Showing 23 reviews for JL Audio 6W3V3-4

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
83%
4 Star
17%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
TheGDog

(West) Garden Grove

Overall
Make your box to these specs for Awesomeness...

June 9, 2014

Had one of these from a prior project. Using 1/2" MDF Made a box 7 x 14 x 13 (.5417 cu ft) w/ a Precision 2" Flared Port kit cut-down to 10" total assembled length (Tune is about 36-37 Hz) firing out the side. Before closing the box... I put rubber Self-Adhesive Roof-flashing (avail at HDepot, Lowes) on all sides except (top-firing) baffle, be sure to use a roller to push-out any and all air pockets. Staple 1 layer of High-Loft Quilt Batting on all sides except baffle (avail at JOANN's Fabrics). On baffle I also glued some 1" x 6" strips in the middle of the open spaces to either side of the centered woofer cutout hole on the baffle to add rigidity. You'll need 6 Bar Clamps, and at least 2 90 degree clamps. I just used Tite Bond II Wood Glue. The only screws are to mount the sub, and on the Banana plugs Terminal plate I put on. In my ofc room I was underwhelmed and at low-to-mid 20Hz's I could hear a bit of port noise running off a 50 Wattt plate amp. But OH MAN when I put it in her XTERRA using 140 Watts Bridged at 4 Ohms... DAYUM!! I shocked the heck outta myself. The output was almost on par with the Infinity Ref 860W in 1.02 cu ft I had in their before she wanted a smaller setup. This lil booger really impressed me even more in this particular setup. The specs JL gives for the .25 cu ft slot-ported box suck because it has WAY too much port noise with those specs.

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Shea

Kirbyville, TX

Overall
wow!

December 1, 2008

my friend has two of these in the truck of his car and when i sat in the car i thought he had 12's. These things beat hard for their size... im gettin a wall of them put in my suv
very good subs

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kenny J

Los Angeles, CA

Overall
Outstanding Customer Service

February 26, 2011

I purchased a speaker to replace a blown factory sub. I purchased one that was too deep for my factory enclosure. My sales rep was a big help in finding a speaker that fit into my shallow factory enclosure. Took the original purchase back with no questions asked and got the new one out right away. Back to enjoying some bass to go along with the treble!

38 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Usman Carlucci

Grand Prairie, TX

Overall
Excellente!

August 27, 2012

Performed beyond my expectations, simply excellent! The bass is just right, not enough to be a nuisance to other road user but enough to really enjoy music. I am buying another one for my other car.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

6 inch sub

Sioux city Iowa

Overall
Jl audio 6w3v3-4

April 15, 2012

I would recommend this sub to someone who wants that little extra bit of bass without over doing it. They work great for metal and rock and would pair up great with a bigger sub to get some of the higher ranged tones.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Qatar

Overall
Amazing

September 17, 2013

Bought 4 of the them to but under my back seat in my 2009 Ford F-150 Super Crew Cab. I made a custom box to fit. The hit hard and sound great. Small enough not to have to change any sitting.
Had them shipped to a location in the US and then shipped to me in the Middle East. Nothing else around like it.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gary

Garden Grove, CA

Overall
Nice Bump for my MoTo!

March 26, 2010

Put one of these in a sealed, molded, form-fitting fiberclass enclosure 0.20 - 0.25 cu. ft. I hand-made to fit in the trunk of my MoTo. It's being powered by 2 rear channels of Eclipse EA4200 amp with those 2 channels set to Mono and LPF. (140 watts @ 4 Ohms),

Front channels of amp are full-range powering 2 4" Polk Audio db401's in the fairing.

I've been steadily getting astonished looks and comments about how good my system sounds, and people are shocked it's coming from my moto!

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jason

MI, MI

Overall
wow

September 29, 2009

I have two of these in a 2007 frontier and they sound great. I really hate giving up space that is why I got these very nice.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

dan the man

san antonio tx

Overall
A++++++++++++++++++++++++

September 18, 2009

I put this 6w3v3-4 in the back of my single cab pick up where the jack was in a custom box it fit like a glove an the seat still slides all the way back it sounds like if i have two 10"s in the back this is one bad a** sub. very happy A ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jmejm

Los Angeles

Overall
The Perfect Woofer

March 14, 2010

I have an MR2 Spyder with NO ROOM FOR ANYTHING so i decided to put two of these bad boys in my doors. I've never been so satisfied with something so small in my life. Beautifully defined sound when coupled with my Memphis monoblock. Highly recommended to anyone who needs bass but doesn't have the room for a box.

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tyler

Iron Station, NC

Overall
Bass Monster!

February 21, 2010

I bought one from Sonic and built the recommended sealed enclosure. This thing slams for it's size, it's comparable, if not better than some 8" subs. I'm running it on 170 watts rms and it sounds incredibly clean. It blends with my RF Power series coaxials nicely. You won't be disappointed with this sub if your looking for tight and accurate sound. Don't forget to buy the grille too!

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Edgar

Norway

Overall
Amazing subwoofer

February 12, 2009

I bought two of these, and they are amazing. They really bounce considering their size...

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jon

delaware

Overall
awesome little speaker

October 8, 2012

Great price, fast shipping, speaker works great and performs better than expected. Thanks.

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Maximillian

New Zealand

Overall
Little beast behind the seat.

October 24, 2012

This sub packs a punch, and if set up right inside a well constructed box, outperforms the cheaper, 8" and 10" that I've heard. Looks amazing reversed as well. But the real winner on this amp is the size, for a sealed enclosure it only requires .15cf! You could put this thing under your kids bed and give him nightmares, 'cause this sub is a monster!

Perfect for small cars with little to no room like my MR2 Rev.2, MX-5 etc.

Great for precision and filling out the bottom end of your frequencies, but can't compete with the larger, properly installed and powered 8 and 10" subs but still a stunner!

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

PAUL

Canada

Overall
small and sweet

July 2, 2012

I bought this for my little motorhome. It works great with my alpine head and amp. I put it in a little oak cabinet, behind the driver's seat.
It is very good audio quality, not just a big boom box.

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Eldar

Norway

Overall
Amazing subwoofer

February 12, 2009

I bought two of these, and i am stunned.. They play amazing, considering there size.. They can handle any tone without getting "tired".........

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gary

Garden Grove

Overall
Wow... can take a beating!

January 12, 2011

Ok, so powering this sub together with the 2 4" drivers was just a lil too much for my MoTo's electrical system. So I decided to quickly build a Ported box to manufacturer specs. Figured I'd use this in my Ford SportTrac for those time when I need to remove my Alpine Type-R 12" Enclosure I usually have seat-belted in behind the drivers seat.

Powering this 4-Ohm sub with my Pioneer GM-D8500M equates to a possible 300 Watts RMS. I didn't have to adjust my gains at all. It sounds great! Obviously a significant drop in output from having a Type-R 12" right behind me... but I'll bet you with all the windows down you could still piss-off a lotta folks!

I slid the little enclosure underneath the passenger rear seat no problem.

The amount of output you're getting... from such a small device... it's totally UNREAL though!

28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

A.C.

Yuba City, CA

Overall
Don't think about it, just do it!

June 14, 2015

Bought this little sub cause space was a big issue, did a lot of research and made my mind up on getting this one. I'm powering it with the NVX MVPA1 turned down in a custom ported box and friends think I have a 12" in my truck and are blown away with my setup. Very pleased and made in the U.S.A.

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Denis

Canada

Overall
subwoofer

September 8, 2015

This subwoofer is very good. very good bass and presence for a 6 1/2" speaker. I very surprised. But the grill I ordered with it doesn't fit on the speaker. I don't if I ordered the wrong one but it was supposed to be this grill by the catalogue.

11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gord

Canada

Verified Purchase
Overall
Perfect fit

October 29, 2016

Fantastic little woofer, tight sound, great for small spaces - you can fit two in the space a "breadbox" would occupy.
Good build quality, as expected from JL - I own 3 and would buy more.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bardo

Midland, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great buy

April 8, 2016

Great product would buy again small but yet powerful subs they do just what there supposed to do and fit I'm a lot of spaces

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BASS

Livingston, TX

Overall
excellent

June 12, 2016

The JL Audio 6W3V3-4 is the best speaker ofr the money!!!! It delivers more than advertised!!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Korbo

Ocala, FL

Overall
JL quality, tiny package.

March 12, 2017

I own 8 of these in a 1.86 cu. ft. sealed enclosure, stuffed with polyfill. Powered by a JL Slash 1000/1. Not the most efficient way of creating bass. But certainly a fulfilling way. Sounds incredibly tight. Impact is surprisingly violent, and I always get to see shocked faces when I open the hatch.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?