for these subs.

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dustin

Wausau, WI

Overall
no

May 25, 2011

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Let's start off by saying that I would not recommend this subwoofer unless you want a little bass. I bought 2 12" of this subwoofer which actually has more wattage and within 20 minutes of use, hooked up to a Hifonics Brutus 1200.1D amplifier which has 1200 watts RMS @1 ohm and each subwoofer states it could handle 1150 watts RMS and one of the subwoofers locked up. They sounded pretty decent until than.

If you want a mediocore system I'd recommend this subwoofer, but just use a lightweight amplifier like possibly a BOSS amp or possibly a Sony. Stay away from the heavyweights like JL Audio, MTX, etc.

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Brian

Arlington, TX

Overall
Boss phantom

September 17, 2013

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have one in my Car. A 10" Boss Phantom subwoofer. It sounds great and is a bad a**!

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BIG BOB

HAGERSTOWN MD

Overall
High quality yet very affordable

April 26, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have been professionaly installing car stereo systems for about ten years. To all the negative comments on these subs, maybe you all should have them installed professionally; you obviously did somthing wrong. These subs will compete with the best! They hit hard and deep. I have two of these in a sealed box with a Boss Phantom 3000 amp, and I was shocked at how good they sound! I have had just about all the top names, and these will hold their own against any of them for a quarter of the price. You will not find a better sub for the money! Boss is extremely underrated. I highly recommend these subs. But make sure you get an amp that will push out at least 800 watts to each sub if you want them to realy slam!!!

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gary

Chicora, PA

Overall
Amazing sound for an even more amazing price

August 13, 2010

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I recently purchased 2 of these subs and put the in my 03 lancer, along with a power acoustic amp, it shakes the windows in my house, everyone always looks at me when I'm driving by but I like the attention! If your looking for great value and amazing sound these are definitely the subs to get.

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Big lou

Newjersey

Overall
Love the power of bass

April 11, 2014

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These bosses I got hit perfect in my honda accord not to loud but not to low I recommend these to anybody with a little car

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Garrett

Fairfield, Iowa

Overall
Good sub for the price

October 26, 2011

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

For only 55 bucks you can't really complain about this sub. It looks sweet and does deliver the bass if you don't overpower it. Currently I have a 3 sub box, the Phantom in the middle (1 sq foot ported), run by a 500 watt rms legacy amp. On either side I've got two alpine type-r competitions powered by a 2800 watt monoblock boss amp. The phantom can't compare to the type-rs so I set it to a higher hz range.

Basically the boss looks good, but if you want a serious system, just spend the money and get alpine, kicker, mtx, or fosgates.

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Austin

Arvada, CO

Overall
Great woofer!

July 31, 2010

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I would recommend this Boss subwoofer to anyone out there. This is the first Boss woofer I've bought and i was extremely impressed with it. The subwoofer has incredible excursion! I have one of these subs and i just ordered another one about five minutes ago. Just one of these shakes my mirror more than my 12" jbl i had! There is only one downfall about these... the spider wears out kind of fast. I've had mine for about 3 months and the spider is really loose but it still hits extremely hard. I have people starring at me when i drive by

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ken5

Nashville, TN

Overall
Boss Phantom p106 dvc

September 22, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've been a Boss soldier for over 10 years. Had my fare share of Fosgate's, Mtx's, Kicker's and Audiobahn's, etc. Boss is the best premium car audio supplier when it comes to the average joe. Rule #1 most Boss subs won't handle a 1ohm load, so wire it accordingly. Rule #2 use thick speaker wire, Period. Rule #3 use the right type box. Not all sealed or ported boxes are created equal. Rule #4 use a powerful amp. Rule #5 use the right gauge power & ground wire. Rule #6 buy a capacitor. If you fail to follow these 6 rules, then you won't succeed with anything Boss Car Audio.

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lous

Fair Lawn, NJ

Overall
There good speakers

June 14, 2014

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Well I bought these 10s and 1 blew with in the first month but I have another set of 10s in my acord thts still hitting so 1 out of 4 10s ain't bad good speakers though

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

fellie

Bolckow, MO

Overall
Not what it says

December 15, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These speakers look nice and that is about it! We bought one and bought all the stuff the site recommended for proper installation. 2 days later it fried. So we tried again and bought another and made sure we hooked it up right, chalked the first one up to user error. My boyfriend is a professional with stereo systems and the RMS rating on these speakers said they would handle our amp...wrong. We had better luck with the cheapies from wal-mart. The price is great but you get what you pay for.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sound Decisions Proffesional Audio Installation

Aberdeen, SD

Overall
not a good sub

July 15, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

DO NOT BUY. I had 2 of these hooked to my Brutus 1200.1 at 1-ohm (off of my 1 Fi SSD 12 at 1 ohm), and it blew both subs within 20 minutes. My buddy wanted them, but didn't have his amp yet. I hooked them to mine for the time being, and they both locked up within 20 minutes. And don't say, "oh, you wired them wrong," or something, 'cause I checked the ohms with my multimeter and turned down my amp before I turned them on, and they still blew. If you want a good system get Fi, KICKER, ALPINE, or ROCKFORD, or just wire them to a Boss amp so that they even out. You subtract 5-600 watts from anything Boss rates. Trust me, I've got a Chaos 3800D blown next to my bed from 2 L5's which it "overpowered."

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Quinn

Norco, LA

Overall
Pretty banging for a cheap beginning

November 17, 2010

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

So I bought these as my first system setup. I bought 2 of them all out for the price and size. all of the power ratings are way more than they actually state, but i also liked the way they looked. for the price, they're definitely worth it. only problem is that the spyder wears really quick so they start making a shaky noise after a few months. also if you get these subs i would recommend sticking to a boss amp that way the fake power ratings match up and you don't blow your subs. other than that, for cheap 10's these things shake my ride and are surprisingly clear and sound great, of course for what you paid for them.

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

mr.crinape

oxnard California

Overall
boss 106

September 9, 2014

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I like it the style the sound is kool and cheap

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

George

Canada

Overall
Great Sound

August 8, 2014

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

What great looking and sounding sub. I installed 2 of these and am very pleased with them.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Adam

mt pleasant, PA

Overall
not bad

February 24, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub is ok, not the best has good sound on 2 ohms. I have 1 in my 89 Toyota Camry. It's good for the price, has a real good look.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jack

South Bend, IN

Overall
Complete Junk!

October 9, 2010

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I ordered this sub after reading good reviews on the 12" model. This was the worst sub I have ever heard in my life. I have a Hifonics amp that puts out 1600 watts RMS, which should be plenty of power to make these subs pound. All these subs did was move a lot and make a lot of noise. The sub made more noise than bass it produced. My factory stereo sounded better in my Jeep Grand Cherokee with no subs than these did! I have hooked up many systems and know what I am doing, these subs are just junk. The only positive is their looks. I would not recommend these subs to anybody that is looking for bass. If you are looking for a noise maker these are what you are looking for.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Daren

st.Louis Mo

Overall
Great Box

October 12, 2014

The following review is for BBX110BL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

i Have of these this is the 1st time i ever had a ported box. I have always had sealed box ans loved them. this one because its blue ( my fav Color No gang stuff just love blue ) it sound great for my massive audio Toro sub i just ordered one more so that will be 2 now

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tyler

Caney, KS

Overall
Do not buy!

January 4, 2011

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This was the worst purchase I have ever made. The power ratings are all fake. If you try pushing 1000w rms through this thing its going to blow. If your looking for a sub that looks good buy these. If your looking for a sub that pounds just hit your back button now. DO NOT BUY these!!!

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Shark

Solomon Islands

Overall
Great Value

February 16, 2015

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great product, mega sound qulity. the best sub choice for your car plus the design.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

zack

bunnell, FL

Overall
1050 rms

April 2, 2012

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Well i bought one a week ago. I have a kenwood 840 amp briged. This subwoofer says 1050rms but dont think for a minute it can handle any power. 2 and a half days later I'm buying a new sub. Melted it. Sounded good for a day but the first time i put any real power to it it locked up. To me this speaker is for a 500 watt amp or smaller.

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

luz

Boston,MA

Overall
nice

February 27, 2015

The following review is for BBX110BL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great item, looks nice Fast shipping
so far so good!

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Promo

Inland, CA

Overall
Terribly Overrated

August 10, 2015

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

"RMS: 1050 watts" ? Yea right. Maybe from their equally overrated amplifiers.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Installation Guy

Stevens Point, WI

Overall
Horribly over rated.

August 9, 2015

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This sub is WAY over rated. Had them come through my shop in the past and after 2 pairs I 100% refuse to install them. First set was on an AutoTek amp from a package deal. Gave them about 750wrms per sub. It wasn't that loud to begin with, and a week later they were locked up. Swapped for Alpine Type S 12"s and it was MUCH better. Louder, clearer, etc. Same story for the other ones I've used. Short short life, even giving them less power than they recommend. If you compare this to, say, a Type R, the build quality, weight, suspension stiffness, etc is instantly noticeable. Going off of pure feel, a solid estimate of RMS rating they could handle would probably be about 300watts, give or take. Much more and they WILL lock up. Boss Audio's lofty rating system is OK when using a full Boss Audio system.. their 2000w sub only can handle 300 watts.. but then again, their 2000w amp only puts out about 300 watts! Perfect.. It's a huge marketing scheme to get uneducated buyers into their products based on lofty number that are, bluntly, lies.
For this price you're way better off buying something else.. JBL, Kicker, Alpine, Kenwood.. they all have subs in this price range that perform better than the Phantom series. Save yourself the embarrassment of walking into your installation shop with these, or any Boss Audio equipment. It'll also save you the hassle of returning them when they inevitably fail.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

JHONNY RAMON

Mexico

Verified Purchase
Overall
BUenos Bajos

March 13, 2016

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

un equipo ideal para personas que necesitan escuchar buen sonido,.. en perfecto estado y calidad.. lo recomiendo en todos las aspectos..

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Old School

Danville Va

Overall
Great Value Great SUB

December 1, 2015

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Hits hard when you need it. Great sound for the size.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Indianapolis IN

Overall
Lost money

March 22, 2017

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

i bough this sub
when i open box i saw pure quality product which working about 1 month an 300w rms amplifier and then burnout
so the power of 1050rms as described is lie
item is fully crap dont loose your money
thanks

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Portland, Oregon

Overall
Unbelievable sound!

January 14, 2019

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

There's no other sub on the market for the price. Deep clear bass when you put a 1,000 watt amp on them 1 amp per sub!!! Try it, they bump 4 realz!!

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Barnwell, SC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Boss P106DVC

June 7, 2018

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

The sub wasnt really what i expected. Boss isnt the best ut I figured it would be decent. The speaker itself seems cheap in design and material. The fact it is rated for such a high RMS is shocking, if you were to put this behind a decent amp at the rating i feel like it would blow it apart. I would not recommend. No fault on sonic, you guys are great and service is always top notch.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Fort Knox ky

Overall
Amazing

July 15, 2019

The following review is for BBX110BL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Was unsure at first ordering it but once I got it I was extremely happy about it. It looks great and performs just as good.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Bristol TN

Overall
Great sub for the price

August 19, 2019

The following review is for P106DVC, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great craftsmanship on them work great in the correct enclosure and power!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?